Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > High Efficiency Video Coding (HEVC)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 27th May 2023, 10:01   #581  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life's clearer in 4K UHD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 12,177
Quote:
Originally Posted by -QfG- View Post
Nice that m2ts works correctly with HDR10+ Profile B Metadata. I know that any files with included HDR10+ metadata in mp4/mkv container will not work correctly.
But i never found out why, some files works other not.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TDS View Post
Yes, I'm pretty happy that it worked...I just happened to stumble onto a thread ,(somewhere)..this guy said he'd tried everything, almost gave up, then tried good old tsmuxer......and he had an LG TV as well.
Eh!? LG televisions don't support HDR10+ decoding. In much the same way, Samsung televisions don't support Dolby Vision decoding. They should both fall back to playing regular HDR10...
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |

Last edited by SeeMoreDigital; 27th May 2023 at 16:38.
SeeMoreDigital is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2023, 16:28   #582  |  Link
Gabu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabu View Post
I have both an HDR and DV file. DV has more bitrate than HDR, but frames, length are the same, same source.

Can anyone tell me how to put the HDR metadata into the DV file with bigger bitrate to make a hybrid?
I know it's just one day and I know I insist, but if anyone could really help me out, I'd appreciate it. I know how to make a hybrid as in adding DV to HDR, but not the other way around. Is it not possible?
Gabu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2023, 18:58   #583  |  Link
GodzilaAvenger
Registered User
 
GodzilaAvenger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Posts: 115
I'm assuming your DV file is Profile 5. Profile 5 color space is different from that of HDR (IPTPQc2 which is Dolby proprietary vs BT.2020), so I don't think there is an easy way for you to make a Profile 5 HDR compatible. BTW the difference in bitrate almost certainly won't be noticeable during playback, unless one is 50 Mbps and the other 2 Mbps.

Last edited by GodzilaAvenger; 27th May 2023 at 19:13.
GodzilaAvenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2023, 19:10   #584  |  Link
GodzilaAvenger
Registered User
 
GodzilaAvenger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by TDS View Post
I'm sure this has been asked here or somewhere a LOT, but is there a way to convert HDR10 to HDR10+, and then use that "new" HDR10+ to create a Hybrid DV video ??
HDR10+

Quote:
HDR10+ signals the dynamic range and scene characteristics on a scene-by-scene or even frame-by-frame basis. The display device then uses the dynamic metadata to apply an appropriate tone map through the process of dynamic tone mapping. Dynamic tone mapping differs from static tone mapping by applying a different tone curve from scene-to-scene rather than use a single tone curve for an entire video.
Quote:
For offline and video-on-demand (VOD) (e.g. ultra-high-definition Blu-ray, over-the-top (OTT), multi-channel video programming distributor (MVPD)), HDR10+ metadata may be created during the post-production, mastering process or during transcoding/encoding for distribution back-ends by HDR10+ content generation tools in two steps,

1. Identifying scene cuts, and
2. Performing an image analysis on each scene or frame to derive statistics

HDR10+ metadata is interchanged through a low complexity JSON-structured text file, which is then parsed and injected into video files.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TDS View Post
Question about the Hybrid option, it asks for a HDR & DV file ???

What's that about ??
Dolby Vision Hybrids
GodzilaAvenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2023, 19:56   #585  |  Link
Gabu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by GodzilaAvenger View Post
I'm assuming your DV file is Profile 5. Profile 5 color space is different from that of HDR (IPTPQc2 which is Dolby proprietary vs BT.2020), so I don't think there is an easy way for you to make a Profile 5 HDR compatible. BTW the difference in bitrate almost certainly won't be noticeable during playback, unless one is 50 Mbps and the other 2 Mbps.
Dolby Vision, Version 1.0, dvhe.05.06, BL+RPU
Gabu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2023, 20:19   #586  |  Link
GodzilaAvenger
Registered User
 
GodzilaAvenger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Posts: 115
Yep, it's Profile 5.
GodzilaAvenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2023, 22:42   #587  |  Link
Gabu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by GodzilaAvenger View Post
Yep, it's Profile 5.
Well, crap. Guess I'll have to keep two versions then.

Thanks for your help, by the way
Gabu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2023, 00:05   #588  |  Link
GodzilaAvenger
Registered User
 
GodzilaAvenger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Posts: 115
You could extract the RPU from the DV, convert it to Profile 8.1 and inject it into the HDR to get a hybrid HDR10 DV, that way you won't have to keep both files. That's if you're OK with the lower bitrate of the HDR one.
GodzilaAvenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2023, 20:44   #589  |  Link
-QfG-
QfG Group Germany
 
-QfG-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 229
Quote:
Also, are there any plans to have all the DDVT options as Drag 'n' Drop (like the new Hybrid option) ??, makes it SO much easier
Yes. Working on an enhanced All in One Script. Takes only some time ...
-QfG- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2023, 02:57   #590  |  Link
TDS
Formally known as .......
 
TDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: On a need to know basis.
Posts: 829
I am having some interesting issues retaining the DV info during a remux from .mkv to .m2ts using FFMPEG.

So instead of doubling up posts, please see here :-

https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...67#post1987967

Any suggestions ?

Thanks
__________________
This can be Very "TeDiouS"..
Long term RipBot264 user.

Ryzen 9 7950X
Intel i9-13900KF
Ryzen 9 5950X
Ryzen 9 5900X
Ryzen 9 3950X


Link to RB v1.27.0
TDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2023, 18:22   #591  |  Link
kallekill
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 174
I have a mkv-file with the following HDR info:
HDR Info = [Dolby Vision, Version 1.0, dvhe.08.07, BL+RPU, HDR10 compatible / SMPTE ST 2086, HDR10 compatible]

Is it possible to remove the HDR10 data from the file, so that it only contains Dolby Vision HDR data?
kallekill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2023, 18:45   #592  |  Link
GodzilaAvenger
Registered User
 
GodzilaAvenger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Posts: 115
AFAIK Profile 8 DV is by design backwards compatible with HDR10. Profile 5 isn't, but then you have to convert the RPU to Profile 5 and the color space of the video itself to Dolby proprietary IPTPQc2, and I don't think there's an easy way of doing so.
GodzilaAvenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2023, 23:26   #593  |  Link
-QfG-
QfG Group Germany
 
-QfG-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 229
-v0.55 Online
*NEW Checking and repairing MKV Container during muxing.
*Updated mkvtoolnix to v 77.0.0.0.
*Major Bugfixes.
*Reworked Shell Extensions (Hybrid P8 Script now in Shell Background).

Quote:
Is it possible to remove the HDR10 data from the file, so that it only contains Dolby Vision HDR data?
No, HDR10 is static colorspace and not metadata how HDR10+ is. DoVi Profiles 7/8 only Metadata for HDR10 based content.

Last edited by -QfG-; 8th June 2023 at 23:29.
-QfG- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2023, 09:47   #594  |  Link
cool advertise
Registered User
 
cool advertise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Italy
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by -QfG- View Post
-v0.55 Online
-v0.55
DDVT_DEMUXER is buggy. It does not extract the rpu.

My settings were:
SAVE HDR BL: NO
SAVE DoVI EL: NO
SAVE RPU: YES
CONVERT RPU: PROFILE 8.1 HDR
CROP RPU: YES

and also I had set my custom path in DDVT_OPTIONS.cmd

Last edited by cool advertise; 9th June 2023 at 10:42.
cool advertise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2023, 12:40   #595  |  Link
-QfG-
QfG Group Germany
 
-QfG-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 229
Some error messages during demuxing? And which DoVi Profile have the source file?

EDIT: You're right P7 will not demux correctly, will fix them.
EDIT2: Fixed in Dolby_Vision_Tool_v0.55_f01.rar. Also fixed the missing path in the extract diroctory.

Last edited by -QfG-; 9th June 2023 at 13:05.
-QfG- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2023, 16:06   #596  |  Link
cool advertise
Registered User
 
cool advertise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Italy
Posts: 42
Now 'DDVT_DEMUXER.cmd' works, but if you put an & in the folder name of the source file, or in the name of the source file, the rpu extraction fails (tested).
Perhaps also if other special characters are used, but I have not tested this thoroughly yet.
cool advertise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2023, 17:37   #597  |  Link
-QfG-
QfG Group Germany
 
-QfG-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 229
This is a "batch" problem, because the "&" is a command in Batch.

Last edited by -QfG-; 9th June 2023 at 17:41.
-QfG- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2023, 16:03   #598  |  Link
hidef_rec
Registered User
 
hidef_rec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 36
@-QfG-, thanks much for enabling drag-and-drop use in Windows 11 w/the latest version for hybrid. A game-changer in making it so easy to create hybrid outputs.
__________________
Home Theater Fanatic
hidef_rec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2023, 04:35   #599  |  Link
Amateur
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by -QfG- View Post
-v0.54
*NEW New Script included (DDVT_Hybrid) for fast creating DV Profile 8.1 Hybrid Releases.
*INJECTOR-Function to change correctly the video framerate. Also included in HYBRID Script.
*Updated mkvtoolnix to v 76.0.0.0.
Just saw these new functions. Is it possible to queue up multiple files to work overnight? Like if I have one folder of DV episodes and one folder of HDR episodes, how would I be able to do the Hybrid script and use the first file in each folder, then when complete do the second file in each folder, etc.? I won't need to change any FPS, add delays, nor do any border changes. Should be able to simply inject the DV into the HDR

Thanks for this tool. It's great

Last edited by Amateur; 11th June 2023 at 04:45.
Amateur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2023, 07:30   #600  |  Link
GodzilaAvenger
Registered User
 
GodzilaAvenger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Posts: 115
If you are familiar with PowerShell you can write a script that loops over the files and creates hybrids.
GodzilaAvenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.