Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > (Auto) Gordian Knot

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 17th March 2003, 21:32   #1  |  Link
jggimi
Moderator Emeritus
 
jggimi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: The NW corner of Lake Erie
Posts: 5,552
FAQ: GKnot fails to find a log file! (Last update 17 June 2003)

Q: What is this log file, and why is it important?

A: In any 2-pass or multiple pass DivX encoding, the first pass produces a frame-by-frame analysis of the video stream, and the .log file is this analysis. It is used by the second and subsequent passes to produce the final video. This log is also used during single pass compression tests in Gknot. Without the .log file, a compression test produces no results. Without the .log file, a multiple pass encoding will not complete.

Q: Why would DivX not create the log?

A: These are the most likely possibilities, in order of frequency:
  1. DivX is either not installed, or not installed properly.
  2. The video served by the AviSynth (.avs) script may have errors or produce invalid video for Virtual Dub and the DivX codec.
  3. With Gknot 0.28 and above, you may not have YV12 color space properly configured in Windows.
  4. Your computer is overclocked or has insufficient airflow or cooling.
  5. You've run out of disk space.
Q: How can I tell which is my problem?

A: Take them in order.
  1. Check to see if Virtual Dub sees the proper release of the DivX codec. Start VDub, use the Video...Compression command, and make sure that the correct release of DivX is installed.
  2. Check to see if your AviSynth script (.avs file) can produce video, and you can scroll through properly. Use GKnot's Preview function to open the script in Windows Media Player, or open the script with VDub or your favorite AVI player. If it produces video, make sure the resolution is valid for DivX encoding. (If you leave Gknot's Modulo settings at default Mod32/Mod16, you will not have this problem.) If the script fails, there is either an error in the script, or AviSynth is not installed properly.
  3. If VdubMod fails to encode the first pass with "videosourceavi error: the sourceimage format is not acceptable. (error code -2)" you may have to make a manual change in your Windows registry. See TelemachusMH's comment in http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?s=&threadid=51906.
  4. Encoding stresses your CPU, producing heat beyond the amounts produced with most desktop applications. If you are overclocking, set your PC back to normal. If you have insufficient airflow, you might also have problems. There are motherboard monitors and stress tests available. For more information, peruse the PC Hardware forum.
  5. Are you low on disk space? The encoder will produce both the log file as well as a dummy AVI file.
{Edited for 0.28 releases of Gknot. Include new YV12 error, and cleaned up 2-pass discussions to include all multipass encodings.}

Last edited by jggimi; 17th June 2003 at 15:20.
jggimi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2003, 19:28   #2  |  Link
Zigman
Need a hair cut?
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Georgia
Posts: 19
Same Log File problem

I have the exact same problem. I can't do a compression check due to it not being able to find the log file. With 5.02 it works perfect but with 5.03 it is screwed. I have tried everything. I think it has something to do with G-knot beta 4, cause even with 5.02 installed everything was ok until I installed beta 28 ver 4. Now it can't read the log file if either 5.02 or 5.03 is installed. Any advice?
Zigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2003, 20:00   #3  |  Link
jggimi
Moderator Emeritus
 
jggimi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: The NW corner of Lake Erie
Posts: 5,552
GKnot 28 is not a production release. Development releases should be discussed in the Gordian Knot Development forum.
jggimi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2003, 15:08   #4  |  Link
creative_cracker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 25
Fixing the problem

I had the same problem. GKnot wouldn't find the log file. It's kinda odd that I had installed DivX 5.03 and used v .27 and things worked fine. Then I installed .28 beta 4 and it couldn't find the log file on either 5.02 or 5.03 with .27 or .28 .

I cured it by hand-deleting the registry keys for anything that had Gordian Knot in it. Then I download the whole GKnot install pack with .27 and v 5.02 in it and re-installed it. Now it works again.

I think the problem is the registry settings that are created by .28/4. I wish that Gknot had an uninstall program that removed everything, including all the registry keys, so if we had problems like this, we could clean it up and start again.

GKnot is great, no doubt about it. This is just a little bump in the road.

Last edited by creative_cracker; 8th April 2003 at 22:20.
creative_cracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2003, 15:58   #5  |  Link
manono
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 7,406
Hi-

I wish that Gknow had an uninstall program that removed everything, including all the registry keys

GKnot Options Tab-Delete Registry Keys.
manono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2003, 16:16   #6  |  Link
creative_cracker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 25
Thank you

Yes, thank you. I had already tried that and still had the problems until I did the manual registry deletions.

Cheers.
creative_cracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2003, 18:08   #7  |  Link
Mogens
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 3
Hi there

I still cannot beat this problem.

I have search this forum for all hints about this problem and have tried almost anything. But still no success. I have cleaned the registry by hand uninstalled a countless number of times. I still get an error message during second pass of encoding using divx 5.05. I run latest version of GordianKnot.

I can do compressebility test and I can do preview in windows media player. But I still get the following message:


18:13:46: Started DivX5-First Pass: E:\test.avs
18:31:06: Finished DivX5-First Pass. Duration: 17 minutes, 19 seconds.
18:31:06: Trying to open Log-file.
18:31:09: Error: Could not open E:\\vdenc.log
18:31:09: Error: Could not count encoded Frames.
18:31:09: Speed: 14300.668 Frames per Second.
18:31:09: WARNING: Number of counted frames differs from settings!
18:31:09: WARNING: Settings: 12486
18:31:09: WARNING: Counted: 0
18:31:09: WARNING: Difference: 12486
18:31:09: Correcting Bitrate...
18:31:09: Original Bitrate = 3072 k(=1000)Bits/s
18:31:09: ERROR: Correction impossible.
18:31:09: Now encoding at 3072 k(=1000)Bits/s


The logfile is located on the E-drive and I can open it with notepad without any problems.

