Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > PC Hard & Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 24th June 2009, 20:38   #1  |  Link
contactadam2002
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 24
Computer Freezes during bios and O/S even when idle?

My computer freezes under load and idle (mouse, sound and screen completely freeze) the fans keep spinning and all of this happens on random occasions and since a few days ago when this first started, it has started occurring more often. It actually froze on a few occasions before the operating system, could load up (during a system recovery, bios menu and GPU splash screen) and the HDDs and optical drives were unplugged during 2 of the bios freezes. This problem (though possibly only coincidence) seemed to start a couple of weeks after I began leaving it on all night with the internet radio streaming (the CPU was under enough load to warrant the fans to spin faster, but not 100%) other than this Ive done nothing out of the ordinary. The only remaining culprits seem to be the RAM, CPU and the motherboard. Nothing was running near danger level temperatures either and unplugging and plugging things in only sometimes postpones it. This home made PC is 5 years old (except the GPU and all but the main boot HDD) and is a 3.2Ghz Intel P4 with an Asus P4C800 Deluxe motherboard, Geforce 7600 GS GPU and 1.75Gb of standard RAM (3x512 + 1 256). I have never had any serious problem in all that time until now. Please help and ask for any extra info if necessary.
contactadam2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2009, 22:35   #2  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,901
Check all fans and clean their heat-sink fins and re-apply CPU thermal paste. Also try replacing the power supply.
Guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2009, 22:54   #3  |  Link
jsquare
BrainDead
 
jsquare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Near a Nuclear Power Plant
Posts: 149
I would check/clean the fans like neuron2 advised, but that memory configuration may be a problem, I always use the same type/size of memory for all the slots, or on pairs for DDR/DDR2, try removing the 128MB. Do a default BIOS reset, or simple remove the CMOS battery for a few minutes, your BIOS settings maybe corrupted. Normally these symptoms are related to Overclocking or overheating.
jsquare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2009, 23:02   #4  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,249
If you have several RAM modules, try using only one of them. If the system is still unstable try another RAM module. Bad RAM modules often cause trouble

Checking your PSU is more difficult. You can't rely on software that monitors the PSU voltage. You need a Voltmeter for that...
__________________
Go to https://standforukraine.com/ to find legitimate Ukrainian Charities 🇺🇦✊
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2009, 00:03   #5  |  Link
Soulhunter
Bored...
 
Soulhunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Unknown
Posts: 2,812
My guess is also a faulty PSU or Mobo... :/
__________________

Visit my IRC channel
Soulhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2009, 00:04   #6  |  Link
BigDid
Actually in reserve
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,605
Hi,

I agree with LordMulder that RAM modules are to be inspected first. Visually for contacts oxydation, if so gently rub the contacts with a soft synthetic rubber, I revive regularly mine like that

The PSU may not be in cause, unless your video card is new or nearly new and asking too much of the PSU..
I would also inspect visually the motherboard looking for leaking capacitors or other bizarre looking components;

Best would be checking (swapping) each component one by one, I know it may not be easy but for me it is the only way to confirm a failure.

If you have to change either the processor or the motherboard it could be the time to evolve to a socket 775.
The E5000 core2 duo are cheap (60 euros for the E5200) and really powerful; and with a MB like the ASRock 4CoreDual-SATA2 R2.0 (VIA PT880 Ultra) (60 euros also) that can retain your DDRM RAM and AGP card it could be a smooth transition..

Did
__________________
Having a problem with AutoGK? Read & use the FAQ & MORE FAQ first
Want to exchange on AutoGK? try doom10.org
In reserve (inactive) for an undefined period of time.
BigDid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
crash, freeze, lockup

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.