Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > New and alternative a/v containers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 22nd October 2023, 13:29   #25061  |  Link
clsid
*****
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,647
Regression with MPEG-2 decoding. Playback is choppy due to unstable framerate.
Sample
__________________
MPC-HC 2.2.1
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2023, 12:07   #25062  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 10,348
This should be fixed in the latest code.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2023, 18:22   #25063  |  Link
clsid
*****
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,647
Confirmed. Thanks.
__________________
MPC-HC 2.2.1
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2023, 12:46   #25064  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 10,348
LAV Filters 0.78
Code:
LAV Splitter
- NEW: Added identification of DTS:X in DTS HD-HRA streams
- NEW: Support for various stream flags in Matroska containers (Hearing Impaired, and more)
- Changed: Text-based subtitle selection now uses case-insensitive matches (ASCII characters only)
- Fixed: Many stream titles in MP4 files weren't being read properly

LAV Video
- NEW: Support for decoding SMC video
- Fixed: HLG video streams could have their HLG flag overriden in some circumstances

LAV Audio
- Fixed: TrueHD bitstreaming of Atmos tracks could cause output timestamps to be off, confusing some audio renderers
Download: Installer (both x86/x64) -- Zips: 32-bit & 64-bit

The biggest change in this version is updating FFmpeg again after a long while, which included quite a few API changes that needed to be adapted to. Hopefully I got them all!
Its been a while since the last release, so updating FFmpeg, dav1d, and all other libraries was overdue.

As always, report issues and regressions, in as much detail as possible.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th October 2023, 20:48   #25065  |  Link
Sunspark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 471
Not an issue, just something I'm wondering about from a technical perspective.

When MadVR is in D3D9 overlay renderer mode the following observations can be made.

CPU usage is the same between D3D11-Native/Automatic and DXVA2-Native.

GPU usage as measured with GPU-Z, if in DXVA2-native, the GPU load is higher compared to D3D11-native (41% vs 29% on this system).

I know for D3D9 overlay MadVR is emulating the monitor profile in 16-bit so the extra work makes sense there. Except, why wouldn't the same thing also be happening with D3D11-native decoding? It just seems like a big difference and it doesn't make sense on the surface. Why wouldn't both be the same?

DXVA2-copyback presents as 26% GPU load, lower than native in exchange for just a little bit more CPU usage which makes sense because of the increased bus traffic.

I just find it strange that copyback has the lowest GPU usage compared to native. Is this just the way the renderer works, or is it due to differences in the decoding process?

Also strange, as an experiment I set decoding to none and observed. GPU usage was the same as copy-back but CPU usage was higher. Also confusing, you'd think the GPU usage would be lower if the igpu wasn't doing the decoding..

Just curious how to make sense of these numbers. Thanks!

q1) Why does d3d9-copy-back have lower GPU load compared to d3d11-native?
q2) Why does dxva2-native have higher GPU load compared to d3d11-native?
q3) Why does none for decoding have the same GPU load as copy-back instead of lower?
Sunspark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th October 2023, 22:47   #25066  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 4,407
Are you monitoring the GPU's power state (clock speed)? My GPU often stays in its lowest power state with light loads, so increasing the load slightly can cause % load to go down a lot as it clocks higher.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2023, 00:42   #25067  |  Link
Sunspark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 471
I've always had the thing set to max performance which locks it at a clock of 900 MHz and as the cpu/igpu heats up, the clock will start sawtoothing, but it doesn't dip that much when it does. So basically, it will drop, but never rises because I always have it at the top.
Sunspark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2023, 00:55   #25068  |  Link
clsid
*****
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,647
Create empty ShowRenderSteps folder to let Madvr show details about what is it doing.

D3D11 is actually probably running in copyback mode since you are using D3D9 presentation.

Madvr may do its own internal copyback when using DXVA2 Native, and that is less optimized than what LAV does.
__________________
MPC-HC 2.2.1
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2023, 05:01   #25069  |  Link
Sunspark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 471
Possible regression, unless support never was present for the DivX 5 series? I have some old XVID AVIs that I just noticed as being decoded in avcodec format.

