Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 9th October 2021, 14:26   #501  |  Link
TDS
Formally known as .......
 
TDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Down Under.
Posts: 1,051
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogway View Post
I found BM3D to be a bit soft on edges, I think because it does some spatial filtering (3D). For video I normally avoid denoising directly in spatial domain unless it's something very specific or masked. For guiding I think it's good, in my brief comparisons motion estimation was better than KNLMeansCL, but it usually hanged when trying higher radius.

@TDS: Post the error message so I can have a look, otherwise can't help. If you want a cleanup tip, just keep core filters and move out old ones or used sparsely, then try to update them to latest version, including AviSynth.
That's the plan....and I will post errors msg's too... it's just they vary from script to script.

Thanks
__________________
Long term RipBot264 user.

RipBot264 modded builds..
*new* x264 & x265 addon packs..
TDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2021, 14:27   #502  |  Link
TDS
Formally known as .......
 
TDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Down Under.
Posts: 1,051
Quote:
Originally Posted by StainlessS View Post
TDS, you need this [in the 1st post, TextArea Cache ].:- https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=177066
Strange thing was, I had posted several replies to another user, but the one to Dogway failed
__________________
Long term RipBot264 user.

RipBot264 modded builds..
*new* x264 & x265 addon packs..
TDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2021, 01:25   #503  |  Link
TDS
Formally known as .......
 
TDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Down Under.
Posts: 1,051
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogway View Post
@TDS: Post the error message so I can have a look, otherwise can't help. If you want a cleanup tip, just keep core filters and move out old ones or used sparsely, then try to update them to latest version, including AviSynth.
Hey Dogway, can you please reply to this post :-

https://forum.doom9.org/showpost.php...&postcount=491

It was delayed a day or so for some reason, and it's now been allowed

And another thing, now that MysteryX has mentioned multiple pre-filters, could that be done with your scripts ??

eg:-
Quote:
video=SMDegrain(video,tr=6,thSAD=600,contrasharp=30,str=1.2,refinemotion=true,prefilter=4,prefilter=5)
__________________
Long term RipBot264 user.

RipBot264 modded builds..
*new* x264 & x265 addon packs..
TDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2021, 01:46   #504  |  Link
kedautinh12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 2,160
Oh, hi oldman, TDS is your new account?
kedautinh12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2021, 01:49   #505  |  Link
kedautinh12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 2,160
SMDegrain only support single prefilter. You need wait MysteryX port xclean to avs but you sure will complain about speed again
kedautinh12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2021, 02:13   #506  |  Link
Dogway
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,364
OK, now I see. Yes there's no 's' argument in ex_KNLMeansCL() I added it now (also wmode) and defaulted to be the same as 'a', and it gains some sharpness back. Anyway this doesn't trigger any error whatsoever...

You can use any prefilter on your own, the 'prefilter' argument is just a commodity, it's not an end-it-all solution, for advanced prefiltering you define it yourself like:
Code:
pre=fluxsmootht(3).removegrain(11)
SMDegrain(tr=6,thSAD=500,contrasharp=40,prefilter=pre,str=1.2,refinemotion=true)
The documentation is old but it's still useful for most of the settings, so have a look at it.
Also observe the presence of 'Str' the prefilter clip is still passed the normalization stage with ex_luma_rebuild() in this case.
__________________
i7-4790K@Stock::GTX 1070] AviSynth+ filters and mods on GitHub + Discussion thread
Dogway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2021, 03:11   #507  |  Link
TDS
Formally known as .......
 
TDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Down Under.
Posts: 1,051
Quote:
Originally Posted by kedautinh12 View Post
Oh, hi oldman, TDS is your new account?
Hmmm, close, we both use RipBot264, and "we" have been helping each other trying to improve RipBot as the dev seems to have lost his interest of late.

When he mentioned that he was going to take a break, I created an account to carry on.

I'm sure he will appear every so often.

You helped him a lot, so hopefully you can continue, for me ?

But it can be a bit tedious (TDS)
__________________
Long term RipBot264 user.

RipBot264 modded builds..
*new* x264 & x265 addon packs..
TDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2021, 03:19   #508  |  Link
kedautinh12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 2,160
Quote:
Originally Posted by TDS View Post
Hmmm, close, we both use RipBot264, and "we" have been helping each other trying to improve RipBot as the dev seems to have lost his interest of late.

When he mentioned that he was going to take a break, I created an account to carry on.

I'm sure he will appear every so often.

You helped him a lot, so hopefully you can continue, for me ?

