Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 AVC / H.264

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 14th September 2008, 00:37   #101  |  Link
Ranguvar
Registered User
 
Ranguvar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: ::1
Posts: 1,236
Did you see my long post right before you announced a2? Just making sure, since you posted right after me and may not have seen it

And what do you mean? Just demux with MP4Box/mkvextract, which is what I did
Ranguvar is offline  
Old 14th September 2008, 00:38   #102  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ranguvar View Post
I used the demuxed .h264 stream.
I tried your MP4 after demuxing with Yamb. I don't see any artifacts.

I'm not interested in installing any MKV demuxers.

Last edited by Guest; 14th September 2008 at 00:44.
Guest is offline  
Old 14th September 2008, 00:43   #103  |  Link
Ranguvar
Registered User
 
Ranguvar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: ::1
Posts: 1,236
Must be my system then? I am definitely getting artifacts. Unfortunately, I can't show you a screenshot, as DGAVCIndexNV doesn't feel like detecting my card right now. Maybe later

Try the lossless one, though - the video is basically unwatchable for me at least.


EDIT: What?? Why? So you want me to demux the stream and then give it to you?

Last edited by Ranguvar; 14th September 2008 at 00:53.
Ranguvar is offline  
Old 14th September 2008, 00:51   #104  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ranguvar View Post
Must be my system then? I am definitely getting artifacts. Unfortunately, I can't show you a screenshot, as DGAVCIndexNV doesn't feel like detecting my card right now. Maybe later
Did you try demuxing with Yamb? I've heard of issues with MP4Box.

Quote:
Try the lossless one, though - the video is basically unwatchable for me at least.
As I said, I'm not interested in installing any MKV tools.

If you have RAW or TS streams that play fine with CoreAVC and don't with DGAVCIndexNV, then I am interested, else not.
Guest is offline  
Old 14th September 2008, 00:53   #105  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ranguvar View Post
I have Windows XP Pro SP2 x64
You need to check whether CUDA video decoding is supported on 64-bit windows.
Guest is offline  
Old 14th September 2008, 00:54   #106  |  Link
Ranguvar
Registered User
 
Ranguvar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: ::1
Posts: 1,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
Did you try demuxing with Yamb? I've heard of issues with MP4Box.

As I said, I'm not interested in installing any MKV tools.

If you have RAW or TS streams that play fine with CoreAVC and don't with DGAVCIndexNV, then I am interested, else not.
YAMB is MP4Box. It's just a GUI for it. And actually, I did use YAMB.

You said you didn't want MKV tools after I suggested it (you edited).

And it should be, considering NVIDIA offers a CUDA driver specially for x64, which I am using.
Ranguvar is offline  
Old 14th September 2008, 00:56   #107  |  Link
Ranguvar
Registered User
 
Ranguvar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: ::1
Posts: 1,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
Your attitude is in danger of turning me off.
I'm just confused as to why you have such an aversion to MKV. I'll upload the raw stream, if that's what it takes.
Ranguvar is offline  
Old 14th September 2008, 00:56   #108  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
Did I understand you correctly and you have 64-bit Windows?
Guest is offline  
Old 14th September 2008, 00:57   #109  |  Link
Ranguvar
Registered User
 
Ranguvar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: ::1
Posts: 1,236
Yes
Ranguvar is offline  
Old 14th September 2008, 00:58   #110  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ranguvar View Post
I'm just confused as to why you have such an aversion to MKV.
I don't want to clutter my system with things I don't need or want.

Quote:
I'll upload the raw stream, if that's what it takes.
I already demuxed it and played it with no problems, but if you'd like me to try your raw, we can rule out demuxing as the problem for you.

Last edited by Guest; 14th September 2008 at 01:04.
Guest is offline  
Old 14th September 2008, 01:01   #111  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
Did you install the 64-bit CUDA driver and toolkit from the Nvidia CUDA download site? Did you say yes to overwrite your current driver?
Guest is offline  
Old 14th September 2008, 01:02   #112  |  Link
Ranguvar
Registered User
 
Ranguvar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: ::1
Posts: 1,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by http://www.manifold.net/doc/nvidia_cuda.htm
We can get the most out of CUDA if the rest of our machine does not slow down the ability to feed the insatiable power of NVIDIA stream processors. For maximum speed we should use 64-bit Windows on at least a quad core machine with lots of RAM and large, fast disk drives. Before configuring a new 64-bit system, check the NVIDIA web site to make sure that 64-bit drivers are available for the Windows operating system you plan to install. At the present writing, Windows XP x64 has been used for development of x64 support by manifold.net.
blahblahforfivecharacterlimit

EDIT: Yes, I did
Ranguvar is offline  
Old 14th September 2008, 01:07   #113  |  Link
Sagekilla
x264aholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 1,752
neuron2, I'll post the raw H.264 file demuxed from the mkv if you'd like. I believe I have a copy of it on my system somewhere.
__________________
You can't call your encoding speed slow until you start measuring in seconds per frame.
Sagekilla is offline  
Old 14th September 2008, 01:08   #114  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
Sure, go ahead. Thank you.
Guest is offline  
Old 14th September 2008, 01:08   #115  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
@Ranguvar

Are you able to run the samples in the CUDA SDK?
Guest is offline  
Old 14th September 2008, 01:17   #116  |  Link
Ranguvar
Registered User
 
Ranguvar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: ::1
Posts: 1,236
Uninstalled driver, rebooted, installed driver (CUDA WinXP x64), rebooted - exact same problems.

I will try, one second please.
Ranguvar is offline  
Old 14th September 2008, 01:18   #117  |  Link
Sagekilla
x264aholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 1,752
Here's the Lossless Touhou sample, I wasn't able to get the other (mp4) one because I don't have a mp4 demuxer on my system at the moment. Still, this should be very helpful.

It'll be here: http://www.mediafire.com/?sharekey=5...db6fb9a8902bda, upload finishes in ~3 mins. They're 7zipped, if you're unable to extract 7z I'll see if I can cut a sample in half for you in a second.


Edit: What's the ETA on the decoder for Avisynth? I'd love to get a jump on it and try it on a blu-ray.
__________________
You can't call your encoding speed slow until you start measuring in seconds per frame.

Last edited by Sagekilla; 14th September 2008 at 01:24.
Sagekilla is offline  
Old 14th September 2008, 01:25   #118  |  Link
Ranguvar
Registered User
 
Ranguvar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: ::1
Posts: 1,236
Yes, I can run the sample CUDA apps from the SDK (x64 SDK). (yes, it's XP, just skinned)

(I am using CUDA 2.0, for sure, don't know why it says 1.1)
Ranguvar is offline  
Old 14th September 2008, 01:35   #119  |  Link
kemuri-_9
Compiling Encoder
 
kemuri-_9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,348
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
Reboot.
yeah yeah, finally did the M$ Winblows fixall
working again on my XP x64.

also installed the cuda toolkit and sdk
__________________
custom x264 builds & patches | F@H | My Specs
kemuri-_9 is offline  
Old 14th September 2008, 01:37   #120  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ranguvar View Post
I am using CUDA 2.0, for sure, don't know why it says 1.1)
"It" means what? Sounds like you have a munged up install.
Guest is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.