Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD & BD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 19th April 2024, 23:20   #31681  |  Link
CV91913
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 121
The only app I have that uses Quick Sync is CloneBD. Using a gen 9 i7 I have seen 1080p encodes in the 300+ range. It is variable but generally averages in the 200+. I pretty much use it to convert BD to mp4. I set it to create 4gb files at 720p. Takes about 15 min.
CV91913 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2024, 02:33   #31682  |  Link
iambryanknowles
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2024
Posts: 12
Ignore

Last edited by iambryanknowles; 24th May 2024 at 00:12.
iambryanknowles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2024, 15:53   #31683  |  Link
Mark_Venture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
On that subject... I was thinking about adding QuickSync support (probably via FFMPEG). But in a test (using a 13th gen i5 [i5-13420H] with built-in UHD graphic support) doing H265 encoding I was a little surprised how much slower it was than my Nvidia card. My Nvidia card is giving well over 300fps on 1080p encodes -- and I was only averaging about 100fps using that GPU and Quicksync. Is that typical? It doesn't seem that much faster than X265 on that same CPU?
If you want to give me command lines for both QuickSync and Nvidia that I could run against the same MKV, I can can share the outcome.

I have EVGA GeForce RTX 3060 XC GAMING 12GB, 12G-P5-3657-KR, and i7-14700k (UHD770), and i9-10900k(uhd630) that I can run it against.
Mark_Venture is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2024, 10:39   #31684  |  Link
Emulgator
Big Bit Savings Now !
 
Emulgator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: close to the wall
Posts: 1,598
As I tried it last time (I have to reconfigure in BIOS to unhide iGPU, so not doing that everyday) QuickSync was still miles faster than
x265 (the latter yielding 0,7fps for a prime 4K UHD-BD on this i9-11900K) vs. nVidia 3080 running like 26..28fps for a comparable good UHD-BD NVEnc profile. Will have to run a comparison again, given the latest developments.
__________________
"To bypass shortcuts and find suffering...is called QUALity" (Die toten Augen von Friedrichshain)
"Data reduction ? Yep, Sir. We're that issue working on. Synce invntoin uf lingöage..."
Emulgator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2024, 14:24   #31685  |  Link
raul124
Registered User
 
raul124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Yonkers New York USA
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark_Venture View Post
If you want to give me command lines for both QuickSync and Nvidia that I could run against the same MKV, I can can share the outcome.

I have EVGA GeForce RTX 3060 XC GAMING 12GB, 12G-P5-3657-KR, and i7-14700k (UHD770), and i9-10900k(uhd630) that I can run it against.
Very interesting topic. I would love to find out the outcome
raul124 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2024, 00:18   #31686  |  Link
DoctorM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 560
I can't figure something out.
I'm trying to rebuild a disc with bonus features from a couple different sources. I took a screenshot from one of the source BDs and edited it a bit.
I set the config file with "MENU_BACKGROUND=C:\Users\DoctorM\Desktop\QM Bonus Features\QMMenu.png" but the background is a starry sky.
I tried converting it to a JPG and the same thing.
Is there something I'm missing?

Last edited by DoctorM; 23rd April 2024 at 00:56.
DoctorM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2024, 00:34   #31687  |  Link
Emulgator
Big Bit Savings Now !
 
