Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 22nd December 2017, 22:34   #47901  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 8,032
we don't know what is more accurate at the moment. could be heavy dynamic contrast applying by the screen in HDR mode.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd December 2017, 22:49   #47902  |  Link
brazen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 331
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni View Post
No downside as long as you don't need a more recent driver for games or whatever reason. For 3D, you need the workaround I posted earlier in the thread. That's the only way to get 100% reliable 3D playback with nVidia as far as I can see. 3D also needs FSE, at least here.

You have to enable 3D manually before every playback to be sure it's on. I use a batch file launched from my iPad when I select the 3D button in iRule. It enables 3D on nVidia using MCE Controller and selects my 3D calibration on the projector. The register file added by Madshi after we had this discussion isn't enough for me, but it might work for you.
About a year ago, I noticed certain file playback turned off stereoscopic system wide for some strange bizarre unknown reason to me. HDR is particular since it never happened prior. So, I too wrote a script that launches via Kodi when starting a 3D title only via nvstlink.exe. For some reason the 3D setup in madVR isn't 100% reliable but this with that works perfectly. The registry file in madVR is only to set stereoscopic settings because NCP was having driver probs doing it at the time. I still use it.
__________________
HOW TO-Kodi 2D-3D-UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W11 Pro 24H2 GTX960-4GB RGB 4:4:4 @Matched Refresh Rates 8,10,12bit
KODI 22 MPC-HC/BE 82" Q90R Denon S720W
brazen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2017, 01:07   #47903  |  Link
AngelGraves13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
The issue is Dolby discs, I have a few Dolby Vision UHD blurays and they don't look as good as they could.

There is a second video track included in the stream, it is only 1920x1080 and black and white. It looks like extra information for shadows and highlights but nothing we have now can use it. They still look pretty good in HDR10 fallback mode though.

I have been unable to get HDR content to look as good in SDR mode as it does in HDR mode, at least on my OLED TV. It can look pretty good but putting the TV into HDR mode does improve highlights, shadows too but highlights are the biggest change.
Chroma is 1/4 size of video under 4:2:0, so it would be 1080p. The separate video stream is the Dolby Vision layer, which cannot be decoded (yet).

I hope we'll be able to decode sometime in the future for better HDR.
AngelGraves13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2017, 05:35   #47904  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,416
Well I tried my hand at down scaling uhd to 1080p today. It did not go as planned. I'm not sure what settings I need to use in order to make it work smoothly with my 6 gb 1060. I think I had chroma set to ngu aa low. I tried setting HDR to SDR conversion. I did not try messing with dithering so maybe I'll try that next. My rendering times were in the mid-40s and I was dropping frames quite a bit. The quality was quite exceptional so if I can get it stable that will be a really nice thing. My ancient 3770 is probably getting a little tired LOL.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
__________________
HTPC: Windows 11, AMD 5900X, RTX 3080, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG G2 77" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2017, 05:37   #47905  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 8,032
did you change your power settings to something else than optimal?
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2017, 05:47   #47906  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,416
No that's set fine. I'll have to mess with it some more and see what I can come up with.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
__________________
HTPC: Windows 11, AMD 5900X, RTX 3080, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG G2 77" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2017, 07:07   #47907  |  Link
x7007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 316
0.70.2-83 Nightly (December 13, 2017)
in case anyone missed that.
x7007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2017, 09:33   #47908  |  Link
x7007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 316
When I am watching 1080p MKV movies, what the best mode should my TV be ?

YCbCr 4:4:4 8 bit
YCbCr 4:4:4 10 bit
YCbCr 4:4:4 12 bit

RGB 8 bit
RGB 10 bit
RGB 12 bit

for 1080p I'm using the resolution changer in MadVR so it will change to 1920x1080p when it detect 1080p movie. in this resolution it changes from 3840x2160 8 bit RGB to 1920x1080 12 bit RGB.

Because windows automatically detect RGB 12 bit for no reason I can imagine by NVidia Default Color setting.
As for as it go for HDR mode the best is YCbCr 4:2:2 for 12 bit obvious reasons

I think I need to change it also for 1080p Movies and not only for HDR Movies and Games.

Last edited by x7007; 23rd December 2017 at 09:55.
x7007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2017, 09:50   #47909  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 8,032
full range RGB is the best if your end device support it properly. this counts for HDR too.

10 bit can be better if your Tv properly support it so jsut stick to RGB and get to 10 bit if possible.

send 12 bit doesn't give you any with the current madVR version madVR it self is limited to 10 bit output to the GPU driver.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2017, 09:57   #47910  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 4,419
I use:
SDR: RGB 8 bit
HDR: RGB 12 bit (my drivers do not offer a 10 bit option)

RGB is ideal for madVR. Technically the GPU using RGB 10 or 12 bit with madVR set to 10 bit is the highest quality mode with madVR. For the few HDR demos that are over 30 fps I used RGB 8 bit (due to the limits of HDMI 2.0) but it required tricking the drivers to get HDR on with 8 bit output.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2017, 09:57   #47911  |  Link
x7007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 316
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
full range RGB is the best if your end device support it properly. this counts for HDR too.

