Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 18th July 2024, 07:05   #421  |  Link
ProWo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lathe View Post
I've used your excellent program before to convert from HDR to SDR and from UHD to HD. But, this time when the conversion was finished with the exact same settings (level 4.1, etc) the resulting Blu-ray that I burned from it would NOT play on my OPPO player, it just froze. It does that when something in the Blu-ray is not right.

Why did encodes I did before work just fine when I burned the resulting Blu-rays, but this time it did not...? If this doesn't work for me anymore, than I can't use your program to create playable Blu-rays anymore and that would be a drag...

Thanks for any help!

***EDIT

I actually had to run your encode through BDRB in order to get the resulting burned Blu-ray to play properly, which it played just fine. Bummer I had to reencode it twice
Hi Lathe,
would investigate on this.
Please repeat the failed operation with exact the same settings, but instead of clicking encode, click To batch this time.
Then quit the program.
In your destination folder you'll find a BE_open.txt file.
Post this file.
ProWo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2024, 07:11   #422  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProWo View Post
Hi Lathe,
would investigate on this.
Please repeat the failed operation with exact the same settings, but instead of clicking encode, click To batch this time.
Then quit the program.
In your destination folder you'll find a BE_open.txt file.
Post this file.
Will do mate, thanks for the reply!
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2024, 16:52   #423  |  Link
ProWo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 322
Newest beta (v3.2.8.01), online now.

Added:
Batch tasks: if you want replicate the first batch commandline to other files, you can now add them. There is an info message then. The filename addon from the first batch is copied to all other files.

Fixed:
Bug in batch tasks counter reset.

Improved:
Subtitle handling for burn in.
High DPI support, many code adaptions (thx to Iomero). Copy the enclosed config file with the exe into the same folder.

Removed:
8 channels support for trueHD encoding, not working (thx to Darkhorse).
ProWo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2024, 23:23   #424  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProWo View Post
Hi Lathe,
would investigate on this.
Please repeat the failed operation with exact the same settings, but instead of clicking encode, click To batch this time.
Then quit the program.
In your destination folder you'll find a BE_open.txt file.
Post this file.
I am running the same encode again like you asked.

I guess I will have to run the entire encode to get the file you asked about. I sent it to 'Batch' and then under the Batch tasks menu I hit 'Execute', so I guess it is running the exact same encode, so I'll hafta wait until it is done before I can get that file you want.

***EDIT


Oh, I'm sorry... I see now that I don't hit 'Abort' because that just deletes the files. I have to do like you said and 'Quit/Exit' the program, THEN the file is created I'll post is below, thanks!

Video ---> x264 (avc) - Stream ID 0 from ?G:\___TL\The Case of the Bloody Iris 1972 2160p Remux HDR10 HEVC FLAC 1.0-NoGrp.mkv?5697651?-y -fflags +genpts -i "G:\___TL\The Case of the Bloody Iris 1972 2160p Remux HDR10 HEVC FLAC 1.0-NoGrp.mkv" -vf fps=24000/1001,scale=1920:1080,zscale=t=linear:npl=100,format=gbrpf32le,zscale=p=709,tonemap=mobius:desat=2,zscale=t=709:m=709:r=tv,format=yuv420p,sidedata=delete -map 0:0 -c:v libx264 -profile:v high -preset medium -tune film -crf 18 -aspect 1.78 -color_primaries bt709 -color_trc bt709 -colorspace bt709 -an -sn -dn -metadata:g encoding_tool="clever FFmpeg-GUI" ?D:\The Case of the Bloody Iris 1972 2160p Remux HDR10 HEVC FLAC 1.0-NoGrp_0_0_x264 (avc).mkv?1

***EDIT 2

BTW, FWIW, it would be kind of nice to have a place where we can modify the x264 settings and add code, like in the area shown above.

Last edited by Lathe; 19th July 2024 at 23:27.
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 08:47   #425  |  Link
ProWo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 322
@Lathe
I have analyzed the file.
The only change to the command line since v3.2.6 is the addition of
sidedata=delete
You can delete the following in your BE_open.txt:
,sidedata=delete
(don't forget the comma) and then save it.
Then start clever FFmpeg GUI, load any video file, click main, click batch tasks, click execute.
Your video will then be encoded without sidedata=delete.
But I don't think that's the problem.
You should also recheck all other steps up to the Blu-Ray.

