Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > VapourSynth

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 29th September 2024, 05:11   #1  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 7,431
max_cache_size recommended value?

Using:
Code:
import vapoursynth as vs
core = vs.core

clip = core.std.BlankClip()
clip = core.text.Text(clip, str(core))
clip = core.std.Trim(clip=clip, first=0, last=1)
clip.set_output()
I see that 'Max Cache Size' is 4096.
Quote:
max_cache_size

Set the upper framebuffer cache size after which memory is aggressively freed. The value is in megabytes.
source: http://vapoursynth.com/doc/pythonref...max_cache_size

Having 64GB RAM, I was wondering when it would make sense to increasing/decreasing this value.

Is there a recommended value for max_cache_size?

Has anyone done some testing whether/when increasing/decreasing makes sense?

Cu Selur
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2024, 11:34   #2  |  Link
Myrsloik
Professional Code Monkey
 
Myrsloik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kinnarps Chair
Posts: 2,584
If you process very high resolution things it can make sense. Note that if the cache ever becomes full you'll get a warning.
Unlike avisynth that always caches up to the max limit vapoursynth will shrink/grow caches based on what's optimal for the current request pattern. That means you can check the ram usage in task manager or similar and see if increasing would do anything at all.
4GB is enough for just about all fullhd script and probably a significant number of 4k ones.
__________________
VapourSynth - proving that scripting languages and video processing isn't dead yet
Myrsloik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2024, 11:58   #3  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 7,431
Thanks for clearing that up, since I never saw a warning about cache, I should be fine.

Cu Selur
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.