Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Newbies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 28th December 2023, 14:56   #1  |  Link
Lan4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2022
Posts: 64
Limit the number of cores for encoding

I want to limit the number of cores. In total I have 4 cores and 8 threads. I only need 6 threads for video encoding in the background (this is 80% of the computer’s power), and at this time I use the remaining threads for other work. I can change the number of processors in the Task Manager, but I have to do this every time. I wanted to do this automatically.

Now I'm trying this:
Code:
start /affinity 3F C:\ffmpeg.exe
A separate cmd window opens, which does not have the usual FFMPEG encoding log. And perhaps not all script options are used. How to do it correctly?

In general, the FFMPEG script looks like this:

Code:
FOR %%F IN (*.mp4) DO (
echo LSMASHVideoSource("%%~dpnxF"^) > "%%~dpnxF.avs"
echo SetFilterMTMode("DEFAULT_MT_MODE", 2^) >> "%%~dpnxF.avs"
echo LoadPlugin("D:\ResampleMT.dll"^) Spline36ResizeMT(720, 1280, prefetch=4^) >> "%%~dpnxF.avs"
echo KNLMeansCL(D=1, A=1, h=1.5, device_type="auto"^) >> "%%~dpnxF.avs"
echo DetailSharpen(str=0.3, pow=8, z=6, ldmp=0, mode=1, med=false^) >> "%%~dpnxF.avs"
echo Prefetch(6^) >> "%%~dpnxF.avs"
C:\ffmpeg.exe -benchmark -i "%%~dpnxF.avs" -i "%%~dpnxF" -map 0:v:0 -map 1:a:0 -c:v libx264 -qp 26 -preset medium -g 30 -keyint_min 5 -c:a copy "%%~dpnF_new.mp4"
del "%%~dpnxF.avs"
)
pause
Lan4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2023, 15:10   #2  |  Link
microchip8
ffx264/ffhevc author
 
microchip8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: /dev/video0
Posts: 1,853
you can control the amount of threads in libx264 by using its -x264-params threads=xx option
__________________
ffx264 || ffhevc || ffxvid || microenc
microchip8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2023, 15:23   #3  |  Link
Lan4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2022
Posts: 64
Can I use both -x264-params and standard libx264 options in a script?

It seems to me that the encoding process loads the processor and video card 100% not only with the work of the libx encoder, but also with the work of the Avisynth filters.
Lan4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2023, 16:58   #4  |  Link
microchip8
ffx264/ffhevc author
 
microchip8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: /dev/video0
Posts: 1,853
yes, you can use them

no idea on avisynth
__________________
ffx264 || ffhevc || ffxvid || microenc
microchip8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2023, 19:02   #5  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 10,992
I used to use this years ago [EDIT: Maybe before I joined D9 (2010)], and recently downloaded again (maybe same version, probably not upated for some time).
Allows to always use some Priority, or some Affinity when executing an app.
https://prio.en.softonic.com/

EDIT: Causes Task manager to set defaults for a particular executable, eg x264.exe or ffmpeg.exe.
(So if you set some affinity on x264, and you execute MeGUI which uses/calls x264, then it will use that affinity for the MeGUI or any other, x264)
EDIT: Free for personal use, I believe that it still works for current OS's, but not tried it myself, yet.

EDIT: Task Manager, CTRL / SHIFT / ESC, shortcut.
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???

Last edited by StainlessS; 28th December 2023 at 19:46.
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2023, 12:09   #6  |  Link
hellgauss
Registered User
 
hellgauss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 103
This is the standard command structure I use for background encoding on a PC which can be 24/7 on (it is windows 10).

Code:
start /b /low /wait cmd /c "ffmpeg -y -hide_banner -nostdin -bitexact -i "%%i" -map 0 -vf "removegrain=1,scale=1280:720:flags=bicublin:param0=0.125:param1=0.4375" -sws_flags accurate_rnd -c:v libx264 -level 40 -preset veryslow -crf 18 -tune animation -psy-rd 0.55 -aq-mode 3 -threads 1 -c:a libfdk_aac -rmvol 0.9375 -vbr 4 -c:s copy -disposition +0 -bitexact "%tmdir%\t1_%pref%%%~ni%suff%.mkv" 2>&1 | tee "%lgdir%\full-log_%%~ni.txt""
Remarks:
- Note the -threads option which is sent to libx264. Probably ffmpeg uses also other threads e.g. audio encoding, filters, avisynth etc...
- The cmd /c part can be omitted if the command is somewhat simple. cmd has a very strange quotation handling (see cmd /?) and here it is needed to redirect output to tee.exe, since I need both file and screen outputs. Perhaps you can also do it with start only but I was not able to do it.
- You can tune the start parameters according to your needs.

EDIT: Probably you do not see ffmpeg log since ffmpeg outputs to stderr instead of stdout, and start grabs only stdout. To redirect stderr to stdout use "2>&1"

Last edited by hellgauss; 29th December 2023 at 13:34. Reason: Post scriptum
hellgauss is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.