Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD burning

Old 10th December 2012, 07:13   #1  |  Link
Dew

Benq 162i

Hi, I have not been in the forum for quite some time and am not sure where I should post this.
I have used for many years my 162I Benq external burner and it unfortunately has quit.
I took it to my tech and he said that he could get the replacement part for it and I explained that I wanted it to be able to work as before with "bit setting", as I always burned in DVD - ROM.

I tried to research BenQ and know that they sold the co. and now can't even find archival info.
I am wondering if the tech will be able to get the part so that I have "bit setting" for DVD-ROM.

I am no techie and am not sure if I am explaining myself properly.
I do hope that I can hear from a " knowledgeable user" so that I am insured that the tech that I am talking to understands my needs.

BTW I have tried looking at what meagre offerrings there are available in "dvd burners" now and see nothing that indicates burning in dvd-rom capapbilities.
What is out there here in British Columbia are portable Alurtek, IOMEGA full size and portable?
Not much.
I would really appreciate some help.
Thank you for your time.
Dew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2012, 09:38   #2  |  Link
Przemek_Sperling

Have you tried Media Code Speed Edit http://www.digital-digest.com/software/mcse.html ? It is a great tool for changing booktype.

I just realised that you do not have the firmware to patch :-/ It is available here: http://www.firmwarehq.com/BenQ/EW162I/files.html

Last edited by Przemek_Sperling; 10th December 2012 at 10:13.
Przemek_Sperling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2012, 22:40   #3  |  Link
Dew