Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 23rd July 2015, 09:51   #2701  |  Link
Belphemur
MPDN Extensions Dev
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Yeah got that earlier today, didn't bother reporting it as they know what's up, figured I'd just wait it out.



Will do.
Sorry for this, it was my doing. I upgraded to the last version of Visual Studio and didn't pay attention that I was using the C# syntax (that isn't supported by MPDN). I commited my changes to correct this. Now the source version available on github works with MPDN.
Belphemur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2015, 10:36   #2702  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,653
Quote:
Originally Posted by Belphemur View Post
Sorry for this, it was my doing. I upgraded to the last version of Visual Studio and didn't pay attention that I was using the C# syntax (that isn't supported by MPDN). I commited my changes to correct this. Now the source version available on github works with MPDN.
Yeah, I've been following that I've encountered this a few times already during MPDN's development so no big deal.
I suppose though if the main branch is going to be considered kinda stable (I think that might be the case) it could be worth giving the code a quick test first before submitting for a merge.

Also Garteal got caught out not submitting the regex config fix both you and I gave him a heads up on before 1.10 got released, so it's probably good practice
to make sure the submission is stable. But hey, it's not like it's a drama if it isn't. Everyone seems to be pretty hot on the code here.. quite refreshing really.

Zach is it possible to give the master a version number so the updater doesn't prompt to update the extensions to the latest released possibly earlier code version? Perhaps all commits could add 0.0.1 or 0.0.0.1?
Whatever works..

Last edited by ryrynz; 23rd July 2015 at 13:13.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2015, 13:18   #2703  |  Link
Zachs
Suptitle, MediaPlayer.NET
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,721
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Zach could you make the OSD only display when the player switches to fullscreen after loading a file when 'launch media in fullscreen mode' is active?
I got a nice big OSD flashing up for a moment before it changed to fullscreen.
It only shows the OSD after going to fullscreen mode. In fact, the code to switch to fullscreen comes before the OSD display code...
Zachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2015, 13:21   #2704  |  Link
Zachs
Suptitle, MediaPlayer.NET
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,721
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Zach is it possible to give the master a version number so the updater doesn't prompt to update the extensions to the latest released possibly earlier code version? Perhaps all commits could add 0.0.1 or 0.0.0.1?
Whatever works..
You mean when you're using the source code instead of the binaries? If so can you put a request on GitHub to get the update checker to auto disable when the source version is used?
Zachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2015, 13:46   #2705  |  Link
Zachs
Suptitle, MediaPlayer.NET
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,721
Quote:
Originally Posted by Volfield View Post
Presentation API: Direct3D 10.1, image quality: render performance (on image quality play fine) , GF GT 320M , Win7x64

EDIT: Problem 2:
image quality: render performance, XySubfilter -> subtitles ok
image quality: image quality, XySubfilter -> black rectangle around subtitles.
The first issue you encountered has now been fixed.

Problem #2 I can't reproduce though...
Zachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2015, 14:03   #2706  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,653
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zachs View Post
You mean when you're using the source code instead of the binaries? If so can you put a request on GitHub to get the update checker to auto disable when the source version is used?
Will do. Could be an idea just ignoring the latest binary releases I guess.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zachs View Post
It only shows the OSD after going to fullscreen mode. In fact, the code to switch to fullscreen comes before the OSD display code...
There's something funky going on there.. maybe it had reached fullscreen mode at the time it displayed the OSD, the OSD did stretch though on resize.

Last edited by ryrynz; 23rd July 2015 at 14:05.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2015, 18:00   #2707  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,812
Sinc-Blackman 8 taps w.o. AR seems to be a great chroma scaler.
MPDN S-B:


madVR Jinc3AR:


But enabling AR filter of MPDN is a bad idea for chroma, it becomes blurry by this.

Btw: Bicubic 50 in madVR is pretty much bicubic 100 in MPDN.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2015, 18:10   #2708  |  Link
Volfield
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zachs View Post
The first issue you encountered has now been fixed.

Problem #2 I can't reproduce though...
Is there any way for me to help you find solution?

P.S. screenshots include
Attached Images
  
Volfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2015, 18:40   #2709  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,812
I just discovered that the OpenCL implementation of NNEDI3 looks worse than the other.

