Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11th May 2019, 17:07   #401  |  Link
Havokdan
Registered User
 
Havokdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Gurupi, Tocantins, Brasil
Posts: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by stax76 View Post
I'll add a dropbox mirror shortly.
Thanks
Havokdan is offline  
Old 11th May 2019, 17:12   #402  |  Link
ashlar42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 659
C:\Users\ashlar42\Documents\StaxRip\Apps\Encoders\NVEnc\NVEncC64.exe --cqp 18:20:22 --preset quality --vpp-resize cubic_catmull --output-res 720x392 -i "E:\Movie\Movie.avs" -o "E:\Movie_temp\Movie_out.h264"

resize: --vpp-resize cubic_catmull requires "nppi64_80.dll", not available on your system.
resize: switching to spline36.

This after copying nppi64_80.dll from the NVENC directory under StaxRip to SysWOW64.
ashlar42 is offline  
Old 11th May 2019, 17:13   #403  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
stax76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: On thin ice
Posts: 6,837
dropbox mirror:

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/4ctl2y928...dd3yqcAHa?dl=0
stax76 is offline  
Old 11th May 2019, 17:15   #404  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
stax76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: On thin ice
Posts: 6,837
Maybe the nvencc author knows what's wrong.

https://github.com/rigaya/NVEnc/issues
stax76 is offline  
Old 11th May 2019, 18:09   #405  |  Link
ashlar42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 659
Quote:
Originally Posted by stax76 View Post
Maybe the nvencc author knows what's wrong.

https://github.com/rigaya/NVEnc/issues
Ok, I discovered one thing. I updated from a previous version of StaxRip and, before, the path was StaxRip/Apps/NVENC. Now it's StaxRip/Apps/Encoders/NVENC, which is why the file was not found. I copied all the files in the correct directory but now I suspect the problem is different, since I'm getting a different error...
resize: failed to resize: -22, NPP_INTERPOLATION_ERROR.

I suspect there's a problem with the CUDA SDK files version. In StaxRip there are functions exposed that are not supported out of the box, as the needed CUDA DLLs are not in the installation file. So now I'm using old files or wrong files, I don't know.

Last edited by ashlar42; 11th May 2019 at 18:21.
ashlar42 is offline  
Old 11th May 2019, 19:15   #406  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
stax76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: On thin ice
Posts: 6,837
@ashlar42

I cannot test it because my graphics card don't support nvenc.
stax76 is offline  
Old 12th May 2019, 15:53   #407  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
stax76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: On thin ice
Posts: 6,837
Currently, it's 200 MB download size and 600 MB disk space.

Would it make sense to offer three downloads, one with VapourSynth, one with AviSynth and one with both?

What would you download? I'd take both I guess.
stax76 is offline  
Old 12th May 2019, 18:03   #408  |  Link
Havokdan
Registered User
 
Havokdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Gurupi, Tocantins, Brasil
Posts: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by stax76 View Post
Currently, it's 200 MB download size and 600 MB disk space.

Would it make sense to offer three downloads, one with VapourSynth, one with AviSynth and one with both?

What would you download? I'd take both I guess.
The most complete.
Havokdan is offline  
Old 12th May 2019, 21:03   #409  |  Link
ashlar42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 659
Quote:
Originally Posted by Havokdan View Post
The most complete.
Same for me.

I'm sorry NVENC cannot be tested. Maybe in the future.
ashlar42 is offline  
Old 12th May 2019, 21:38   #410  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
stax76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: On thin ice
Posts: 6,837
Maybe I'll buy a better card in the future. I had a GTX 1060 but lost my PC in an unfortunate incident and didn't want to bother spending much time and money to build a new one, so I just bought a basic HP PC with i5-8400 CPU that can fit a GT 1030 card, I don't know if I can fit a better card in this PC due to possible heat and power restrictions.

