Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > NLE - Non Linear Editing

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 7th January 2022, 14:53   #41  |  Link
Emulgator
Big Bit Savings Now !
 
Emulgator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: close to the wall
Posts: 1,088
Back to OP: Topaz VEAI 2.6.2 under Win10, i9-11900K 128GB, 3080RTX 16GB.
Downloaded all 186GB of models manually:
6432 files in C:\Users\<user>\AppData\Roaming\Topaz Labs LLC\Video Enhance AI\models
6 model families, each in 1..6 subversions with all their kernels, in 1..3 builds each.
If you don't preload everything VEAI will phone home for every model it sees fit and tries to get the next 30MB .tz file

Artemis: seems to be a one-stop shop for starters
Chronos: Good fps interpolation, see below
Dione: Deinterlacing, not mature yet I would say (knowing (Q)TGMC)
Gaia: one-in-all for CGI, I haven't tested yet.
Proteus: Fine tunable restoration for Pros, see below.
Theia: I haven't tested yet.

Used so far on Panasonic FT-3 encoder mud (1980x1080x25p on 25i)
Aiming to stay in 1920x1080, but with less camera artifacts.
Then maybe interpolate to 1920x1080x50p, maybe end in 1280x720x50p.

First decoding with DGDecode, then QTGMC for getting Chroma back onto Y, then into VEAI.
Proteus could repaint convincing seawater structure back, and resynthed details of hair and skin,
When overdone repeating patterns occurred, but not too bad !
Going back to source I started to hate the source more than the result.

Chronos 50p interpolation: knocks Mvtools2 out of the water, almost no morphing blotches.
In hard cases soft blends of details, but only visible while framestepping and pixelpeeping

Other source VHS on DV: Dione Deinterlacing: QTGMC still wins by far for now.
But with improving AI models almost everything seems within reach.

For me Proteus and Chronos are well worth it now and will stay in my daily toolbox.
Will not replace, but accompany Avisynth for the tasks where they shine.

Running stable here, Proteus V3 @ 4,5fps, Chronos V3 @ 6fps.
With such hard- and software a lot of projects will see a second AI edition now.

A few GUI unusual behaviours: Model Update management does list incomplete model sets only by filesize, not by files.
Hard to find out which is missing, you have to dump the complete set 3..6GB and try to download the complete set gain
Preview framecounter seems to be ready for input of framecount, but only renders the same amount 30 or 50.
One cannot save his preferences (why oh why do I have to input manually for every new clip)...

Reading up their forums it seemed to be much worse in the beginning
and from the responses it looks like only one developer responding, but still:
he answers, and there is definitely progress in GUI usability and I guess in number and usability of models too.

Output: Avoid .mov (ProRes 422HQ) for now, I got small blocks all over the sky.
If output avc in .mp4, give enough bits (I felt safe with CQ12)
and add grain (I used 1,8) otherwise you get blocks again.
Any fps model loses audio, even if duration stays.
Uncompressed .avi or VfW encoder interface: not yet implemented
.tiff frames ask for huge storage, but this is well known.

P.S. Just started redoing a paused film restoration from 720x576x25p DVD 5Mbps.
Proteus Dehalo: never expected that this can be achieved.
Clean transitions in 1280x720 and 1920x1080 while almost undisturbed by the source's blockfest.
I can happily trash my previous Dehaloing attempts now.

Just tried the unspeakable just to saturate the rendering system: Run 2 instances of VEAI in parallel. Works !
__________________
"To bypass shortcuts and find suffering...is called QUALity" (Die toten Augen von Friedrichshain)
"Data reduction ? Yep, Sir. We're working on that issue. Synce invntoin uf lingöage..."

Last edited by Emulgator; 16th January 2022 at 13:47.
Emulgator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2022, 23:51   #42  |  Link
lollo2
Registered User
 
lollo2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Italy
Posts: 37
Thanks for your report, interesting!

I am limited so far to experiments only on my S-VHS captures, but wish to see in the future how TopaVEAI behaves with 1920x1080 50p recording from my old Sony HDR-CX570E.
__________________
A channel on S-VHS / VHS capture and AviSynth restoration https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMs...h1MmNAs7I8nu4g
lollo2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2022, 03:26   #43  |  Link
takla
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 58
I doubt prores causes such artefacts. the bitrate alone is basically lossless. those artefacts must be caused by the upscaling, or some bug inside the software.

I personally always pick prores as my output and never had any artefacts or other issues.
takla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th January 2022, 13:35   #44  |  Link
Emulgator
Big Bit Savings Now !
 
Emulgator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: close to the wall
Posts: 1,088
You may try it. Install it. Switch to Pro Res and its there. Use different output and it is gone.-> Not anymore, see below (Did I have seen apcn the first time ?)

(Where in the chain I did not consider, maybe the encoder implementation within VEAI or the decoding playback chain on given system.
Poor user will have it coming and going with that choice, often noticing when too late (looking at myself hit by various poor implementations of DV before finding the one that worked.)
So: just a suggestion to not step into any single source of pain while investing a good piece of effort, not voting against ProRes globally.)

P.S. Just tried it again today, running 2 instances of VEAI in parallel:
Can not repeat the fault. Mediainfo is showing apch, which should be good. Ok, so nevermind... I hope.
__________________
"To bypass shortcuts and find suffering...is called QUALity" (Die toten Augen von Friedrichshain)
"Data reduction ? Yep, Sir. We're working on that issue. Synce invntoin uf lingöage..."

Last edited by Emulgator; 16th January 2022 at 13:55.
Emulgator is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
topaz, topaz ai, upscale

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.