Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > New and alternative a/v containers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 17th November 2014, 16:21   #1341  |  Link
Zenitram
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: France, Paris
Posts: 672
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
Well... I'm happy to confirm that MediaInfo works fine with Windows 10 (64-bit) Technical Preview
MediaInfo is very versatile
__________________
Want to know all about your media files? http://mediaarea.net/MediaInfo
Zenitram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2014, 22:56   #1342  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life looks better in UHD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 11,498
DTS with 96/24 extension

Hi Zenitram,

I can't remember if anyone has brought this up before but currently when MediaInfo reads a media file that contains DTS audio that's been encoded with a 96/24 extension flag it's presented, like this: -

Code:
Audio
ID                                       : 4352 (0x1100)
Menu ID                                  : 1 (0x1)
Format                                   : DTS
Format/Info                              : Digital Theater Systems
Format profile                           : 96/24 / Core
Mode                                     : 16
Format settings, Endianness              : Big
Codec ID                                 : 130
Duration                                 : 59s 861ms
Bit rate mode                            : Constant
Bit rate                                 : 1 509 Kbps
Channel(s)                               : 6 channels
Channel positions                        : Front: L C R, Side: L R, LFE
Sampling rate                            : 96.0 KHz / 48.0 KHz
Bit depth                                : 24 bits
Compression mode                         : Lossy
Stream size                              : 10.8 MiB (47%)
Language                                 : English
Which kinda makes sense...

However, when MediaInfo reads a media file that contains DTS-HD MA audio along with a DTS core that also includes a 96/24 extension flag (as found on some Blu-ray HFPA disc's) it's presented very much the same as above, like this: -

Code:
Audio
ID                                       : 4352 (0x1100)
Menu ID                                  : 1 (0x1)
Format                                   : DTS
Format/Info                              : Digital Theater Systems
Format profile                           : 96/24 / Core
Mode                                     : 16
Format settings, Endianness              : Big
Muxing mode                              : Stream extension
Codec ID                                 : 134
Duration                                 : 59s 851ms
Bit rate mode                            : Constant
Bit rate                                 : 1 509 Kbps
Channel(s)                               : 6 channels
Channel positions                        : Front: L C R, Side: L R, LFE
Sampling rate                            : 96.0 KHz / 48.0 KHz
Bit depth                                : 24 bits
Compression mode                         : Lossy
Stream size                              : 10.8 MiB (14%)
Language                                 : English
As you can see, the above report makes no mention of the DTS-HD MA audio stream!

Admittedly, there are very few Blu-ray HFPA disc's which contain DTS-HD MA audio along with a DTS 96/24 core in circulation (I only have three). But I thought you'd like to know

Here's a link to a 60 second sample: https://www.sendspace.com/file/kav88b


Cheers
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |

Last edited by SeeMoreDigital; 19th November 2014 at 22:59.
SeeMoreDigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2014, 23:39   #1343  |  Link
Zenitram
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: France, Paris
Posts: 672
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
As you can see, the above report makes no mention of the DTS-HD MA audio stream!

Admittedly, there are very few Blu-ray HFPA disc's which contain DTS-HD MA audio along with a DTS 96/24 core in circulation (I only have three). But I thought you'd like to know
Thanks for the report.
There is definitely a problem with the way I detect DTS extensions (I keep only one).

I see both "lossless" extension "MA" and "96/24" extensions in your file.

On my ToDo-list!
__________________
Want to know all about your media files? http://mediaarea.net/MediaInfo
Zenitram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2014, 10:39   #1344  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life looks better in UHD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 11,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zenitram View Post
Thanks for the report.
There is definitely a problem with the way I detect DTS extensions (I keep only one).

I see both "lossless" extension "MA" and "96/24" extensions in your file.

On my ToDo-list!
Thanks for the confirmation...
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2015, 00:18   #1345  |  Link
manolito
Registered User
 
manolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 2,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by manolito View Post
Could it be that MediaInfo_InfoTip.dll is also affected? Because the Info Tips do not work any more with this version...

Thanks for the new versin 0.7.72

I can confirm that this version now works again with a non-SSE2 CPU. The only thing I can't get working is the info tips (WinXP).


Cheers
manolito
manolito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2015, 11:28   #1346  |  Link
EncodedMango
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 65
With the newest MediaInfo, using the HTML display mode makes the stats appear twice, doesn't happen with the previous version.

EncodedMango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2015, 11:35   #1347  |  Link
Zenitram
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: France, Paris
Posts: 672
Quote:
Originally Posted by sidspyker View Post
With the newest MediaInfo, using the HTML display mode makes the stats appear twice, doesn't happen with the previous version.
Doomed version.
FYI, there is also a bug with XML output.
I'll release a new version soon.
__________________
Want to know all about your media files? http://mediaarea.net/MediaInfo
Zenitram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2015, 11:48   #1348  |  Link
EncodedMango
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 65
I see, thanks!
EncodedMango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2015, 20:54   #1349  |  Link
hello_hello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4,041
I'm not sure whether here is the ideal place to ask for MediaInfoXP help, but I did check on LoRd_MuldeR's website, clicked on the MediaInfoXP help and support button, and here I am......

Are there any known issues with MediaInfoXP running on XP? I don't seem to be able to convince it to. Double clicking on MediaInfoXP.exe seems to do nothing. The GUI doesn't open. Am I missing something obvious? I've only tried the version found in the zip file "MediaInfoXP-GUI.2014-11-16.Win32". I think it's 2.13.

