Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 3rd July 2023, 09:44   #2001  |  Link
gfxnow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by LigH View Post
Wow this is awesome! Didn't know it can be run on local files.
gfxnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2023, 16:37   #2002  |  Link
littleD
Registered User
 
littleD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 343
Quote:
Originally Posted by gfxnow View Post
Wow this is awesome! Didn't know it can be run on local files.
But what Request Super resolution option means in normal MPC vr?
littleD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2023, 17:13   #2003  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 8,015
it only means it trys to access it.

there is nothing of value here anyway the scaler is a very very bad joke.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2023, 23:48   #2004  |  Link
Cutterkin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2022
Posts: 11
I noticed the the K-Lite compiled installation of MPC-HC does not included the file D3DCompiler_47.dll in the program folder, yet MPC-HC seems to work fine. Looking around my Windows 10 boxes I see that all of them already have it in the various system folders anyway, and also noticed that they seem to be much newer versions.

So my questions are what is D3DCompiler_47.dll anyway? Do I need it in my MPC-HC program folder? If so, should I replace the existing one with a newer one?

All is working fine; I'm just curious about this.

Thank you!
Cutterkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2023, 16:58   #2005  |  Link
v0lt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cutterkin View Post
So my questions are what is D3DCompiler_47.dll anyway?
To compile shaders.
Quote:
Do I need it in my MPC-HC program folder?
Yes, if you are using Windows 7 and you have not installed the DirectX package or update KB4019990.
v0lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2023, 19:11   #2006  |  Link
Cutterkin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2022
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by v0lt View Post
To compile shaders.

Yes, if you are using Windows 7 and you have not installed the DirectX package or update KB4019990.
Thank you for the info sir!
Cutterkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2023, 08:31   #2007  |  Link
butterw2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 303
Just curious, does anyone use windowed zoom 25%, what's the use case ?

"- mpc-hc Changes from 1.9.1 to 1.9.2: Added a 25% zoom shortcut and menu entry"
butterw2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2023, 17:44   #2008  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 896
If you have an absolutely massive screen definition on a monitor, and you want to play a video in a corner of the screen?
It's quicker and easier than resizing the window by hand.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 22H2, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters/ReClock/madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400 oc'd, GeForce 1050 Ti 536.40
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2023, 22:39   #2009  |  Link
clsid
*****
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,664
Sigh. It is 25% of video size, not screen size.
__________________
MPC-HC 2.3.1
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2023, 08:38   #2010  |  Link
varekai
Registered User
 
varekai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 530
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsid View Post
Sigh. It is 25% of video size, not screen size.
Sigh... The arrogance...
Now I remember why I don't use MPC-HC anymore...
And there are much better full-fledged media players
options that work flawlessly.
varekai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2023, 11:18   #2011  |  Link
butterw2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 303
Well the window scaling works pretty good in mpc-hc.
I like that you can scale to video zoom 50% in windowed mode and avoid black borders on the sides (it requires disabing the toolbar for vertical videos).

The benefit of the 25% zoom option seems marginal (8K (4320p) videos on a 1440p monitor, maybe ?) but it might make sense as a temporary setting for a small window on 4K videos.
If it was feasible I think making the 25% value user configurable would be good. For lower res videos, 75% or 150% are typically more useful.

Last edited by butterw2; 24th July 2023 at 12:36.
butterw2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2023, 02:13   #2012  |  Link
Schwartz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 70
I can no longer skip back or ahead in Youtube videos piped into MPC-HC via yt-dlp. Sometimes it works, but frequently it will just make the player unresponsive until I kill it. It may work fine if I let the video play without skipping - or it may encounter a "chunk" that it can't find and it'll do stuff like play audio while the video has frozen. Youtube seems to have changed something in its delivery of video streams lately. I'm hesitant to open an issue at yt-dlp since when the video has been loaded, I don't see yt-dlp.exe running anymore... it looks like MPC-HC handles the rest.

Anyone else getting this?
Schwartz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2023, 12:49   #2013  |  Link
clsid
*****
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,664
They seem to have changed something that FFmpeg doesn't like. There is nothing I can do about it. You need to wait until hls support gets improved in FFmpeg and then that LAV Filters gets updated.