But it can be a bit tedious (TDS)
Ok, i will help you in my possibility
kedautinh12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2021, 05:45   #509  |  Link
TDS
Formally known as .......
 
TDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Down Under.
Posts: 1,051
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogway View Post
OK, now I see. Yes there's no 's' argument in ex_KNLMeansCL() I added it now (also wmode) and defaulted to be the same as 'a', and it gains some sharpness back. Anyway this doesn't trigger any error whatsoever...

You can use any prefilter on your own, the 'prefilter' argument is just a commodity, it's not an end-it-all solution, for advanced prefiltering you define it yourself like:
Code:
pre=fluxsmootht(3).removegrain(11)
SMDegrain(tr=6,thSAD=500,contrasharp=40,prefilter=pre,str=1.2,refinemotion=true)
The documentation is old but it's still useful for most of the settings, so have a look at it.
Also observe the presence of 'Str' the prefilter clip is still passed the normalization stage with ex_luma_rebuild() in this case.
Thanks, but I really don't understand most of this stuff.


HOWEVER:-

Quote:
#change contrasharp=true to contrasharp=(int) it errors on line 538 of SMDegrain333d

#adding lsb=true or false, wont even start Avsmeter
These didn't work for me.

Quote:
#pre=fluxsmootht(3).removegrain(11)
#SMDegrain(tr=6,thSAD=500,contrasharp=30,prefilter=pre,str=1.2,refinemotion=true,lsb=true)
So, so far, so good, on the next script
__________________
Long term RipBot264 user.

RipBot264 modded builds..
*new* x264 & x265 addon packs..

Last edited by TDS; 15th October 2021 at 04:08.
TDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2021, 09:17   #510  |  Link
Dogway
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,364
lsb settings are deprecated. They are not in SMDegrain anymore, the error message should tell you.

Also:
Quote:
#change contrasharp=true to contrasharp=(int) it errors on line 538 of SMDegrain333d
Is not an error message it's the telephone game. If I had to guess you explicitly wrote "(int)" into the argument?

By the way I'm going to update SMDegrain with a fair amount of changes, nothing critical all bugfixes and improvements.
mfilter is also fixed for defined CClip inputs. Recursion now works again for medianT when tr<=2, and added a few Asserts for it. The 's' argument is added to ex_KNLMeansCL(), and passed to the prefilter which has been tuned for a bit more sharpness. ex_retinex() blacks now have been clipped instead of scaled, this respects the original intent better, also it's faster. New setting which I wanted to add since 7 years ago, 'LFR', it will restore low frequency details, specially useful for TemporalSoften, check the images below.

Code:
smdegrain(tr=2,mode="temporalsoften",blksize=32,thSAD=900,LFR=5,contrasharp=false,refinemotion=true)
smdegrain(tr=2,mode="temporalsoften",blksize=32,thSAD=300,LFR=false,mfilter=ex_boxblur(5,mode="weighted",UV=3),contrasharp=true,refinemotion=true)
source

before

after low frequency restore
__________________
i7-4790K@Stock::GTX 1070] AviSynth+ filters and mods on GitHub + Discussion thread

Last edited by Dogway; 10th October 2021 at 09:25.
Dogway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2021, 09:42   #511  |  Link
TDS
Formally known as .......
 
TDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Down Under.
Posts: 1,051
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogway View Post
lsb settings are deprecated. They are not in SMDegrain anymore, the error message should tell you

Is not an error message it's the telephone game. If I had to guess you explicitly wrote "(int)" into the argument?

By the way I'm going to update SMDegrain with a fair amount of changes, nothing critical all bugfixes and improvements.
So sorry 'bout that, I was actually going to write "a number" but thought int would describe that.
Quote:
Is not an error message it's the telephone game. If I had to guess you explicitly wrote "(int)" into the argument?
Quote:
#change contrasharp=true to contrasharp=(a number) it errors on line 538 of SMDegrain333d
Code:
smdegrain(tr=2,mode="temporalsoften",blksize=32,thSAD=900,LFR=5,contrasharp=false,refinemotion=true)
smdegrain(tr=2,mode="temporalsoften",blksize=32,thSAD=300,LFR=false,mfilter=ex_boxblur(5,mode="weighted",UV=3),contrasharp=true,refinemotion=true)
I very much doubt that I will be able to use 2 SMDegrain lines like that.
__________________
Long term RipBot264 user.

