Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > VapourSynth

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 27th March 2020, 20:17   #3761  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,718
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myrsloik View Post
It's been a long time since I did this so it could be wrong but generally you simply splice the two different fps clips (mismatch=1 in splice) and then use it as input to x265. Make sure to use the vspipe timecode option and after the encode is done mux in the proper timecodes.

Or that's how I think it should work.
Doesn't seem to be working properly I fed the VFR clip into x265 and told it to expect 25fps input (otherwise it would simply crash). The clip was produced by splicing with the + operator in Vapoursynth.

The timecodes have two steps, 20ms and 40ms in the 50fps parts. The 25fps parts have 40ms and 80ms steps.

Code:
# timecode format v2
0.000000
20.000000
60.000000
80.000000
120.000000
.
.
.
46600.000000
46680.000000
46720.000000
46800.000000
46840.000000
46920.000000
46960.000000
I have some similar old Matroska files in which I have encoded the video track at 50fps (at least according to MediaInfo) and created the timestamp v1 file manually. I now extracted the timestamps and they look like this, first the 50fps part and the latter one is from a 25fps part:

Code:
# timestamp format v2
0
20
40
60
.
.
.
408000
408040
408080
408120
408160
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2020, 00:07   #3762  |  Link
DJATOM
Registered User
 
DJATOM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ukraine, Bohuslav
Posts: 377
Boulder
You probably doing it wrong.
Yesterday I had hybrid video file encoded as MBAFF (no actual combed frames, but it's 30000/1001i), and some sections are upscaled from 24000/1001p. So I need to decimate only certain sections and produce VFR video.
I'll describe my solution bellow and how to actually get valid timecodes (Myrs answer seems not so clear for you). The whole process is described to understand my workflow and most likely irrelevant for you, but you can adapt that to your case and use only what you need from it.

First, I have to check with VDecimate(dryrun=True) if scene actually telecined. The result for my video was
Quote:
scenes = [0, 80, 173, 269, 366, 462, 561, 609, 657, 705, 1255, 1306]
Video starts from 24p scene, so I have to decimate every odd section.
Code:
vfr_pool = list()
for pos, start in enumerate(scenes, 1): # start from 1 for simplicity of the algo
	if pos >= len(scenes): # last frame in list is the end of last section, so I want to terminate loop on it
		break
	end = scenes[pos] 
	if pos&1: # decimate only 1, 3, 5, 7, etc. sections
		vfr_pool.append(core.vivtc.VDecimate(source[start:end]))
	else:
		vfr_pool.append(source[start:end])
And finally splice those scenes into one VFR video
Quote:
vfr_clip = core.std.Splice(vfr_pool)
vfr_clip.set_output()
Now it's ready to encode,
Quote:
vspipe -t mytimecodes.txt -y script.vpy - | x265 ... --y4m --fps 24000/1001 -
and after encoding use mytimecodes.txt to mux into mkv video. Result should be VFR and properly sync with audio.
I really want tdecimate's mode 4/5 solution in vapoursynth, but it seems like no one want to port that.
__________________
Me on GitHub
PC Specs: Ryzen 5950X, 64 GB RAM, RTX 2070
DJATOM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2020, 10:56   #3763  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,718
Thank you, I will take a look at your method

I used this kind of approach for creating the test clip, the first and third parts are bobbed.

Code:
clp = core.dgdecodenv.DGSource(r"F:\Temp\Captures\monty\monty_s01e01.dgi", cl=244, cr=244)

result = haf.QTGMC(core.std.Trim(clp, 0,719), Preset='very fast', Search=5, SearchParam=8, PelSearch=8, ChromaMotion=True, ChromaNoise=False, SourceMatch=2, Lossless=2, EZKeepGrain=0.4, Sharpness=0.1, TR2=0, TFF=True)
result = result + haf.QTGMC(core.std.Trim(clp, 720,2890), Preset='very fast', Search=5, SearchParam=8, PelSearch=8, ChromaMotion=True, ChromaNoise=False, SourceMatch=2, Lossless=2, EZKeepGrain=0.4, Sharpness=0.1, TR2=0, TFF=True, InputType=2)
result = result + haf.QTGMC(core.std.Trim(clp, 2891,3935), Preset='very fast', Search=5, SearchParam=8, PelSearch=8, ChromaMotion=True, ChromaNoise=False, SourceMatch=2, Lossless=2, EZKeepGrain=0.4, Sharpness=0.1, TR2=0, TFF=True)
result = result + haf.QTGMC(core.std.Trim(clp, 3936,4428), Preset='very fast', Search=5, SearchParam=8, PelSearch=8, ChromaMotion=True, ChromaNoise=False, SourceMatch=2, Lossless=2, EZKeepGrain=0.4, Sharpness=0.1, TR2=0, TFF=True, InputType=2)

