Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Subtitles

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 14th April 2022, 13:07   #1561  |  Link
Janusz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Poland
Posts: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by iKron View Post
can you please add an option by which we can remove all same word from "unknown words" box ...
Add unknown word by:
1. Add to names / noise list or
2. Add to user dictionary.
After you do OCR from scratch, you will never see words that you don't want to watch again in the "Unknow words" list.
__________________
Sorry for my mistakes - I'm using a translator.

Last edited by Janusz; 14th April 2022 at 20:20.
Janusz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2022, 15:25   #1562  |  Link
tormento
Acid fr0g
 
tormento's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 2,178
What regular expression should I use in search and replace to replace every "--" at the beginning of a line with a "-"?
__________________
@turment on Telegram
tormento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2022, 20:06   #1563  |  Link
Janusz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Poland
Posts: 137
@Tormento
Example:
-- line 1
-- line 2
-- line 3

In the [Find what:] enter: "\A--", in the [Replace with] field enter: "-" without quotes.
"\A" will search for "--" on line 1 only.
Instead of "\A" use "^" meaning "^--" will replace "--" with "-" on all three lines.
__________________
Sorry for my mistakes - I'm using a translator.

Last edited by Janusz; 14th April 2022 at 20:19.
Janusz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2022, 08:30   #1564  |  Link
von Suppé
Registered User
 
von Suppé's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 493
Hi Nikse,

Could you please look to some issues I've came across?

With an .ass file, in "Tools --> Fix common errors" the Remove Leading '...' function does not work when text is italic. Since it does work with italic srt, I think it has something to do with the different italic tags for .ass?

Also, with italic text ending with ... (three periods) the "Fix common OCR-errors" wants to "fix" the lower case first letter of the next italic sub into upper case.
This may be a bit confusing, so here's an example:

Original italic lines:

sub 1: {\i1}When first italic line ends with...{\i0}
sub 2: {\i1}second italic line should begin with lower case.{\i0}

"Fix common OCR-errors" function changes it into this:

sub 1: {\i1}When first italic line ends with...{\i0}
sub 2: {\i1}Second italic line should begin with lower case.{\i0}

I hope it's clear. Thanks in advance.

[EDIT] I'd like to add that for italic lines ending with ... also when the next sub isn't italic, "Fix common OCR errors" wants to fix the lower case to upper.

Last edited by von Suppé; 18th April 2022 at 15:22.
von Suppé is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2022, 17:11   #1565  |  Link
tormento
Acid fr0g
 
tormento's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 2,178
Quote:
Originally Posted by Janusz View Post
Instead of "\A" use "^" meaning "^--" will replace "--" with "-" on all three lines.
I have tried on but doesn't find all, such as

53
00:04:00,930 --> 00:04:03,365
--Please leave now.
--What do you say, can I cut her?

where it finds the first one only.
__________________
@turment on Telegram
tormento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2022, 23:12   #1566  |  Link
Janusz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Poland
Posts: 137
@Tormento
Use "Multiple replace". In the "Replace with" field there is "- " (-space)

Attached Images
 
__________________
Sorry for my mistakes - I'm using a translator.

Last edited by Janusz; 18th April 2022 at 23:26.
Janusz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2022, 09:54   #1567  |  Link
Music Fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,732
Quote:
Originally Posted by von Suppé View Post
Doesn't "Remove text for hearing impaired" already take care of only three dots in a line?
Yes, thanks, I didn't think to that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by von Suppé View Post
There's also "Remove interjections (shh, hmm, etc.)" which list you can edit.
Ok, noted.

By the way, I don't get anymore the e-mail notifications, is it normal ?
Music Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2022, 20:25   #1568  |  Link
jpsdr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 2,042
Hello.
Is it possible with SE to open an XML/PNG set of files, and convert it to .SUP ?
__________________
My github.
jpsdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2022, 09:26   #1569  |  Link
von Suppé
Registered User
 
von Suppé's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 493
Yes, the "SUP editor" can do this. Go "File --> Import --> Blu-ray (.sup) subtitle file for edit" (in the browser window, set small filetype box to "BdnXml (*.xml)" to make XML/PNG files show up).
In the editor, go "File --> save as".
von Suppé is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2022, 11:31   #1570  |  Link
jpsdr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 2,042
Nice, thanks.
__________________
My github.
jpsdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2022, 17:51   #1571  |  Link
Hidson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Posts: 4
On SE 3.64, when I save a file as .SCC and then I open it again, some lines receive {an1}, {an7} and {an8} tags which I haven't inserted on my own.