10 bit can be better if your Tv properly support it so jsut stick to RGB and get to 10 bit if possible.

send 12 bit doesn't give you any with the current madVR version madVR it self is limited to 10 bit output to the GPU driver.
Yes, that's what the TV or NVidia drivers decide to choose when you change resolution.

For HDR NVidia decide something wrong as I tested the last time, that's what I am trying to understand if it's the same for SDR because I'm also changing resolution and it's not 4K . it's like totally big mess. because they are 2 different things and they both doesn't work out of the box.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
I use:
SDR: RGB 8 bit
HDR: RGB 12 bit (my drivers do not offer a 10 bit option)

RGB is ideal for madVR. Technically the GPU using RGB 10 or 12 bit with madVR set to 10 bit is the highest quality mode with madVR. For the few HDR demos that are over 30 fps I used RGB 8 bit (due to the limits of HDMI 2.0) but it required tricking the drivers to get HDR on with 8 bit output.
the HDMI is set to PC INPUT all the times , so Chroma 4:4:4 is enabled when NVidia is set to AUTO (Default Color setting) for 4K or 1080p without HDR.
When I'm using my TV in 4K 3840x2160 it uses 8 bit RGB.
When I watch 1080p using 1920x1080 resolution it changes to 1080p 12 bit RGB.
When I watch HDR it is 4K 3840x2160 10 bit RGB Which the last time we checked caused issue. ( White pixels on black screen ) which was fixed when changing in NVidia specific to YCbCr 4:2:2 10 bit.

So what you saying is it's ok to use RGB for SDR so it seems ok whichever bit it wants to use , MadVR uses 10 bit anyway, so again it won't hurt in that matter so we are fine

Last edited by x7007; 23rd December 2017 at 10:03.
x7007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2017, 10:01   #47912  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 8,032
nvidia HDR is broken with current driver 390.x is suppose to fix that issue.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2017, 10:09   #47913  |  Link
x7007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 316
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
nvidia HDR is broken with current driver 390.x is suppose to fix that issue.
I can only say Hallllloiaa
x7007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2017, 10:16   #47914  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,140
"Current driver 390.x"? I don't see 390.x drivers on Nvidia's homepage. If you got them from somewhere, it might not be the official 390 release yet?
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2017, 10:51   #47915  |  Link
Wolfberry
Helenium(Easter)
 
Wolfberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Hsinchu, Taiwan
Posts: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
nvidia HDR is broken with current driver 390.x is suppose to fix that issue.
I think what huhn wants to say is "Nvidia HDR is broken with current driver, 390.x (future version) is supposed to fix that issue."
__________________
Monochrome Anomaly

Last edited by Wolfberry; 23rd December 2017 at 15:35.
Wolfberry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2017, 11:42   #47916  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,140
You're right, I misinterpreted.
madshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2017, 12:11   #47917  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 8,032
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=31Tl...=youtu.be&t=67

one day i will learn it too
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2017, 13:02   #47918  |  Link
Ver Greeneyes
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 447
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post
Well I tried my hand at down scaling uhd to 1080p today.
If you're downscaling to 50% or less you could try enabling the "scale chroma separately, if it saves performance" option in the "trade quality for performance" tab. That will make it just use the chroma data as-is and only downscale the luma channels (instead of first upscaling chroma, then downscaling everything together). The result might be slightly worse overall but I doubt it will make much difference, and it should be much faster.
Ver Greeneyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2017, 15:12   #47919  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,416
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ver Greeneyes View Post
If you're downscaling to 50% or less you could try enabling the "scale chroma separately, if it saves performance" option in the "trade quality for performance" tab. That will make it just use the chroma data as-is and only downscale the luma channels (instead of first upscaling chroma, then downscaling everything together). The result might be slightly worse overall but I doubt it will make much difference, and it should be much faster.
Thanks I'll add that to the list for when I get back to testing later today.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
__________________
HTPC: Windows 11, AMD 5900X, RTX 3080, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG G2 77" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2017, 15:30   #47920  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 896
@SamuriHL With my 1050 Ti @ 1920x1080, I use Lanczos 4-tap for 24-30 fps UHD, and Bicubic 150 for 50/60 fps.
I concur with Ver Greeneyes: enable "scale chroma separately", you'll gain much more by being able to use a higher quality luma downscaling than by upscaling then downscaling chroma.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 22H2, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters/ReClock/madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400 oc'd, GeForce 1050 Ti 536.40
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.