result.set_output()
Thinking a bit further, I think I could use some Python scripting to autofill the Trims as I've collected all the parts like this.
Code:
#0, 719 i
#720, 2890 p
#2891, 3935 i
#3936, 4428 p
#4429, 6676 i
#6677, 6834 p
#6835, 10567 i
#10568, 12260 p
#12261, 23093 i
#23094, 23991 p
#23992, 24154 i
#24155, 25876 p
#25877, 26664 i
#26665, 30805 p
#30806, 31140 i
#31141, 40655 p
#40656, 43509 i
#43510, 43599 p
#43600, 44268 i
#44269, 44403 p
#44404, 44831 i
#44832, 45795 p
#45796, 47686 i
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2020, 12:22   #3764  |  Link
DJATOM
Registered User
 
DJATOM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ukraine, Bohuslav
Posts: 377
Apparently timecodes produced with vspipe are weird. Working solution is
Quote:
import easyvfr # https://gist.github.com/chikuzen/5005590 (usage: http://csbarn.blogspot.com/2013/02/e...poursynth.html)
<...>
clp = core.dgdecodenv.DGSource(r"F:\Temp\Captures\monty\monty_s01e01.dgi", cl=244, cr=244)
qtgmc_common_opts = {'Preset': 'very fast', 'Search': 5, 'SearchParam': 8, 'PelSearch': 8, 'ChromaMotion': True, 'ChromaNoise': False, 'SourceMatch': 2, 'Lossless': 2, 'EZKeepGrain': 0.4, 'Sharpness': 0.1, 'TR2': 0, 'TFF': True}
clips = []
clips.append(haf.QTGMC(core.std.Trim(clp, 0,719), **qtgmc_common_opts))
clips.append(haf.QTGMC(core.std.Trim(clp, 720,2890), **qtgmc_common_opts, InputType=2))
clips.append(haf.QTGMC(core.std.Trim(clp, 2891,3935), **qtgmc_common_opts))
clips.append(haf.QTGMC(core.std.Trim(clp, 3936,4428), **qtgmc_common_opts, InputType=2))
vfr = easyvfr.EasyVFR(clips, base_num=25, base_den=1)
vfr.write_timecode(r'test.tc.txt')
vfr.splice_clips().set_output()
That way we have valid timecodes, after converting to v1 (tcConv) the result is
Quote:
# timecode format v1
Assume 25.000000
0,1439,50.000000
3612,5701,50.000000
__________________
Me on GitHub
PC Specs: Ryzen 5950X, 64 GB RAM, RTX 2070
DJATOM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2020, 12:52   #3765  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,718
Thanks a lot, that probably saves me a huge amount of manual work
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2020, 13:30   #3766  |  Link
feisty2
I'm Siri
 
feisty2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: void
Posts: 2,633
I updated to r49 and weird things happened.
I ran the same std.Convolution script for speed test and the script ran for 497.17fps, but it was 2400+fps before the update!
my custom GaussBlur filter also ran a lot slower, from 1800+fps before update to now 483.92fps (gcc -O3)

Last edited by feisty2; 29th March 2020 at 14:04.
feisty2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2020, 14:23   #3767  |  Link
Are_
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Ibiza, Spain
Posts: 321
std.Convolution with same parameters as you runs at 2384 fps here (Linux), maybe Windows build is compiled without optimizations?
I also did try to run it with core.std.SetMaxCPU('none') but it made no difference? Maybe I'm too sleepy and I'm doing something wrong.
Code:
import vapoursynth as vs
core = vs.get_core()
core.std.SetMaxCPU('none')
clip = core.std.BlankClip(format=vs.GRAYS, length=100000, fpsnum=24000, fpsden=1001, keep=True)
clip = core.std.Convolution(clip, matrix=[1,2,1,2,4,2,1,2,1])
clip.set_output()
Are_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2020, 14:28   #3768  |  Link
feisty2
I'm Siri
 
