Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 24th February 2024, 21:11   #2181  |  Link
nji
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsid View Post
Mixing settings only have effect when it is actually doing mixing (like 5.1 input to stereo output).

If your input file already is stereo, then try Volume Normalization:
MPC-HC Options > Internal Audio Switcher

This will reduce loudness difference. Soft sounds will become louder.
Oh - I'm sorry; I just realize that I never mentioned the source is 5.1.

Moreover at the Audio renderer "SaneAR" is activated, and Option "Ignore system channel mixer..."
Don't know if that has any influence
nji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2024, 19:43   #2182  |  Link
clsid
*****
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,646
2.1.6 has been released
__________________
MPC-HC 2.2.1
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th February 2024, 00:26   #2183  |  Link
Siso
Soul Seeker
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 714
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsid View Post
2.1.6 has been released
Very good release, but it doesn't include LAVFilters-0.78.0-4?
Siso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th February 2024, 01:32   #2184  |  Link
clsid
*****
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,646
That is a single commit with an irrelevant unimportant change...
__________________
MPC-HC 2.2.1
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th February 2024, 08:55   #2185  |  Link
Siso
Soul Seeker
 
Siso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 714
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsid View Post
That is a single commit with an irrelevant unimportant change...
Thank you for the info.
Siso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2024, 15:12   #2186  |  Link
shae
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 397
Any suggestions how to self-analyze, just because I'm curious...

I have an MKV in which MPCHC doesn't show under Content Menu \ Audio Track one audio track (DTS) out of two, and effectively it can't be used. The track is listed fine under File \ Properties \ MediaInfo.

I tried remuxing it with MkvToolnix (old version), leaving only the affected audio track, along with the video. It behaved the same in the new file, like the track is not there, though shown under the MediaInfo tab.

Same on MPCHC v2.1.6 as well as v1.8.x.

Any of the following worked:
- Remuxing with Avidemux.
- Remuxing with MkvToolnix after Avidemux.
- With MkvToolnix tools, in two steps: extract the DTS track with mkvextract, then mux the video from the original file + the standalone audio (instead of directly muxing both from the source MKV).

Not sure if MkvToolnix is to blame or MPC-HC, but all the following didn't have a problem finding the track: MediaInfo (also inside MPCHC), Avidemux, MkvToolnix.

Last edited by shae; 3rd March 2024 at 16:14.
shae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2024, 23:09   #2187  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,914
Quote:
Originally Posted by shae View Post
Not sure if MkvToolnix is to blame or MPC-HC...
Also we don't know without a sample or at least the full MediaInfo of the mkv.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2024, 23:41   #2188  |  Link
clsid
*****
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,646
It is simple, the hidden tracks are hidden because they are flagged as disabled.

With MkvToolNix header editor you can change the "enabled" flag to true.

MediaInfo does not support the "enabled" flag yet.
__________________
MPC-HC 2.2.1
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2024, 00:15   #2189  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 10,346
Its surprising how many people manage to have disabled tracks in their MKV files - which is really the only reason a track would not show up at all, and many other players ignore the flag, despite the specification being clear about what it means.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2024, 02:01   #2190  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,916
can someone tell me what is the point of a disabled track why does teh feature exist?

ordered chapter or something?
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2024, 02:06   #2191  |  Link
shae
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 397
Thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by clsid View Post
It is simple, the hidden tracks are hidden because they are flagged as disabled.
That was it indeed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
Its surprising how many people manage to have disabled tracks in their MKV files
First encounter here. Combined with it being a strange notion, and no icony column in MkvToolnixGui (unlike "default" and "forced"), it's not an obvious or expected thing to find.

What's the intended use?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Also we don't know without a sample or at least the full MediaInfo of the mkv.
Was mainly looking for some ideas on what or how to check. Like the above.
shae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2024, 11:22   #2192  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,914
At least with the last MkvToolNix version there are a property "track enabled" like you can see in the image.

That track is not show by MPC-HC, I confess I haven't seen it before, and MediaInfo, even in advanced mode, only show "default" or "forced".
Attached Images
 
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2024, 22:52   #2193  |  Link
shae
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 397
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
there are a property "track enabled" like you can see in the image.
Thanks. Yeah, I know. I found it after clsid and nevcairiel mentioned the concept, hence my "that was it indeed".