You wrote
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lathe View Post
... But, this time when the conversion was finished with the exact same settings (level 4.1, etc) the resulting Blu-ray that I burned from it would NOT play on my OPPO player, it just froze. It does that when something in the Blu-ray is not right.
In this HDR to SDR encoding with x264 high profile you cannot set the profile level...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lathe View Post
BTW, FWIW, it would be kind of nice to have a place where we can modify the x264 settings and add code, like in the area shown above.
I deliberately do not have an open editable command line in the program, as I do not want the user to make incorrect entries due to a lack of knowledge.
The only way to change/add to the command line is to edit the BE_open.txt file.
The purpose of this file is to save the tasks entered if the program is terminated before they have been processed.
When clever FFmpeg GUI is started, it searches for this file. If it is found, the tasks are read in and the file is deleted.
The prerequisite is, of course, that the files specified in the BE_open.txt file also exist.

Last edited by ProWo; Yesterday at 08:51.
ProWo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 09:17   #426  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProWo View Post
@Lathe
I have analyzed the file.
The only change to the command line since v3.2.6 is the addition of
sidedata=delete
You can delete the following in your BE_open.txt:
,sidedata=delete
(don't forget the comma) and then save it.
Then start clever FFmpeg GUI, load any video file, click main, click batch tasks, click execute.
Your video will then be encoded without sidedata=delete.
But I don't think that's the problem.
You should also recheck all other steps up to the Blu-Ray.

You wrote

In this HDR to SDR encoding with x264 high profile you cannot set the profile level...


I deliberately do not have an open editable command line in the program, as I do not want the user to make incorrect entries due to a lack of knowledge.
The only way to change/add to the command line is to edit the BE_open.txt file.
The purpose of this file is to save the tasks entered if the program is terminated before they have been processed.
When clever FFmpeg GUI is started, it searches for this file. If it is found, the tasks are read in and the file is deleted.
The prerequisite is, of course, that the files specified in the BE_open.txt file also exist.
Thank you for your reply and help!

So, the BE_open.txt file can exist BEFORE the encode...? How is that possible since it is only created AFTER a program has been terminated. If you can somehow modify the txt file as you have said where would one put it for your program to read it and execute those instructions BEFORE doing another encode?

Yes, I can understand why you wouldn't want newbies (like me ) who may add incorrect x264 CMD line instructions. But, I am quite mystified by what you mean by altering the BE_open.txt file and have it read and executed somehow BEFORE an encode takes place. You say your program 'searches' for it, but where...? Does it need to be in the same folder as the file you are selecting to encode? I don't understand, even after perhaps altering the text in the BE_open.txt file, where do you put it so that the program will 'See' it and execute it?

FWIW, there are NO other processes before simply selecting the HEVC UHD file by your program and then encoding it. All I did afterward because I had to add a sub file and audio tracks, is what I always do with TSMuxer to mux the final BDMV/CERT folders to burn. ALL encoding is done by your program, and the few files I mux with the resulting video encode by your program are all simple, compliant AC3 or SRT files, so no conflict there. Besides I tried burning just the resulting video encode from your program and it would not play on my OPPO.

Thanks again!

