Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 2nd November 2016, 15:13   #61  |  Link
mdalacu
Registered User
 
mdalacu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by manolito View Post
Hi and thanks for the new version...

Selecting the FDK AAC encoder right from the GUI seems very logical to me, I see no reason to hide this setting. Of course the option should only be available if an FFmpeg version with libfdk support is installed.

The VBR parameters work correctly now.

For the low pass cutoff values I believe that the Fraunhofer defaults are overly cautious. In my little libfdk plugin I did it like this
and never heard any adverse effects.


One cosmetic thing in the audio encoding section:
The text box "Audio Filters" does not have enough room, the word "Filters" is partly cut off (how much depends on the screen resolution).

And thanks a lot for implementing the feature to remember the main window size and position. Makes my life easier on my notebook.


Cheers
manolito
Thanks for testing it. I have corrected that visual glitch. Re download if you like.
To test if ffmpeg have certain encoders it to much for my time, i think that i will hide aac-fdk and enable it by ini file...
Thanks again.
mdalacu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2016, 17:43   #62  |  Link
manolito
Registered User
 
manolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 3,097
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdalacu View Post
To test if ffmpeg have certain encoders it to much for my time
This is actually pretty easy... (I can even do it in a batch file)

On startup of the software just run "ffmpeg.exe -buildconf". Redirect the output to a temp file and search this file for the string "--enable-libfdk-aac".


Cheers
manolito
manolito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2017, 10:20   #63  |  Link
mdalacu
Registered User
 
mdalacu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Posts: 109
#dmMediaConverter
http://dmsimpleapps.blogspot.ro/2014...converter.html
Version 2.1.0 is up

- Now you can have special characters in file names on windows and single quote on linux systems.
- FFMpeg progress output is done on single line.
- Clear settings when done option (default on).
- Split: new Trim mode
- More... no you could manually specify input file format (in case FFMpeg auto detection fails)
- NVENC on Linux x64 and Windows.
- Intel QuickSync on Windows (you must have Intel Media SDK installed). If you manage to get the SDK installed on Linux it should be working also.
- Lots of bug fixing
- Updated FFMpeg binary with latest version
- WinXP - no longer supported. You could use this version with a ffmpeg binary without mfx.

Enjoy and please provide feedback!
mdalacu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2017, 14:39   #64  |  Link
manolito
Registered User
 
manolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 3,097
Thanks Marius for the new version...

Tested it under WinXP using an XP compatible FFmpeg version. The hidden libfdk option in the INI file also works nicely.

Since it is possible to use the Fraunhofer libfdk for AAC I find myself using the software more and more as a universal audio converter. Compared to other solutions like LameXP it is much faster, it can use containers as the source, and the quality is now first rate for most formats.

Quote:
- FFMpeg progress output is done on single line.
I like this a lot since the old behavior caused very annoying screen flicker on my old and slow machine. Only the "Follow" checkbox does not seem to have an effect any longer.


Cheers
manolito

Last edited by manolito; 31st March 2017 at 12:34.
manolito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2017, 07:07   #65  |  Link
manolito
Registered User
 
manolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 3,097
Update for WinXP users who want to use the Fraunhofer libfdk AAC audio encoder:

You can find a current FFmpeg build by CoRoNe here:
https://ffmpeg.zeranoe.com/forum/vie...p=12254#p12242

Works nicely with dmMediaConverter...


Cheers
manolito
manolito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2017, 19:08   #66  |  Link
Fishman0919
FishmanMod Android Dev
 
Fishman0919's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Somewhere else, maybe Arizona Bay
Posts: 1,143
Anyone not wanting to build or just looking for a ffmpeg 3.3.2 build.... here ya go. LINK

Below the "Download Now" button, click the OS you need.

Work fine for me on Win 10 pro with lastest ver
__________________
"Cinderella story, out of nowhere,
former greenskeeper, now about
to become the Masters champion.
It looks like a mirac- it's in the hole!"

Last edited by Fishman0919; 11th June 2017 at 19:10.
Fishman0919 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2017, 19:57   #67  |  Link
manolito
Registered User
 
manolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 3,097
Hi Fishman,

long time no see...

