Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 5th August 2011, 23:02   #461  |  Link
Wildfire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 156
Yeah, I received your e-mail about it last Thursday. Thanks for implementing the "intro but no menu"-option, I really appreciate it as I never use a menu
Wildfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2011, 13:59   #462  |  Link
unrox
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 144
Copy TV series w more than one segment

I tried to make a copy of Breaking Bad. The only thing that was copied was the interviews. Is there a setting for copying disk with serperate movies, this was 4 segements.T.I.A.
unrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2011, 23:53   #463  |  Link
twazerty
AVCHDCoder developer
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Oss, Netherlands
Posts: 266
Currently I am investigating the possibility to bring AVCHDCoder to linux (and later on to Mac OS X). Because I can't use Avisynth and because there is no eac3to for linux I need to figure out how the job can be done. Eac3to runs via wine OK. It looks like I can bring most features to a linux version but the following is not possible:
High Quality subtitles (because avisynth is used). If somebody knows how let me know.

Before I am going to update AVCHDCoder so it is compatible with linux I need to know if it will be used. First I focus on Ubuntu but other distro's should also work. So I opened a poll on my website: http://tools.twanwintjes.nl/

If there are enough people interested I will start with the development.
twazerty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2011, 18:52   #464  |  Link
rendez2k
Registered User
 
rendez2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 625
Quick question - its a while since I've used AVCHDCoder and the last time I used it (and one reason why I stopped) is that it always encoded the video, even if it was AVCHD complaint. Is that still the case with the latest version?
rendez2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2011, 09:15   #465  |  Link
Wildfire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 156
I wanted to convert a MKV to AVCHDCoder, however when I've selected the MKV a window pops ups saying that TSMuxer has crashed. As this is even before you actually start doing encoding, there's no log to tell what's the cause...

(FYI: I've already encoded many MKV's and Blu-rays to AVCHD so the program usually works just fine)

I'm using the latest version of AVCHDCoder, v11.08.03.
Wildfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2011, 08:46   #466  |  Link
Wildfire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 156
I'm going to contact the author by e-mail too, as he apparently does not frequent the forum often.

Lately, I have noticed some AVCHD ISO's do not show subtitles according to MediaInfo. They are, however, present.

I cannot find where, but I read somewhere that apparently when MediaInfo does not show subtitles, there are some stand-alone players which also do not show subtitles.

I'm wondering if this is purely an AVCHDCoder issue, or if the problem lays somewhere else.
Wildfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2011, 01:55   #467  |  Link
setarip_old
Registered User
 
setarip_old's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 16,274
@Wildfire

Hi!
Quote:
when I've selected the MKV a window pops ups saying that TSMuxer has crashed.
1) What are the audio, video and (if any) subpic stream formats of the .MKV file that you created?

2) Does the .MKV play properly on your system?
setarip_old is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2011, 09:57   #468  |  Link
Wildfire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by setarip_old View Post
@Wildfire

Hi!
1) What are the audio, video and (if any) subpic stream formats of the .MKV file that you created?

2) Does the .MKV play properly on your system?
As it's been a month since I posted the question, I've already deleted the MKV. Don't even know anymore which movie it was... I only know that I watched it without problems.
Wildfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2011, 09:22   #469  |  Link
Wildfire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by setarip_old View Post
@Wildfire

Hi!
1) What are the audio, video and (if any) subpic stream formats of the .MKV file that you created?

2) Does the .MKV play properly on your system?
You mean the MKV which was the source for my AVCHD encode?

Well, I now have two MKV's which I have converted with AVCHDCoder (v11.12.17) and both resulting AVCHD discs do not have subtitles according to MediaInfo v0.7.52. However, when I play them using PowerDVD or on my PS3, subtitles work just fine. And according to MediaInfo, the MKV themselves do have subtitles.

And yes, the files themselves also play just fine.

