Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 25th November 2023, 20:27   #64441  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 1,664
How do I get rid of 60.000 Hz composition rate if I go this way?
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2023, 21:10   #64442  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,853
restart and hope.

this can happen when you switch from 60 away to something else and windows just stays at 60 and the GPU switches.

real FSE doesn't have a composition rate.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2023, 01:55   #64443  |  Link
Sunspark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 449
Yes, this is right, I remember now that the composition rate would get stuck sometimes if one was switching around all over the place, but a reboot always fixed it.
Sunspark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2023, 08:49   #64444  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 1,664
Refresh rate switches but composition rate stays at 60.000
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2023, 08:55   #64445  |  Link
Sunspark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 449
Would be worth comparing exclusive mode in EVR-CP and MPC-VR to see if this happens with all of them.
Sunspark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2023, 21:13   #64446  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,853
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaus1189 View Post
Refresh rate switches but composition rate stays at 60.000
windows issues.
if this happens with FSE it is just reported for fun or you don't have real FSE.

mpo my changes something about that.
i don't know enough about it. newer windows 11 version are also able to have more than 1 composition rate at the same time not sure if this is part of mpo
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunspark View Post
Would be worth comparing exclusive mode in EVR-CP and MPC-VR to see if this happens with all of them.
why do you see a composition rate when using these renderer?
is EVR CP FSE even worth mentioning? i mean it has a seek bar now that wasn't always the case.

to bad they took overlay from us so good. well there was no 10 bit version so well what ever.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2023, 19:50   #64447  |  Link
Amuat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2023
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
without it you don't have FSE.
you should also not blindly active it it is not save at all.
I haven't "blindly activated it". I use it because without the matching of refresh rate to the FPS of the video it enables, I get worse performance as measured by rendering time, and even more importantly, mismatch between those two often causes lagging movement, even if rendering time is still reasonable.
Amuat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2023, 22:25   #64448  |  Link
tkp206093
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2022
Posts: 1
http://madshi.net/madVRhdrMeasure192.zip
tkp206093 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2023, 07:24   #64449  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,853
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amuat View Post
I haven't "blindly activated it". I use it because without the matching of refresh rate to the FPS of the video it enables, I get worse performance as measured by rendering time, and even more importantly, mismatch between those two often causes lagging movement, even if rendering time is still reasonable.
and is is not required and bad practice.
there are reason to use like to get 3D working but in general it is utterly broken.
it does match anything and it doesn't even exist in newer windows version it may even forces flat 60 composition rate something it doesn't even have because it is not FSE it just fake.

and please don't state stuff like this: "required nowadays"
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2023, 18:33   #64450  |  Link
Amuat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2023
Posts: 37
Oh, I guess I must have confused FSE with the full screen mode in MPC-HC. So the latter should work fine when enable automatic full screen exclusive mode is not checked in madVR settings? And also not needing the disabling of optimisations in that case?


"and please don't state stuff like this: "required nowadays""

Don't get what you mean, I was merely responding to Sunspark's comment ("Fullscreen exclusive only works properly now if that box is checked, since version 1909 of W10 I think (forget the exact #) because Microsoft changed how compositing works."), not advocating using FSE itself as a requirement.
Amuat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2023, 10:40   #64451  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,643
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amuat View Post

Don't get what you mean.
Stated what he means right at the start

Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
is not required and bad practice.

Last edited by ryrynz; 30th November 2023 at 10:42.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2023, 11:56   #64452  |  Link
galego100
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2023
Posts: 1
Hello , with 300€ budget , which card i should buy ? It could be used one...Im looking for 2080 TI or 3060 ti , to use it with Formovie Theater, for DTM , 2080 ti is enough?
galego100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2023, 15:15   #64453  |  Link
Amuat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2023
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryrynz View Post
Stated what he means right at the start
Yes, but he/she seemed to be under the false impression that I was referring to FSE itself being required, when I was only referring to how disabling optimisations is required if you're going to use FSE, according to Sunspark, as I explained:

"Don't get what you mean, I was merely responding to Sunspark's comment ("Fullscreen exclusive only works properly now if that box is checked, since version 1909 of W10 I think (forget the exact #) because Microsoft changed how compositing works."), not advocating using FSE itself as a requirement."
Amuat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2023, 19:01   #64454  |  Link
Sunspark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 449
Yes, if you're using FSE check that box. If you're not going to check the box, then don't use FSE and stick to standard windowed borderless fullscreen mode.

