Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 7th October 2011, 07:11   #1  |  Link
cjplay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 17
AVISynth using QTSource as an input to FFMPEG

All,

I'm pretty close to my wits end here. I need to get 4:2:2 8-bit video and 24-bit uncompressed audio out of my AVS script (burn-ins, HD to SD conversion, sometimes using SalFPS3, and merging with audio) and into FFMPEG for an Avid MOV output to edit with, mostly on a weekly basis.

My script is basically QTSource loading the ProRes MOV file with 8 tracks of mono (using audio=2). The files (any files, QT, MPEG-2, AVI, etc.) that FFMPEG puts out all say the same error - "Unable to initialize Quicktime Environment".

Script right now - QTInput("Myfile.mov",audio=2,mode=0).
This script loads in VDub just fine, just not in FFMPEG or MPlayer. Piping using AVS2YUV, AVS2pipe and pipemod, and avs2avi have failed. Any thoughts? Am I stuck transcoding twice to do this?

Thanks for any help. -CJ
cjplay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2011, 11:57   #2  |  Link
TheFluff
Excessively jovial fellow
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: rude
Posts: 1,100
Have you tried FFMS2? Recent versions (newer than 2.16) should support ProRes.

By the way, it's pretty odd that the choice of client application can make QT fail to initialize. There's definitely something odd going on there.

Last edited by TheFluff; 7th October 2011 at 12:04.
TheFluff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2011, 18:40   #3  |  Link
cjplay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 17
Fluff, much thanks. I am a fan of FFMS2 and have 2.15. I will update to 2.16 and see what happens. Do you know if the H.264 indexing got any better?
cjplay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2011, 00:30   #4  |  Link
TheRyuu
warpsharpened
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 787
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjplay View Post
Fluff, much thanks. I am a fan of FFMS2 and have 2.15. I will update to 2.16 and see what happens. Do you know if the H.264 indexing got any better?
You need to use the latest test build (currently r570 - built 9/28/2011 so it SHOULD have it). Prores decoding was added to libav on 9/22/2011 so 2.16 doesn't have it.

What do you mean by h264 indexing? Are you referring to BDMV h264? If so then no it's still pretty broken and probably will continue to be until someone writes a custom transport stream parser. I recommend DGAVCDecodeDI/NV for that kind of content. YMMV though, sometimes with the right settings it works, normally progressive stuff generally works ok. It's the interlaced stuff you have to watch out for. h264 from other sources (x264) should be ok.

Last edited by TheRyuu; 8th October 2011 at 00:34.
TheRyuu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2011, 03:07   #5  |  Link
cjplay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 17
Thanks Ryuu. Not terribly worried about H.264, although working if wrapped in an MP4 might interest me as those populate my DLNA-equipped network of media rips. So easy to get FFMPEG to spit those out.

Thanks again. I'll let you know how it goes!

-CJ
cjplay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th October 2011, 06:18   #6  |  Link
cjplay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 17
Almost hit it out of the park!



Guys,

File indexed, loaded the file, and transcoded in FFMPEG using FFMS2 v570 as the source plugin. It was great. Just added 8 lines of audio loaders (8 mono tracks), but that's fine with me unless you have an easier way.

The only issue I ran into is in the attachments. The source is what the colorbars should look like and the badissue.jpg is what came out. Any thoughts on what caused that? I tried forcing other colorspaces (colorspace="YUY2", "YV12", and "RGB24"), but no change in the result. Similar issues come up during the content itself, but mostly in the dark areas. Thoughts?

Code:
####### AVS for converting "TestFile" to an EVD ####### 
v = FFVideoSource("H:\Testfile_ProRes_8chPCM.mov",colorspace="YUY2")
a1 = FFAudioSource("H:\Testfile_ProRes_8chPCM.mov",track=1)
a2 = FFAudioSource("H:\Testfile_ProRes_8chPCM.mov",track=2)
a3 = FFAudioSource("H:\Testfile_ProRes_8chPCM.mov",track=3)
a4 = FFAudioSource("H:\Testfile_ProRes_8chPCM.mov",track=4)
a5 = FFAudioSource("H:\Testfile_ProRes_8chPCM.mov",track=5)
a6 = FFAudioSource("H:\Testfile_ProRes_8chPCM.mov",track=6)
a7 = FFAudioSource("H:\Testfile_ProRes_8chPCM.mov",track=7)
a8 = FFAudioSource("H:\Testfile_ProRes_8chPCM.mov",track=8)
a = MergeChannels(a1,a2,a3,a4,a5,a6,a7,a8)
(HasAudio(a)==true) ? AudioDub(v,a) : v 
AssumeTFF().Crop(240,0,1440,1080)
Spline64Resize(720,480).SeparateFields().SelectEvery(8, 0,1, 2,3,2, 5,4, 7,6,7).Weave().assumefps(29.970,true).ResampleAudio(48000).AssumeTFF()
Attached Files
File Type: 7z issues_and_Script.7z (16.8 KB, 53 views)
cjplay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2011, 06:33   #7  |  Link
cjplay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 17
Tried 579 with no luck fixing the color issue when coming from ProRes HQ MOV file. Any ideas?
cjplay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2011, 09:28   #8  |  Link
Yellow_
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 378
Is it scaling your luma maybe?
Yellow_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2011, 17:46   #9  |  Link
cjplay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 17
Tried 580 and it worked. Had to delete the index first, so maybe 579 was working. Thank you for your help!!
cjplay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
avisynth, error 2039, ffmpegsource, qtsource, quicktime

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.