Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 AVC / H.264

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10th October 2015, 02:37   #21  |  Link
foxyshadis
ангел смерти
 
foxyshadis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lost
Posts: 9,558
In coding, strip means "remove debug information." Even without specifically building debug, some debug information is embedded unless you strip it, so it's a part of most *nix builds.
foxyshadis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2015, 15:37   #22  |  Link
jpsdr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 2,309
Ok, thanks for the remarks and informations, i've updated the tutorial.
jpsdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2015, 21:58   #23  |  Link
komisar
Registered User
 
komisar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Posts: 235
For latest git FFMS2 and non-POSIX gcc threaing model need this patch

and `#if defined(_MSC_VER)` also need in ffms.h
__________________
..::[I am live here]..::..[My x264 CLI/VFW builds and tools]::..
komisar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2015, 17:36   #24  |  Link
jpsdr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 2,309
What are the advantages of a non-POSIX gcc threading model ? (If any...)
jpsdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2015, 18:52   #25  |  Link
komisar
Registered User
 
komisar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Posts: 235
In this case, ffms2 use threading for read number of CPU/working-threads... But when gcc compile without POSIX threading model on windows, this dont work. (You may make you app with POSIX thread, but gcc itself, and std::thread in c++11, dont)
As i understand guys use this for "unification" for C++11... But use this only for read number of CPU and break compatibilities with some compilers... This is a small/big question...
__________________
..::[I am live here]..::..[My x264 CLI/VFW builds and tools]::..

Last edited by komisar; 21st October 2015 at 14:05.
komisar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2015, 09:07   #26  |  Link
jpsdr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 2,309
Your patch is not working with the standard actual version of ffms2, one reason is that the make files are not in the same directory than in your patch.
jpsdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2015, 11:38   #27  |  Link
komisar
Registered User
 
komisar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Posts: 235
`patch -p1 <"no_c++11_threads.diff"` work for me with current git
__________________
..::[I am live here]..::..[My x264 CLI/VFW builds and tools]::..
komisar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2015, 12:25   #28  |  Link
jpsdr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 2,309
I'll check again...

Ok, my mistake. I was mislead by tortoisegit which didn't display the red "!" on the make files after applying the patch.
Strange...

Last edited by jpsdr; 21st October 2015 at 12:31.
jpsdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2016, 16:46   #29  |  Link
jpsdr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 2,309
Update x264 build script after r2664.

Edit : Update also of ffmpeg build script.

Last edited by jpsdr; 18th January 2016 at 20:55.
jpsdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2016, 12:53   #30  |  Link
jpsdr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 2,309
Update of msys2 part since the last pacman update changes a little the process.
jpsdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2016, 09:38   #31  |  Link
jpsdr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 2,309
Update the install link of msys2. I ask again moderators if this can be sticked, because i think it's interesting enough to be. If not, at least can you tell me why, or what is missing or need to be done to be sticked ?
Thanks.
jpsdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2016, 11:33   #32  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 775
Can you explain how to invoke sh from windows shell? I tried passing it to sh.exe but got some shit.
Mingw tutorials just say "run configure as usual"..
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2016, 22:51   #33  |  Link
jpsdr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 2,309
Oops. Deleted wrong message. I'm using msys2 shell, not windows shell, as i've explained in the tutorial.
jpsdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2016, 09:59   #34  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 775
This works for me now (I had a stupid mistake in path command)
IMO much better than having to type commands in msys shell

Code:
@set msys=E:\work\ffmpeg_build\msys64
@set bin=%msys%\mingw32\bin
@path %path%;%bin%;%msys%\usr\bin

@set dir=%CD%
@cd E:\work\ffmpeg_build\build\x264-git\build-32bit

@sh ../configure --host=i686-w64-mingw32 --prefix=/local32 --enable-static --disable-cli
@make >%dir%\buildlib.log

@cd %dir%
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2016, 15:15   #35  |  Link
jpsdr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 2,309
Still not working for me with gcc 6.1.0, but only on 64 bit builds, works fine on 32 bit builds.
I must say i had no idea what magical compile command option to add. In the other thread i've put the config log result, if any expert can take a look and tell me why what was working for gcc 5.3.0 is not working anymore for gcc 6.1.0.

Last edited by jpsdr; 10th August 2016 at 15:18.
jpsdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2023, 16:40   #36  |  Link
ghostshadow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 34
hello @jpsdr I have an error using your script for ffm2:

$ ./Build_ffms2_x264.sh 64 posix jpsdr
./Build_ffms2_x264.sh: line 29: ../configure: No such file or directory
make: *** No targets specified and no makefile found. Stop.
make: *** No rule to make target 'install'. Stop.
make: *** No rule to make target 'clean'. Stop.


I can't find the error.

thank
ghostshadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2023, 18:32   #37  |  Link
jpsdr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 2,309
OOOOOhhhh... A looot of things in this thread are obsolete.
I didn't maintain as was never able to make the admin stick it, and never had a reply of what is the process for asking to stick. As admin didn't care and were not interested in this, so do i.

Anyway, your issue is that there is no configure script anymore in ffms2. So copy autogen.sh, rename it autogen2.sh for exemple, delete the last line with configure and run the new version. It will create the configure file, and things will work again.
__________________
My github.
jpsdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2023, 19:05   #38  |  Link
ghostshadow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 34
thanks @jpsdr
I managed to get my codecs.
ghostshadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2024, 22:39   #39  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 10,980
Yes thanx jpsdr, will be handy when I ever eventually try to compile a version of x264.

Methinks any guide to compiling a major open-source video related tool should be stickied, if only so people can find it.
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2024, 19:47   #40  |  Link
jpsdr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 2,309
As i've said, a loooooooooooooot of things have changed, and probably at least 50% should be re-written.
More... Now ffms2 changed the api, needing at least ffmpeg5, but to be able to use some patches wich are ooold, you can't go over ffmpeg4.
So, i had to create a specific branch of ffms2 just before the changes needing ffmpeg5 were commited. Meaning ffms2 is not frozen (at least in my releases).
The best for these patches would be to still being able to use ffmpeg2, but x264 needs at least ffmpeg3 i think.
__________________
My github.
jpsdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.