feisty2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: void
Posts: 2,633
Quote:
Originally Posted by Are_ View Post
std.Convolution with same parameters as you runs at 2384 fps here (Linux), maybe Windows build is compiled without optimizations?
I also did try to run it with core.std.SetMaxCPU('none') but it made no difference? Maybe I'm too sleepy and I'm doing something wrong.
Code:
import vapoursynth as vs
core = vs.get_core()
core.std.SetMaxCPU('none')
clip = core.std.BlankClip(format=vs.GRAYS, length=100000, fpsnum=24000, fpsden=1001, keep=True)
clip = core.std.Convolution(clip, matrix=[1,2,1,2,4,2,1,2,1])
clip.set_output()
could you compile this with GCC10 -Ofast and run a speed test?
feisty2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2020, 14:33   #3769  |  Link
Are_
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Ibiza, Spain
Posts: 321
I will give it a try in about one hour or so, I don't have GCC-10 installed and it will take a while here on Gentoo.
Are_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2020, 14:39   #3770  |  Link
ChaosKing
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,795
Quote:
Originally Posted by Are_ View Post
std.Convolution with same parameters as you runs at 2384 fps here (Linux), maybe Windows build is compiled without optimizations?
I also did try to run it with core.std.SetMaxCPU('none') but it made no difference? Maybe I'm too sleepy and I'm doing something wrong.
Code:
import vapoursynth as vs
core = vs.get_core()
core.std.SetMaxCPU('none')
clip = core.std.BlankClip(format=vs.GRAYS, length=100000, fpsnum=24000, fpsden=1001, keep=True)
clip = core.std.Convolution(clip, matrix=[1,2,1,2,4,2,1,2,1])
clip.set_output()
R49 quick test on ryzen 2600, seems ok
vspipe.exe .\bla.vpy .
Output 100000 frames in 6.20 seconds (16138.35 fps) # without core.std.SetMaxCPU('none')
Output 100000 frames in 12.73 seconds (7856.92 fps) #with core.std.SetMaxCPU('none')
__________________
AVSRepoGUI // VSRepoGUI - Package Manager for AviSynth // VapourSynth
VapourSynth Portable FATPACK || VapourSynth Database
ChaosKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2020, 18:21   #3771  |  Link
sl1pkn07
Pajas Mentales...
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Spanishtán
Posts: 496
with/without dual xeon (:/) (linux, -02)

Code:
└───╼  vspipe test.vpy /dev/null
Output 100000 frames in 15.89 seconds (6293.29 fps)
└───╼  vspipe test.vpy /dev/null
Output 100000 frames in 9.40 seconds (10642.37 fps)
seems Konsole (KDE terminal) do strange things

lanuched the same in yakuake (based on konsole, not use as bakend)

Code:
┌─┤[$]|[sl1pkn07]|[sL1pKn07]|[~/aplicaciones/vapoursynth-git]|
└───╼  cat test.vpy 
import vapoursynth as vs
core = vs.get_core()
core.std.SetMaxCPU('none')
clip = core.std.BlankClip(format=vs.GRAYS, length=100000, fpsnum=24000, fpsden=1001, keep=True)
clip = core.std.Convolution(clip, matrix=[1,2,1,2,4,2,1,2,1])
clip.set_output() 
┌─┤[$]|[sl1pkn07]|[sL1pKn07]|[~/aplicaciones/vapoursynth-git]|
└───╼  vspipe test.vpy /dev/null
Output 100000 frames in 8.39 seconds (11923.86 fps)
┌─┤[$]|[sl1pkn07]|[sL1pKn07]|[~/aplicaciones/vapoursynth-git]|
└───╼  cat test.vpy 
import vapoursynth as vs
core = vs.get_core()
#core.std.SetMaxCPU('none')
clip = core.std.BlankClip(format=vs.GRAYS, length=100000, fpsnum=24000, fpsden=1001, keep=True)
clip = core.std.Convolution(clip, matrix=[1,2,1,2,4,2,1,2,1])
clip.set_output() 
┌─┤[$]|[sl1pkn07]|[sL1pKn07]|[~/aplicaciones/vapoursynth-git]|
└───╼  vspipe test.vpy /dev/null
Output 100000 frames in 7.32 seconds (13656.67 fps)
┌─┤[$]|[sl1pkn07]|[sL1pKn07]|[~/aplicaciones/vapoursynth-git]|
└───╼
htop with vspipe in konsole shot
htop with vspipe in yakuake shot
__________________
[AUR] Vapoursynth Stuff
[AUR] Avisynth Stuff

Last edited by sl1pkn07; 29th March 2020 at 18:49.
sl1pkn07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2020, 22:14   #3772  |  Link
leon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 136
Why does R49 installer force the download of vc++ 2019?
leon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2020, 03:29   #3773  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kinnarps Chair
Posts: 2,548
Quote:
Originally Posted by leon View Post
Why does R49 installer force the download of vc++ 2019?
Because your runtimes are old and you didn't unchecked the option.
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2020, 21:31   #3774  |  Link
leon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 136
You mean it checks for the installed runtimes? Because I'd already installed both x86 and x64 versions of it. You're right there's an option for it which I somehow missed.
Thank you.

