Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 AVC / H.264

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 18th July 2013, 05:40   #1  |  Link
rhbc73
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 14
mp4 played incorrectly in Quicktime

Hi friends,

I'm developing a video converting tool and met a small problem in X264 encoded mp4 file.

I converted a 3gp file into a mp4 one, and while the converted mp4 file can be played correctly in ffplay and VLC player, it shows some dark image while played in Quicktime Windows version (V7.7.4)



And if I convert that mp4 file into .mov using X264 as video encoder, then Quicktime can play it correctly.

I've attached the source 3gp and converted mp4 file, hope someone can find out the cause of the problem.

Great thanks
Attached Files
File Type: zip 3gp_test.zip (63.3 KB, 11 views)
rhbc73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2013, 10:39   #2  |  Link
SamNeal2001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 13
I'm not the x264 expert around here, but I think I read somewhere QuickTime can't display qp lower than 4.

You have to force --qpmin 4 in your commandline.
SamNeal2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2013, 05:18   #3  |  Link
benwaggoner
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 4,318
I've found that High Profile encodes of even moderate complexity can be quite unreliable in QuickTime, particularly in QuickTime for Windows which is all old crufty software decoders. Recent Mac OS X and hardware has HW decode and is somewhat better.
__________________
Ben Waggoner
Principal Video Specialist, Amazon Prime Video

My Compression Book
benwaggoner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2013, 09:05   #4  |  Link
kabelbrand
Compression mode: Lousy
 
kabelbrand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 72
This was also my experience - when encoding for QT 7 compatibility I disabled 8x8 DCT which is used in High Profile.

The qpmin workaround suggested by SamNeal2001 might be a better solution than disabling 8x8 DCT but I haven't tried.

Some earlier QT versions where reported to have problems with B-Frames>1 and B-Pyramid but this should be ok now.

Here's some more info: QuickTime_Player_7.7_compatibility
kabelbrand is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.