I'm not sure GT 1030 is good enough for UHD content, I had a file recently (see below) which I can't get to play fluently, other UHD files are better.

http://tvdl.zdf.de/none/zdf/diverse/...k_p1112v12.mp4

Code:
CompleteName             : C:\Users\frank\Daten\Samples\Brot und Spiele - Wagenrennen im alten Rom.mp4
Format/String            : MPEG-4
Format_Profile           : Base Media / Version 2
CodecID/String           : mp42 (isom/mp42)
FileSize/String          : 1.83 GiB
Duration/String          : 58 min 40 s
OverallBitRate/String    : 4 468 kb/s
Encoded_Date             : UTC 2019-04-17 09:03:11
Tagged_Date              : UTC 2019-04-17 09:03:11

Video

ID/String                : 1
Format/String            : HEVC
Format/Info              : High Efficiency Video Coding
Format_Profile           : Main 10@L5.1@Main
CodecID                  : hvc1
CodecID/Info             : High Efficiency Video Coding
Duration/String          : 58 min 40 s
BitRate/String           : 4 330 kb/s
Width/String             : 3 840 pixels
Height/String            : 2 160 pixels
DisplayAspectRatio/String: 16:9
FrameRate_Mode/String    : Constant
FrameRate/String         : 50.000 FPS
ColorSpace               : YUV
ChromaSubsampling/String : 4:2:0
BitDepth/String          : 10 bits
Bits-(Pixel*Frame)       : 0.010
StreamSize/String        : 1.77 GiB (97%)
Encoded_Library/String   : x265 3.0:[Linux][GCC 6.3.0][64 bit] 10bit
Language/String          : German
Encoded_Date             : UTC 2019-04-17 09:03:11
Tagged_Date              : UTC 2019-04-17 09:03:16
colour_range             : Limited
colour_primaries         : BT.2020
transfer_characteristics : HLG
matrix_coefficients      : BT.2020 non-constant
Codec configuration box  : hvcC
stax76 is offline  
Old 12th May 2019, 23:09   #411  |  Link
Natty
Noob
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by stax76 View Post
Currently, it's 200 MB download size and 600 MB disk space.

Would it make sense to offer three downloads, one with VapourSynth, one with AviSynth and one with both?

What would you download? I'd take both I guess.
i will take avisynth full pack. for vapoursynth encoding I would need atleast 32 GB ram. I can do same thing (not as efficient as vapoursynth) in avisynth in ~2 GB
Natty is offline  
Old 12th May 2019, 23:11   #412  |  Link
jlw_4049
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 391
Quote:
Originally Posted by stax76 View Post
Maybe I'll buy a better card in the future. I had a GTX 1060 but lost my PC in an unfortunate incident and didn't want to bother spending much time and money to build a new one, so I just bought a basic HP PC with i5-8400 CPU that can fit a GT 1030 card, I don't know if I can fit a better card in this PC due to possible heat and power restrictions.



I'm not sure GT 1030 is good enough for UHD content, I had a file recently (see below) which I can't get to play fluently, other UHD files are better.



http://tvdl.zdf.de/none/zdf/diverse/...k_p1112v12.mp4



Code:
CompleteName             : C:\Users\frank\Daten\Samples\Brot und Spiele - Wagenrennen im alten Rom.mp4

Format/String            : MPEG-4

Format_Profile           : Base Media / Version 2

CodecID/String           : mp42 (isom/mp42)

FileSize/String          : 1.83 GiB

Duration/String          : 58 min 40 s

OverallBitRate/String    : 4 468 kb/s

Encoded_Date             : UTC 2019-04-17 09:03:11

Tagged_Date              : UTC 2019-04-17 09:03:11



Video



ID/String                : 1

Format/String            : HEVC

Format/Info              : High Efficiency Video Coding

Format_Profile           : Main 10@L5.1@Main

CodecID                  : hvc1

CodecID/Info             : High Efficiency Video Coding

Duration/String          : 58 min 40 s

BitRate/String           : 4 330 kb/s

Width/String             : 3 840 pixels

Height/String            : 2 160 pixels

DisplayAspectRatio/String: 16:9

FrameRate_Mode/String    : Constant

FrameRate/String         : 50.000 FPS

ColorSpace               : YUV

ChromaSubsampling/String : 4:2:0

BitDepth/String          : 10 bits

Bits-(Pixel*Frame)       : 0.010

StreamSize/String        : 1.77 GiB (97%)

Encoded_Library/String   : x265 3.0:[Linux][GCC 6.3.0][64 bit] 10bit

Language/String          : German

Encoded_Date             : UTC 2019-04-17 09:03:11

Tagged_Date              : UTC 2019-04-17 09:03:16

colour_range             : Limited

colour_primaries         : BT.2020

transfer_characteristics : HLG

matrix_coefficients      : BT.2020 non-constant

Codec configuration box  : hvcC
You could add another gtx 1060 in there fine. Pascal cards are super effecient. Might need to buy an adapted for PSU. A gtx 1650 or gtx 1050 would even suffice.