Last edited by Lathe; Yesterday at 09:20.
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 12:14   #427  |  Link
ProWo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lathe View Post
So, the BE_open.txt file can exist BEFORE the encode...? How is that possible since it is only created AFTER a program has been terminated. If you can somehow modify the txt file as you have said where would one put it for your program to read it and execute those instructions BEFORE doing another encode?
When a batch task is created, no conversion takes place yet.
This is only carried out when you click on execute.
The BE_open.txt file is created and should be into the destination folder.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lathe View Post
FWIW, there are NO other processes before simply selecting the HEVC UHD file by your program and then encoding it. All I did afterward because I had to add a sub file and audio tracks, is what I always do with TSMuxer to mux the final BDMV/CERT folders to burn. ALL encoding is done by your program, and the few files I mux with the resulting video encode by your program are all simple, compliant AC3 or SRT files, so no conflict there. Besides I tried burning just the resulting video encode from your program and it would not play on my OPPO.
The best thing will be to take version 3.2.6 and do the coding again. If the result plays correctly in Oppo, then sidedata=delete is the problem, which will then be corrected.
Try it out and report back here.
https://www.videohelp.com/download/c...eg_gui_326.zip
ProWo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 15:53   #428  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,231
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lathe View Post
SRT files
Are SRT files compliant with TRANSPORT STREAMS (ts, m2ts, etc)
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 16:26   #429  |  Link
ProWo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonca View Post
Are SRT files compliant with TRANSPORT STREAMS (ts, m2ts, etc)
You are right, only bitmap (picture) subtitles in ts and m2ts, no text subtitles.
ProWo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 16:31   #430  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,231
@Lathe
Mediainfo report on the failed disc, (and possibly one on a good disc) might be helpful
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 22:17   #431  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProWo View Post
When a batch task is created, no conversion takes place yet.
This is only carried out when you click on execute.
The BE_open.txt file is created and should be into the destination folder.


The best thing will be to take version 3.2.6 and do the coding again. If the result plays correctly in Oppo, then sidedata=delete is the problem, which will then be corrected.
Try it out and report back here.
https://www.videohelp.com/download/c...eg_gui_326.zip
I will do so, thanks!

Um... sorry, but I'm still a bit confused about how you 'set up' or edit the BE_open.txt before it is even created. Just a guess based upon what you have said... So, are you saying that once you've set say the parameters for the video encode and you choose your destination folder, the BE_open.txt file is created BEFORE you even hit 'execute'? Because I don't remember seeing it until I actually killed the process, THEN it was created. So, I'm missing just exactly when one can 'edit' this file apparently before it is created

But, I will try the encode with the older version and see how it does. Although I will need somehow to figure out for future iterations of your program if I want to use them, just exactly HOW to edit this film seemingly before it is created (which can't be true, but that is how it seems...)

***EDIT

Ah, wait... I think I MIGHT see it now! You said when you select 'Batch' THEN it is created, right? THEN you can see/edit the BE_open.txt file, right? I bet that was the step I was missing...
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 22:21   #432  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonca View Post
@Lathe
Mediainfo report on the failed disc, (and possibly one on a good disc) might be helpful
Yes, good point. And no, you can indeed include SRT files within the BDRB structure, I've done it many times and it works just fine.

But yeah, I will go back and see if I can figure out exactly what happened. By this point, I am quite curious!
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 23:07   #433  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,158
Also too, please remember that I took the encode that Clever FFMpeg did and with the same muxed audio and subs simply imported it into BDRB and by just shrinking the size ever so slightly reencoded it and it came out just fine with no other conversions. So, FWIW...

***EDIT


(What would I do without 'Edit'...)

Okay I took a 35M snippet from the original UHD HEVC HDR file and simply encoded it like I did with the whole file, and yes now I do see the BE_open.txt file too (only after I quit the program though, still don't see how one can edit that file before the encode)

So, I'll see if I can attach them here or at least upload to my site and provide a link, so you can see exactly what the program did to the original file. Looking at MediaInfo, the encoding parameters look fine, with the exception of course of not including --Bluray compatible, which I apparently cannot do anything about.

http://lathe-of-heaven.com/CleverEncode.mkv
Attachments Pending Approval
File Type: txt BE_processed.txt

Last edited by Lathe; Yesterday at 23:36.
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 01:27   #434  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,231
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lathe View Post
Yes, good point. And no, you can indeed include SRT files within the BDRB structure, I've done it many times and it works just fine.

But yeah, I will go back and see if I can figure out exactly what happened. By this point, I am quite curious!
BDRB uses tsMuxer. It was probably converting the srt to sup automatically.
If it failed to do so, the structure would not be compliant and might fail to playback.
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 02:28   #435  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonca View Post
BDRB uses tsMuxer. It was probably converting the srt to sup automatically.
If it failed to do so, the structure would not be compliant and might fail to playback.
You know, it almost never happens and is extremely rare, but you may just be right!

What I was thinking about were probably MKV files where I mux SRT files all the time. But, in checking some of the Blu-rays I've burned, every one is an SUP/PGS file, which I believe is picture based NOT text based like SRT files.