MediaInfo from one of the MKV files:

Quote:
General
Unique ID : 188806842818115690746004399590825398274 (0x8E0AE00EFFAC26AAA97E2F4E87F61002)
Complete name : movie.mkv
Format : Matroska
Format version : Version 2
File size : 8.13 GiB
Duration : 1h 46mn
Overall bit rate : 10.9 Mbps
Movie name : movie
Encoded date : UTC 2011-12-19 06:47:29
Writing application : mkvmerge v3.3.0 ('Language') built on Mar 24 2010 14:59:24
Writing library : libebml v0.8.0 + libmatroska v0.9.0

Video
ID : 1
Format : AVC
Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile : High@L4.1
Format settings, CABAC : Yes
Format settings, ReFrames : 4 frames
Codec ID : V_MPEG4/ISO/AVC
Duration : 1h 46mn
Bit rate : 8 784 Kbps
Width : 1 920 pixels
Height : 1 080 pixels
Display aspect ratio : 16:9
Frame rate : 23.976 fps
Color space : YUV
Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0
Bit depth : 8 bits
Scan type : Progressive
Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.177
Stream size : 6.37 GiB (78%)
Title : movie
Writing library : x264 core 120 r2120 0c7dab9
Encoding settings : cabac=1 / ref=4 / deblock=1:0:0 / analyse=0x3:0x113 / me=umh / subme=8 / psy=1 / psy_rd=1.00:0.00 / mixed_ref=1 / me_range=16 / chroma_me=1 / trellis=1 / 8x8dct=1 / cqm=0 / deadzone=21,11 / fast_pskip=1 / chroma_qp_offset=-2 / threads=12 / sliced_threads=0 / nr=0 / decimate=1 / interlaced=0 / bluray_compat=0 / constrained_intra=0 / bframes=3 / b_pyramid=2 / b_adapt=2 / b_bias=0 / direct=3 / weightb=1 / open_gop=0 / weightp=2 / keyint=240 / keyint_min=24 / scenecut=40 / intra_refresh=0 / rc_lookahead=50 / rc=2pass / mbtree=1 / bitrate=8784 / ratetol=1.0 / qcomp=0.60 / qpmin=0 / qpmax=69 / qpstep=4 / cplxblur=20.0 / qblur=0.5 / ip_ratio=1.40 / aq=1:1.00
Language : English
Default : No
Forced : No

Audio #1
ID : 2
Format : DTS
Format/Info : Digital Theater Systems
Codec ID : A_DTS
Duration : 1h 46mn
Bit rate mode : Constant
Bit rate : 1 510 Kbps
Channel(s) : 6 channels
Channel positions : Front: L C R, Side: L R, LFE
Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
Bit depth : 24 bits
Compression mode : Lossy
Delay relative to video : 11ms
Stream size : 1.12 GiB (14%)
Title : DTS
Language : English
Default : Yes
Forced : No

Audio #2
ID : 3
Format : AC-3
Format/Info : Audio Coding 3
Mode extension : CM (complete main)
Codec ID : A_AC3
Duration : 1h 46mn
Bit rate mode : Constant
Bit rate : 640 Kbps
Channel(s) : 6 channels
Channel positions : Front: L C R, Side: L R, LFE
Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
Bit depth : 16 bits
Compression mode : Lossy
Stream size : 487 MiB (6%)
Title : AC3
Language : English
Default : No
Forced : No

Text #1
ID : 4
Format : UTF-8
Codec ID : S_TEXT/UTF8
Codec ID/Info : UTF-8 Plain Text
Title : SUBTITLES
Language : Dutch
Default : Yes
Forced : No

Text #2
ID : 5
Format : UTF-8
Codec ID : S_TEXT/UTF8
Codec ID/Info : UTF-8 Plain Text
Title : SUBTITLES
Language : English
Default : No
Forced : No

