Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 AVC / H.264

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 22nd July 2009, 16:27   #1  |  Link
TheImperial2004
C# Addict
 
TheImperial2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Saudi Arabia
Posts: 114
x264 encoding SD content at 1.88 Frames per second ?!

Hi , I am sorry that my first post is a question

I am using AviDemux with the latest libx264 (1184) and I am having a real nightmare encoding anime at 480p without any filters !

To clarify things , the encoding process starts with around 48 frames per second , then it keep dropping until it reaches 1.80 - 2 frames per second !

Am using Intel Dual core 2.55GHz machine with 4GB ram .

My settings are not overkill either :

3 B-frames

Use as refrences : Yes

Weighted B-frames prediction : Yes ( I tried to turn it off ,but it doesn't help that much )

3 Ref-frames

Using Hex with subme of 7

CRF of 20

Only 8x8DCT is checked , all other partitions are unchecked ...

Threads are set to Auto , but whatever I set it manually it doesn't help ...

Only AviDemux is running , no other tasks , using Windows Vista SP1

If you need more info about my settings tell me .

Any help would be appreciated and Sorry for the long post !

Last edited by TheImperial2004; 22nd July 2009 at 16:34. Reason: Adding some info :)
TheImperial2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2009, 17:00   #2  |  Link
Cyber-Mav
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 244
sounds right to me, i use SD insane profile with 9 ref frames, 3 b-frames and level 3.2, rdo 9 and all other cpu sucking options enabled. and i get around 7fps with a 3.4ghz core2quad q9550 with 8gig ddr3 ram
Cyber-Mav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2009, 19:00   #3  |  Link
Dark Shikari
x264 developer
 
Dark Shikari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8,688
I get about 24fps with those settings on a Core 2 duo, so I suspect something must be quite wrong
Dark Shikari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2009, 21:44   #4  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,227
What version of Avidemux are you using? What is the type of your source file? What is the CPU usage of Avidemux in Taskman/Procexp while encoding?

I get 40+ fps with your settings on my Core2 Quad Q6600 for 480p content. That is with Avidemux 2.5 r5104 and x264 r1184, running on Windows XP x64-Edition
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2009, 22:30   #5  |  Link
TheImperial2004
C# Addict
 
TheImperial2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Saudi Arabia
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyber-Mav View Post
sounds right to me, i use SD insane profile with 9 ref frames, 3 b-frames and level 3.2, rdo 9 and all other cpu sucking options enabled. and i get around 7fps with a 3.4ghz core2quad q9550 with 8gig ddr3 ram
I also tried to use a very low settings with no much of a difference !

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark Shikari View Post
I get about 24fps with those settings on a Core 2 duo, so I suspect something must be quite wrong
Well , this is what I am getting .. It starts with around 48 - 50 fps but keeps dropping until it reaches 2 fps !

Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
What version of Avidemux are you using? What is the type of your source file? What is the CPU usage of Avidemux in Taskman/Procexp while encoding?

I get 40+ fps with your settings on my Core2 Quad Q6600 for 480p content. That is with Avidemux 2.5 r5104 and x264 r1184, running on Windows XP x64-Edition
I always update AviDemux + libx264 whenever I find new SVN builds , Now I am using AviDemux Revsin 5104 + Libx264 1184 just like you except I am using x86 vista

But I suspect that could be the case , cuz I believe both the libx264 and AviDemux are 32bit ... My sources are Anime episodes that are not too complex (Not CG or Real Life material) ... Also , what I can see that both cores are used uptil 40% - 50% only ! Meaning , it doesn't utilize the whole CPU power ....