BTW, I installed Python 3.8 in Program Files and moved its path to the end of PATH variable so that I'd be able to use the already installed 3.7.4 version, things appear to work so far, but I thought I'd ask here whether that's OK or not.

P.S. I updated from R45 so I thought I'd see some speed improvements considering AVX2 has been added since that version, but I got almost the same speeds, so was wondering if there's a way to check whether I was doing something wrong and that AVX2 was actually being used.

Last edited by leon; 7th April 2020 at 21:35.
leon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2020, 21:38   #3775  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kinnarps Chair
Posts: 2,548
Quote:
Originally Posted by leon View Post
You mean it checks for the installed runtimes? Because I'd already installed both x86 and x64 versions of it. You're right there's an option for it which I somehow missed.
Thank you.

BTW, I installed Python 3.8 in Program Files and moved its path to the end of PATH variable so that I'd be able to use the already installed 3.7.4 version, things appear to work so far, but I thought I'd ask here whether that's OK or not.

P.S. I updated from R45 so I thought I'd see some speed improvements considering AVX2 has been added since that version, but I got almost the same speeds, so was wondering if there's a way to check whether I was doing something wrong and that AVX2 was actually being used.
Yes, it checks for the exact version of installed runtimes. Note that the 2019 ones get updated every few months and I install the most recent minor update too. That's why it appears to you like I'm "pointlessly" installing it.

Don't do that python mess. You've most likely ended up using the R48 python module and things just work by accident.
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2020, 22:14   #3776  |  Link
leon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 136
Quote:
...Note that the 2019 ones get updated every few months and I install the most recent minor update too...
Well, I wasn't aware of that.

So what would you suggest? How can I keep 3.7 alongside 3.8 and make VS use it?
Does that also explain the speed problem?
leon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2020, 18:48   #3777  |  Link
amayra
Quality Checker
 
amayra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 284
i try run new VS R49 with latest version of mpv shinchiro build but mpv close after i open file and my script work fine in MPC
here my log file :
Quote:
[ 5.731][v][cplayer] Opening failed or was aborted: C:\my file\mpv\test\test4.vpy
[ 5.731][v][cplayer] Running hook: ytdl_hook/on_load_fail
[ 5.731][v][ytdl_hook] full hook
[ 5.731][v][cplayer] finished playback, unrecognized file format (reason 4)
[ 5.731][e][cplayer] Failed to recognize file format.
[ 5.731][i][cplayer]
[ 5.731][i][cplayer] Exiting... (Errors when loading file)
[ 5.731][d][ytdl_hook] Exiting...
[ 5.731][d][stats] Exiting...
[ 5.731][d][cplayer] Run command: change-list, flags=64, args=[name="shared-script-properties", operation="remove", value="osc-margins"]
[ 5.731][v][cplayer] Set property: shared-script-properties -> 1
[ 5.731][d][osc] Exiting...
[ 5.732][d][console] Exiting...
[ 5.734][d][vo/gpu] flushing shader cache
[ 5.736][v][vo/gpu/win32] uninit
all vpy file after update stop working even with new clean mpv setup
__________________
I love Doom9
amayra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2020, 19:53   #3778  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
stax76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: On thin ice
Posts: 6,837
@amayra

shinchiros builds don't have vs enabled in ffmpeg, see here:

https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=180433

Last edited by stax76; 10th April 2020 at 20:02.
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2020, 20:56   #3779  |  Link
amayra
Quality Checker
 
amayra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 284
Quote:
Originally Posted by stax76 View Post
@amayra

shinchiros builds don't have vs enabled in ffmpeg, see here:

https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=180433
he/she write in sourceforge :
Quote:
Is vapoursynth supported?
Starting build 20171229, it was compiled with vapoursynth. If you want to use vapoursynth's filters, make sure to install vapourysnth and python3 on your own. Portable version should also works. You can read how-to setup here:
so this is lie
__________________
I love Doom9
amayra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2020, 21:14   #3780  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
stax76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: On thin ice
Posts: 6,837
It supports vs and ffmpeg filters but not vs source support with ffmpeg libavformat, these are two independent things.

Last edited by stax76; 10th April 2020 at 21:17.
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
speed, vaporware, vapoursynth

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.