Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > High Efficiency Video Coding (HEVC)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 27th June 2023, 22:31   #9121  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,806
Solution is Simple. --ctu 16 for SD , --ctu 32 for HD/FHD and --ctu 64 for UHD.
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2023, 19:13   #9122  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,718
I tried encoding one track from a Dolby UHD test disc to see if I can make Dolby Vision work on my TV and to test if it falls back to HDR10 when played in Kodi. I extracted the RPU using the demuxing script here in the forum and fed it to the encoder.

With
Code:
c:\x265\x265.exe --input inputfile.avs --input-depth 16 --dither --sar 1:1 --profile main10 --rc-lookahead 40 --min-keyint 5 --keyint 480 --splitrd-skip --colorprim 9 --transfer 16 --colormatrix 9 --master-display "G(13250,34500)B(7500,3000)R(34000,16000)WP(15635,16450)L(40000000,50)" --max-cll "1000,355" --frames 3576 --chromaloc 2 --hdr10 --hdr10-opt --repeat-headers --dolby-vision-profile 8.1 --dolby-vision-rpu "rpu.bin" --preset slower --crf 16 --output "dolby_test.hevc"
I got these errors:
Dolby Vision requires VBV settings to enable HRD.
Dolby Vision RPU count is greater than frame count in x265.

Well, I checked and the RPU is ok.

Adding --vbv-bufsize 999999999 --vbv-maxrate 999999999, I got the encode going so the complaint about the RPU file is a bug. The encode ran at Level 8.5

My question is: is VBV really necessary? Trying to add --no-hrd didn't do any good. I was thinking of patching the thing to skip that check if it's not needed. I know that I don't need it for my use and have never set it.

I could encode normally and just inject the RPU afterwards, but it would be easier and less diskspace consuming to do everything in one go.
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2023, 04:27   #9123  |  Link
Rousseau
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 8
What happened to the "Consecutive B-Frames" stats in the encode log? I just upgraded from Patman's 37 build to JPSDR's 103 build and it's gone. I tried john33's and djatom's binaries with the same result.
Rousseau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2023, 04:52   #9124  |  Link
TDS
Formally known as .......
 
TDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Down Under.
Posts: 965
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boulder View Post
I tried encoding one track from a Dolby UHD test disc to see if I can make Dolby Vision work on my TV and to test if it falls back to HDR10 when played in Kodi. I extracted the RPU using the demuxing script here in the forum and fed it to the encoder.

With
Code:
c:\x265\x265.exe --input inputfile.avs --input-depth 16 --dither --sar 1:1 --profile main10 --rc-lookahead 40 --min-keyint 5 --keyint 480 --splitrd-skip --colorprim 9 --transfer 16 --colormatrix 9 
--master-display "G(13250,34500)B(7500,3000)R(34000,16000)WP(15635,16450)L(40000000,50)" --max-cll "1000,355" --frames 3576 --chromaloc 2 --hdr10 --hdr10-opt --repeat-headers --dolby-vision-profile 8.1 
--dolby-vision-rpu "rpu.bin" --preset slower --crf 16 --output "dolby_test.hevc"
I got these errors:
Dolby Vision requires VBV settings to enable HRD.
Dolby Vision RPU count is greater than frame count in x265.

Well, I checked and the RPU is ok.

Adding --vbv-bufsize 999999999 --vbv-maxrate 999999999, I got the encode going so the complaint about the RPU file is a bug. The encode ran at Level 8.5

My question is: is VBV really necessary? Trying to add --no-hrd didn't do any good. I was thinking of patching the thing to skip that check if it's not needed. I know that I don't need it for my use and have never set it.

I could encode normally and just inject the RPU afterwards, but it would be easier and less diskspace consuming to do everything in one go.
Don't you have to provide the full path to the rpu.bin ???
__________________
Long term RipBot264 user.

RipBot264 modded builds..
TDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2023, 08:56   #9125  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,718
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rousseau View Post
What happened to the "Consecutive B-Frames" stats in the encode log? I just upgraded from Patman's 37 build to JPSDR's 103 build and it's gone. I tried john33's and djatom's binaries with the same result.
It was lost at a recent commit for some reason.. IIRC quietvoid created a patch to get it back though.

Quote:
Don't you have to provide the full path to the rpu.bin
Not needed if the file is in the folder where I launch the command line in. The same for "inputfile.avs".
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2023, 11:48   #9126  |  Link
quietvoid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 570
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rousseau View Post
What happened to the "Consecutive B-Frames" stats in the encode log? I just upgraded from Patman's 37 build to JPSDR's 103 build and it's gone. I tried john33's and djatom's binaries with the same result.
As said above, it was removed.
The code can be added back with this commit: https://github.com/quietvoid/x265/co...a35be4377e390e
__________________
LG C2 OLED | GitHub Projects
quietvoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2023, 16:57   #9127  |  Link
benwaggoner
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 4,750
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boulder View Post
My question is: is VBV really necessary? Trying to add --no-hrd didn't do any good. I was thinking of patching the thing to skip that check if it's not needed. I know that I don't need it for my use and have never set it.
It seems like VBV is important in your case !