Menu
00:00:00.000 : en:00:00:00.000
00:04:33.356 : en:00:04:33.356
00:07:26.780 : en:00:07:26.780
00:11:08.960 : en:00:11:08.960
00:14:20.818 : en:00:14:20.818
00:16:01.043 : en:00:16:01.043
00:17:44.814 : en:00:17:44.814
00:20:15.464 : en:00:20:15.464
00:22:23.634 : en:00:22:23.634
00:24:11.909 : en:00:24:11.909
00:26:55.781 : en:00:26:55.781
00:30:31.997 : en:00:30:31.997
00:34:17.097 : en:00:34:17.097
00:36:35.026 : en:00:36:35.026
00:38:40.735 : en:00:38:40.735
00:41:28.236 : en:00:41:28.236
00:42:51.068 : en:00:42:51.068
00:46:55.146 : en:00:46:55.146
00:49:49.403 : en:00:49:49.403
00:52:00.951 : en:00:52:00.951
00:53:57.609 : en:00:53:57.609
00:57:30.364 : en:00:57:30.364
01:00:54.234 : en:01:00:54.234
01:03:22.716 : en:01:03:22.716
01:07:42.392 : en:01:07:42.392
01:10:21.259 : en:01:10:21.259
01:12:34.225 : en:01:12:34.225
01:15:35.322 : en:01:15:35.322
01:18:10.227 : en:01:18:10.227
01:22:34.032 : en:01:22:34.032
01:25:23.410 : en:01:25:23.410
01:31:28.358 : en:01:31:28.358
01:34:35.295 : en:01:34:35.295
01:36:10.556 : en:01:36:10.556
01:41:28.332 : en:01:41:28.332

Last edited by Wildfire; 21st December 2011 at 09:24.
Wildfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2011, 09:23   #470  |  Link
Wildfire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 156
(whoops... was supposed to be an edit to my previous post, sorry)
Wildfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2011, 07:46   #471  |  Link
energy30
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1
i have mkv and mp4 files with HE-AAC audio, AVCHDCoder wont recognise HE-AAC only LC-AAC any ideas ?
energy30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2012, 18:11   #472  |  Link
Chudz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 24
I have a problem with ACHDCoder latest version. It encodes fine but when I add subtitle files it gets to 100% on the Converting Subtitles step and doesn't go any further. There are no error message or anything what could I do to fix this?
Chudz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2012, 03:28   #473  |  Link
djmasturbeat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 89
@twan-
i see you commented in the avs2bdnxml, so i am curious if this tool is implemented in AVCHDCoder.
I don't see it listed in the tools that it uses, but avs2bdnxml is ideal to include as it is the only free subtitle tool to output subs in BD spec (it doesn't overflow the 4 MB buffer). I see other tools in your list including a commonly-used subtitle tool that does overflow the buffer (which will create flickering) because they make separate epochs for continuous-time/overlapping subs, and the epochs are too close together.
since we are already required avisynth, I hope it shouldn't be a problem other than not being able to use it in x64 rebuilds since I don't think there is a 64 bit compile of avs2bdnxml. [maybe for x64 bit builds there could still be the option to use avs2bdnxml by having that done in x86 in its own thread?... or whatever. I am by no means a programmer.]
I personally would use your tool but forfeit using x64 altogether if it was the only way to include avs2bdnxml.

so anyway, it gives me hope to start seeing a viable GUI solution for avs2bdnxml if you choose to include it.
or can you tell me how to use avs2bdnxml if it is already implemented?

thanks
djmasturbeat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2012, 10:42   #474  |  Link
borst_one
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
Hey,
I'm trying to transcode holiday videos for a friend. Whilst I was very happy to find your tool which offered all the option I was looking for (reencoding as AVCHD compliant dvd-9), I only get it done to transcode with the 32bit version of x264. That leads to a cpu usage of just 30% on my AMD PhenomII sixcore. A forum user recommended I should try RipBot. That tool works fine with the 64bit version of x264 and due to that, I'm able to encode the video media with roundabout 32 fps in contrast to ~10 fps with AVCHDCoder.

Since your tool offers me the option to activate 64bit encoding in the settings, I wonder why x264.exe is just launched as 32bit version when the encoding starts. I even tried to overwrite the 32bit version with the 64bit version. That solution led to an general error message. The decoder tester which you added to the tool says everything works fine...

