Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 18th December 2017, 02:11   #1  |  Link
zeeter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 40
MPC-HC / madVR 4K HDR Issues

I used to have my current HTPC connected to my 55" Panasonic Plasma and had no issues with various playback at 1080p, mostly MKV rips. I just got a 65" LG C7P OLED and I have no issues playing back the 1080p content. I normally am not using madVR to playback 1080p...I setup MPC-HC to use the Enhanced Video Renderer (Custom Presenter). This is how I've always played back normal content, and have never had any issues with quality or performance. I run into issues only when playing back various UHD/HDR content using madVR.

I was not using madVR before at all, and this part is all new to me. I've tried all kinds of options/configs and I just can't get the playback stable. It either stutters, only audio plays - video freezes, or just completely freezes. This is when playing various UHD content, again MKV containers. I've read all kinds of things to try to get full 4K with HDR support working, but none of this is working for me, and I'm just wondering if maybe it's a hardware limitation.

HTPC Specs:
Intel Core i5-3570K
8GB DDR3
EVGA GeForce GTX 1050 SC GAMING 2GB
Windows 10 1709 Fall Creators Update

I would think this would be enough horsepower to playback just about anything, but maybe I'm wrong. Maybe my lower end 1050 GTX GPU just doesn't have enough power to output 4K HDR. Or maybe my madVR settings are incorrect. Could someone possibly assist me with this, or maybe point me in the right direction?


Thanks!
zeeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2017, 02:15   #2  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,513
2 Gb of Vram are an major issue for madVR at 4K (netflix requires more than 2 GB too ) while it is not impossible to get it working it is not recommand and needs major tweaking.

try to set the GPU queue in the madVR options to 4 and give it a try.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2017, 02:55   #3  |  Link
zeeter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 40
Ok thanks for the info. I definitely can try that.

Would I have more breathing room with a GTX 1060 6GB? Is there something else you would recommend?



Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
zeeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2017, 07:44   #4  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 4,359
6 GB is plenty, really 4 GB would be fine. The 6GB 1060 is a good choice.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2017, 10:13   #5  |  Link
Grimsdyke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Hannover, Germany
Posts: 228
Check your BIOS to see if and how much the system RAM could be allocated to the GPU. Try higher values if possible.
Also make sure that you are using the 'fastest' RAM your motherboard supports.
Grimsdyke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2017, 21:35   #6  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,513
he has a dedicated GPU.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.