Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 23rd December 2006, 19:16   #1  |  Link
Sirber
retired developer
 
Sirber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,978
BENCOS - Windows and Linux batch encoder GUI

Bencos is an easy to use Graphical User Interface (GUI) for Windows and Linux to convert big video files into smaller files using standard codecs. It's mainly aimed for japanese animated content (anime) but it can encode general files too.

http://www.detritus.qc.ca
http://code.google.com/p/bencos
__________________
Detritus Software

Last edited by Sirber; 30th December 2010 at 17:04.
Sirber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2006, 21:35   #2  |  Link
killerhex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 389
does this software can encode to asp without any sync problems

avc to mpeg4 asp
killerhex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2006, 21:38   #3  |  Link
Sirber
retired developer
 
Sirber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,978
sure. It doesn't have the delay problem RA4 and bellow had.
Be sure to set the right FPS in the Settings tab. *

* now automatic
__________________
Detritus Software

Last edited by Sirber; 6th November 2010 at 19:22.
Sirber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2009, 19:02   #4  |  Link
nakTT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 386
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sirber View Post
sure. It doesn't have the delay problem RA4 and bellow had.
Be sure to set the right FPS in the Settings tab.
Forgive me for asking this. I have yet to use this software but i really like to know whether or not I can use nero aac with this software? And how do I install it on linux e.g: Ubuntu or Mint.

nakTT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2009, 19:07   #5  |  Link
Sirber
retired developer
 
Sirber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,978
Quote:
Originally Posted by nakTT View Post
but i really like to know whether or not I can use nero aac with this software?
It currently uses :
Code:
Enhanced aacPlus 3GPP Floating Point Reference Encoder

Source timestamp Wed Jan  3 10:01:12 2007
Build Jan  3 2007, 10:01:18
wici is old indeed. Next build will have nero acc (latest).

Quote:
Originally Posted by nakTT View Post
And how do I install it on linux e.g: Ubuntu or Mint.
Currently there is no Linux build. It is possible to compile it using Lazarus (linux version) then set the correct path to the different encoders. I don't have linux currently installed, but I'll add this to the todo list.
__________________
Detritus Software
Sirber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2009, 19:13   #6  |  Link
nakTT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 386
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sirber View Post
wici is old indeed. Next build will have nero acc (latest).
Very glad to hear that. And thanks for your fast reply.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sirber View Post
Currently there is no Linux build. It is possible to compile it using Lazarus (linux version) then set the correct path to the different encoders. I don't have linux currently installed, but I'll add this to the todo list.
Looking forward to try the linux version to see if the speed increase for x264 (plus nero for audio) encoding for my video worth the migration to linux (from Vista Business 64bit).

nakTT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2009, 19:17   #7  |  Link
Sirber
retired developer
 
Sirber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,978
Quote:
Originally Posted by nakTT View Post
Looking forward to try the linux version to see if the speed increase for x264 (plus nero for audio) encoding for my video worth the migration to linux (from Vista Business 64bit).
Does nero encoder works under linux?
All you need is mencoder, mplayer, neroenc, mp4box and faac.
__________________
Detritus Software
Sirber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2006, 21:56   #8  |  Link
killerhex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 389
thanx

one bug

coudn't open input audio.wav using FAAC

Last edited by killerhex; 24th December 2006 at 04:25.
killerhex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2006, 03:44   #9  |  Link
Sirber
retired developer
 
Sirber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,978
Quote:
Originally Posted by killerhex View Post
coudn't open input audio.wav using FAAC
Source?

please post more infos when you report bugs. Just saying that doesn't help.
__________________
Detritus Software
Sirber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2006, 03:42   #10  |  Link
Kayser
Registered User
 
Kayser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Tandil, Argentina
Posts: 94
Cool, I'll try it and post feedback tomorrow ... Thanks for the work Sirber, Damrod and Sharktooth.
Kayser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2006, 04:26   #11  |  Link
killerhex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 389
source

mkv[AVC]720x480 16/9 anamorphic
[dual audio]audio vorbis 2ch 48hz
english
japanese

im encoding to mpeg4 asp+AAC LC 128kbps preferred audio :english

and why does bencos has both

enhAacPlusEnc
faac

Last edited by killerhex; 24th December 2006 at 11:09.
killerhex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2006, 14:47   #12  |  Link
Sirber
retired developer
 
Sirber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,978
Where can I get your source? And what was your settings?

enhaacplusenc = AAC HE+PS
faac = AAC LC
__________________
Detritus Software
Sirber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2006, 18:24   #13  |  Link
Sirber
retired developer
 
Sirber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,978
found bugs regarding to subtitles.

http://www.detritus.qc.ca/forum/view...php?pid=17#p17
__________________
Detritus Software
Sirber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2006, 22:09   #14  |  Link
mael
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 9
my version: 2006-12-26

i get the error "Couldn't open input file audio.wav" on encoding a .mov file when AAC LC is selected with uncompressed audio. from the logfile:
Opening audio decoder: [pcm] Uncompressed PCM audio decoder
AUDIO: 44100 Hz, 2 ch, s16be, 1411.2 kbit/100.00% (ratio: 176400->176400)
Selected audio codec: [pcm] afm: pcm (Uncompressed PCM)

AAC HS+PS works fine, but 32kbit/s is not enough

also, the "about" tab is empty

it would be very nice, if bencos would find out the FPS itsself

what about support for audio with more than 2 channels?
mael is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2006, 22:14   #15  |  Link
Sirber
retired developer
 
Sirber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,978
Quote:
Originally Posted by mael View Post
my version: 2006-12-26

i get the error "Couldn't open input file audio.wav" on encoding a .mov file when AAC LC is selected with uncompressed audio. from the logfile:
Opening audio decoder: [pcm] Uncompressed PCM audio decoder
AUDIO: 44100 Hz, 2 ch, s16be, 1411.2 kbit/100.00% (ratio: 176400->176400)
Selected audio codec: [pcm] afm: pcm (Uncompressed PCM)

AAC HS+PS works fine, but 32kbit/s is not enough
I'll look about LC problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mael View Post
also, the "about" tab is empty
Later

Quote:
Originally Posted by mael View Post
it would be very nice, if bencos would find out the FPS itsself
Later This is a preview release.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mael View Post
what about support for audio with more than 2 channels?
Nope. I don't have any encoder for that.
__________________
Detritus Software
Sirber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2006, 22:54   #16  |  Link
mael
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 9
thanks for the support

maybe take a look at the nero digital aac encoder, it's free:
http://www.nero.com/nerodigital/eng/...tal_Audio.html
mael is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2006, 22:56   #17  |  Link
Sirber
retired developer
 
Sirber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,978
free to use, not free to bundle and doesn't work on linux.
__________________
Detritus Software
Sirber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2006, 23:06   #18  |  Link
mael
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 9
okay, you win
mael is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2006, 23:07   #19  |  Link
Sirber
retired developer
 
Sirber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,978
Quote:
Originally Posted by mael View Post
okay, you win
and linux
__________________
Detritus Software
Sirber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2011, 19:35   #20  |  Link
johnsonlam
Registered User
 
johnsonlam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Kowloon, Hong Kong
Posts: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sirber View Post
and linux
How about an option to Windows users?
Nero AAC did perform good!
__________________
Hong Kong - International Joke Center (after 1997-6-30)
johnsonlam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aac, bencos, gui, webm, x264

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.