Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11th January 2021, 00:32   #15061  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
stax76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: On thin ice
Posts: 6,717
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Yes, I see.

BTW execute cmd is the same than create a cmd file and launch it.
Not exactly, cmd and bat by default use a legacy dos code page:

https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Codepage_850

On Win 10 it can be changed to UTF-8

Calling cmd with arguments gives full Unicode support.
__________________
mpv.net - StaxRip - MediaInfo.NET - Get-MediaInfo - More
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2021, 13:46   #15062  |  Link
Bgalakazam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 11
Is there still no way to combine a TrueHD track with a core track? Instead a thd+core needs to be encoded with libAften every time? Some tracks fail that way.

Certain devices can't play the TrueHD track alone and need the core embedded. Either use a full BluRay rip structure or a MKV rip THD track and have to encode with libAften and then merge into a .TS/.M2TS which preserves the thd+core.
Bgalakazam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2021, 23:36   #15063  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,163
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bgalakazam View Post
Is there still no way to combine a TrueHD track with a core track? Instead a thd+core needs to be encoded with libAften every time?
I don't know other way.

Quote:
Some tracks fail that way.
I don't know tracks than fail.
If is 7.1 add -down6
If is 96 KHz add -resampleTo48000
If there are a clip add -no2ndpass
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2021, 23:12   #15064  |  Link
dm9656
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 5
Hi,

I recently used eac3to for reencoding a 24bit DTS-HD MA stream to 16bit (DTS-HA MA 24bit => eac3to => WAV 16bit => DTS MAS => DTS-HD MA 16bit); however, I noticed this 2017 discussion in a forum about the "eac3to does not manage the DTS-HD codec delay of 1024 samples" : https://forum.fanres.com/thread-1531.html

The solution at the times seemed to be something along the lines of "eac3to input output -21ms"... (to be precise it should be measured in number of samples, not in ms, as the delay is 2 frames = 1024 samples)

So, my question is: the "delay problem" being known for a few years now, is the current release of eac3to able to handle this "codec delay" by itself now ? Or is it still needed to care about managing that delay "by hand" when converting from DTS-HD audio ?

Thanks !
dm9656 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2021, 00:57   #15065  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,163
A standard dts stream doesn't have a global header with the "Codec delay" tag, only the dts's created by the encoder Master Audio Suite have these headers.

Inside a container doesn't exist that header and the authoring soft must cut these frames (at least MkvMerge do so).

Is a encoder (all encoders insert some delay) problem but streams extracted from containers by eac3to doesn't have that delay.

AC3's encoders add 5ms of delay, ffdcaenc add 11ms to dts's, some AAC encoders 26ms ...
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2021, 17:54   #15066  |  Link
Kokka
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Posts: 1
Error with ea3cto

Hello,

i am getting the error message from eac3to "Unable to convert DTS track to wav"

The two audio files are "DTS XBR" and "DTS XLL X"

Do you have any ideas?

Here is the MediaInfo of the file:

Format : Matroska
Format version : Version 4
File size : 80,0 GiB
Duration : 3 h 20 min
Overall bit rate mode : variabel
Overall bit rate : 57,2 Mb/s
Movie name : King.Kong.2005.EXTENDED.GERMAN.DL.2160p.UHD.BluRay.HEVC-4K
Encoded date : UTC 2018-04-21 11:06:32
Writing application : mkvmerge v22.0.0 ('At The End Of The World') 64-bit
Writing library : libebml v1.3.5 + libmatroska v1.4.8

Video
ID : 1
Format : HEVC
Format/Info : High Efficiency Video Coding
Format profile : Main 10@L5.1@High
HDR format : SMPTE ST 2086, HDR10 compatible
Codec ID : V_MPEGH/ISO/HEVC
Duration : 3 h 20 min
Bit rate : 46,2 Mb/s
Width : 3 840 Pixel
Height : 2 160 Pixel
Display aspect ratio : 16:9
Frame rate mode : konstant
Frame rate : 23,976 (24000/1001) FPS
Color space : YUV
Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0 (Type 2)
Bit depth : 10 bits
Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.232
Stream size : 64,5 GiB (81%)
Writing library : ATEME Titan File 3.7.9 (4.7.9.0)
Default : Ja
Forced : Nein
Color range : Limited
Color primaries : BT.2020
Transfer characteristics : PQ
Matrix coefficients : BT.2020 non-constant
Mastering display color primaries : Display P3
Mastering display luminance : min: 0.0050 cd/m2, max: 1000 cd/m2
Maximum Content Light Level : 1000 cd/m2
Maximum Frame-Average Light Level : 96 cd/m2

