Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 30th July 2013, 21:34   #1701  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 7,276
Quote:
If I understand well, the culprits are --bluray-compat and --slices 4 and not --b-pyramid strict, --lookahead-threads 1 and --mvrange 511 ?
don't know for sure unless you try but I suspect the '--slices 4' is the problem. (lookahead-threads is definitely not the problem)
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2013, 21:39   #1702  |  Link
Music Fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,744
And --slices 4 is mandatory if --bluray-compat is there so I guess I coudn't have --bluray-compat without --slices 4.

I hope the BDP-83 can play also in AVCHD and not only in MKV the files encoded without --slices 4, otherwise it would mean that an encoding can't be used for both purposes.
Music Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2013, 21:41   #1703  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 7,276
Quote:
And --slices 4 is mandatory if --bluray-compat is there so I guess I coudn't have --bluray-compat without --slices 4.
you can, re-read my last few posts.
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2013, 22:33   #1704  |  Link
Music Fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,744
Ok, but I believed level 4.0 would also remove --bluray-compat. If this is not the case, --bluray-compat without --slices 4 isn't very useful, is it ?
Music Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2013, 22:39   #1705  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 7,276
Using slices normally should lower the quality, so disabling sliced encoding normally is recommend.
-> Blu-ray compatibility without slices should be better than with slices.
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2013, 23:20   #1706  |  Link
Music Fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,744
Ok, I guess you mean the quality would be better, not the compatibility.
But I'm a little bit confused because you said earlier that "sliced encoding is needed for Blu-ray compatibility" and now you seem to say that removing --slices 4 is not really a problem.
How can it still be Blu-ray compliant without slices ?
Music Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2013, 23:24   #1707  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 7,276
like I wrote: " sliced encoding is only mandatory for level 4.1 and not level 4.0."
so if you still with level 4.0 the encode still is inside the specification, so there should be no problem with compatibility.

Have you tried if '--slice 4' really is the problem?
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2013, 23:33   #1708  |  Link
Music Fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,744
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selur View Post
like I wrote: " sliced encoding is only mandatory for level 4.1 and not level 4.0."
so if you still with level 4.0 the encode still is inside the specification, so there should be no problem with compatibility.
Ok, I believed Blu-ray had to be in 4.1.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Selur View Post
Have you tried if '--slice 4' really is the problem?
I'm gonna do that.
Music Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2013, 23:35   #1709  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 7,276
Quote:
Ok, I believed Blu-ray had to be in 4.1.
Nope, everything Hybrid allows you to do while Hardware->Blu-ray compatibility is enabled should be standard conform.
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2013, 23:54   #1710  |  Link
Music Fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,744
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selur View Post
Have you tried if '--slice 4' really is the problem?
Tried, you were right ; MKV don't pixelate in level 4.0 with --bluray-compat and without slices
Still have to try this encoding in an AVCHD structure but I guess it will work.
Thus I don't understand very well the utility of level 4.1 for Blu-ray.

Last edited by Music Fan; 31st July 2013 at 00:16.
Music Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2013, 23:59   #1711  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 7,276
higher levels allow higher vbv values which potentially means more references&co, but since you are probably encoding to lower the data rate to begin with, I doubt it is a problem.
going to bed now

n8
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2013, 00:02   #1712  |  Link
Music Fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,744
Ok, bye, thanks for help.

I already wish you good luck for the next step : the support of H265 (HEVC)
Music Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2013, 05:36   #1713  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 7,276
x265 is cq only and does only support direct file input (no pipe) atm. so not really interesting. (+ reading the requirements it needs a avx capable cpu, which my current machine doesn't support)
Other then that there are no free cli H.265 encoders out there, so I'm in no hurry in implementing that.
atm. I'm more looking into supporting avisynth through wine on linux and mac, but I'm struggling with it (a. don't have a preview with sound atm. for general preview avsViewer works okay; b. no clue how to set up wine easily on Mac OS X in a way that it is usable through the cli).

Cu Selur
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2013, 11:41   #1714  |  Link
Music Fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,744
Ok, there will be perhaps a x265 encoder someday.
What means cq and pipe ?
Music Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2013, 11:43   #1715  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 7,276
cq = constant quantizer
pipe = accepting input via standard input (see: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pipeline_%28Unix%29)
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2013, 12:13   #1716  |  Link
Music Fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,744
Ok, I don't understand much about that stuff but it does not matter.
Music Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2013, 12:19   #1717  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 7,276
with only cq: you can't specify a bit rate or file size
without pipe: you can't feed the encoder without creating temporal files (or may be created named pipes under Windows, which I never got working properly)
-> will add support to x265 once it gets more mature
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2013, 12:26   #1718  |  Link
Music Fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,744
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selur View Post
with only cq: you can't specify a bit rate or file size
Not cool, astonishing for a so "advanced" codec.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Selur View Post
without pipe: you can't feed the encoder without creating temporal files
By temporal files you mean for example a picture decoded by a frameserver like avisynth which couldn't be used with h265 ?
Music Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2013, 12:28   #1719  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 7,276
Yes, atm. you can't feed x265 with avs2yuv/mencoder/ffmpeg or similar tools which decode stuff and output the decoded content to the standard output.
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2013, 12:44   #1720  |  Link
Music Fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,744
Amazing, this makes 2 huge limitations for a tool supposed to be more mature than h264. I guess it's not definitive.
Music Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.