Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 29th September 2010, 11:01   #1  |  Link
WILLIS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 24
The most efficient method of 1080i > 720p conversion?

I recently picked up a hauppauge hd-pvr usb capture device to record my xbox 360 game-play footage. I am looking for the most efficient way to go from a 1080i 29.976fps 1920 x 1080 .ts file down to something that would convert to 720p @ 60fps whilst preserving detail but at the same time providing adequate speed...

these clips are most likely going to end up on youtube in 720p res when my final project is finished...

thx!
WILLIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2010, 11:05   #2  |  Link
AlekseiV
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 92
Why are you converting a file to 720p60 and putting it on YouTube? YouTube supports a max of 30FPS.
AlekseiV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2010, 11:40   #3  |  Link
Hagbard23
23sKiDdOo!
 
Hagbard23's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 182
Quote:
The most efficient method of 1080i > 720p conversion?
AviSynth.

Please post more information about source and destination and you will get more information. (a TS File means nothing, in can contain AVC,VC1,MPEG2 and so on...)
Hagbard23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2010, 14:28   #4  |  Link
WILLIS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlekseiV View Post
Why are you converting a file to 720p60 and putting it on YouTube? YouTube supports a max of 30FPS.
really? i did not know that...

also I will post more info shortly...im going to upload a short clip for you guys...and link it here
WILLIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2010, 15:22   #5  |  Link
WILLIS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 24
ok im trying to provide you guys with a sample clip 79mb in size...

what is the ideal site to upload and host my clip for easy downloading? which is preferred? thanks guys...
WILLIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2010, 15:31   #6  |  Link
Inspector.Gadget
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,618
Mediafire works well.
Inspector.Gadget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2010, 17:44   #7  |  Link
WILLIS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 24
here is the vid dl link, it is about 79mb in size...
http://www.mediafire.com/?d64wwbhgni7qyek

here is some clip info as per mediainfo

General
ID : 0
Complete name : UFC 1080i.TS
Format : MPEG-TS
File size : 79.0 MiB
Duration : 46s 73ms
Overall bit rate : 14.4 Mbps
Maximum Overall bit rate : 18.0 Mbps

Video
ID : 4113 (0x1011)
Menu ID : 1 (0x1)
Format : AVC
Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile : Main@L4.0
Format settings, CABAC : Yes
Format settings, ReFrames : 4 frames
Format settings, GOP : M=1, N=64
Codec ID : 27
Duration : 46s 79ms
Bit rate mode : Variable
Bit rate : 13.3 Mbps
Maximum bit rate : 20.0 Mbps
Width : 1 920 pixels
Height : 1 080 pixels
Display aspect ratio : 16:9
Frame rate : 29.970 fps
Color space : YUV
Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0
Bit depth : 8 bits
Scan type : Interlaced
Scan order : Top Field First
Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.214
Stream size : 72.9 MiB (92%)
Color primaries : BT.709-5, BT.1361, IEC 61966-2-4, SMPTE RP177
Transfer characteristics : BT.709-5, BT.1361
Matrix coefficients : BT.709-5, BT.1361, IEC 61966-2-4 709, SMPTE RP177
WILLIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2010, 20:16   #8  |  Link
Boulotaur2024
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: France
Posts: 26
I'm no expert but I learned by myself by searching these forums, maybe you could try QTGMC for the deinterlacing (which is slow but extremely good) and some resizer (Lanczos4, Blackman) down to 720p ?

Last edited by Boulotaur2024; 29th September 2010 at 20:20.
Boulotaur2024 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2010, 21:35   #9  |  Link
Inspector.Gadget
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,618
Your source is relatively clean in terms of fields, but the capture contains some macroblocking and blurring. For 720p, and given that Youtube will re-encode it anyway and that many people will see it in 480p or 360p, I believe

Code:
DGSource("C:\Users\matt\Downloads\UFC 1080i.dgi",fieldop=0)
Load_Stdcall_Plugin("C:\Program Files\MeGUI\tools\yadif\yadif.dll")
Yadif(order=1) #30p for Youtube rather than 60p
Spline64Resize(1280,720)
should provide acceptable results in terms of speed and visual quality.

Edit: You can also crop 4 black pixels from the left if you're so inclined.
Inspector.Gadget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th September 2010, 08:43   #10  |  Link
Ghitulescu
Registered User
 
Ghitulescu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,709
Why would you care? Youtube will butcher the quality anyway ...

If you want quality, then put the original video on your homepage, or use a dedicated file storage service (RS, MU and so on).
Ghitulescu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2010, 15:42   #11  |  Link
Malcolm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 352
The world has been eagerly waiting to watch you playing games
Malcolm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2010, 16:06   #12  |  Link
WILLIS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghitulescu View Post
Why would you care? Youtube will butcher the quality anyway ...

If you want quality, then put the original video on your homepage, or use a dedicated file storage service (RS, MU and so on).
wow dude your definitely correct as far as youtube butchering the quality...it seems whatever they use to encode the clip with themselves is garbage. Does anyone know the specs of clip footage that would get the least butchered on youtube...something that wouldnt really need to be re-encoded using their processors?
WILLIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2010, 08:26   #13  |  Link
PhrostByte
Grand Fruitioner
 
PhrostByte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by WILLIS View Post
wow dude your definitely correct as far as youtube butchering the quality...it seems whatever they use to encode the clip with themselves is garbage. Does anyone know the specs of clip footage that would get the least butchered on youtube...something that wouldnt really need to be re-encoded using their processors?
They re-encode all videos, no way to get around it. Upload at the highest quality you've got time for and accept the damage.
PhrostByte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2010, 06:13   #14  |  Link
NerdWithNoLife
Registered User
 
NerdWithNoLife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhrostByte View Post
They re-encode all videos, no way to get around it. Upload at the highest quality you've got time for and accept the damage.
Agreed. But there are security reasons for the reencoding.

I find it useful to resize horizontally first, before bobbing to 60p on my dated machine.
__________________
f=33
NerdWithNoLife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2010, 02:57   #15  |  Link
chaynik
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 87
Going back to original topic, a proper way to convert 1080i to 720p would be to promote each field to its own frame, doing some interpolation to make up for lost resolution (540-->720). This will preserve the temporal difference between each field present in true interlaced video. This is what hardware scalers and TV stations do.
chaynik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2010, 17:17   #16  |  Link
Blue_MiSfit
Derek Prestegard IRL
 
Blue_MiSfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by chaynik View Post
Going back to original topic, a proper way to convert 1080i to 720p would be to promote each field to its own frame, doing some interpolation to make up for lost resolution (540-->720). This will preserve the temporal difference between each field present in true interlaced video. This is what hardware scalers and TV stations do.
This technique is called bob deinterlacing. It's the way to do things when keeping all temporal resolution is desired.

Derek
Blue_MiSfit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2010, 05:14   #17  |  Link
chaynik
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue_MiSfit View Post
This technique is called bob deinterlacing. It's the way to do things when keeping all temporal resolution is desired.

Derek
Precisely. Btw, Derek, I never got a reply from you to my last PM, did you get it?
chaynik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2010, 06:49   #18  |  Link
woah!
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 435
why not just set your xbox to 720p output? then record straight to 720p60 ?
woah! is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.