I just noted the reasons why it's far less visible or findable than other track flags.

Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
can someone tell me what is the point of a disabled track why does teh feature exist?
No idea, but the flag, or an equivalent, exists also in MP4.

Last edited by shae; 5th March 2024 at 23:02.
shae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2024, 21:21   #2194  |  Link
sshd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 12
New bug in 2.1.6 (works in 2.1.5)

Options, Playback, Output, Audio Renderer is reset to System Default next time the dialog is opened in 2.1.6, except for SaneAR and MPC AR.

Settings are in ini file if that makes a difference.

May be related to different names of the Audio Renderers, example:
2.1.5: ReClock Audio Renderer (02000000)
2.1.6: ReClock Audio Renderer

Last edited by sshd; 8th March 2024 at 21:24.
sshd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2024, 23:43   #2195  |  Link
clsid
*****
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,646
Fixed
__________________
MPC-HC 2.2.1
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2024, 22:36   #2196  |  Link
Mick_Mc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2022
Posts: 5
I think MPC could use a 'go back' feature for times when we accidentally hit Page Up or Page Down and the next or previous video loads. Whenever it happens, I lose my place in the video I was watching and it's really annoying. MPC could mark and remember the current video and time index before loading the next or previous video so we can go right back to where we were just by hitting Alt+Left Arrow (as in web browsers) or whatever hotkey. It probably wouldn't take much and would be a life-saver at times.

Last edited by Mick_Mc; 10th March 2024 at 22:39.
Mick_Mc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2024, 23:03   #2197  |  Link
clsid
*****
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,646
There is literally already such an option on the very first page in the options...
__________________
MPC-HC 2.2.1
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2024, 19:39   #2198  |  Link
Mick_Mc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2022
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsid View Post
There is literally already such an option on the very first page in the options...
Thanks for the response. I’ll have to explain the circumstances a little better. I record Chaturbate shows and make review videos, but I don’t want my kids to see those files in MPC’s history list. So, I have the history turned off on the first page of the options.

I accidentally end up hitting Page Up or Page Down in the middle of “editing” my review videos. I don’t “edit” them, I skim through them in MPC and use OBS to record snippets that are worth highlighting. It might take me an hour to get halfway through a show… then I hit Page Up or Page Down accidentally, the next cam show recording gets loaded, and I lose my place in the show I was “editing”.

It takes me forever to figure out where I was in the last recording, so I want to be able to set a hotkey to go back to the last video at the time index it was at before Page Up or Page Down got hit. I wouldn’t want that list to be saved from one MPC session to the next. If I exit MPC, it’d forget the last video and time index.

There are surely other applications for it, for anything private or what might be illegal in countries like China. It’s fairly normal not to want to advertise a history list in a media player. Most people probably watch pr0n on websites and use incognito windows, so their browser doesn’t remember the pr0n sites and videos that were watched.

But not everyone watches videos on websites. I can’t stand online media viewers. They’re all terrible compared to MPC.
Mick_Mc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2024, 01:23   #2199  |  Link
MagikGimp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2024
Posts: 1
Obscure little bug I've encountered:
If a DVD is looping at the root menu it's not a DVD feature to be able to pause it so that function is greyed out. However, from Windows 10's lock screen MPC is shown (with its exe name) and the pause button works there. This causes MPC to hang/crash when the user logs back in again although the menu does seem paused. As I say, not a common condition to encounter but I thought it was interesting all these things coming together in a situation that shouldn't be possible.
Anyway, this is my first post. Hello all.
MagikGimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2024, 21:04   #2200  |  Link
Mick_Mc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2022
Posts: 5
Last file position

Quote:
Originally Posted by clsid View Post
There is literally already such an option on the very first page in the options...
Thanks for the response. I think I need to explain this differently because I don't want MPC keeping a history.

Why can't we have "Remember position of previously viewed files" without having to keep a public history of every file we view in MPC? I know you have to store the file path with the position so MPC will know which positions go with which files. But that's got nothing to do whether we want a history list to be displayed when File > Recent is selected.

Because I'm only concerned with accidentally hitting Page Up or Page Down, I also don't want MPC to remember filenames or positions on exit. Once I exit MPC, I want it to forget that it ever viewed any files. The history list is completely separate from what I've asked for and why I asked for it.
Mick_Mc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.