I've been searching everywhere with the simple question, 'Does the OPPO BDP-83 play SRT files natively' and, of course I can't find bloody anything. But yeah, I THINK you guys are probably right from looking up what type of subtitles Blu-rays normally have. I think that maybe when I added the SRT file and muxed it with TSMuxer, although I cannot find a specific answer, I'm guessing that is what choked my OPPO (just so you know, I normally don't go around choking my OPPO...)

So, it may be that I haven't downloaded a specific SRT and try to add it to a playable Blu-ray in a while and you just can't do it. And yes, the BDRB reencoded Blu-ray does indeed have the PGS subtitles in it. Heh, I did come across a post by you that you made in 2014 where you were saying basically the same thing.
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 03:27   #436  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,158
Okay, okay, okay... False alarm, sorry guys... (somehow I'm sure it must be gonca's fault...)

I took the original UHD HEVC HDR file and muxed it with the audio and subtitle (PGS) files that BDRB encoded, and using MKVMerge I extracted a 5 minute snippet and used THAT to import to Clever FFMpeg. So, using the exact same original video file, but with the other proper files added.

Well, after encoding this I burned it to a Blu-ray, and yep, it played just fine on my OPPO. So, apparently it is whatever I did I guess in adding the subtitle file, probably SRT, to the final Blu-ray that froze my OPPO player. This encode with the exact same input video file when played did just fine.

So, my humble apologies for all the fuss, but I really DO very much appreciate the time and help. I guess it's been so damn long since I have specifically tried to add a subtitle file to a Blu-ray that I must've forgotten that you can only use picture based (SUP/PGS) files for subtitles for an actual playable disc. Now, when I play MKV files from discs, then I believe the OPPO sees them in that container, but not in the compliant format when playing an actual Blu-ray.

The good news is now that I know that, PROBABLY I won't do that again and everything with this excellent program will work fine now.

Thanks again and sorry about that!
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 10:10   #437  |  Link
ProWo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lathe View Post
Um... sorry, but I'm still a bit confused about how you 'set up' or edit the BE_open.txt before it is even created. Just a guess based upon what you have said... So, are you saying that once you've set say the parameters for the video encode and you choose your destination folder, the BE_open.txt file is created BEFORE you even hit 'execute'? Because I don't remember seeing it until I actually killed the process, THEN it was created. So, I'm missing just exactly when one can 'edit' this file apparently before it is created
It's really quite simple.
When you click on To batch, the batch task is created and saved in a string.
Only when the program is closed (and this string is not empty because the batch task has already been processed) is this string read and saved in BE_open.txt so that the task is not lost and can be read again the next time the program is started.
After reading, the BE_open.txt file is deleted.
When the program is closed, you can therefore edit this open batch task (BE_open = batch elements open).

But that's just a side note.
I'm glad you've solved your problem.
ProWo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 12:33   #438  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,231
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lathe View Post
I'm guessing that is what choked my OPPO (just so you know, I normally don't go around choking my OPPO...)
No? Just your chicken?
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 21:13   #439  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonca View Post
No? Just your chicken?
Oh C'mon... Mr. Obvious! I was trying to be more subtle Elk Boy!
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 21:16   #440  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProWo View Post
It's really quite simple.
When you click on To batch, the batch task is created and saved in a string.
Only when the program is closed (and this string is not empty because the batch task has already been processed) is this string read and saved in BE_open.txt so that the task is not lost and can be read again the next time the program is started.
After reading, the BE_open.txt file is deleted.
When the program is closed, you can therefore edit this open batch task (BE_open = batch elements open).

But that's just a side note.
I'm glad you've solved your problem.
Thank you Sir!

Soooooo... where the hell do I find this mysterious file to edit then...?

I don't see it when I send stuff to 'Batch' Do I have to start the encode and then terminate it and THEN I can see the file in my destination folder and then, what, edit it for the next time?

I'm sorry, but this is still seeming very mysterious to me, I'm SURE I'm missing something here. You say the file is 'Saved', but where? Unless I terminate the program prematurely I never see it. Is it stored somewhere else maybe?

Thanks!
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.