Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > Advanced authoring

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12th March 2015, 18:56   #1  |  Link
broxburn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 77
SubPic Used as Frame

Based on a tutorial here about creating a DVD menu, I decided to use a subpic to mask an area of the DVD (without the need for recoding).
Using the .sst script and MuxMan I got it working ok.
During normal playback on a standalone player I could turn on and off the subpic and pausing was ok.
However fast forwarding the movie caused the subpic to vanish.
Here's the script I used.
Setting it as forced or non-forced made no difference.
Also setting the display time had no effect.
Any offers?

Quote:
st_format 2
Display_Start non_forced
TV_Type NTSC
Tape_Type NON_DROP
Pixel_Area (2 479)
Display_Area (0 2 719 479)
E2 (255 0 0 = = =)
E1 (0 255 0 = = =)
PA (0 0 0 = = =)
BG (0 0 0 = = =)
Directory .
Color (2 5 1 3)
Contrast (15 0 0 0)
1 00:00:00:00 00:00:00:00 SUB.bmp
broxburn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2015, 19:13   #2  |  Link
bigotti5
Spielberger
 
bigotti5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 838
DVD Video requires a subpic to disappear using fast forward/rewind

- restart subpic every second (without display_stop command)
Code:
...
BG	(0 0 0 = = =) 
Directory	.
Color	(2 5 1 3) 
Contrast	(15 0 0 0) 
1	00:00:00:00	-	SUB.bmp
1	00:00:01:00	-	SUB.bmp
1	00:00:02:00	-	SUB.bmp
1	00:00:03:00	-	SUB.bmp
1	00:00:04:00	-	SUB.bmp
...
- prohibit fast forward/rewind

Last edited by bigotti5; 12th March 2015 at 19:16.
bigotti5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2015, 20:13   #3  |  Link
broxburn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 77
Thank you for the prompt reply.
For a two hour movie I'd need 7200 entries?
I went with the prohibited user option instead.
Cheers.
broxburn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2015, 20:15   #4  |  Link
bigotti5
Spielberger
 
bigotti5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 838
You have to restart subpic at least at chapter points
bigotti5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2015, 20:37   #5  |  Link
broxburn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 77
Good to know.
Thanks again!
broxburn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2015, 23:40   #6  |  Link
rik1138
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: LA
Posts: 620
Some players also have a problem with subpics that are left on indefinitely... After some number of minutes they just stop displaying the event... So you should have it re-fresh every 5 minutes or so anyway...

These are probably older players though, so I'm not sure if it's much of an issue anymore... Just something I remember from back in the day.
rik1138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2015, 08:27   #7  |  Link
Ghitulescu
Registered User
 
Ghitulescu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,770
And some players simply ignore this requirement and display the subs also during FWD/REW up to a certain speed.

Why do you need to have them displayed during FWD/REW? Why do you not want to have the audio as well not-muted?
__________________
Born in the USB (not USA)
Ghitulescu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2015, 16:21   #8  |  Link
broxburn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghitulescu View Post
And some players simply ignore this requirement and display the subs also during FWD/REW up to a certain speed.

Why do you need to have them displayed during FWD/REW? Why do you not want to have the audio as well not-muted?
(a)I don't - I just want them (it) to resume masking the video when normal playback re-starts, but since it's been pointed out that isn't on the cards, I'm fine.
(b) It wasn't part of my original post, however since you bring it up, on reflexion, audio playback as an option might be amusing as the speed ramps up - probably improve Transformers II no end.
broxburn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th March 2015, 12:11   #9  |  Link
Ghitulescu
Registered User
 
Ghitulescu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,770
The point was that when the DVD specs were laid out, not DVD player could fulfil them.
SO they had to cut the tail of the fox until the state-of-the-art technology could resolve the DVD requirements.

It is possible to have subs and audio at higher than 1x speeds, but not in 1994 (the first DVD players appeared in 1997). I think I had once a player that could display subs even at 4x search but no sound (my Popcorn does it at every scan speed but no audio - beacause it is done in software and the HW is much much better). For the same reason, CSS was so easy to break only after 5 years.
__________________
Born in the USB (not USA)
Ghitulescu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2015, 00:21   #10  |  Link
Lyris
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 602
Quote:
Originally Posted by rik1138 View Post
Some players also have a problem with subpics that are left on indefinitely... After some number of minutes they just stop displaying the event... So you should have it re-fresh every 5 minutes or so anyway...
The first disc I ever authored (using Sony DVD Architect "Pro" - not something I recommend) had a bug where on some players (Oppo BDP-83 running some Mediatek chipset) the subtitles would not disappear from the screen. So the last line of dialogue before a 5-minute music-only scene remained on screen throughout.

That was the first and last time I used DVD Architect for a replicated title.
Lyris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2015, 19:58   #11  |  Link
Emulgator
Big Bit Savings Now !
 
Emulgator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: close to the wall
Posts: 1,630
Lyris, may I ask which version(s) of Sony DVD-A gave this fault ?
__________________
"To bypass shortcuts and find suffering...is called QUALity" (Die toten Augen von Friedrichshain)
"Data reduction ? Yep, Sir. We're that issue working on. Synce invntoin uf lingöage..."
Emulgator is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.