Now that I caught you can I ask you for a small favor?
Your FFmpeg 2-pass VBR parameters went into my plugins for AVStoDVD and also for DVDStyler, and the DVDStyler plugin got so popular that the author decided to integrate it transparently into the Windows version of DVDStyler. It basically uses your original parameters, the only exception is that the Fox New matrix gets used instead of the MPEG Adapted matrix.

Now about a week ago GMJCZP posted his own HQ 2-pass parameters, and for comparing the results of the two different approaches I made a simple test bench script. You can download it here:
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...32#post1808832

Could you please take the time and load a few of your critical sources into this script and report the results? For me the quality of the two different encodes looks pretty much the same, but the reason could just be that my vision is not 20/20 any longer...


Cheers
manolito
manolito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2017, 03:12   #68  |  Link
GMJCZP
Registered User
 
GMJCZP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: I have a statue in Hakodate, Japan
Posts: 752
manolito, please check version 2.0 of the script.

Here
__________________
By law and justice!

GMJCZP's Arsenal

Last edited by GMJCZP; 12th June 2017 at 03:19.
GMJCZP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2017, 10:05   #69  |  Link
manolito
Registered User
 
manolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 3,097
Quote:
Originally Posted by GMJCZP View Post
manolito, please check version 2.0 of the script.
Already did, still I cannot see visual quality differences...
Quote:
@REM Medium bitrate (b)
set E_BR=1600000
Are you sure? For DVD output this is ridiculously low, I never go lower than 3000k, in extreme cases maybe 2500k, but that's absolutely it...


BTW we don't want to hijack this thread, let's continue the discussion in the other thread...


Cheers
manolito
manolito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2017, 19:44   #70  |  Link
Fishman0919
FishmanMod Android Dev
 
Fishman0919's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Somewhere else, maybe Arizona Bay
Posts: 1,143
Quote:
Originally Posted by manolito View Post
Hi Fishman,

long time no see...

Now that I caught you can I ask you for a small favor?
Your FFmpeg 2-pass VBR parameters went into my plugins for AVStoDVD and also for DVDStyler, and the DVDStyler plugin got so popular that the author decided to integrate it transparently into the Windows version of DVDStyler. It basically uses your original parameters, the only exception is that the Fox New matrix gets used instead of the MPEG Adapted matrix.

Now about a week ago GMJCZP posted his own HQ 2-pass parameters, and for comparing the results of the two different approaches I made a simple test bench script. You can download it here:
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...32#post1808832

Could you please take the time and load a few of your critical sources into this script and report the results? For me the quality of the two different encodes looks pretty much the same, but the reason could just be that my vision is not 20/20 any longer...


Cheers
manolito
Hey manolito... yes long time...

I'm a bit busy with real life stuff but I'll try and take a look this weekend.
__________________
"Cinderella story, out of nowhere,
former greenskeeper, now about
to become the Masters champion.
It looks like a mirac- it's in the hole!"
Fishman0919 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2017, 11:46   #71  |  Link
mdalacu
Registered User
 
mdalacu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Posts: 109
Hi. You will find a dmMediaConverter_v2.2.0_w32.zip on my site in Google drive download location. I did not have time to update the site.
Some bugs corrected, latest ffmpeg, image adjustments and a stereoscopic converter between different 3d formats.
Please test it and provide some feedback...good or bad
mdalacu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2017, 14:04   #72  |  Link
manolito
Registered User
 
manolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 3,097
Thanks a lot for the new version - it makes a real nice Xmas present...

Did some quick test conversions under WinXP (which means that I had to replace the FFmpeg version which comes with the download with an XP compatible build by CoRoNe or Sherpya).

I could not test the 3d format conversion because I do not have any 3d sources. Everything else works fine so far. I really like the new image adjustment feature.

Two cosmetic things:
1. The title bar of the software says that it is version 2.3.0 (not 2.2.0)
2. The "Follow" check box in the encoding window still has no function (at least on my computer).