OpenCL:


PS5.0:


(look at the doorframe, image is exactly doubled per axis)

Is it supposed to be that way? MPDN OpenCL and madVR OpenCL look the same. btw.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2015, 18:59   #2710  |  Link
Anima123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 504
More aliasing in OpenCL version. BTW, does madVR have PS 5.0 implementation of NNEDI3?
Anima123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2015, 19:11   #2711  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,812
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anima123 View Post
More aliasing in OpenCL version.
Exactly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anima123 View Post
BTW, does madVR have PS 5.0 implementation of NNEDI3?
No, but madshi is not against it (however, no etas as usual).

Btw: I'd really love to see options in the MPDN GUI/extensions for defining doubling/quadrupling settings like in madVR.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2015, 22:12   #2712  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by aufkrawall View Post
I just discovered that the OpenCL implementation of NNEDI3 looks worse than the other.
It's always dangerous to base such conclusions on just one image...

Without having looked into the matter, one wild guess would be that the OpenCL implementation might scale X first while PS5.0 might scale Y first, or vica versa. Doing that will change the angle of the lines, which can have a huge impact on the aliasing, especially when using a low neuron count.

You could try rotating the image 90 before scaling, as a double check. Does that make the two variants look identical?
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2015, 22:51   #2713  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,812
lul what
Nice guess, sir!

OpenCL:


PS5.0:
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2015, 00:41   #2714  |  Link
Zachs
Suptitle, MediaPlayer.NET
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,721
Quote:
Originally Posted by Volfield View Post
Is there any way for me to help you find solution?

P.S. screenshots include
The screenshots links are broken but do you get this problem with every file with subtitles or just specific ones?
Zachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2015, 00:51   #2715  |  Link
Zachs
Suptitle, MediaPlayer.NET
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,721
Quote:
Originally Posted by aufkrawall View Post
Btw: I'd really love to see options in the MPDN GUI/extensions for defining doubling/quadrupling settings like in madVR.
The "Conditional" script was created exactly for such a thing.

You can easily replicate madVR's simple behaviour with it but it's a lot more powerful - e.g. you can double with NNEDI3, then double again with NEDI or Super-xBR (or with NNEDI3 again, with the same or different number of neurons), only when it's required. Or you can have 3 in the chain to give you 8x, or 4 to get 16x etc.
Zachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2015, 01:05   #2716  |  Link
Zachs
Suptitle, MediaPlayer.NET
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,721
Quote:
Originally Posted by aufkrawall View Post
lul what
Nice guess, sir!
Yes, it depends on which direction it scales first (and OclNNEDI3 is the opposite of the SM5 version). The second pass will result in lower quality. It may be a good idea then to scale first pass with higher neurons.

Go ahead and create a request on GitHub for separate neuron settings for each pass. Either Shiandow or myself could add the feature when we get to it. Or anyone else who wants to have a play with the render script. It's a very small change so might be a good place to start if you want to learn.

Last edited by Zachs; 24th July 2015 at 01:09.
Zachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2015, 01:14   #2717  |  Link
Zachs
Suptitle, MediaPlayer.NET
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,721
BTW, while we're on the subject, has anyone noticed the SM5 NNEDI3 is now around 10% faster with the same neurons vs OpenCL with the recent Nvidia drivers? At least on my Fermi cards, it was neck and neck (with SM5 just a touch faster) when we first implemented it. We haven't updated the NNEDI3 code and the only thing that's changed would've been the drivers. Just wondering if anyone's noticed the speed improvements.
Zachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2015, 04:47   #2718  |  Link
Volfield
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zachs View Post
The screenshots links are broken but do you get this problem with every file with subtitles or just specific ones?
http://imgur.com/LQKSGcr,sxEUjSs#0

Every file(ass,str,txt).
Volfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2015, 05:04   #2719  |  Link
Zachs
Suptitle, MediaPlayer.NET
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,721
That's strange. I just can't replicate the problem on any of my systems...
Do you have any render scripts running?
Could you send me your config folder so I could try and see if there's anything else that might be needed to trigger the problem?
Zachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2015, 05:09   #2720  |  Link
Volfield
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zachs View Post
That's strange. I just can't replicate the problem on any of my systems...
Do you have any render scripts running?
Could you send me your config folder so I could try and see if there's anything else that might be needed to trigger the problem?
https://mega.nz/#!pZ0QXbDA!Dg2YFWksp...psmc7y9y3UQHeU
Volfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct3d, mpdn, nnedi3, opencl, reclock

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.