Emulgator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: close to the wall
Posts: 1,598
Path contains spaces, so got to be in quotes
__________________
"To bypass shortcuts and find suffering...is called QUALity" (Die toten Augen von Friedrichshain)
"Data reduction ? Yep, Sir. We're that issue working on. Synce invntoin uf lingöage..."
Emulgator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2024, 05:09   #31688  |  Link
DoctorM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 560
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emulgator View Post
Path contains spaces, so got to be in quotes
Yup. That seems to have done it.
DoctorM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2024, 13:54   #31689  |  Link
cartman0208
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
On that subject... I was thinking about adding QuickSync support (probably via FFMPEG). But in a test (using a 13th gen i5 [i5-13420H] with built-in UHD graphic support) doing H265 encoding I was a little surprised how much slower it was than my Nvidia card. My Nvidia card is giving well over 300fps on 1080p encodes -- and I was only averaging about 100fps using that GPU and Quicksync. Is that typical? It doesn't seem that much faster than X265 on that same CPU?
That would match the observations made here:
https://technical.city/en/video/UHD-...70-vs-Arc-A770
The clock speeds of the build-in gpu are way lower than in the dedicated ones.
Nevertheless a good performance for something you basically get for free with your processor.
cartman0208 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2024, 16:37   #31690  |  Link
Mark_Venture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
On that subject... I was thinking about adding QuickSync support (probably via FFMPEG). But in a test (using a 13th gen i5 [i5-13420H] with built-in UHD graphic support) doing H265 encoding I was a little surprised how much slower it was than my Nvidia card. My Nvidia card is giving well over 300fps on 1080p encodes -- and I was only averaging about 100fps using that GPU and Quicksync. Is that typical? It doesn't seem that much faster than X265 on that same CPU?
I just noticed, isn't the i5 13420H a mobile processor? Will its GPU be as strong as a desktop 13th gen's UHD7xx gpu?.
Mark_Venture is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2024, 19:32   #31691  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,989
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark_Venture View Post
I just noticed, isn't the i5 13420H a mobile processor? Will its GPU be as strong as a desktop 13th gen's UHD7xx gpu?.
Yes, it was on a notebook that I borrowed. Not sure what impact that would have on GPU encode speeds.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2024, 14:25   #31692  |  Link
iambryanknowles
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2024
Posts: 12
BD Rebuilder has started to fail during audio conversion. It has started adding "_eng" to the end of the extracted audio file name, before the file extension. I've found that if I rename the file deleting "_eng" and rerun the program, it successfully converts the audio. Do you know what could be causing this?
For AC3 files, it also generates an empty file without the "_eng".

Last edited by iambryanknowles; 16th May 2024 at 14:33.
iambryanknowles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2024, 16:42   #31693  |  Link
kpic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 95
Not sure if this is a bug or not or just a limitation?

UHD 4K title through BDRB, set UHDMaxrate=36000 (I'll do this as I am putting it on BD50 media so the bitrate needs to come down) - Done it plenty of times w\no issue.

As expected it encoded the main movie only down, well this current title I have has 25!! TV spots & trailers, BDRB obviously did not encode those (even with 'Quicker Encode' set to on it never picked them up) so it never brought the bitrate down on any of them (spikes of 90+Mbps on some of them).

Thought I'd be smart; I pulled out the main movie M2TS that left only the extras (4.55gb worth), figured BDRB could encode these down if I turn on the 'Quicker Encode for extras' on and set the CRF=30 in the INI and set the size limit to 3gb. Set this way BDRB did pick up all the extras however they ended up with a Dolby Digital only file (They are all TrueHD audio) even though I didn't change the setup (HD audio intact etc). I suppose BDRB saw the Quick Encode and CRF=3- and size of 3gb and figured the only way to do that was to strip out the TrueHD audio track?

Even if this would have worked I still would have had to get all those M2TS files back into the main structure and may have had to edit with BDEdit every one of those 25 clips & playlists.

So I guess I'm asking if there is an easier way, is there a HiddenOpt to ensure the entire structure (Main movie & extras) are all encoded down?