Code:
- Connection media type:

Video: Xvid 640x480 23.976fps 759kbps

AM_MEDIA_TYPE: 
majortype: MEDIATYPE_Video {73646976-0000-0010-8000-00AA00389B71}
subtype: Unknown GUID Name {44495658-0000-0010-8000-00AA00389B71}
formattype: FORMAT_VideoInfo {05589F80-C356-11CE-BF01-00AA0055595A}
bFixedSizeSamples: 0
bTemporalCompression: 1
lSampleSize: 1
cbFormat: 148

VIDEOINFOHEADER:
rcSource: (0,0)-(640,480)
rcTarget: (0,0)-(640,480)
dwBitRate: 759807
dwBitErrorRate: 0
AvgTimePerFrame: 417084

BITMAPINFOHEADER:
biSize: 100
biWidth: 640
biHeight: 480
biPlanes: 1
biBitCount: 12
biCompression: XVID
biSizeImage: 460800
biXPelsPerMeter: 0
biYPelsPerMeter: 0
biClrUsed: 0
biClrImportant: 0

pbFormat:
0000: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 80 02 00 00 e0 01 00 00 ........€...Ã*...
0010: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 80 02 00 00 e0 01 00 00 ........€...Ã*...
0020: ff 97 0b 00 00 00 00 00 3c 5d 06 00 00 00 00 00 ÿ—......<]......
0030: 64 00 00 00 80 02 00 00 e0 01 00 00 01 00 0c 00 d...€...Ã*.......
0040: 58 56 49 44 00 08 07 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 XVID............
0050: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00|00 00 01 b0 f5 00 00 01 ...........°õ...
0060: b5 09 00 00 01 00 00 00 01 20 08 86 87 ff ff 0a µ........ .Ââ€*‡ÿÿ.
0070: ad 8a 02 1e 0a 31 00 00 01 b2 44 69 76 58 35 30 Â*ÂÅ*...1...²DivX50
0080: 33 62 31 33 39 33 70 00 00 01 b2 58 76 69 44 30 3b1393p...²XviD0
0090: 30 34 33 43                                     043C
Sunspark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2023, 10:45   #25070  |  Link
lvqcl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 294
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunspark View Post
Possible regression, unless support never was present for the DivX 5 series? I have some old XVID AVIs that I just noticed as being decoded in avcodec format.
And why didn't you mention your settings?
lvqcl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2023, 14:33   #25071  |  Link
clsid
*****
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,647
Hardware decoding of MPEG4 is for CUVID only. Plus it is completely utterly pointless and retarded to use it for such "easy" to decode format.

If it fails to decode then you need to provide a sample.
__________________
MPC-HC 2.2.1
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2023, 19:57   #25072  |  Link
Sunspark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 471
@lvqcl: What settings? It is like this with all the drop-down decoder selections. BE's decoder doesn't do it either nor does MPV.

@clsid: CUVID only? I thought I did have hardware decoding with Microsoft's Film & TV player.. GPU load with that one fullscreened is 2%, with LAV/MPC-HC combo it's 15%. VLC does it at 5%. BE/MPC-BE (with EVR-CP) does it at 9%. MPV (which says in the HUD no hardware decoding available) does it at 3%. Looking at the MPV number, my thought that MS might have it may not be correct. Update: Changed HC's renderer to EVR-CP to compare, # dropped to 12%.

I want to be clear, I am not fretting over a few percentage points on an ancient codec. I am merely reporting a possible regression if it did have support at one time since divx3 and mpeg-4 part 2 are checkboxes in the decoder's list. Assuming it did not, then it's pretty interesting to see how different some players are at processing it since the range is from 2% to 15%.