Last edited by TheImperial2004; 22nd July 2009 at 22:35.
TheImperial2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2009, 22:41   #6  |  Link
Dark Shikari
x264 developer
 
Dark Shikari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8,688
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheImperial2004 View Post
But I suspect that could be the case , cuz I believe both the libx264 and AviDemux are 32bit ... My sources are Anime episodes that are not too complex (Not CG or Real Life material) ... Also , what I can see that both cores are used uptil 40% - 50% only ! Meaning , it doesn't utilize the whole CPU power ....
Meaning you're bottlenecked, somewhere, by an extraordinarily slow input. x264 is not the problem.
Dark Shikari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2009, 22:46   #7  |  Link
TheImperial2004
C# Addict
 
TheImperial2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Saudi Arabia
Posts: 114
Quote:
Meaning you're bottlenecked, somewhere, by an extraordinarily slow input. x264 is not the problem.
Aha ! Can you explain that ? Is it an AviDemux issue ? I don't think that my hardware is the problem , isn't it ? Can the CLI x264 be any better ?

Thank you in advance !
TheImperial2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2009, 23:42   #8  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,227
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheImperial2004 View Post
But I suspect that could be the case , cuz I believe both the libx264 and AviDemux are 32bit ...
Yes, Avidemux is 32-Bit and consequently it uses 32-Bit x264. But that's not a problem! 32-Bit applications work on 64-Bit Windows just fine!

I use 64-Bit Windows myself. And there is no problem here...

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheImperial2004 View Post
Aha ! Can you explain that ?
If a slow (single-threaded) decoder cannot deliver the data fast enough, x264 simply becomes idle and has to wait for input.

Consequently you will see the CPU usage drop below 100%.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheImperial2004 View Post
Is it an AviDemux issue ?
Not in general. But it uses the decoders from ffmpeg/libavcodec (as many applications do).

For certain formats, such as H.264, the libavcodec decoders are slower than certain proprietary ones (e.g. CoreAVC or DivX H.264 Decoder).

However I doubt that this is the problem here, because it wouldn't cause such a drastic speed drop...

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheImperial2004 View Post
I don't think that my hardware is the problem , isn't it ?
Unlikely.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheImperial2004 View Post
Can the CLI x264 be any better ?
In general Avidemux is neither better nor worse than any other front-end to the x264 library (including the CLI front-end).

Anyway, bugs can always happen. So we can't completely exclude that there may be some problems on the Avidemux side.

So could you please post your Avidemux log ???
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 22nd July 2009 at 23:54.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2009, 23:55   #9  |  Link
TheImperial2004
C# Addict
 
TheImperial2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Saudi Arabia
Posts: 114
Thanks Mulder for your clarification , So , I use expermintal ffmpeg-mt AVC decoder that comes with K-Lite Mega Codecs ... Honestly , it can't decode a 1080p CG movie probably . But , my material are MPEG2 DVD files , so that won't be the case cuz I can play it fine with a CPU usage of 30% ...

BTW , do you think that I'll gain any performance increases if I ran AviDemux on 64bit machine ? (I doubt that because it wasn't coded to take advantage of 64bit features) ...

Last edited by TheImperial2004; 22nd July 2009 at 23:59.
TheImperial2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2009, 00:09   #10  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,227
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheImperial2004 View Post
Thanks Mulder for your clarification , So , I use expermintal ffmpeg-mt AVC decoder that comes with K-Lite Mega Codecs ... Honestly , it can't decode a 1080p CG movie probably . But , my material are MPEG2 DVD files , so that won't be the case cuz I can play it fine with a CPU usage of 30% ...
What "Codec Packs" you installed to mess up your system doesn't matter for Avidemux

That's because Avidemux doesn't use DirectShow to decode the input. It uses it's own "built-in" decoders (taken from ffmpeg/libavcodec).

Anyway, if you'd ever need to use DirectShow decoders/splitters, there's always the AVS Proxy (GUI) for Avidemux.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheImperial2004 View Post
BTW , do you think that I'll gain any performance increases if I ran AviDemux on 64bit machine ? (I doubt that because it wasn't coded to take advantage of 64bit features) ...
The Avidemux core application probably wouldn't gain too much from 64-Bit, but x264 is known to run ~10% faster on 64-Bit (compared to 32-Bit).

Anyway, currently there is no 64-Bit build of Avidemux available. So even under a 64-Bit OS you can only run Avidemux as a 32-Bit application.

Still that is not a problem and doesn't explain your situation. I run 32-Bit Avidemux under 64-Bit Windows XP and I get 40+ fps with your settings.