RipBot264 modded builds..
*new* x264 & x265 addon packs..
TDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2021, 10:04   #512  |  Link
Dogway
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,364
Why don't you post the error message or the SMDegrain call? I can't interpret what you interpret of those. Post concise information so I can give you precise answers.
SMDegrain v3.3.4d is released now. Currently LFR requires ExTools v6.1 which is unreleased because I want to solve the optimized median of 48 inputs. I might release it without it if I get stuck.
__________________
i7-4790K@Stock::GTX 1070] AviSynth+ filters and mods on GitHub + Discussion thread
Dogway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2021, 11:20   #513  |  Link
TDS
Formally known as .......
 
TDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Down Under.
Posts: 1,051
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogway View Post
Why don't you post the error message or the SMDegrain call? I can't interpret what you interpret of those. Post concise information so I can give you precise answers.
SMDegrain v3.3.4d is released now. Currently LFR requires ExTools v6.1 which is unreleased because I want to solve the optimized median of 48 inputs. I might release it without it if I get stuck.
OK, I thought I was explaining it as best I could, but in the future I will post the "call", then try to explain the error....not sure if I can copy the error msg.

Will get latest SMDegrain, and see how it goes.

Currently I have everything working sweet, after the "clean up" so that was worth it.

One other question:-

Can the values in red, be easily changed, or does it need to be done somewhere else ??

(prefilter== 4) ? inputP.ex_KNLMeansCL(a=2,s=2,d=1,h=7.0,wmode=0,chroma=chroma,device_type="GPU",device_id=device_id) : \
(prefilter== 5) ? inputP.ex_BM3D(sigma=5,radius=1,CUDA=true,UV=Chr,fulls=fs)
__________________
Long term RipBot264 user.

RipBot264 modded builds..
*new* x264 & x265 addon packs..

Last edited by TDS; 10th October 2021 at 11:31.
TDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2021, 11:52   #514  |  Link
Dogway
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,364
You can do like this:
Code:
pre=ex_KNLMeansCL(a=2,s=2,d=1,h=7.0,wmode=0)
SMDegrain(tr=3,thSAD=300,contrasharp=30,prefilter=pre,refinemotion=true)
__________________
i7-4790K@Stock::GTX 1070] AviSynth+ filters and mods on GitHub + Discussion thread
Dogway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2021, 12:08   #515  |  Link
TDS
Formally known as .......
 
TDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Down Under.
Posts: 1,051
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogway View Post
You can do like this:
Code:
pre=ex_KNLMeansCL(a=2,s=2,d=1,h=7.0,wmode=0)
SMDegrain(tr=3,thSAD=300,contrasharp=30,prefilter=pre,refinemotion=true)
I'm pretty sure I cannot use a script like that...see here for an example of what my scripts need to look like (ignore the build numbers, etc)

https://forum.doom9.org/showpost.php...&postcount=398
__________________
Long term RipBot264 user.

RipBot264 modded builds..
*new* x264 & x265 addon packs..
TDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2021, 12:45   #516  |  Link
Dogway
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,364
Why not? elaborate please.
__________________
i7-4790K@Stock::GTX 1070] AviSynth+ filters and mods on GitHub + Discussion thread
Dogway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2021, 13:06   #517  |  Link
TDS
Formally known as .......
 
TDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Down Under.
Posts: 1,051
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogway View Post
Why not? elaborate please.
Several reasons...

The way that scripts are written for/in RipBot264.

My lack of experience & understanding of how to write / adapt scripts.

I have tried a couple of multi line scripts like that, and it just doesn't work
__________________
Long term RipBot264 user.

RipBot264 modded builds..
*new* x264 & x265 addon packs..
TDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2021, 13:16   #518  |  Link
Dogway
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,364
Write in the RipBot264 thread on how you can adapt the above call to be read by RipBot264... I don't use any interface personally.
__________________
i7-4790K@Stock::GTX 1070] AviSynth+ filters and mods on GitHub + Discussion thread
Dogway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2021, 13:23   #519  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,753
That LFR might be useful as a generic function - do you have plans to put it in ExTools? There are often cases where a high thsad is a must but it smooths the flat, low-frequency surfaces a bit too much.
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2021, 13:57   #520  |  Link
TDS
Formally known as .......
 
TDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Down Under.
Posts: 1,051
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogway View Post
Write in the RipBot264 thread on how you can adapt the above call to be read by RipBot264... I don't use any interface personally.
I will give that a try, but I don't expect much.

That is why I'm here.

So how do you test your scripts ?
__________________
Long term RipBot264 user.

RipBot264 modded builds..
*new* x264 & x265 addon packs..
TDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
avisynth, dogway, filters, hbd, packs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.