Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > Advanced authoring

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11th October 2002, 06:50   #1  |  Link
Arky
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,479
A little bit of information on using Scenarist can be found here:

Hi, I thought a little info on Scenarist & ReelDVD might be useful for those of us who wish to dip our toes into the non-Maestro authoring environment, as, indeed, many more people on the forums seem to be doing these days, no doubt spurred on by the IFO-editing utils from our marvellously talented Doom9 members, and by the excellent guide to using Scenarist, by Doom9 himself

Well, here's a little more info:


ReelDVD and Scenarist Specifications / COMPARISONS Table:

h**p://www.daileycreative.com/reeldvd/Features.asp

(bear in mind that many people choose to author most of their title in the *relative* simplicity of the ReelDVD environment, and then import their scenarios into Scenarist for finalising the more complex aspects of their authoring).

I have now decided that I am going to tackle Scenarist and see for myself how it lends itself to some heavy authoring! (I may be some time.... ) lol


More nice links:

h**p://www.dvd.acedaikin.com.sg/products/Scenarist_NT/project_manager.htm

And some ReelDVD tut's:

h**p://www.daileycreative.com/ReelDVD/Tutorial/Tutorial_1.asp

h**p://www.crazypants.com/


Arky ;o)




"General Scenarist Troubleshooting:

1) Beware of filenames which are too long or that have similar beginnings. If the name of an object is longer than 22 characters or the first 4 characters of two tracks are identical and you try to delete one of it (as track or as PGC).

2) If you are making a lot of changes to your scenario you may wish to export to a script file and then re-import with a slightly different name"
__________________
"Only those who dare to fail greatly can achieve greatly" - Robert F. Kennedy

"The significant problems we have created... cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them" - Albert Einstein

"The person who says it cannot be done should not interrupt the person doing it." - Ancient Chinese Proverb

www.DVDAfterEdit.com - Edit DVDs post-mux with perfect Spec'-compliance

Last edited by Arky; 11th October 2002 at 08:02.
Arky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2002, 08:33   #2  |  Link
timekills
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 47
With Scenarist Chapter Editor and multiple PGCs

If you choose to use ScenChap, and you are encoding a DVD with multiple PGCs and or video title-sets, you may wish to export a script with just ONE (i.e. probably the main movie's) PGC to ScenChap.

This is because ScenChap does not work correctly when drop-down flagged and non-drop-down flagged PGCs are exported to it, or with multiple aspect ratios. Many DVDs now have "The making of..." additions, and these are frequently 4:3 and/or interlaced. Even if you choose to re-encode the mpeg stream of these videos (often I will just rip that .m2v if it is too short to mess with) the video will still throw ScenChap for a loop if the script also has a "standard" 23.97 FPS video stream PGC with drop-down enabled.

So, to fix this, drag only the main movie onto the timeline editor, and then export the script. Insert the chapter points using ScenChap. Reimport the new script into Scenarist, dop the rest of the video and audio files onto your timeline, and you are all set.

That being said, ScenChap works perfectly well with any number of PGCs as long as they are all the same FPS and aspect ratio.
timekills is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2004, 12:22   #3  |  Link
sundance
Registered User
 
sundance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Alpha Quadrant
Posts: 163
You might also want to have a look at
Scenarist Survival Guide in 24 hours ...
__________________
..:: sundance ::..
sundance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2007, 11:43   #4  |  Link
Radiomans
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 34
Hi

well i have just been looking at sonic scenarist v3.1 and
i can say with my hand on my heart that this is not for me at the moment

I will be staying with DVDLab Pro v2.3, its a great prog to learn and use, i have been using it now for about 2 yrs, ok
i did have a bit of learning to do, but i think that it is just as good as sonic scenarist, its alot easy to use to and
is a better price ($299)

Well back to work, got a project to get out in a few days

Cya all
Radiomans
Radiomans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2007, 15:30   #5  |  Link
Arky
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,479
Radiomans, I like DVDLab Pro - it puts a lot of power into the hands of the author for an extremely fair price, and I hope it continues to move forward.

However, last I knew, it was not (yet) certified Spec-Compliant. Are your projects commercial or personal? If commercial, do you have them verified prior to duplication/replication?


Arky.
__________________
"Only those who dare to fail greatly can achieve greatly" - Robert F. Kennedy

"The significant problems we have created... cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them" - Albert Einstein

"The person who says it cannot be done should not interrupt the person doing it." - Ancient Chinese Proverb

www.DVDAfterEdit.com - Edit DVDs post-mux with perfect Spec'-compliance

Last edited by Arky; 4th June 2007 at 15:33.
Arky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd June 2007, 18:06   #6  |  Link
lazmi
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1
Scenarist