Audio #1
ID : 2
Format : DTS XBR
Format/Info : Digital Theater Systems
Commercial name : DTS-HD High Resolution Audio
Codec ID : A_DTS
Duration : 3 h 20 min
Bit rate mode : konstant
Bit rate : 3 456 kb/s
Channel(s) : 8 Kanšle
Channel layout : C L R LFE Lb Rb Lss Rss
Sampling rate : 48,0 kHz
Frame rate : 93,750 FPS (512 SPF)
Bit depth : 24 bits
Compression mode : Lossy
Stream size : 4,83 GiB (6%)
Language : Deutsch
Default : Nein
Forced : Nein

Audio #2
ID : 3
Format : DTS XLL X
Format/Info : Digital Theater Systems
Commercial name : DTS-HD Master Audio
Codec ID : A_DTS
Duration : 3 h 20 min
Bit rate mode : variabel
Bit rate : 7 413 kb/s
Channel(s) : 8 Kanšle
Channel(s)_Original : Object Based
ChannelLayout_Original : Object Based
Sampling rate : 48,0 kHz
Frame rate : 93,750 FPS (512 SPF)
Bit depth : 24 bits
Stream size : 10,4 GiB (13%)
Language : Englisch
Default : Ja
Forced : Nein

Text #1
ID : 4
Format : UTF-8
Codec ID : S_TEXT/UTF8
Codec ID/Info : UTF-8 Plain Text
Duration : 3 h 16 min
Bit rate : 0 b/s
Count of elements : 39
Stream size : 867 Bytes (0%)
Title : Forced SRT
Language : Deutsch
Default : Ja
Forced : Ja

Text #2
ID : 5
Format : PGS
Codec ID : S_HDMV/PGS
Codec ID/Info : Picture based subtitle format used on BDs/HD-DVDs
Duration : 3 h 16 min
Bit rate : 443 b/s
Count of elements : 78
Stream size : 639 KiB (0%)
Title : Forced PGS
Language : Deutsch
Default : Nein
Forced : Nein

Text #3
ID : 6
Format : PGS
Codec ID : S_HDMV/PGS
Codec ID/Info : Picture based subtitle format used on BDs/HD-DVDs
Duration : 3 h 18 min
Bit rate : 19,0 kb/s
Count of elements : 2594
Stream size : 27,0 MiB (0%)
Language : Deutsch
Default : Nein
Forced : Nein

Text #4
ID : 7
Format : PGS
Codec ID : S_HDMV/PGS
Codec ID/Info : Picture based subtitle format used on BDs/HD-DVDs
Duration : 3 h 20 min
Bit rate : 78,4 kb/s
Count of elements : 7166
Stream size : 112 MiB (0%)
Language : Deutsch
Default : Nein
Forced : Nein

Text #5
ID : 8
Format : PGS
Codec ID : S_HDMV/PGS
Codec ID/Info : Picture based subtitle format used on BDs/HD-DVDs
Duration : 3 h 9 min
Bit rate : 21,8 kb/s
Count of elements : 3438
Stream size : 29,5 MiB (0%)
Language : Englisch
Default : Nein
Forced : Nein

Text #6
ID : 9
Format : PGS
Codec ID : S_HDMV/PGS
Codec ID/Info : Picture based subtitle format used on BDs/HD-DVDs
Duration : 3 h 19 min
Bit rate : 80,1 kb/s
Count of elements : 7162
Stream size : 114 MiB (0%)
Language : Englisch
Default : Nein
Forced : Nein

Thank you for any help!

Kokka
Kokka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2021, 18:05   #15067  |  Link
Richard1485
AviSynth monkey
 
Richard1485's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 407
Use ffmpeg instead.
Richard1485 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2021, 13:11   #15068  |  Link
Devilman1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 103
I was converting an audio stream from AC3 to wav and while doing it, it shows a delay and that a delay would be applied to the raw PCM

Quote:
MKV, 1 video track, 1 audio track, 0:43:16, 25p
1: h264/AVC, 720x522p (16:9)
2: AC3, 2.0 channels, 320kbps, 44.1kHz, -108ms
"Stereo"
[v01] The video track doesn't contain framerate information. <WARNING>
[a02] Extracting audio track number 2...
[a02] Decoding with libav/ffmpeg...
[a02] Applying RAW/PCM delay...
[a02] Changing FPS from 25.000 to 23.976...
[a02] Reducing depth from 64 to 24 bits...
[a02] Writing WAV...
Would it mean that the output file has the delay (-108 ms) already applied?
Devilman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2021, 21:42   #15069  |  Link
Richard1485
AviSynth monkey
 
Richard1485's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by Devilman1 View Post
Would it mean that the output file has the delay (-108 ms) already applied?
Yes. That's what the text that you highlighted in green means:
Quote:
[a02] Applying RAW/PCM delay...
There should be no need for you to do anything else unless you experience some sort of problem with the output.
Richard1485 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2021, 23:02   #15070  |  Link
ProBroSam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Posts: 12
Why there is no option to encode from "TrueHD / DTS-HD MA" to "E-AC3 (Dolby Digital Plus)" on eac3to?
ProBroSam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2021, 23:19   #15071  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,163
Because when eac3to was created there was no free aec3 encoder.