Thanks.
hello_hello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2015, 00:45   #1350  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
stax76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: 36 Chambers
Posts: 5,918
Hello Zenitram,

thanks for MediaInfo, my app calls it all over the place, countless times.

I'd like to report two issues:

Using a m2ts file Codec/String shows 'TrueHD / AC3' but when demuxed to a thd+ac3 file with eac3to Codec/String shows only AC3.

Code:
thd+ac3

Codec       : TrueHD / AC3
Codec/String: AC3

m2ts

Codec       : TrueHD / AC3
Codec/String: TrueHD / AC3
Please tell me if you need the file.

Another issue is MediaInfo shows everything correct in a mkv file but after demuxing with mkvextract MediaInfo fails on the dts file.

The sample is here, it includes both mkv and demuxed dts.
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2015, 20:03   #1351  |  Link
Brazil2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 479
Quote:
Originally Posted by hello_hello View Post
Are there any known issues with MediaInfoXP running on XP? I don't seem to be able to convince it to. Double clicking on MediaInfoXP.exe seems to do nothing. The GUI doesn't open. Am I missing something obvious? I've only tried the version found in the zip file "MediaInfoXP-GUI.2014-11-16.Win32". I think it's 2.13.
Latest version 2.14 MediaInfoXP-GUI.2015-01-25.Win32.zip is running fine on XP.

Although the file version of MediaInfo is 0.7.71 whilst the --version parameter returns 0.7.72, so I'm not sure about which version is really used.

Last edited by Brazil2; 4th February 2015 at 15:54.
Brazil2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2015, 16:27   #1352  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
stax76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: 36 Chambers
Posts: 5,918
Hi,

I wrote something about StaxRip's MediaInfo GUI, how it might be integrated into the windows explorer shell, the StaxRip executable might be used alone without all included apps or a new app might be created, it would be easy it separate if there is interest, conversion to C# would also be trivial as there are amazing conversion tools.

http://forum.doom9.org/showpost.php?...postcount=4729
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2015, 09:59   #1353  |  Link
wanezhiling
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,169
Hi Zenitram, PotPlayer(download) is unable to get media infomation when using 'native dxva + vanilla evr' combination with MediaInfo 0.7.71 and later version.
Press 'Ctrl+F1' during playback: http://i2.tietuku.com/7be5c998ac3e8b8c.png
Well, it works fine with MediaInfo 0.7.70: http://i2.tietuku.com/e5c828ecf223bda0.png, so PotPlayer dev sticks to an old DLL file.

According to PotPlayer dev, the bug is in MediaInfo side, would you take some time to have a look? Thanks.
wanezhiling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2015, 13:30   #1354  |  Link
Kurtnoise
Swallowed in the Sea
 
Kurtnoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Aix-en-Provence, France
Posts: 5,183
Zen doesn't care about your player...he would like to have a sample in order to fix this.
Kurtnoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2015, 13:49   #1355  |  Link
Zenitram
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: France, Paris
Posts: 672
A bit harsh ;-).
I have some pending bugs about the XML output, maybe they use this output, so buggy. But it is in 0.7.72 only, not 0.7.71.
Anyway, something weird is "when using (...)", MediaInfo is not aware of this player configuration, so I don't see the relationship between the player config and MediaInfo.
I would appreciate some more details than "bug is in MediaInfo side", e.g. which MediaInfo output API is used and which buggy output is provided to the player.
__________________
Want to know all about your media files? http://mediaarea.net/MediaInfo
Zenitram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2015, 14:47   #1356  |  Link
wanezhiling
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,169
No need sample, it happens with all media files.

Hmmm.. PotPlayer dev didn't tell more details, he just replied," Bug is in MediaInfo.dll, I can't do anything..."

wanezhiling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2015, 14:51   #1357  |  Link
Zenitram
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: France, Paris
Posts: 672
Quote:
Originally Posted by wanezhiling View Post
Hmmm.. PotPlayer dev didn't tell more details, he just replied," Bug is in MediaInfo.dll, I can't do anything..."
He can (saying what is the issue with MediaInfo).
__________________
Want to know all about your media files? http://mediaarea.net/MediaInfo
Zenitram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2015, 16:14   #1358  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,071
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zenitram View Post
I have some pending bugs about the XML output, maybe they use this output, so buggy. But it is in 0.7.72 only, not 0.7.71.
BTW: Is there any ETA for 0.7.73 yet?
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 17th February 2015 at 16:18.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2015, 16:23   #1359  |  Link
Zenitram
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: France, Paris
Posts: 672
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
BTW: Is there any ETA for 0.7.73 yet?
ETA is February 1st, 2015. Yes, in the past!
More seriously, even my professional users are currently complaining about delays, and I have a business trip to the US next week and 2 big projects to finish before mid-March, so don't expect a release soon.
BTW, if you are interested in being paid for fixing MediaInfo bugs, ping me.
__________________
Want to know all about your media files? http://mediaarea.net/MediaInfo
Zenitram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2015, 16:41   #1360  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,071
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zenitram View Post
ETA is February 1st, 2015. Yes, in the past!
More seriously, even my professional users are currently complaining about delays, and I have a business trip to the US next week and 2 big projects to finish before mid-March, so don't expect a release soon.
Okay, I see. No problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zenitram View Post
BTW, if you are interested in being paid for fixing MediaInfo bugs, ping me.
Sorry, my time is fully engaged already.
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.