This happens when I'm creating in the CC format, 3 lines. I work normally on SRT and then I save as SCC. When I open the .SCC file again on SE, that's when those alien tags show up. Has anyone experienced this? Thanks in advance.
Hidson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2022, 14:09   #1572  |  Link
iKron
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 16
can you please add Case changing for batch option?
also is there anyway we can find the longest duration gap between two line?
iKron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2022, 22:25   #1573  |  Link
braap44
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2022
Posts: 1
It would be great have an option to discard/filter out subtitles by colour. E.g. a lot of French Blurays nowadays have SDH subtiltes which are colour coded, it would be great if certain colours could be disregarded when OCR'ing a .sup file to .srt because they can result in garbage and making the whole process more cumbersome. Something like a pop-up menu with the option which available colours to keep and/or discard would be great.

Examples which can clarify things a bit better (see attachments)

Red = ambient sounds

Purple = music related

Green = foreign language (left untranslated)

Yellow
= dialogue spoken off screen


In these examples I'd mostly want to discard Red and Purple subs keeping all others (including standard White). Of course different users have different wishes so to be able to select them all would be most convenient.


Cheers & thanks for creating Subtitle Edit.
Attached Images
   
braap44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2022, 08:24   #1574  |  Link
Zetti
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 256
Thanks for new release:
https://github.com/SubtitleEdit/subt...ases/tag/3.6.6
Zetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2022, 16:00   #1575  |  Link
Atlantis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 653
I totally agree with braap44. Being able to discard subtitles by color in OCR would be great.
Atlantis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2022, 21:55   #1576  |  Link
Atlantis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 653
When adding a name to the name list, if it has 's, it also adds it. For example for McHale's, it adds McHale's. Shouldn't it add only McHale?
Atlantis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2022, 22:24   #1577  |  Link
Emulgator
Big Bit Savings Now !
 
Emulgator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: close to the wall
Posts: 1,178
I would expect any glyph a name consists of has to be taken as a part of "the name" and no conclusion drawn.
How the programmer shall conclude what might be a possessive suffix and what not ?
You are still free to add "McHale" to the name list if you see that fit.
__________________
"To bypass shortcuts and find suffering...is called QUALity" (Die toten Augen von Friedrichshain)
"Data reduction ? Yep, Sir. We're working on that issue. Synce invntoin uf lingöage..."
Emulgator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2022, 00:31   #1578  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 10,228
Thank you nikse, that there Tesseract stuff, it tends to output double stuff,
eg nN, double stuff dont know why, also "|I" and "kK", + others.
Anyways, givuss a kiss, we lov U tanks.
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???

Last edited by StainlessS; 21st June 2022 at 00:35.
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd June 2022, 12:27   #1579  |  Link
Atlantis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 653
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emulgator View Post
You are still free to add "McHale" to the name list if you see that fit.
How can I do that? In Spell Check it shows McHale's.
Atlantis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2022, 00:49   #1580  |  Link
resolution
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Posts: 4
Subtitle Edit is great, I appreciate it a lot!

I have noticed a possible issue that I thought I should mention. When I import a sup file to adjust times and durations only, and then save it as a new sup file, the resulting new file has subtly altered color values. The change is very small, but it seems like undesirable behavior.

For example, my original sup file has yellow subtitles with the following values (as measured by the color picker tool in GIMP):

H: 67
S: 76
V: 92
R: 213
G: 235
B: 57

Then I do "import Blu-ray (.sup) subtitle file for edit," make my timing adjustments, and "save as." (I do not touch "adjust brightness" or "adjust alpha" at all.)

When I measure the output sup file, the colors are now:

H: 68
S: 75
V: 92
R: 213
G: 235
B: 59

Is this something that could be tweaked, so that Subtitle Edit passes the colors through unaltered? Thanks!
resolution is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.