Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > New and alternative a/v containers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 13th April 2021, 10:37   #24461  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 757
Quote:
Originally Posted by *MidnightWatcher* View Post
If I only install the LAV Video Decoder 0.75 and keep the splitter and audio decoder at 0.74.1, the videos streamed via FTP play immediately, but if the splitter or audio decoder 0.75 are installed, it takes about 20 seconds before the video begins playing.
I know this could be a bit time consuming, but what you could do is try to install each of the nightlies here: https://files.1f0.de/lavf/nightly/0.74/ and see after each upgrade/downgrade if the problem appears/disappears.
Proceed using a sort of "divide search": install a build from the middle of the list, like 0.74.1-59, check if the problem happens, if it does then the issue was introduced in a build between 0.74.1 and that one, if it doesn't it was in a later one, then repeat the same process with the smaller resulting selection.
At worst it should take you only installing 6 of those to pinpoint which one exactly introduced the issue.
Then you can see all the codes changes that happened here: https://github.com/Nevcairiel/LAVFil....74.1...master and hopefully find something that explains it and nev can take a look at it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by RealSnoopyDog View Post
It would be helpful to know for which file format this happens for you. I don't have problems where starting a video stream takes 20 seconds or more on a network storage. They all start immediately (plain mpeg and mkv)
What protocol? Maybe it only affects FTP.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 20H2, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters/ReClock/madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti 461.92

Last edited by el Filou; 13th April 2021 at 10:40.
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2021, 15:12   #24462  |  Link
*MidnightWatcher*
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by RealSnoopyDog View Post
It would be helpful to know for which file format this happens for you. I don't have problems where starting a video stream takes 20 seconds or more on a network storage. They all start immediately (plain mpeg and mkv)
All my videos are mkv.
__________________
My HT: JVC X790R | 100" EluneVision | madVR 128 RTX 2070S | UB420 | Denon X3600H @ 5.2.4 | Polk Audio RTi | 4 x ADX Maximus w/ Dayton Audio SA230 | 40" HDTV w/ MoviePosterApp
*MidnightWatcher* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2021, 15:14   #24463  |  Link
*MidnightWatcher*
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
When was the last time you disabled the mains power from all your gear, waited between 30 to 60 seconds, and switched everything back on again!?

My Synology NAS was behaving strangely a few weeks ago after an update. After "switching it off and on again"... It's working fine
It plays fine with 0.74.1, but not with 0.75. If it were the server I'd have issues regardless of version.
__________________
My HT: JVC X790R | 100" EluneVision | madVR 128 RTX 2070S | UB420 | Denon X3600H @ 5.2.4 | Polk Audio RTi | 4 x ADX Maximus w/ Dayton Audio SA230 | 40" HDTV w/ MoviePosterApp
*MidnightWatcher* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2021, 16:28   #24464  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 10,072
Does it actually use LAV Splitter to access the FTP server, or is it using an external URL Source Filter? More information is more better.

PS:
Issues are not always as straight forward as you might think. Restarting your NAS takes you as much time as declaring that its not the cause.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2021, 18:35   #24465  |  Link
*MidnightWatcher*
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
Does it actually use LAV Splitter to access the FTP server, or is it using an external URL Source Filter? More information is more better.

PS:
Issues are not always as straight forward as you might think. Restarting your NAS takes you as much time as declaring that its not the cause.
Hi nev, I restarted the FTP server and still the same.

I'm using Kodi with MPC-BE as the external player, and MPC-BE is set up to use only LAV for splitter, audio, video. They are all active in the task bar also when a video is playing. Does this answer your question?
__________________
My HT: JVC X790R | 100" EluneVision | madVR 128 RTX 2070S | UB420 | Denon X3600H @ 5.2.4 | Polk Audio RTi | 4 x ADX Maximus w/ Dayton Audio SA230 | 40" HDTV w/ MoviePosterApp
*MidnightWatcher* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2021, 19:40   #24466  |  Link
clsid
*****
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,258
MPC-BE Menu > Play > Filters

It is probably using "File Source (URL)", which may be caching the whole file before playback starts.

You can edit this registry key to change the source filter:
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\ftp
LAV = {B98D13E7-55DB-4385-A33D-09FD1BA26338}
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2021, 04:56   #24467  |  Link
*MidnightWatcher*
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsid View Post
MPC-BE Menu > Play > Filters

It is probably using "File Source (URL)", which may be caching the whole file before playback starts.

You can edit this registry key to change the source filter:
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\ftp
LAV = {B98D13E7-55DB-4385-A33D-09FD1BA26338}
MPC-BE 1.5.7.6005

Filters currently loaded:
- Default DirectSound Device
- XySubFilter (=> madVR)
- madVR Renderer
- Audio Switcher
- LAV Video Decoder
- LAV Audio Decoder
- LAV Splitter Source

I tried updating FTP Source Filter value data in the registry as suggested, but still takes 20 seconds to start playing a video.
__________________
My HT: JVC X790R | 100" EluneVision | madVR 128 RTX 2070S | UB420 | Denon X3600H @ 5.2.4 | Polk Audio RTi | 4 x ADX Maximus w/ Dayton Audio SA230 | 40" HDTV w/ MoviePosterApp

Last edited by *MidnightWatcher*; 14th April 2021 at 05:16.
*MidnightWatcher* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2021, 11:23   #24468  |  Link
biship
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 20
For me playing files from my Synology NAS it takes 5-7s before the video starts, and oddly, the screen is also blank for the first 5s of the video. I can hear the audio. All MKVs.
__________________
LG OLED65C9PUA | Denon AVR-X3500H | Windows 10 | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 | LAV Filters | madVR | MediaPortal | Plex
biship is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2021, 14:28   #24469  |  Link
*MidnightWatcher*
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by biship View Post
For me playing files from my Synology NAS it takes 5-7s before the video starts, and oddly, the screen is also blank for the first 5s of the video. I can hear the audio. All MKVs.
It takes 5-7 second before playing, plus another 5 seconds for the video to be displayed? Curious -- is your connection "fast ethernet" (10/100) or gigabit (10/100/1000)? The blanking sounds like your display is adjusting to the frame/refresh rate. My JVC projector takes about 6 seconds, which is normal.
__________________
My HT: JVC X790R | 100" EluneVision | madVR 128 RTX 2070S | UB420 | Denon X3600H @ 5.2.4 | Polk Audio RTi | 4 x ADX Maximus w/ Dayton Audio SA230 | 40" HDTV w/ MoviePosterApp

Last edited by *MidnightWatcher*; 14th April 2021 at 18:55.
*MidnightWatcher* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2021, 22:02   #24470  |  Link
clsid
*****
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,258
@nevcairiel
I am debugging a hang in m_pDXVA2Allocator->GetBuffer()
The free list is empty/null and m_lCount=m_lAllocated=23

I assume that this situation of all buffers being in use should not happen under normal conditions?
This problem occurred for a user with heavy GPU usage by Firefox. Could it be that a buffer is not freed (or re-used) when a failure occurs somewhere in the DXVA2 code (of FFmpeg)?
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
decoders, directshow, filters, splitter

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.