I dug up a random sample on the web (some school talk in czech) that used the same codec version number, https://is.muni.cz/do/rect/el/nastro...l/dril_low.avi

Last edited by Sunspark; 29th October 2023 at 20:03.
Sunspark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2023, 20:59   #25073  |  Link
lvqcl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 294
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunspark View Post
@lvqcl: What settings? It is like this with all the drop-down decoder selections.
MPEG-4 checkbox is disabled for any decoder except "NVIDIA CUVID (old)". That is assuming that you have NVIDIA videocard. If you don't have it then maybe it's always disabled.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunspark View Post
I am merely reporting a possible regression if it did have support at one time since divx3 and mpeg-4 part 2 are checkboxes in the decoder's list.
The checkboxes are there because LAV Video filter can decode them. By a software decoder.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunspark View Post
Assuming it did not, then it's pretty interesting to see how different some players are at processing it since the range is from 2% to 15%.
Different upscaling algorithms, maybe?
lvqcl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2023, 05:41   #25074  |  Link
j7n
Registered User
 
j7n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 137
Seems like FFMPEG have switched to the duration estimation for DTS elementary streams by the target rate instead of the frame size (actual bitrate). A stream from a DTS-CD with a bitrate of 1234.8 kbit/s and an indicated target bitrate of 1411.2 is found to be of a shorter duration in current media players based on FFMPEG (Media Player Classic Homecinema, Foobar). They play correctly past the end. The closest bitrate steps are 1152 and 1280, whereas the frame size can vary in 1 byte increments and is more precise.
j7n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2023, 18:48   #25075  |  Link
max79
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 76
@nevcairiel
Hi, when using LAV Source to open "http://sochinskayatrk.ru/hdtv/hls/strc_hd/playlist.m3u8", it doesn't return any duration or duration change events (EC_LENGTH_CHANGED), preventing seeking from working properly. This problem doesn't happen with the latest version of VLC which allows you to seek within the stream.

The graph is simple, LAV Source -> LAV Audio/Video Decoders -> Audio/Video Renderers (Default DirectSound Device/EVR).

I would be happy if you could take a look at it and let me know if it can be fixed.

Last edited by max79; 6th November 2023 at 19:02.
max79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2023, 05:39   #25076  |  Link
j7n
Registered User
 
j7n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 137
DTS with Open bitrate don't have any time duration displayed and can't be seeked. They come off a CD in that form in some cases. Since there are no standard DTS streams in the wild with variable bitrate, they can assume CBR and calculate the duration. The frame size is sometimes wrong, but they can already work around it by searching the next sync word since such files now play.

http://j7n.sytes.net/temp/dtssample/
j7n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2023, 10:24   #25077  |  Link
Blight
Software Developer
 
Blight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 1,005
Nev,
Any idea about returning duration for "http://sochinskayatrk.ru/hdtv/hls/strc_hd/playlist.m3u8"?
I tested it myself and it just returns 0 all the time.
__________________
Yaron Gur
Zoom Player . Lead Developer
Blight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2023, 18:43   #25078  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1,348
Hi, i'm just testing a windows 11 build for my HTPC and i'm having a bit of a blonde moment, I cant get any ATMOS height unless I use passthrough, is ATMOS not available when passthrough is not enabled, tried MPC-HC with LAV filters, only works with passthrough, tried POT player, only works with passthru enable also, I though you could get atmos heights using PCM without passthru, if so how?
__________________
LG OLED EF950-YAM RX-V685-RYZEN 3600 - 16GBRAM - WIN10 RX 5700 - https://www.videohelp.com/software/madVR/old-versions
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2023, 18:44   #25079  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1,348
reason I prefer PCM over passthrough is I prefer to have volume control in in my player as my receiver is very slow to change volume.
__________________
LG OLED EF950-YAM RX-V685-RYZEN 3600 - 16GBRAM - WIN10 RX 5700 - https://www.videohelp.com/software/madVR/old-versions
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2023, 20:01   #25080  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 942
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
Hi, i'm just testing a windows 11 build for my HTPC and i'm having a bit of a blonde moment, I cant get any ATMOS height unless I use passthrough, is ATMOS not available when passthrough is not enabled, tried MPC-HC with LAV filters, only works with passthrough, tried POT player, only works with passthru enable also, I though you could get atmos heights using PCM without passthru, if so how?
You can't get Atmos or DTS:X (or Auro-3D) without passthrough. The immersive layer is stripped out with LPCM.
__________________
Win11 Pro x64 b23H2
Ryzen 5950X@4.5Ghz 32Gb@3600 Zotac 3090 24Gb 551.33
madVR/LAV/jRiver/MyMovies/CMC
Denon X8500HA>HD Fury VRRoom>TCL 55C805K
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
decoders, directshow, filters, splitter

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.