Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > High Efficiency Video Coding (HEVC)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 28th November 2023, 16:05   #801  |  Link
techdiver
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 4
Cheers for the replies guys.

Another one that I have thought about is adding DV metadata from one release to say a ripped bluray remux. In some cases the duration of each mkv is different as as such I assume that a straight run of the hybrid script would not work correctly. I tested this and saw that for HDR10+ is was saying that since the timestamps are off it will ignore the metadata at the end of the file. But in the case where the difference is at the start of the file is there anything that can be done? I'm assuming no?
techdiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2023, 18:29   #802  |  Link
girod2033
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 2
Hello.

When using "DDVT_MKVTOMP4.cmd" in version v0.61.4, information about HDR was lost; in version v0.60 there is no such problem.



girod2033 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2023, 22:15   #803  |  Link
dbgt7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2023
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by -QfG- View Post
About cropping:

1. There are any Retail Untouched RPUs without cropping informations. The tool says in this case :NO CROPPING INFORMATIONS FOUND. You can leave this RPUs untouched, but it is recommended to set the valid Borders.
I think, that no cropping informations in the RPU is the same how 0 entries. But i have no proof for this statement.

2. IMAX Format: You can do 3 Things:
  1. Set all borders to 0 (this is the way that i use)
  2. Set all borders to the lowest entry (Example: IMAX Scenes Borders 42/42, Normal Scenes Borders 272,272 -> set Borders to 42/42
  3. For Freaks xd - Create a custom.json file and set all borders manually for IMAX / Normal frames. Good Luck In this case, don't forget to turn off border manipulation via the tool himself.

3. BORDERLESS VIDEO: If the video is cropped or full 16:9 without Black Bars, set all boreder entries to 0!

In my Tests i have no problems with RPUs with borders entries of 0 with cropped content. BUT ! I have trouble with RPUs with Border entries other than 0 by cropped (borderless) content!

In all cases it is recommended to set the correct borders in the RPU for maximal compatibility with the hardware players.
Does this still applies? So if i have a movie with mixed IMAX and normal widescreen content, do i set borders to 0? DDVT says top and bottom video border are 208 px and rpu top and bottom borders are 207 px.

Do i need to crop video borders to 0? or crop rpu? or both??
dbgt7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2023, 03:36   #804  |  Link
GodzilaAvenger
Registered User
 
GodzilaAvenger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Posts: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by techdiver View Post
Cheers for the replies guys.

Another one that I have thought about is adding DV metadata from one release to say a ripped bluray remux. In some cases the duration of each mkv is different as as such I assume that a straight run of the hybrid script would not work correctly. I tested this and saw that for HDR10+ is was saying that since the timestamps are off it will ignore the metadata at the end of the file. But in the case where the difference is at the start of the file is there anything that can be done? I'm assuming no?
When adding DV or HDR10+ metadata you have to make sure that it's synced with the video stream, otherwise there'll be annoying artifacts (jumps in brightness). This is especially true when using sources from different medium, like digital vs. Blu-ray, as those are usually not synced because of some initial logo or something.

To check if the metadata is synced with the file you can use the FILEINFO script to get the scene cuts (frame numbers where scenes change, frame numbers starting from 0), and match that with the frame number in the actual video (I like using djv, though be careful since in it frame numbers start from 1, not 0). You can then apply the positive or negative delay in the INJECTOR script (I haven't used the HYBRID script but if it has a delay option you can use that too).
GodzilaAvenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2023, 03:42   #805  |  Link
GodzilaAvenger
Registered User
 
GodzilaAvenger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Posts: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbgt7 View Post
Does this still applies? So if i have a movie with mixed IMAX and normal widescreen content, do i set borders to 0? DDVT says top and bottom video border are 208 px and rpu top and bottom borders are 207 px.

Do i need to crop video borders to 0? or crop rpu? or both??
For mixed aspect ratio content I recommend leaving the RPU borders as they are, i.e. the border part should display something like "[LEAVE UNTOUCHED]". Another option would be to set the borders to the height of the smallest black bar (corresponding to the tallest scene(s)).
GodzilaAvenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2023, 12:24   #806  |  Link
techdiver
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by GodzilaAvenger View Post
When adding DV or HDR10+ metadata you have to make sure that it's synced with the video stream, otherwise there'll be annoying artifacts (jumps in brightness). This is especially true when using sources from different medium, like digital vs. Blu-ray, as those are usually not synced because of some initial logo or something.

To check if the metadata is synced with the file you can use the FILEINFO script to get the scene cuts (frame numbers where scenes change, frame numbers starting from 0), and match that with the frame number in the actual video (I like using djv, though be careful since in it frame numbers start from 1, not 0). You can then apply the positive or negative delay in the INJECTOR script (I haven't used the HYBRID script but if it has a delay option you can use that too).
Excellent. Thanks for the reply!
techdiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2023, 05:12   #807  |  Link
-QfG-
QfG Group Germany
 
-QfG-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 244
-v0.61.5 Online.
*FIXED missing HDR Info String in mkvtomp4 script with DV P5 files.
*Updated mkvtoolnix to v 81.0.0.0.