I think it's always a good idea to set VBV to ensure compatibility with a given decoder. Just use --level-idc 5.1 and it will auto set reasonable values broadly compatible with UHD BD, Smart TVs, HW GPU decode, etc. 5.1 has a 40 Mbps peak, which is fine for 2160p24 content.
__________________
Ben Waggoner
Principal Video Specialist, Amazon Prime Video

My Compression Book
benwaggoner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2023, 19:37   #9128  |  Link
jpsdr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 2,308
I checked the commit to put back "Consecutive B-Frames" in my moded version, unfortunately, there is big changes, and i don't realy know where and how put the histogram increment count...
__________________
My github.
jpsdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2023, 10:45   #9129  |  Link
madey83
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by quietvoid View Post
As said above, it was removed.
The code can be added back with this commit: https://github.com/quietvoid/x265/co...a35be4377e390e
Have you checked new updated Patman mode?

https://github.com/Patman86/x265-Mod-by-Patman/releases
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2023, 21:42   #9130  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 6,753
New uploads: x265 3.5+103-8f18e3ad3 / x265 3.5+104-47c18bf12 (might be identical, patch counting mistake or different branches?)

[Windows][GCC 13.1.0][32/32XP/64 bit] 8bit+10bit+12bit
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2023, 08:13   #9131  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,718
I have a simple question regarding frametypes and chapter marks when using a qpfile. Does a chapter mark need an I-frame or is an i-frame enough? I'm using open GOP so setting 'K' in the qpfile would place i-frames in the encode.
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2023, 08:48   #9132  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 6,753
An IDR frame (Intra frame with Decoder Reset) is preferable. When you jump to an intermediate I frame which is not IDR (e.g. to encode a single frame very different from the surrounding video), you will get decoding artifacts from predictions skipping this I frame missing a reference.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2023, 11:00   #9133  |  Link
LeXXuz
21 years and counting...
 
LeXXuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 716
Oh darn. Thanks for mentioning that. Now I know why my players always jump a little before or after the specified chapter point. MeGUI sets 'K' as default for keyframes when creating qpfiles. I guess I'll better change those manually to 'I' from now on.
LeXXuz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2023, 06:40   #9134  |  Link
benwaggoner
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 4,750
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeXXuz View Post
Oh darn. Thanks for mentioning that. Now I know why my players always jump a little before or after the specified chapter point. MeGUI sets 'K' as default for keyframes when creating qpfiles. I guess I'll better change those manually to 'I' from now on.
Yeah, only IDR frames are guaranteed to be independently decodable.
__________________
Ben Waggoner
Principal Video Specialist, Amazon Prime Video

My Compression Book
benwaggoner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2023, 19:31   #9135  |  Link
jpsdr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 2,308
Hello.
I've made a new build, and also include some new Patman updates.
As usual, check my github.
__________________
My github.
jpsdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2023, 20:05   #9136  |  Link
Barough
Registered User
 
Barough's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 480
x265 v3.5+108
https://www.mediafire.com/file/h8dmiufrc8al9oc/
__________________
Do NOT re-post any of my Mediafire links. Download & re-host the content(s) if you want to share it somewhere else.
Barough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2023, 15:37   #9137  |  Link
Barough
Registered User
 
Barough's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 480
x265 v3.5+109
https://www.mediafire.com/file/ix5f9yr3fes7tpb
__________________
Do NOT re-post any of my Mediafire links. Download & re-host the content(s) if you want to share it somewhere else.
Barough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2023, 15:59   #9138  |  Link
Barough
Registered User
 
Barough's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 480
x265 v3.5+110
https://www.mediafire.com/file/qbv4h1a20vxwf5i
__________________
Do NOT re-post any of my Mediafire links. Download & re-host the content(s) if you want to share it somewhere else.
Barough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2023, 03:50   #9139  |  Link
sainome
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
Solution is Simple. --ctu 16 for SD , --ctu 32 for HD/FHD and --ctu 64 for UHD.
Question: If I specify --ctu 16, what should I specify for merange?
sainome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2023, 23:05   #9140  |  Link
benwaggoner
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 4,750
Quote:
Originally Posted by sainome View Post
Question: If I specify --ctu 16, what should I specify for merange?
They are orthogonal values, without much connection between optimum values. I'd stick with the one your --preset gives you unless you want to do a bunch of experimentation.

With --ctu 16 I suppose you could try --merange 41, which is 16 below the typical default of 57. It'd be a little faster, and depending on content might not raise bitrate or harm quality materially.
__________________
Ben Waggoner
Principal Video Specialist, Amazon Prime Video

My Compression Book
benwaggoner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.