Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12th October 2020, 13:31   #681  |  Link
lello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 15
A very interesting feature for those who, like me, have a 21: 9 aspect ratio screen, is the automatic detection of black bars. Unfortunately the black bands are not detected when using DXVA2 or D3D11 native decoding.
But using DXVA2 for decoding (copy back), my RX580 can't cope with BD UHD 4k: is there a way to detect black bands even with native DXVA and D3D11 decoding?
lello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2020, 15:21   #682  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 866
Quote:
Originally Posted by lello View Post
is there a way to detect black bands even with native DXVA and D3D11 decoding?
Not yet. Also BD Menu in jRiver (if you use that) is only available with copyback, not with native.
__________________
Win10 Pro x64 b20H2
Ryzen 5950X@4.5Ghz 32Gb@3600 Zotac 3090 Trinity 24Gb RGB Full 8bits 460.89
madVR/jRiver/MyMovies/CMC
Denon X8500H>madVR Envy Extreme>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2020, 15:24   #683  |  Link
lello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 15
In fact, that's why I don't use menus. And is there any possibility of a solution soon?
lello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2020, 16:08   #684  |  Link
chros
Registered User
 
chros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 2,106
Probably not.
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600,Asus Prime b450-Plus,16GB,MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X 6GB(v398.18),Win10 LTSC 1809,MPC-BEx64+LAV+MadVR,Yamaha RX-A870,LG OLED65B8(2160p@23/24/25/29/30/50/59/60Hz) | madvr config
chros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2020, 23:22   #685  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 4,202
Quote:
Originally Posted by lello View Post
In fact, that's why I don't use menus. And is there any possibility of a solution soon?
The native solutions do not copy the decoded video data to CPU memory so the CPU cannot be used to detect and discard black bars.

I don't know the specific technical reasons but it is harder to do the black bar detection on the GPU, some algorithms only run on the CPU and black bar detection is one of them. I consider it very unlikely that madshi will create a black bar detect and discard that runs on the GPU anytime soon but I do remember long ago mentions of wanting to implement madVR fully on the GPU so it is not out of the question if it is technically feasible.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th October 2020, 09:48   #686  |  Link
angmav
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 13
I have an unusual question to ask and sorry if this is being asked in the wrong section is it possible to change lav filter settings from copy back to native depending on the video playback in particular I was hoping to use copy back for 23hz playback and native playback for 60hz/50hz


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
angmav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2020, 18:53   #687  |  Link
lello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 15
I wanted to try SmoothVideo Project to try to improve the smoothness of my projector with 4k movies (frame interpolation only works with HD video) and by pure chance I found that, using SVP, black band detection also works with D3D11 decoding .

I did the double check and disabling SVP the detection no longer occurred: what is it due to?

Too bad that with SVP + madvr I can't convert 4k videos from 24 to 60hz, otherwise I would have bought it.
lello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2020, 19:33   #688  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,946
SVP is not native so there is your answer it's d4d11 copyback and that can do cropping using blackbar detection.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2020, 10:44   #689  |  Link
lello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 15
And is there a way to use SVP only for blackbar detection?
lello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2020, 11:02   #690  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,946
madVR can do it without SVP just use a copyback decoder.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2020, 16:21   #691  |  Link
lello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 15
Yes, of course, but as I said above, with the copyback I have problems with BD UHD: they don't really work, everything crashes
lello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2020, 16:27   #692  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,946
then try DXVA2 copyback or at least post the crash report/OSD from madVR.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2020, 04:30   #693  |  Link
jlodvo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Posts: 5
settings.bin
madVR's settings can be backed up or shared via a settings.bin file. My settings are optimized for the Nvidia 2080 Ti, Windows 10, and on my LG CX 48" 4K OLED TV with profiles for SD, 720, 1080, UHD, and above. 3D is disabled. I use Zoom Player Max for the video player. Note that "low" still requires a decent GPU (~1050 Ti).

To use simply restore madVR to default settings and place the file in the madVR program directory. madVR will automatically create or update the file with new settings if it has write access to its directory (e.g. not in "program files"). madVR will still use the registry to store these settings, along with any changes, without write access.

For madVR v0.92.17 or later:
Max Quality settings.bin
Low Power settings.bin

Feedback is appreciated, especially for the low power settings.[/QUOTE]

hello i want to try this max setting, still new to this, how can i test this out on MPC-HC with madvr? sorry just new to this any link where i can learn how to use the settings.bin, currently the only thing i know is the regedit thing to back up madshi setttings

thanks in advance
jlodvo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2020, 22:58   #694  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 4,202
Did you need more information than this line?

"To use simply restore madVR to default settings and place the file in the madVR program directory. madVR will automatically create or update the file with new settings if it has write access to its directory (e.g. not in "program files"). madVR will still use the registry to store these settings, along with any changes, without write access."

That should be all you need to know to get the settings.bin working.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2021, 08:06   #695  |  Link
lello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
then try DXVA2 copyback or at least post the crash report/OSD from madVR.
This is the OSD with 2k files

and this one with 4k files.

As you can see with UHD movies the rendering is high by activating DXVA2 copy back so, in my opinion, I can solve the problem only by replacing my RX 580 with a more powerful GPU: could an RX 5700 XT be enough?
lello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2021, 08:35   #696  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,946
that should be a bug hte UHD file should be "easier".

add a folder named Showrendersteps in the madVR folder and have a look at the more detailed rendersteps.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2021, 09:34   #697  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 4,202
Quote:
Originally Posted by lello View Post
As you can see with UHD movies the rendering is high by activating DXVA2 copy back so, in my opinion, I can solve the problem only by replacing my RX 580 with a more powerful GPU: could an RX 5700 XT be enough?
Do you have slow HDR processing enabled? DXVA2 copy back is probably allowing more advanced HDR processing which can easily be very slow on a RX 580.

I don't know what GPU you might need for the slower HDR processing.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2021, 10:47   #698  |  Link
lello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 15


I added the Showrendersteps folder and this is the result with D3D11 selecting the device and NOT native.
By slow HDR we mean D3D11 with device selection while advanced DXVA2 copy back?
I have the problem in both cases.

I thought I could solve with a more powerful GPU because by installing madvr 0.92.17 smooth, without making any settings, the detection of the black bands works
lello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2021, 14:01   #699  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,946
the screen seems to be from paused mode so not that useful.

this could be an issue with copyback check your PCI lanes.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2021, 15:02   #700  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 4,202
Quote:
Originally Posted by lello View Post
By slow HDR we mean D3D11 with device selection while advanced DXVA2 copy back?
No, you have madVR's more advanced HDR processing enabled which can run very slowly depending on the options chosen. It has nothing to do with DXVA/D3D11 except that some of the HDR processing does not work when using native decoding.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lello View Post
I thought I could solve with a more powerful GPU because by installing madvr 0.92.17 smooth, without making any settings, the detection of the black bands works
Yes, you very likely could run it with a more powerful GPU, but I don't know the minimum GPU you would need.

We might get new HDR options at some point too, and they could be faster or slower, so GPU advice for madVR is somewhat tricky. Ideally get the fastest GPU you feel comfortable with and then tune your madVR settings for your GPU. That said, you should be able to get something running smoothly on your 580.

What are your HDR options now?
__________________
madVR options explained

Last edited by Asmodian; 18th January 2021 at 15:04.
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.