EDIT TO ADD: Everything does show up to encode if I set the target to BD-9 but that doesn't help much as of course I want a BD-50 taget size)

Last edited by kpic; 18th May 2024 at 16:47. Reason: Addition
kpic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2024, 06:42   #31694  |  Link
cartman0208
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 208
Quote:
So I guess I'm asking if there is an easier way, is there a HiddenOpt to ensure the entire structure (Main movie & extras) are all encoded down?
I'm not 100% sure about the following, but give it a try.
Go to Settings - Import/Quickplay
What's the threshold for Minimum BD Playlist minutes?
If that is set to low (default is 10 minutes I think) BDRB doesn't pick up trailers and such and leaves those intact.
cartman0208 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2024, 09:24   #31695  |  Link
musiclover
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by kpic View Post
So I guess I'm asking if there is an easier way, is there a HiddenOpt to ensure the entire structure (Main movie & extras) are all encoded down?
Set the following in your ini file: MIN_M2TS_SIZE=0
musiclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd May 2024, 06:03   #31696  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,145
Quote:
Originally Posted by kpic View Post
UHD 4K title through BDRB, set UHDMaxrate=36000 (I'll do this as I am putting it on BD50 media so the bitrate needs to come down) - Done it plenty of times w\no issue.
Why not set: Target size BD=50
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd May 2024, 15:19   #31697  |  Link
kpic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 95
Thanks everyone, results...

cartman0208: I actually never saw those options, but I'm doing a 'Full Backup' not the Quickplay so I don't think any of that'll work?

MrVideo: Target size is not a problem, and the size of the files are not a problem. I'm trying to lower the bit-rate of each of the M2TS files not just the main movie (by setting the 'UHDMaxrate' option). Bringing the size down of the original UHD to fit on a BD-50 is fine but you also need to lower the bit-rate as well (BDR media has an upper threshold to bit-rate limit). I am attempting to get all of the high bit-rate trailers to show up in the 'stream' window to ensure BDRB is encoding those as well as the main movie (using UHDMaxrate limit I set)

musiclover: Well setting the MIN_M2TS_SIZE=0 did in fact do 'something' but odd result. Now the main movie (as usual) shows up in the window but as well as 3 other M2TS; 2.8mb (one of the smallest files on the disc and is just the 'Not in HDR' message), 53mb (the disc intro) & 20mb (an end of disc message). So it seems to have done the opposite, those M2TS files are some of the smallest M2TS files (and thus are not even trailers) it didn't recognize any of the 20+ trailers that range in size from 48mb to 450mb. Setting MIN_M2TS_SIZE=1 (or any number above '0') just picks up the main movie only again.

Odd that it picked up the 53mb M2TS that is an intro but none of the teaser trailers that were even smaller (from 40mb to 50mb) so wonder why it skipped those? Some of them are about 9 seconds in length could that be the issue? Although it also didn't pick up any of the longer 2 minute trailers either. So for some reason it's not picking any of those up and decided (randomly?) on those three M2TS files?
kpic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd May 2024, 16:25   #31698  |  Link
musiclover
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 184
@kpic
Just a longshot. Try it with REENCODE_MENUS=1 in your ini file.

And setting Target size BD=50 may also have some effect. BDRB should know then to lower the bitrate of all videos.

Last edited by musiclover; 23rd May 2024 at 16:28.
musiclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd May 2024, 21:26   #31699  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,145
Quote:
Originally Posted by musiclover View Post
And setting Target size BD=50 may also have some effect. BDRB should know then to lower the bitrate of all videos.
Exactly, which is why I suggested it. The only way to reduce the size of the video file is to lower the bitrate.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2024, 01:10   #31700  |  Link
kpic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVideo View Post
Exactly, which is why I suggested it. The only way to reduce the size of the video file is to lower the bitrate.
So sorry MrVideo, that seems to be my fault there. I was wondering why you mentioned that then I re-read my original post and I didn't mention that I had already reduced the size set as well.

The original un-touched is 82gb (movie=81gb & 1gb in extras). My first try I did set the Target=50 as normal (along with my UHDMaxrate set) but the result dropped it all the way down to 39gb (though at this point I didn't compare any of the extras to see if they were shrunk down compared to the originals)

I then set a custom size to 46500 and that gave me a total size of 44gb, at this point I noticed the extras were not touched at all.

So I'll try another re-encode with the normal 'Target=50' set instead of a custom size and I'll set the 'REENCODE_MENUS=1' as well and see what I get with that.
kpic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.