Use ffmpeg now.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2021, 11:28   #15072  |  Link
ProBroSam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Because when eac3to was created there was no free aec3 encoder.
If it is not possible officially, then is there any way to add it manually?
ProBroSam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2021, 20:07   #15073  |  Link
Richard1485
AviSynth monkey
 
Richard1485's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProBroSam View Post
If it is not possible officially, then is there any way to add it manually?
No, because eac3to is closed source. But you can encode E-AC-3 with ffmpeg, so just use that instead.
Richard1485 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2021, 13:17   #15074  |  Link
asarian
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,404
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Because when eac3to was created there was no free aec3 encoder.

Use ffmpeg now.
Is there a way to convert "DDP Atmos" to, say, LPCM, though? Currently says 'Bitstream parsing for track 2 failed.'
__________________
Gorgeous, delicious, deculture!
asarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2021, 15:07   #15075  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,163
Quote:
Originally Posted by asarian View Post
Is there a way to convert "DDP Atmos" to, say, LPCM, though? Currently says 'Bitstream parsing for track 2 failed.'
eac3to was created to decode EAC3 from EVO containers but new EAC3 implementations, of course Atmos, can't be decoded.

Please use ffmpeg instead eac3to:

ffmpeg -i "ANY_INPUT" -map 0:TRACK -acodec pcm_s24le "OUTPUT.w64"

ffmpeg support many more containers and codecs for input, and output, than eac3to
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.

Last edited by tebasuna51; 9th June 2021 at 15:17.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2021, 15:28   #15076  |  Link
asarian
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,404
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
eac3to was created to decode EAC3 from EVO containers but new EAC3 implementations, of course Atmos, can't be decoded.

Please use ffmpeg instead eac3to:

ffmpeg -i "ANY_INPUT" -map 0:TRACK -acodec pcm_s24le "OUTPUT.w64"

ffmpeg support many more containers and codecs for input, and output, than eac3to

Thanks!
__________________
Gorgeous, delicious, deculture!
asarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2021, 08:09   #15077  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 6,424
Dolby Atmos is a parameter set which depends on the layout of speakers in your room and the room's geometry. Once decoded, it won't match another room's layout.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2021, 05:55   #15078  |  Link
Tass
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Posts: 1
Hi.

What is the best way to convert a DTSMA 7.1 to AC3 5.1 640kbps without losing the audio content of the 2 extra back channels of the 7.1 and get them downmixed into the 5.1 so the final AC3 5.1 ends with the 7.1 rears + surround channels mixed?

Will the audio conversion tool do the downmix? I can put -down6 in command line conversion but not in the conversion tool.

Thanks!
Tass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2021, 10:09   #15079  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,163
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tass View Post
What is the best way...
Forum rule:
Quote:
12) How NOT to post on this forum:
...
Do not ask "what's best" because this question cannot be answered objectively. Each and everyone has their own view about what's best in a certain area. The best is what works best for you!
Quote:
I can put -down6 in command line conversion but not in the conversion tool.
What conversion tool?

1) The eac3to -down6 make the mix of surround channels with floats:
SL' = SL + BL
SR' = SR + BR
and check if there are over volume (clip signal) and do a full (all channels) normalize to avoid distort.
Advantage: The balance between front and surround channels are preserved.
Disadvantage: The full volume can be reduced.

2) We can do a special normalize only to the surround channels only when it is needed.
Advantage: The full volume is preserved, only the surround channels are reduced to avoid clip (it is not possible the same volume with 5 speakers than with 7)
Disadvantage: The balance between front and surround channels are preserved most the time, only changed in points needed for avoid distort.

A implementation of this method can be:

ffmpeg -i "ANY_INPUT" -map 0:TRACK -FILTER -acodec ac3 -ab 640K "OUTPUT.ac3"

with FILTER, for example:
Code:
-filter_complex "asplit [f][s]; [f] pan=3.1|c0=c0|c1=c1|c2=c2|c3=c3 [r]; [s] pan=stereo|c0=0.5*c4+0.5*c6|c1=0.5*c5+0.5*c7, compand=attacks=0:decays=0:points=-90/-84|-8/-2|-6/-1|-0/-0.1, aformat=channel_layouts=stereo [d]; [r][d] amerge [a]" -map "[a]"
Select your choice, I recommend 2).
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2021, 20:48   #15080  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Registered User
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 11,849
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tass View Post
What is the best way to convert a DTSMA 7.1 to AC3 5.1 640kbps without losing the audio content of the 2 extra back channels of the 7.1 and get them downmixed into the 5.1 so the final AC3 5.1 ends with the 7.1 rears + surround channels mixed?
Is there any particular reason why you don't want to extract the lossy 5.1 channel DTS (core) stream from the lossless DTS-HD MA stream and play that instead?
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eac3to

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.