Gamers deal with the same thing. D3D9 vs D3D11 (&12) games, FSE, overlay, windowed borderless, etc.

What Microsoft does now is that without disable optimizations checked is that they insert a layer between a game running in FSE and the display. The game thinks it is using FSE, but it isn't. Most of the time it works fine, gamers have done benchmarks.

Last edited by Sunspark; 30th November 2023 at 19:03.
Sunspark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2023, 03:35   #64455  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,853
i guess i really didn't get the message through.
even if you check it you don't get FSE anymore. there are no guaranties anymore it's a dead end just look at overlay which was never used by any game i ever heard about i mean it would literally fail to start on amd if it doesn't have a fall back.
newer WDDM version just use windowed with a forced composition rate of 60 on win 10 making is pointless like nothing else.

hell on the win 11 version on my AMD system there is no madVR FSE any more at all i will still get presentation glitches if 2 screen are actively full screen and used there is no composition rate.

and all of this doesn't matter because there are a lot of different windows version active now with how they update. all can have different WDDM version and don't forget the GPU driver.

TL;DR if you have a working compibnation keep it.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2023, 07:14   #64456  |  Link
Sunspark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 449
My drivers are old, so my WDDM version is only 2.0, feature level 11_1.

I actually use overlay with madvr as a result and it works. Nothing else uses overlay though.

Pretty sure FSE still works for me (I disabled optimizations globally and I'm on an older build of W10) and I can see a minute GPU load difference vs having it on or off. All the presentation modes work though, whether Windows or Linux.

I agree with Huhn, people should not bother with FSE unless they're on old hardware or playing old games.

My other "real" machine is a Steam Deck.. Valve has been pretty lame with the drivers and won't release drivers that have hardware acceleration for encoding or decoding.. or OpenCL so there is no point running Windows there.. so on the Linux side, there is acceleration support, but it's just the usual VAAPI stuff and support for it is hit and miss with apps.. so over there I have set up VLC and Haruna (which uses libmpv), but I don't watch stuff on it. Haruna will use vaapi-copy but not native vaapi.. I don't know why.
Sunspark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2023, 16:42   #64457  |  Link
Garath
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Posts: 4
hello! i have a problem with madvr.
setup: windows 11 22h2, rtx 3080, lg cx, lav filters-0.77.2 x64, madvr 197, mpc-be x64 (but I also tried mpc-hc and potplayer)


when I open an hdr file, it is not bright, the colours are pale.
I have the default settings on madvr, except 10bit, hdr passthrough, display mode and FSE (fse not working)
Garath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2023, 18:56   #64458  |  Link
Amuat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2023
Posts: 37
Thank you all for the info. For some reason I thought that MPC-HC full screen mode should be used in tandem with madVR FSE, but I realize now that it's actually only the former that I require for my needs. So the MPC-HC full screen option (Use autochange fullscreen monitor mode) is not trying to be "exclusive", and I do not need to disable optimizations with only that on?


"...i will still get presentation glitches if..."

Do you mean to say that zero presentation glitches (let's say, for a 2 h movie) is actually a realistic target that you should strive for, or am I drawing a false conclusion?
Amuat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2023, 21:32   #64459  |  Link
NDUS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 13
I'm sure it's not a priority, but just thought I'd say for information's purposes that MadVR has a bug on ultra-high-framerate monitors.
It worked well on my ol' 240hz display except for the occasional hang when I would drag it to a different refresh rate display. But MadVR doesn't like the new 540hz panel.

On 540hz, playing a video:
first 1sec of playback: normal playback
2sec-6sec: stuttering playback, MadVR statistics show "display" Hz incorrectly fluctuating from 100~180Hz
7sec-infinity: normal playback

Latest Win11 update, RTX 4090, latest MadVR beta (but also happens on the stable release), happens on any given LAV decoder setting
Happens on MPC-HC or MPC-BE with MadVR enabled
Doesn't happen with MPC video renderer enabled
Also happens when all monitors besides the 540hz one are off, so it's not a mixed refresh rate problem

Last edited by NDUS; 1st December 2023 at 21:44.
NDUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2023, 02:36   #64460  |  Link
Sunspark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 449
@Amuat So test further.. don't use the player's refresh rate switching and use MadVR's refresh rate switching instead.
Sunspark is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.