Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion. Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules. |
|
![]() |
|
Thread Tools | Search this Thread | Display Modes |
![]() |
#21 | Link | |
Broadcast Encoder
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Royal Borough of Kensington & Chelsea, UK
Posts: 2,576
|
Quote:
I'd also add 2.5: 2.5. Interpolate something, blend something else. You'll get smoothness on objects that aren't artifact detected and blending on objects that are. Still, no artifact, but a slightly better smoothness. I very rarely rely on MVTools in Broadcast and I use it on very rare circumstances like slow-motions. The reason why I use it is that it achieves better results than the built-in linear interpolation filter in AVID Media Composer (hats off to the open source community ![]() Anyway, whenever we shoot something ourselves, we try to shoot at 50fps progressive in order to just use assumeTFF() separatefields() selectevery(4,0,3) weave() When we have to make a slow-motion, we record at 200fps progressive so we can slow it down in post production and get it smooth. Sometimes, the producer wants to make a slow-motion of a scene later on, on a second thought, when we are in studio and we already recorded the scene at 50fps progressive; in that case I use MVTools. |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#22 | Link |
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,645
|
It's the sample script I posted. The snow was moving at 24 fps while the character was at 60 fps. Lowering the block size to 16x16 was able to detect the snow, but it wasn't able to interpolate any new snow object in between, so I think mvtools has reach its limit on this one. But you can try to tweak other parameters yourself to see if it helps.
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#23 | Link | |
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 51
|
Quote:
How did you tell it was detecting the snow if it wasn't changing it, is there a way to view all the moving objects it has detected? |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#24 | Link | |
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 51
|
Quote:
That script seems doesn't seem to work very well, I press queue in megui and it it will start and immediately stop, no error displayed but megui has a red cross next to it on the icon which indicates an error. The log tab in megui said this: --[Error] [24/07/2018 19:14:11] Process exits with error: 0xC0000005 STATUS_ACCESS_VIOLATION (-1073741819) Last edited by bradwiggo; 24th July 2018 at 19:16. |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#25 | Link | |
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,645
|
Quote:
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#26 | Link | |
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 51
|
Quote:
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#27 | Link | |
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 51
|
Quote:
Last edited by bradwiggo; 25th July 2018 at 00:02. |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#29 | Link |
Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: California
Posts: 2,635
|
OK, even though I don't like animation, I've been reading these posts (at videohelp and now here) for over a month so I download the clip and played with it.
My conclusion? Unfortunately I now have exactly the same conclusion as I did over in Videohelp: you are chasing a unicorn. There are several problems. First, even though the animation has no dups (unlike anime, etc.) it is still only 24 fps, so there are big gaps in time between frames. The bigger the time gap, the tougher time motion estimation has in figuring out where to put everything for the intermediate frames. Second, there are some really small objects to track (e.g., the snowflakes). There is no way in the world motion estimation can figure out what to do with these, especially since they, by design, are darting almost at random. From a technical standpoint, they are pretty much the same as noise. Third, many of the objects are pretty murky. As one example, about 1/3 of the way through the clip her turquoise glove hand is moving in front of her purple dress. There is very little contrast between the hand and the dress, so the algorithms don't do what they should. I tried those "magic" settings I referred to before, and which seem to have worked well for many people on other material, but the result was pretty bad. It isn't worth posting the result, but here's the script I used (I always frameserve from Vegas, so the video file is always "fs.avi", the frameserver signpost): Code:
loadplugin("C:\Program Files\AviSynth 2.5\plugins\removegrain.dll") film="e:\fs.avi" #setmtmode(5,4) source= Avisource(film).killaudio().converttoYV12() #setmtmode(2) prefiltered = RemoveGrain(source,22) super = MSuper(source,hpad=16, vpad=16, levels=1) # one level is enough for MRecalculate superfilt = MSuper(prefiltered, hpad=16, vpad=16) # all levels for MAnalyse backward = MAnalyse(superfilt, isb = true, blksize=16,overlap=4,search=3,dct=0) forward = MAnalyse(superfilt, isb = false, blksize=16,overlap=4,search=3,dct=0) forward_re = MRecalculate(super, forward, blksize=8, overlap=2,thSAD=100) backward_re = MRecalculate(super, backward, blksize=8, overlap=2,thSAD=100) MFlowFps(source,super, backward_re, forward_re, num=60000, den=1001,ml=200,mask=2) Not my favorite singer, as you can tell. Last edited by johnmeyer; 25th July 2018 at 02:38. Reason: typo |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#30 | Link | |
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,645
|
Quote:
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#31 | Link | |
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 51
|
Quote:
Last edited by bradwiggo; 25th July 2018 at 11:47. |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#32 | Link | |
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 51
|
Quote:
I have however just noticed that at the page I linked in my last comment, it says you need an older driver for AMD iGPUs, so I maybe should have a look at tracking that driver down. |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#33 | Link | |
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 51
|
Quote:
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#34 | Link | |
Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: California
Posts: 2,635
|
Quote:
You will not get those results by suddenly finding some magic settings, pushing a button, and having the results appear. |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#35 | Link | |
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 51
|
Quote:
My goal at the moment isn't to try to find a script that can produce interpolation of the quality in the video for the whole movie, it is simply to find the script that was used to make that video. Even if that script makes the rest of the movie look rubbish. |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#37 | Link | |
Broadcast Encoder
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Royal Borough of Kensington & Chelsea, UK
Posts: 2,576
|
Quote:
Anyway, the GPU implementation might be slightly different than the CPU one. Anyway, johnmeyer is right, there are cases in which interpolation fails, no matter what filter you use. The best advice would be to use motion interpolation whenever you can and use blending on all the other scenes. Blending doesn't look as smooth as motion interpolation, but it doesn't make the video stutter as a repeated frame does. |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#38 | Link | |
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 51
|
Quote:
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#39 | Link |
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5,221
|
One difference is the YT version you linked to uses scene blending . That could explain the "stutter" that you are seeing, because there would be some duplicate frames at the end of each scene. So in any of those generic interpolation scripts, you would use blend=true for the flow part . Usually it's set to false by default for most interpolation scripts for any generic scripts
In my experience, GPU quality is noticably worse for interpolation for SVP ; larger artifacts, and sometimes even duplicate frames. I posted examples and comparisons probably here and other forums as well. This might not be true for your system or card/hardware setup, so try different combinations . But it's usually much faster Disable all the other options , things like like artifact masking if you want it to look like the YT version If you do all that and still think the YT version is "smoother" ; the other possibility is some playback issue; there might be differences in HW acceleration in browser or local media playback. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#40 | Link | |
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 354
|
Quote:
This nature of animation leads to ugly results instead of getting smoother video. For example, Think that there are 2 objects move in the video. They don't move together sometimes. They might even animated separately. One moves at 12 fps and other one is 8 fps etc... Not full 24 fps. Any interpolation isn't smart enough to see this. They will just add duplicate of that object since it can't see objects as 'moving'. Result wouldn't be not much smoother than the original if not any smoother. That's why he is saying it's impossible. But you can try. Last edited by bxyhxyh; 25th July 2018 at 21:02. |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
Tags |
frame rate, framerateconverter, interpolation, smoothness, svp |
Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
Display Modes | |
|
|