So can you please post your Avidemux log? (I'd need to see the log copied while your were encoding)
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2009, 00:14   #11  |  Link
TheImperial2004
C# Addict
 
TheImperial2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Saudi Arabia
Posts: 114
Sorry for being a clueless noob , but can you tell where to find that log ?
TheImperial2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2009, 00:17   #12  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,227
It's located here:
C:\Documents and Settings\<Your Name>\avidemux\admlog.txt
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2009, 00:31   #13  |  Link
TheImperial2004
C# Addict
 
TheImperial2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Saudi Arabia
Posts: 114
Here it is

Look at my final encoding of a 480p (6000+ frames) clip :

It started with a blazing 50 fps and started dropping until it reaches 7 - 8 fps , with no apps running except AviDemux and its window has the focus during all the process time ...
Attached Files
File Type: txt admlog.txt (22.6 KB, 37 views)

Last edited by TheImperial2004; 23rd July 2009 at 00:33.
TheImperial2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2009, 00:43   #14  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,227
I still can't see your log (Attachments Pending Approval), but 7-8 fps sounds more realistic than the 1.88 fps you mentioned in your first post.

Anyway, it still seems a bit too slow for the settings you mention...
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 23rd July 2009 at 00:54.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2009, 00:55   #15  |  Link
TheImperial2004
C# Addict
 
TheImperial2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Saudi Arabia
Posts: 114
Yeah , Because it started with 50+ fps it reaches 7 fps

Sometimes (with CG sources) it starts with 20+ fps and drops to 2 fps ...

By the way , those encodes were tested on windows 7 RTM , but the same results as Vista
TheImperial2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2009, 00:58   #16  |  Link
nm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,643
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
I still can't see your log (Attachments Pending Approval), but 7-8 fps sounds more realistic than the 1.88 fps you mentioned in your first post.
This time he was encoding a short clip, so it could be that the fps counter just didn't reach the bottom before the encoding finished.
nm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2009, 01:05   #17  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,227
Quote:
Originally Posted by nm View Post
This time he was encoding a short clip, so it could be that the fps counter just didn't reach the bottom before the encoding finished.
Well, it's normal that the fps counter takes a moment to "stabilize".

But I did encode a whole lot of videos with Avidemux, including full length movies, and I certainly didn't see the fps counter dropping contentiously.

I'd still like to see his x264 settings in detail (which could be seen from the log) ...

[EDIT]

The settings look okay. Nothing unusual, as far as I can see.

Quote:
x264 [info]: options: cabac=1 ref=3 deblock=1:0:0 analyse=0x3:0 me=hex subme=7 psy_rd=1.00:0.15 mixed_ref=1 me_range=16 chroma_me=1 trellis=1 8x8dct=1 cqm=0 deadzone=21,11 chroma_qp_offset=-3 threads=3 nr=0 decimate=1 mbaff=0 bframes=3 b_pyramid=0 b_adapt=1 b_bias=0 direct=1 wpredb=1 keyint=250 keyint_min=25 scenecut=40 rc=crf crf=20.0 qcomp=0.60 qpmin=10 qpmax=51 qpstep=4 ip_ratio=1.40 pb_ratio=1.30 aq=1:1.00
Also the source seems to be MPEG-2 at 640x416. Decoding this shouldn't take a considerable amount of CPU time...
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.



Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 23rd July 2009 at 01:12.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2009, 01:06   #18  |  Link
TheImperial2004
C# Addict
 
TheImperial2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Saudi Arabia
Posts: 114
I noticed that from 70% and up of the encoding process it stays between 7 - 8 fps ...

Edit : You can download the log now !
TheImperial2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2009, 01:14   #19  |  Link
TheImperial2004
C# Addict
 
TheImperial2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Saudi Arabia
Posts: 114
Quote:
The settings look okay. Nothing unusual, as far as I can see.
So , it wasn't settings-related issue ... hmmm
TheImperial2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2009, 01:20   #20  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,227
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheImperial2004 View Post
So , it wasn't settings-related issue ... hmmm
This is the point where you should try the x264 CLI encoder and see what speed you get from that one. Then we'll see...
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.