Sent from my SM-G965U1 using Tapatalk
jlw_4049 is offline  
Old 12th May 2019, 23:12   #413  |  Link
jlw_4049
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 391
Quote:
Originally Posted by Natty View Post
i will take avisynth full pack. for vapoursynth encoding I would need atleast 32 GB ram. I can do same thing (not as efficient as vapoursynth) in avisynth in ~2 GB
Does vapoursynth really use that much RAM? Is it faster or something?

Sent from my SM-G965U1 using Tapatalk
jlw_4049 is offline  
Old 12th May 2019, 23:15   #414  |  Link
Natty
Noob
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlw_4049 View Post
Does vapoursynth really use that much RAM? Is it faster or something?

Sent from my SM-G965U1 using Tapatalk
yes it does. in my test it took 10 GB ram in just 4 filters. but encoding was faster. supports 16bit natively. multi threaded. etc. its great for heavy pcs.
Natty is offline  
Old 12th May 2019, 23:17   #415  |  Link
jlw_4049
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 391
Quote:
Originally Posted by Natty View Post
yes it does. in my test it took 10 GB ram in just 4 filters. but encoding was faster. supports 16bit natively. multi threaded. etc. its great for heavy pcs.
I was thinking about learning it here soon, but my home server rig is only outfitted with 16gb ram. I won't add more until I upgrade to a wider home server. Hopefully a 16+ core threadripper or ryzen 3xxx.

Sent from my SM-G965U1 using Tapatalk
jlw_4049 is offline  
Old 12th May 2019, 23:54   #416  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
stax76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: On thin ice
Posts: 6,837
Quote:
You could add another gtx 1060 in there fine. Pascal cards are super effecient. Might need to buy an adapted for PSU. A gtx 1650 or gtx 1050 would even suffice.
The PC is called HP Pavilion 590-p0599ng and the PSU has 180 W, the CPU 65 W, if it fits well I consider buying a GTX 1650.
stax76 is offline  
Old 13th May 2019, 00:00   #417  |  Link
jlw_4049
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 391
Quote:
Originally Posted by stax76 View Post
The PC is called HP Pavilion 590-p0599ng and the PSU has 180 W, the CPU 65 W, if it fits well I consider buying a GTX 1650.
You could easily slap a 25 dollar evga 450 watt psu in there and put what ever card you desire in there. You can buy mini cards of almost every one of those.

However the gtx 1650 is fully powered by the motherboard, no need for any pci e wires from PSU. (You buy the base clocked model)

Sent from my SM-G965U1 using Tapatalk
jlw_4049 is offline  
Old 13th May 2019, 00:04   #418  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
stax76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: On thin ice
Posts: 6,837
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlw_4049 View Post
You could easily slap a 25 dollar evga 450 watt psu in there and put what ever card you desire in there. You can buy mini cards of almost every one of those.

However the gtx 1650 is fully powered by the motherboard, no need for any pci e wires from PSU. (You buy the base clocked model)

Sent from my SM-G965U1 using Tapatalk
Sounds good.
stax76 is offline  
Old 13th May 2019, 08:43   #419  |  Link
Forteen88
Herr
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Europe
Posts: 556
Quote:
Originally Posted by stax76 View Post
...if it fits well I consider buying a GTX 1650.
I hear that Nvidia GTX 1650 doesn't have Turing-encoding, it uses old Volta Nvidia Encoder (NVENC) for GPU-encoding.
https://www.tomshardware.com/news/nv...enc,39161.html

Last edited by Forteen88; 13th May 2019 at 08:46.
Forteen88 is offline  
Old 13th May 2019, 13:07   #420  |  Link
NikosD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,901
Quote:
Originally Posted by stax76 View Post
I'm not sure GT 1030 is good enough for UHD content, I had a file recently (see below) which I can't get to play fluently, other UHD files are better.

http://tvdl.zdf.de/none/zdf/diverse/...k_p1112v12.mp4
That's an easy to play 4K50 fps HEVC 10bit file, due to the very low bitrate (frame rate is high though)

Especially for GPUs, any chip with a fixed-function unit (AMD from Polaris onward, nVidia from Maxwell 2nd gen onward, Intel Kabylake onward) could handle it easily.
__________________
Win 10 x64 (19042.572) - Core i5-2400 - Radeon RX 470 (20.10.1)
HEVC decoding benchmarks
H.264 DXVA Benchmarks for all
NikosD is offline  
Closed Thread

Tags
aac, hdr, hevc, nvenc, staxrip, x264, x265

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.