Do any of you have any suggestions of what to check next?

Thanks in advance,
Mogens


Mogens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2003, 18:26   #8  |  Link
jggimi
Moderator Emeritus
 
jggimi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: The NW corner of Lake Erie
Posts: 5,552
It appears to be a path naming problem, since it's searching for two back slashes. I'll PM len0x and ask him to review...
jggimi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2003, 18:37   #9  |  Link
Mogens
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 3
Hi jggimi

Thanks for the prompt reply.

I was also wondering about that, but dismissed it as the reason since double backslash is sometimes necessary when when specifying a file path when doing programming.

Anyway, if this is true, why do others not experiencing this problem?

Thanks for helping me.

Best Regards,
Mogens
Mogens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2003, 18:40   #10  |  Link
jggimi
Moderator Emeritus
 
jggimi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: The NW corner of Lake Erie
Posts: 5,552
My guess:

Others are probably using a folder name, while you are using the disk letter only. If you use a folder on your E drive, and it works, you have circumvented the problem.
jggimi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2003, 19:11   #11  |  Link
Mogens
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 3
Hi jggimi

Good news. You where right.

I just ran a test where I made a folder named test. This did the trick. This has eluded me for some time and I suspect that there has been more than one error. I have been trying to get to work for a long time using older versions of GKnot.

But, there seems indeed to be an error when trying to encode an file from the root of a drive.

Again, thanks for your help. I appriciate it.

Best regards,
mogens
Mogens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2003, 19:36   #12  |  Link
len0x
I'm afraid we've to stop
 
len0x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Amongst mad people
Posts: 5,398
yep, you must be right about root dir

I don't have sources at hands atm, but that must be the reason.
Very probably delphi routines for returning path behave different with root dir any any other dir....

So I might have to remove that slash manually (all over the place actually )
__________________
Gordian Knot Family:
Gordian Knot: website, download
Auto Gordian Knot: Website and download, tutorial, FAQ
len0x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2003, 15:22   #13  |  Link
jggimi
Moderator Emeritus
 
jggimi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: The NW corner of Lake Erie
Posts: 5,552
I've updated this FAQ today, cleaning up the 2-pass/multipass discussion, and added the fairly common YV12 encoding error.
jggimi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2004, 17:40   #14  |  Link
Bishamon
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
OK, I'm tired, blind and temporarilly stupid. I had trouble getting the CompTest to work. Just discovered the "GKnot vs XviD 1.0" thread... I'll be moving my gripes there...

Last edited by Bishamon; 8th February 2004 at 05:35.
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2004, 08:12   #15  |  Link
eli2k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: 4th Dimension
Posts: 9
How do I configure YV12 correctly?

I'm getting the cannot find vdenc.log file - and in the output directory, I don't even see the vdenc.log file. :/ And everything is in its own directory (maybe if I try a directory without spaces...).

I'm going to try viewing the AVS file later (I haven't figured out where it is exactly yet.

Thanks.
__________________
- Eli
eli2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2005, 19:00   #16  |  Link
derebo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 60
foobar_GKnot.log instead of foobar.log, why?

hi there,

have a look at this...

divx 5.2.1
gknot latest stable 0.28 i think it is
everything installed working properly but...

the .log file created should be cs.log
however, gknot creates it as:

cs_GKnot.log

instead of:

cs.log

therefore, gknot cannot find the log file!!!

here is the log:

9:08:46: Started DivX5-First Pass: C:\c_s\cs.avs
11:32:14: Finished DivX5-First Pass. Duration: 2 hours, 23 minutes, 27 seconds.
11:32:14: Trying to open Log-file.
11:32:14: Error: Could not open C:\c_s\cs.log
11:32:14: Error: Could not count encoded Frames.
11:32:14: Speed: 0.000 Frames per Second.
11:32:14: WARNING: Number of counted frames differs from settings!

any idea on why is it behaving like this?

thanks in advance!

derebo
derebo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2005, 19:03   #17  |  Link
jggimi
Moderator Emeritus
 
jggimi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: The NW corner of Lake Erie
Posts: 5,552
Hello, and welcome to the forum.

Its just a guess, but it might be the underscore character in your folder name that is causing a parsing error.

Log files are properly "<movie name>_Gknot.log"
__________________
"It is easier for a camel to pass through the eye of a needle if it is lightly greased."
Kehlog Albran, The Profit
jggimi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2005, 19:09   #18  |  Link
derebo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 60
hi there,

thanks for your prompt reply.
i will try what you suggest.
also, i will try the solution you propose in another reply to cico85 in:
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?s=&threadid=33722

hope to be successful and will let you know about the results.

greetings,
derebo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2005, 19:10   #19  |  Link
len0x
I'm afraid we've to stop
 
len0x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Amongst mad people
Posts: 5,398
hold on:

- movie.log is internal GK log file that contains number of frames processed (and used to adjust the bitrate). If its not present then encoding failed (VDubMod couldn't open AVS script for instance)
- movie_gknot.log is main log file where you see what GK is doing
__________________
Gordian Knot Family:
Gordian Knot: website, download
Auto Gordian Knot: Website and download, tutorial, FAQ
len0x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2005, 19:16   #20  |  Link
jggimi
Moderator Emeritus
 
jggimi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: The NW corner of Lake Erie
Posts: 5,552
Right. I confused the Gknot log with the DivX pass log.

The most recent version of GK is 0.33.1. You may prefer it.
__________________
"It is easier for a camel to pass through the eye of a needle if it is lightly greased."
Kehlog Albran, The Profit
jggimi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.