Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 7th August 2015, 05:14   #141  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,584
on a full screen it shouldn't have an effect.
just ask your colorimeter it's a fullscreen effect so easy to read.

the YCbCr <-> RGB conversation may do that.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2015, 12:54   #142  |  Link
XMonarchY
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
on a full screen it shouldn't have an effect.
just ask your colorimeter it's a fullscreen effect so easy to read.

the YCbCr <-> RGB conversation may do that.
Colorimeter reads both colors as being identical. Both modes are set to RGB.

I decided to stick to PC Mode 4:4:4 this time because you can now use ReShade 3DLUT's with dispcalGUI which allow full grayscale and colorspace calibration with extreme accuracy to be applied in games without the need for CPKeeper or using Borderless Window modes AND you can apply 3DLUT's to madVR of course.

I figured 4:4:4 PC mode is just a SAFER bet of seeing proper colors (& have lower input lag) than using Standard mode with some kind of post-processing.
  Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2015, 00:12   #143  |  Link
XMonarchY
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post

the YCbCr <-> RGB conversation may do that.
So the conversion itself can create colors that colorimeters read as identical, but people perceive as different?
  Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2015, 02:23   #144  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,584
Quote:
Originally Posted by XMonarchY View Post
So the conversion itself can create colors that colorimeters read as identical, but people perceive as different?
no your meter must be broken.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2015, 13:46   #145  |  Link
XMonarchY
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
no your meter must be broken.
It isn't. I verify everything with i1Pro.
  Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2015, 14:00   #146  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,584
if your meter doesn't see the difference between two colors it is broken.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2015, 14:13   #147  |  Link
XMonarchY
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
if your meter doesn't see the difference between two colors it is broken.
i1Pro also broken?
  Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2015, 15:02   #148  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,584
if it doesn't see the difference between two colors what else?
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2015, 18:35   #149  |  Link
XMonarchY
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
if it doesn't see the difference between two colors what else?
I think it may be perception because the chances of both i1Display Pro and i1Pro both going bad at the same time is slimmer than the problem being with something else, maybe even in my head...
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2015, 07:22   #150  |  Link
Akeno
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 53
This is being discussed in the madVR thread but I thought it would be better to ask here: What exactly does overlay mode do? Also, is it fine to use gamma processing to something that looks pleasing to me even though I haven't calibrated my display or am I deviating too far from the source?
Akeno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2015, 09:11   #151  |  Link
vivan
/人 ◕ ‿‿ ◕ 人\
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Russia
Posts: 649
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akeno View Post
This is being discussed in the madVR thread but I thought it would be better to ask here: What exactly does overlay mode do?
It utilizes hardware overlay, which is supposed to be the fastest way to draw anything. It also bypasses OS. You can read about it on wiki:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Desktop_Window_Manager
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hardware_overlay
vivan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2015, 09:47   #152  |  Link
Akeno
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by vivan View Post
It utilizes hardware overlay, which is supposed to be the fastest way to draw anything. It also bypasses OS. You can read about it on wiki:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Desktop_Window_Manager
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hardware_overlay
Thanks. Other than enabling it in madVR, do I need to do anything else to utilize windowed overlay? Wikipedia and other users say that overlay mode prevents screenshots from capturing the video area but all of mine are working just fine.
Akeno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2015, 10:06   #153  |  Link
vivan
/人 ◕ ‿‿ ◕ 人\
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Russia
Posts: 649
I've just checked and overlay doesn't wotk in D3D11 mode, only in D3D9. I don't think any other settings could affect it (but I don't like this mode so I don't really know).
When enabled it should say "D3D9 overlay" in OSD (Ctrl+J).

Screenshots of the whole screen using PrtScr or build-in into media player (Alt+I in MPC-HC)?
In overlay mode PrtScr screenshots should be like this: http://i.imgur.com/29dK9q0.png
vivan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2015, 10:33   #154  |  Link
Akeno
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 53
I'm using D3D11 so that explains why the video still appears in screenshots. Are there any distinct advantages to overlay mode over D3D11? I got faster render times with the latter.
Akeno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2015, 11:28   #155  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,745
Don't take render times too seriously.
Better try some processing that is almost or slightly too much for your GPU and check which render path gives no/fewest dropped frames/glitches.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2015, 23:35   #156  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,960
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akeno View Post
I'm using D3D11 so that explains why the video still appears in screenshots. Are there any distinct advantages to overlay mode over D3D11? I got faster render times with the latter.
The advantages to overlay are what was already stated, they do not change when compared to DX11 or DX9 non-overlay modes. The biggest advantage for me is that it bypasses the calibration hardware in the video card; madVR loads the calibration from the video card, runs it at higher precision, and before dithering to 8-bit. It also doesn't need to switch into and out of FSE to provide its benefits, this mode switch is very fast now but still obvious.

Overlay is also very robust and tends to avoid V-sync issues, e.g. with multi-monitor setups in Windows 7.

Overlay does not support 10-bit. Overlay is also a bit less responsive when resizing the video player's window.
__________________
madVR options explained

Last edited by Asmodian; 10th August 2015 at 23:37.
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2015, 11:48   #157  |  Link
David
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 16
Question answered.

Last edited by David; 13th August 2015 at 12:35.
David is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2015, 03:32   #158  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,960
Finally an update for madVR v0.88.21

Does anyone have a good short description for Bilateral as is used in madVR for chroma upscaling? Thanks.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2015, 04:39   #159  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,584
Bilateral is a chroma scaler that uses the luma channel as reference. this can be very good but it can fail too.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2015, 05:44   #160  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,960
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
Bilateral is a chroma scaler that uses the luma channel as reference. this can be very good but it can fail too.
Excellent! Thanks.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.