Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Newbies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 23rd June 2022, 07:23   #1  |  Link
kivuy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2022
Posts: 1
deinterlace question

hi if anyone know how to deinterlace 1080i with top field first ?>?
kivuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd June 2022, 20:58   #2  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,230
Maybe start here:
http://avisynth.nl/index.php/Interla..._deinterlacing
http://avisynth.nl/index.php/QTGMC
__________________
Go to https://standforukraine.com/ to find legitimate Ukrainian Charities 🇺🇦✊
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2022, 10:42   #3  |  Link
richardpl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 215
QTGMC changes both fields, this is far from optimal solution.
richardpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th June 2022, 14:33   #4  |  Link
poisondeathray
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,969
It depends on what your goals are for "deinterlacing"

Quote:
Originally Posted by richardpl View Post
QTGMC changes both fields, this is far from optimal solution.

QTGMC also has a lossless option that retains the original fields

But if your goal was to reduce bob flicker and aliasing artifacts, then choosing to retain the original fields is far from the optimal solution
poisondeathray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2022, 14:13   #5  |  Link
cubicibo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by richardpl View Post
QTGMC changes both fields, this is far from optimal solution.
Suggest something else then. Sure, you could use "MSU Deinterlacer" or NNEDI3 that leave the input fields untouched but you're in for serious shimmering and flickering on most if not all footages.
At times, it is better to have something pleasing to look at than being just lossless.
cubicibo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2022, 14:20   #6  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,230
Also, to my understanding, QTGMC has a so-called "lossless" mode, if that is desired:
http://avisynth.nl/index.php/QTGMC#S...h_.2F_Lossless

Quote:
The additional Lossless modes are designed to take source-match to its logical conclusion: Lossless mode 1 restores the *exact* pixels of the source into the output (provided NoiseRestore=0). This recovers a liitle more source detail but can introduce shimmering, minor combing, noise etc. Note the Sharpness and MatchEnhance settings have little effect in lossless mode 1. Lossless mode 2 makes the clip lossless before the sharpening & final temporal smooth. This removes most of the lossless artefacts and also allows sharpness control. This mode will not give an exactly lossless output but it will gain a little more detail.
__________________
Go to https://standforukraine.com/ to find legitimate Ukrainian Charities 🇺🇦✊
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.