Anyone have more information regarding scenarist subtitlese script.. how can you import subtitles script file.
lazmi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2007, 09:32   #7  |  Link
PhillipWyllie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 217
The script file has the form:
[html]st_format 2
Display_Start non_forced
TV_Type PAL
Tape_Type NON_DROP
Pixel_Area (0 574)
Display_Area (0 2 719 574)
Color (4 4 3 4)
Contrast (15 15 15 0)
E2 (255 0 0 - - - )
E1 (0 0 255 - - - )
PA (0 0 0 - - - )
BG (255 255 255 - - - )
Directory
#####################################################
SP_NUMBER START END FILE_NAME
1 00:00:00:00:00 00:00:00:10:00 pict1.bmp[/html]
Each subtitle has a separate image file. Make sure you don't have any overlapping and point to the directory the pictures are in or you'll get an error when you multiplex.
__________________
Specs: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600(4*2.4GHz), Win XP Pro SP2, 2 Gb DDR2, 1*120Gb HDD, 1*500Gb HDD
PhillipWyllie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2007, 10:04   #8  |  Link
bigotti5
Spielberger
 
bigotti5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 838
@PhillipWyllie
Pixel_Area is not correct
Py1 – Py0 <= 572 for PAL and <= 477 for NTSC
bigotti5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2007, 11:58   #9  |  Link
PhillipWyllie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigotti5 View Post
@PhillipWyllie
Pixel_Area is not correct
Py1 Py0 <= 572 for PAL and <= 477 for NTSC
It may be wrong, but it's the only one I can get to work. Maybe you can help me understand what all the parts mean, bigotti. For the life of me that part of the manual doesn't make sense.
__________________
Specs: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600(4*2.4GHz), Win XP Pro SP2, 2 Gb DDR2, 1*120Gb HDD, 1*500Gb HDD
PhillipWyllie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2007, 16:59   #10  |  Link
bigotti5
Spielberger
 
bigotti5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 838
Subtitles are always rendered at 720x576(480)
The top 2 lines and for PAL the bottom line must not be used.
So max height for PAL is 573 and for NTSC is 478
Values in SST counts from 0 for x and y so you have to use 572/477

Image size
Max image size PAL:720x576
Max image size NTSC:720x480


Specifications:

Pixel_Area (Py0 Py1)
Py0 >= 0
Py1 <=image height -1
Py0 < Py1
Py1 - Py0 <= 572(PAL,respect bottom line)/477(NTSC)

Display_Area (Dx0 Dy0 Dx1 Dy1)
Dx0 >= 0, Dx1 <= 719
Dx0 < Dx1
Dy0 >=2
Dy1 <= 479(NTSC)/574(PAL, respect bottom line)
Dx1 - Dx0 = image width -1
Dy1 - Dy0 = Py1 - Py0 <= 572(PAL)/477(NTSC)

Calculate pixel area values from image area
Claculate display area values from screen area

Examples (PAL):

Source image 720x576
Pixel area -> (2 574)
Display area -> (0 2 719 574)

Source image 720x574
Pixel area -> (0 572)
Display area -> (0 2 719 574)
or
Pixel area -> (2 572)
Display area -> (0 2 719 574)
2 pixels cropped from top

Source image 700x420 (placing 100 from top, center horizontal)
Pixel area -> (0 419)
Display area -> (9 100 709 519)
bigotti5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st July 2007, 01:51   #11  |  Link
PhillipWyllie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 217
Tanks m8, I'll refer to this in future.
__________________
Specs: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600(4*2.4GHz), Win XP Pro SP2, 2 Gb DDR2, 1*120Gb HDD, 1*500Gb HDD
PhillipWyllie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2014, 11:31   #12  |  Link
neil wilkes
Registered User
 
neil wilkes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: London, England
Posts: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arky View Post
More nice links:

h**p://www.dvd.acedaikin.com.sg/products/Scenarist_NT/project_manager.htm

"General Scenarist Troubleshooting:

1) Beware of filenames which are too long or that have similar beginnings. If the name of an object is longer than 22 characters or the first 4 characters of two tracks are identical and you try to delete one of it (as track or as PGC).

2) If you are making a lot of changes to your scenario you may wish to export to a script file and then re-import with a slightly different name"
Some great info there - especially the filenames thing. Another gotcha for the unwary are filenames with spaces in them - this should be avoided at all costs and the only characters I recommend are alphanumeric & underscores - no spaces, no funny characters as the file may well import okay but you could easily run into trouble at multiplex time.

Another tip - if you need to change out an asset, go into the data editor, right-click the asset to change & then point it at the new file - this will swap them over. The only thing to be careful of is that if the new asset is longer than the old one it may go pear shaped....

One small thing - the link above is dead now.
__________________
www.opusproductions.com
Multichannel Audio Productions
DVD-Audio/Video Authoring specialists
neil wilkes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2014, 00:20   #13  |  Link
rik1138
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: LA
Posts: 620
Quote:
Originally Posted by neil wilkes View Post
One small thing - the link above is dead now.
Heh, yeah, that link has probably been dead for over a decade... Daikin hasn't been involved with Scenarist with 2001 or 2002.

You can still see it on the Wayback machine though, but most of the information is very basic operation of Scenarist 2.0...

Still can't figure out how an air conditioner company got into the market of DVD programming.
rik1138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2014, 08:36   #14  |  Link
srfscenar
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 492
Quote:
Originally Posted by rik1138 View Post
Still can't figure out how an air conditioner company got into the market of DVD programming.
Ha Ha Ha!!!
They did a good job though, like their A/C's!!!
__________________
" 2 minds are better than 1 "
srfscenar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.