Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 18th January 2021, 16:31   #701  |  Link
lello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
this could be an issue with copyback check your PCI lanes.
I have absolutely no idea what it is :

These are the HDR settings:





If I select "compromise on hdr tone & gamut mapping accuracy", the rendering goes down and everything works, but I lose several things of the tone mapping
lello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2021, 17:04   #702  |  Link
quietvoid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 276
36-39ms per frame should be fine for 24p content. What are you using for dithering?
You could try cropping as well, that might help.

@huhn: UHD is supposed to be slower because tonemapping is done on more pixels than lower res.

Last edited by quietvoid; 18th January 2021 at 17:16.
quietvoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2021, 17:15   #703  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 1,321
PCI lanes -> Check the connection of your GPU with your Mainboard. A mechanical PCIe x16 slot may only have 8 or maybe even only 4 lanes electrically. It is rare, but sometimes users do strange things when building computers.

What mainboard and GPU do you have?
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2021, 17:38   #704  |  Link
lello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 15
Asrock Z77 Extreme 6
lello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2021, 18:11   #705  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 1,321
https://download.asrock.com/Manual/Z77%20Extreme6.pdf
On page 14 you can see the PCI and PCIe slots
1.) Which one do you use for your GPU?
2.) Do you have any other PCIe cards installed which can cause the x16 lanes to be split up to x8 and x8 to the GPU and the other PCIe-card? Can be a PCIe-SSD, ...
3.) What GPU do you use?
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2021, 22:06   #706  |  Link
lello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 15
1) PCIE2
2) No, I only have one Essence ST sound card installed on the PCI2 slot
3) AMD RX 580 nitro+ 4GB
lello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2021, 22:21   #707  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 1,321
Since you have an AMD GPU, open AMD Radeon driver and look for info, there is a line which tells you how the card is connected, that means how many lanes are used, it should be „3.0 x16“
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2021, 22:56   #708  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 4,202
Quote:
Originally Posted by lello View Post
If I select "compromise on hdr tone & gamut mapping accuracy", the rendering goes down and everything works, but I lose several things of the tone mapping
This seems pretty conclusive, your GPU is too slow for your HDR settings. A faster GPU is the only fix.

I would not worry about the PCIe link; if it works with those trade quality for performance options enabled the problem is not the PCIe link.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2021, 23:41   #709  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,946
there are big where PCIe issues cost unregulary performance you can see that when the first step and the last step have unusual high rendertimes.

which is kinda present here.

Quote:
@huhn: UHD is supposed to be slower because tonemapping is done on more pixels than lower res.
with tone mapping yes.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2021, 00:09   #710  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 4,202
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
there are big where PCIe issues cost unregulary performance you can see that when the first step and the last step have unusual high rendertimes.
Hmm... it would be good to check it but given how slow HDR could be on my 2080 Ti I still think it is simply that the GPU is too slow.

That motherboard and slot should be fine for 16x PCIe 3.0.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2021, 07:50   #711  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,946
i'm not even question that it is much more likely that the GPU is just not fast enough.

the reason i would look into it is that blur dif is the first step and blur dif usually takes 0.3 -1.50 ms on this screen it's 4.85 ms.

on the other hand i don't even know how he got it to be the first step.

edit: and the 580 is a pretty fast card when NGU isn't used which is the case here.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2021, 09:25   #712  |  Link
lello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaus1189 View Post
Since you have an AMD GPU, open AMD Radeon driver and look for info, there is a line which tells you how the card is connected, that means how many lanes are used, it should be 3.0 x16
I checked and that's it
lello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2021, 18:23   #713  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 1,321
Then, you won't have a PCIe bottleneck. I assume anything else. Sorry, but I can't diagnose anymore. Do some more tests.
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2021, 22:15   #714  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 4,202
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaus1189 View Post
Sorry, but I can't diagnose anymore. Do some more tests.
Does the GPU simply being too slow seem unlikely?
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2021, 22:27   #715  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,946
the old old screens showed something like 40 ms so a little bit to much and spikes in the 71 ms.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2021, 10:40   #716  |  Link
lello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 15
I have a doubt.

Since black band detection is done by the CPU and not the GPU, could it be that my current Core i5 3300 is insufficient? So is it better to change the processor instead of the video card?
Could an i5 10400F fit?

I also tried to see the percentages of CPU utilization with DXVA2 copy back active, and I saw that with an HD movie the usage was 20% while with a BD UHD it went up to 70/80%.

Thanks for your help
lello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2021, 11:08   #717  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 4,202
Quote:
Originally Posted by lello View Post
Since black band detection is done by the CPU and not the GPU, could it be that my current Core i5 3300 is insufficient?
I do not think so. Black bar detection is very easy for the CPU.

Have you tried with it disabled?
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2021, 14:50   #718  |  Link
lello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 15
Certainly, these are the CPU usage data:

d3d11 native & black bar detection: CPU 20% rendering 38
Copy Back automatic & black bar detection: CPU 70% rendering 68
Copy Back automatic NO black bar detecion: CPU 38% rendering 68
lello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2021, 18:06   #719  |  Link
manni500
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Abuime, Galicia
Posts: 13
4K/UHD Monitor (27")

Asmodian,

I have been using your config suggestions for some time and to very good effect; many thanks.

Meanwhile I have an issue where I wonder if it is related to madVR or to the videos shown.

Whenever I run a lower-resoultion video on this screen at its native resolution (3840x2160) it comes to judder, with or without smooth motion enabled.

However, the judder goes away when I reduce the resolution to 1920x1080.

Is there anything to be done ad madshi level ?

Thanks in advance
manni500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2021, 20:04   #720  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 4,202
It is very likely that your GPU is not fast enough to run my settings at full resolution.

What GPU are you using?

What do you mean by lower resolution, anything less than 1080p?
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.