Thanks again
manolito
manolito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2017, 09:48   #73  |  Link
mdalacu
Registered User
 
mdalacu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by manolito View Post
Thanks a lot for the new version - it makes a real nice Xmas present...

Did some quick test conversions under WinXP (which means that I had to replace the FFmpeg version which comes with the download with an XP compatible build by CoRoNe or Sherpya).

I could not test the 3d format conversion because I do not have any 3d sources. Everything else works fine so far. I really like the new image adjustment feature.

Two cosmetic things:
1. The title bar of the software says that it is version 2.3.0 (not 2.2.0)
2. The "Follow" check box in the encoding window still has no function (at least on my computer).



Thanks again
manolito
Thank you for testing Manolito.
1. You are right. I will correct this or i will rename the archive )
2. That checkbox is still relevant in the moment you have a lot of warning errors and the page needs to scroll.

P.S. Regarding XP, you should really give Ubuntu a chance, i did it back in 2007 and i never looked back. I recommend using Ubuntu with XFCE desktop.

Last edited by mdalacu; 20th December 2017 at 11:54.
mdalacu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2017, 14:43   #74  |  Link
manolito
Registered User
 
manolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 3,097
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdalacu View Post
1. You are right. I will correct this or i will rename the archive )
A hex editor took care of it for me...

Quote:
Originally Posted by mdalacu View Post
P.S. Regarding XP, you should really give Ubuntu a chance, i did it back in 2007 and i never looked back. I recommend using Ubuntu with XFCE desktop.
Right now this is out of the question for me. The vast majority of software I use is Windows only, under Linux I would have to try Wine or install Windows in a virtual machine. This would not make much sense.

Of course there is replacement Linux software for most Windows software, but it would take a long time to learn all this new stuff. Plus all my little batch scripts I use to hack into Windows software would be useless, I would have to learn shell scripting instead. I feel a little bit too old for that.

I might change my mind once Microsoft starts making Win7 unusable much like they try it today with XP. But I hope that by this time alternatives like ReactOS will be ready...


Cheers
manolito
manolito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2018, 07:40   #75  |  Link
ondope
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdalacu View Post
Thank you for testing Manolito.
1. You are right. I will correct this or i will rename the archive )
2. That checkbox is still relevant in the moment you have a lot of warning errors and the page needs to scroll.

P.S. Regarding XP, you should really give Ubuntu a chance, i did it back in 2007 and i never looked back. I recommend using Ubuntu with XFCE desktop.
Any chance of an updated version for Linux? The latest I can find in your google drive is 2.1.0 (for Linux), which has some weird crashes once in a while
ondope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2018, 08:57   #76  |  Link
manolito
Registered User
 
manolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 3,097
In this post over at Videohelp

https://forum.videohelp.com/threads/...im#post2525876

the author announced that version 2.4 would be ready soon. But you should take it with a grain of salt, the announcement is already a couple of months old...
manolito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st November 2018, 09:37   #77  |  Link
ondope
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 3
@manolito Do you think it's possible to tag him or get in touch with him somehow?
It looks like he doesn't see the posts in here anymore.
ondope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st November 2018, 14:17   #78  |  Link
manolito
Registered User
 
manolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 3,097
You can try to send him a PM right here at Doom9 or at his Videohelp account...
manolito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2018, 18:10   #79  |  Link
mdalacu
Registered User
 
mdalacu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Posts: 109
Hi, @ manolito i have tried to reply a couple days ago but my post was not published.
There is no 2.4 version, i have made an typo there.
I have uploaded version 2.3 linux x64. No more 32bit versions on linux.
When i will have time i will update the my product page and everything else.
Please @ondope see if this version is working better for you and provide feedback.
Thank you all.

https://drive.google.com/folderview?...p=sharing#list
Look for: dmMediaConverter_v2.3.0_linux_x64.tar.gz
mdalacu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2018, 15:20   #80  |  Link
ondope
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 3
Thank you, I have now downloaded and will get back to you
ondope is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ffmpeg, frontend, gui, handbrake, linux

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.