Workaround:
Options > Advanced > YDLVideoFormat = 2

With H264 it works better than VP9.
__________________
MPC-HC 2.3.1

Last edited by clsid; 29th July 2023 at 12:52.
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2023, 14:48   #2014  |  Link
Sunspark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 503
I tested this on 2 youtube videos, no freezes were experienced skipping back and forth with h264. Freezes with vp09.

If you're getting freezes with h264, try this build of ffmpeg: https://github.com/yt-dlp/FFmpeg-Bui...-win64-gpl.zip
Sunspark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2023, 17:39   #2015  |  Link
ksio89
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 25
Not exactly related to MPC itself, but I recently noticed that when my desktop GPU (RTX 2060 12GB) is plugged into it my monitor (which supports FreeSync Premium), 119.88Hz refresh rate is available, and that this value is an exact multiple of both 29.97 and 59.94. Does this mean I can get perfect 1/4 and 1/2 sync with videos at those respective framerates? IIRC, having refresh rate that is a multiple prevents pulldown or a similar sounding technique, that can cause some syncing artefacts from what I've read.

I'm just curious if there's an actual benefit is watching 29.97/59.94 fps videos at this refresh rate.

Last edited by ksio89; 31st July 2023 at 17:45.
ksio89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2023, 19:49   #2016  |  Link
.m4jX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ksio89 View Post
Does this mean I can get perfect 1/4 and 1/2 sync with videos at those respective framerates?
Exactly. But you already get smooth 29.97/59.94fps playback with 59.94Hz, the advantage of 119.88Hz is that you can play 23.976fps and 29.97fps content without drops.

Refresh rate just has to be a multiple of the fps of your content, there's no additional benefit to having a higher refresh rate. Playing 29.97fps content at 29.97Hz, 59.94Hz and 119.88Hz should look the exact same, assuming your monitor doesn't do something differently.

Last edited by .m4jX; 31st July 2023 at 19:52.
.m4jX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st August 2023, 20:21   #2017  |  Link
ksio89
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by .m4jX View Post
Exactly. But you already get smooth 29.97/59.94fps playback with 59.94Hz, the advantage of 119.88Hz is that you can play 23.976fps and 29.97fps content without drops.
Nice catch, I didn't realise 119.88 was a multiple of 23.976 too. And you also made notice that while 119.88Hz is not available when my laptop (Iris Xe Graphics) is plugged, 59.94Hz is, which is useful for 59.94fps YouTube videos.

Quote:
Originally Posted by .m4jX View Post
Refresh rate just has to be a multiple of the fps of your content, there's no additional benefit to having a higher refresh rate. Playing 29.97fps content at 29.97Hz, 59.94Hz and 119.88Hz should look the exact same, assuming your monitor doesn't do something differently.
I agree 100% with you. That's why I set my monitor to 120Hz, even though it can go up to 165Hz, so I don't have sync issues when playing games at 30 or 60 fps. For those games that don't have a 30 or 60 fps cap and just run at refresh rate, I just enable 1/4 or 1/2 sync at Nvidia Profile Inpector. Well, I can't see much of a difference above 120fps anyway, so it also helps keeping GPU power consumption, temps and fan noise in check.

By the way, why is vsync disabled with MPC Video Renderer? Shall I switch to Sync Renderer or EVR CP if I want perfect video sync when refresh rate is either 59.94 or 119.88 Hz?

Last edited by ksio89; 1st August 2023 at 20:34.
ksio89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2023, 09:21   #2018  |  Link
nji
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 217
Question: Shortcut to a postion within a movie?

In YT it is possible to save a "shortcut" to a position
withhin a movie (A feature I quite often use).
Does MPC-HC allow something similar?
(Like a drag and drop from the timeline,
saved as a command line to let open MPC a movie
at that specific position).
nji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2023, 12:49   #2019  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,998
CTRL+G over the frame you want save, CTRL+C to save the frame.
Store the frame.
Next time you open the file: CTRL+G, CTRL+V and Go!

Or CTRL+G over the frame you want save, select and save Time and
mpc-hc.exe "pathname" /startpos hh:mm:ss
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2023, 14:11   #2020  |  Link
nji
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 217
Thanks.

I know it can be achieved in those ponderous ways.

But I was asking if MPC-HC provides the steps with ONE click/ drag'n drop
(like YT for example).

Last edited by nji; 10th August 2023 at 14:40.
nji is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.