A user in another forum wrote the following:
Quote:
Because the author(s) didn't include the 64bit pipe . If the author(s) use avisynth in the back end, you need some other programs to pipe it to 64bit x264 .
So here I am, first of all wondering what the 64bit encoding option in the settings is for and secondly to ask nicely if anyone could provide me with a little help.

Oh and I would like to know if it is possible to encode files just with 1 pass and not a two pass method!
Cheers,
borst_one
borst_one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2012, 07:57   #475  |  Link
mingus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by setarip_old View Post
@Wildfire

Hi!
1) What are the audio, video and (if any) subpic stream formats of the .MKV file that you created?

2) Does the .MKV play properly on your system?
Same thing.

They play fine, but I get the TSMuxer has crashed on some files.
mingus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2012, 09:32   #476  |  Link
Wildfire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by mingus View Post
Same thing.

They play fine, but I get the TSMuxer has crashed on some files.
Which reminds me that I never got an answer from anyone, unfortunately enough. If you're reading this, Twazerty, any idea what the issue is?

The TSMuxer thing is actually not quite that important to me, as it only happened once. More important is the subtitles-issue: even though subtitles are present, quite a lot of encodes play without subtitles on several mediaplayers. Playing them on my PC, however, clearly shows subtitles are present.

Problem can easily be verified by using MediaInfo: every AVCHD which suffers from this problem shows up in MediaInfo as having no subtitles.
Wildfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd March 2012, 07:45   #477  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,848
Quote:
Integration of AVCHDCalculator to calculate the bitrate very accurate. So you are sure the discs are not oversized or to much undersized. (Unique calculator, first in the world)
if it's not a state secret for you: What formula do you use to calculate the AudioOverhead of trueHD audio streams?
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2012, 02:52   #478  |  Link
J-Man
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7
Can't get past step 1

I just downloaded AVCHDCoder and can't get past the first step. I'm attempting to open a Blu-Ray, so I've clicked on the "BDMV Mode" button on the input tab. Then I selected the BDMV folder from my disk, and it recognized the stream and put that information into the "Playlist to convert" field. But (1) There's nothing in the field above it (where I believe the location of the folder should be shown), and (2) when I click on "SET", nothing happens. I can't get to the next step, which should be "Select Streams."
J-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2012, 09:08   #479  |  Link
Wildfire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 156
I'm using AVCHDCoder v11.12.27 and I just came across a problem: when converting a movie x264.exe crashed, apparently just when starting the 2nd pass encode. The error message is displayed below (in Dutch, as it's a Dutch OS and the author himself is Dutch so it's not a problem):

Quote:
Probleemhandtekening:
Gebeurtenisnaam van probleem: APPCRASH
Naam van de toepassing: x264.exe
Versie van toepassing: 0.0.0.0
Tijdstempel van toepassing: 4ee1abfc
Naam van foutmodule: splitter.x64.ax
Versie van foutmodule: 1.9.63.13
Tijdstempel van foutmodule: 49857a1b
Uitzonderingscode: c0000005
Uitzonderingsmarge: 00000000000243d6
Versie van besturingssysteem: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.274.10
Landinstelling-id: 1043
Aanvullende informatie 1: ccf0
Aanvullende informatie 2: ccf0ca16279005ca03f853d4c24b25d2
Aanvullende informatie 3: 707a
Aanvullende informatie 4: 707a915b98aaca9aea7dc5fa6439518d
Any idea what went wrong? (you could PM me for more info)

-- Edit: I've updated the 32- and 64-bit x264 EXE's via www.x264.nl; let's see if that will work. Of course I have kept the original EXE's in backup

Last edited by Wildfire; 17th April 2012 at 09:21.
Wildfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2012, 08:17   #480  |  Link
Wildfire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 156
Just to let you know, with the new x264 EXE's the encode went just fine.
Wildfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
avchd, mkv

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.