EDIT: Little error in the DEMUXER script, it's fixed now, no version update, simply download again. (12/08/2023)

Last edited by -QfG-; 8th December 2023 at 18:07.
-QfG- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th December 2023, 07:22   #808  |  Link
NeverExists
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Posts: 16
Hi, with Wandavision Web Version, when I try to extract the RPU It recognizes Dolby Vision Profile 5, but then gives an error saying 0 frames parsed.

Edit: NVM It's cause it was an mp4. using MKVToolnix to convert it to mkv, then running through the demuxer worked.

Last edited by NeverExists; 16th December 2023 at 07:32.
NeverExists is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2023, 13:16   #809  |  Link
cool advertise
Registered User
 
cool advertise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Italy
Posts: 45
bug

Quote:
Originally Posted by -QfG- View Post
-v0.61.5 Online.
I think I found a bug in your tool, in the demuxer, when you have an .mkv with only hdr10+, without dolby vision, and you want to extract or demux the hdr10+ in a HDR10Plus.json file, the tool does not extract it.
EDIT: I had the first version of the tool v0.61.5, now I have downloaded the latest one and everything works, sorry...

Last edited by cool advertise; 19th December 2023 at 13:51.
cool advertise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2023, 22:11   #810  |  Link
-QfG-
QfG Group Germany
 
-QfG-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 244
No problem.

Quote:
NVM It's cause it was an mp4. using MKVToolnix to convert it to mkv, then running through the demuxer worked.
Will check and fix mp4 demuxing in the next version.
-QfG- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2023, 04:19   #811  |  Link
GodzilaAvenger
Registered User
 
GodzilaAvenger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Posts: 123
I recently got the new Avatar (2009) Blu-ray which comes with Dolby Vision FEL, but when I looked at the RPU the brightness data seems to be static, like HDR10 (the L1 plot is just a straight line). I found a web source with HDR10+ metadata that seems to be far more dynamic when it comes to scene-by-scene (or even frame-by-frame) L1 data. So my question is, should I stick to the original RPU or should I convert the HDR10+ one to DV RPU and inject it into the file?
GodzilaAvenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2023, 02:47   #812  |  Link
-QfG-
QfG Group Germany
 
-QfG-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 244
You must check the frames by the Seamless Branching CAN UHD. The Extended Cut from the CAN UHD has 396 Frames more as the BD and WEB versions. Theatrical Cut from the US UHD has better quality, but no DV. You can add the DV EL Layer from the CAN Theatrical Cut into the US UHD.
-QfG- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2023, 21:16   #813  |  Link
GodzilaAvenger
Registered User
 
GodzilaAvenger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Posts: 123
I have the US UHD Steelbook Theatrical Cut which does come with P7 DV FEL. The problem is that like every other 4K release of Avatar the brightness data in the RPU is just the same value for all scenes (essentially HDR10). But, I've found a web source (of the Theatrical Cut) with HDR10+ metadata where the brightness is dynamic. So my question is, do I stick to the original RPU, or should I turn the HDR10+ metadata into a new RPU and inject it instead?
GodzilaAvenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2024, 10:10   #814  |  Link
von Suppé
Registered User
 
von Suppé's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 619
GA, why don't you just give HDR10+ a try and see if the result looks better than with native FEL/RPU.
Chances are that the HDR10+ video be of other grading, but in the end your eyes are the final judge.
von Suppé is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2024, 23:31   #815  |  Link
GodzilaAvenger
Registered User
 
GodzilaAvenger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Posts: 123
So, to my eyes they pretty much look the same, but then again I'm not that good at judging picture quality in general, so I was wondering if there's a best practice in this situation since I don't know much about mastering or color grading or metadata generation.
GodzilaAvenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2024, 02:03   #816  |  Link
sofakng
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 54
Can somebody explain the RPU and its relationship to profile 5 and profile 8?

If I understand correctly, the RPU is the dynamic metadata packets describing the change in brightness per frame/scene, etc.

Does profile 5 contain RPU data or is it 'already applied' (encoded) into the video stream?

I know profile 5 doesn't contain a base layer (and has a different colorspace) from profile 8 but I'm still trying to understand the basics...
sofakng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2024, 09:34   #817  |  Link
GodzilaAvenger
Registered User
 
GodzilaAvenger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Posts: 123
Your understanding of RPU is generally correct (it also has dynamic tone-mapping data). P5 and P8 both have a base layer and an RPU, P5 base layer uses a different color space from the one that P8 uses to be backwards compatible with HDR10. You can use dovi_tool (which is baked into DDVT) to convert P5 RPU to P8.
GodzilaAvenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2024, 20:55   #818  |  Link
-QfG-
QfG Group Germany
 
-QfG-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 244
-v0.62 Online
*UPDATED Complete overhaul of the Injector script.
*ADDED Feature for settings custom mkvtoolnix path in Options.
*Updated mkvtoolnix to v 82.0.0.0.
*FIXED minor bugfixes
-QfG- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2024, 22:08   #819  |  Link
Axeldook
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Posts: 14
Thank you

great tool for DV'ing my mkv's that wont play DV on my LG c1's.

Quick question, any way to add chapters ?


thank you
Axeldook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2024, 20:30   #820  |  Link
-QfG-
QfG Group Germany
 
-QfG-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 244
You can simply add chapters with mkvtoolnix.
-QfG- is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:10.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.