Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 AVC / H.264

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 25th January 2009, 23:39   #1  |  Link
Chengbin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,060
Adaptive DCT and aud

What does Adaptive DCT and aud do? Should I turn it on? Does it make the output video high profile?
Chengbin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2009, 23:40   #2  |  Link
Dark Shikari
x264 developer
 
Dark Shikari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8,667
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chengbin View Post
Should I turn it on?
yes.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chengbin View Post
Does it make the output video high profile?
yes.
Dark Shikari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2009, 23:42   #3  |  Link
Chengbin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,060
Thank you for the quick response, I edited my question to include the setting aud.

BTW, is there any way to improve the quality of the output video in this setting without making it high profile? BTW this is the setting used to encode anime. BTW, should I turn on psy rd for movies like Wall-E or Kung Fu Panda?

<?xml version="1.0"?>
<VideoProfile xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance" xmlns:xsd="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema">
<Name>2 pass Balanced</Name>
<EncodingMode>4</EncodingMode>
<BitrateQuantizer>1000</BitrateQuantizer>
<KeyframeInterval>1000</KeyframeInterval>
<NbBframes>4</NbBframes>
<MinQuantizer>10</MinQuantizer>
<MaxQuantizer>51</MaxQuantizer>
<Turbo>true</Turbo>
<NoDCTDecimate>false</NoDCTDecimate>
<PSNRCalculation>false</PSNRCalculation>
<noFastPSkip>false</noFastPSkip>
<NoiseReduction>0</NoiseReduction>
<MixedRefs>true</MixedRefs>
<X264Trellis>2</X264Trellis>
<NbRefFrames>6</NbRefFrames>
<AlphaDeblock>-1</AlphaDeblock>
<BetaDeblock>-1</BetaDeblock>
<SubPelRefinement>9</SubPelRefinement>
<MaxQuantDelta>4</MaxQuantDelta>
<TempQuantBlur>0</TempQuantBlur>
<BframePredictionMode>3</BframePredictionMode>
<VBVBufferSize>14000</VBVBufferSize>
<VBVMaxBitrate>25000</VBVMaxBitrate>
<METype>tesa</METype>
<MERange>32</MERange>
<MinGOPSize>25</MinGOPSize>
<Level>4.1</Level>
<IPFactor>1.4</IPFactor>
<PBFactor>1.3</PBFactor>
<ChromaQPOffset>0</ChromaQPOffset>
<VBVInitialBuffer>0.9</VBVInitialBuffer>
<BitrateVariance>1.0</BitrateVariance>
<QuantCompression>0.6</QuantCompression>
<TempComplexityBlur>20</TempComplexityBlur>
<TempQuanBlurCC>0.5</TempQuanBlurCC>
<SCDSensitivity>40</SCDSensitivity>
<BframeBias>0</BframeBias>
<Deblock>true</Deblock>
<Cabac>true</Cabac>
<WeightedBPrediction>true</WeightedBPrediction>
<AdaptiveBFrames>2</AdaptiveBFrames>
<BFramePyramid>true</BFramePyramid>
<ChromaME>true</ChromaME>
<P8x8mv>true</P8x8mv>
<B8x8mv>true</B8x8mv>
<I4x4mv>false</I4x4mv>
<I8x8mv>true</I8x8mv>
<P4x4mv>false</P4x4mv>
<AdaptiveDCT>false</AdaptiveDCT>
<SSIMCalculation>false</SSIMCalculation>
<Interlaced>false</Interlaced>
<Width>false</Width>
<Sar>false</Sar>
<aud>false</aud>
<nal-hrd>false</nal-hrd>
<pulldown>0</pulldown>
<aq-mode>1</aq-mode>
<aq-strength>1</aq-strength>
<deadzone-inter>false</deadzone-inter>
<deadzone-intra>false</deadzone-intra>
<pre-scenecut>false</pre-scenecut>
<psy-rd>false</psy-rd>
<fpel-cmp>false</fpel-cmp>
<me-prepass>false</me-prepass>
<extra1>false</extra1>
<QuantizerMatrixType>0</QuantizerMatrixType>

Last edited by Chengbin; 25th January 2009 at 23:45.
Chengbin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2009, 23:45   #4  |  Link
Dark Shikari
x264 developer
 
Dark Shikari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8,667
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chengbin View Post
<I4x4mv>false</I4x4mv>
Dark Shikari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2009, 23:49   #5  |  Link
Chengbin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,060
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark Shikari View Post
Clarify please. Thanks.
Chengbin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2009, 23:52   #6  |  Link
Sagekilla
x264aholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 1,752
i4x4 partition is helpful. That's why he's surprised you have it off.
__________________
You can't call your encoding speed slow until you start measuring in seconds per frame.
Sagekilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2009, 00:06   #7  |  Link
Esurnir
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 143
aud is useless unless your aiming to make it a bd9/avc-hd (which you don't seeing the profile)

Since I see you got TESA on. Here are some hints.
Quote:
<Name>2 pass Placebo</Name>
<NbBframes>16</NbBframes>
<Turbo>false</Turbo>
<noFastPSkip>true</noFastPSkip>
<NbRefFrames>16</NbRefFrames>
<VBVBufferSize></VBVBufferSize> (note : are you trying to make it dxva compatible ?)
<VBVMaxBitrate></VBVMaxBitrate>
<METype>tesa</METype>
<MERange>32</MERange>
<I4x4mv>true</I4x4mv>
<I8x8mv>false</I8x8mv> (you want main profile)
<P4x4mv>true</P4x4mv>
<psy-rd>true</psy-rd>(note : maybe the correct syntax is 1:0, I don't know your gui)
With this profile, your grandchild will enjoy maybe the greatest quality x264 can offer

(the bold part are the only serious suggestion, all others increase the quality a ridicule ammount, save maybe the turbo for the first pass, but I haven't been able to really witness the effect of a good first pass)
Esurnir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2009, 00:35   #8  |  Link
Chengbin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,060
I'm encoding this for my Archos 5, which doesn't support 16 b and ref frames. It only supports 4 b frame and 6 ref frame (it might support more, but I think those numbers are safe). I'm using AutoMKV.

I thought it is not a good idea to enable psy-rd for anime.

How much improvement in quality do I get with turbo off?

Last edited by Chengbin; 26th January 2009 at 00:37.
Chengbin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2009, 00:37   #9  |  Link
Esurnir
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chengbin View Post
I'm encoding this for my Archos 5, which doesn't support 16 b and ref frames. It only supports 4 b frame and 6 ref frame (it might support more, but I think those numbers are safe)

I thought it is not a good idea to enable psy-rd for anime.
Psy-RD is a bad idea

Psy-RD is a good idea

CG and 3d animation work fine with psy-rd.
Esurnir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2009, 00:40   #10  |  Link
Dark Shikari
x264 developer
 
Dark Shikari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8,667
Quote:
Originally Posted by Esurnir View Post
Psy-RD is a bad idea

Psy-RD is a good idea

CG and 3d animation work fine with psy-rd.
I've found psy-rd works fine on anime at higher bitrates, especially when you're trying to avoid banding in flat areas.
Dark Shikari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2009, 00:42   #11  |  Link
Chengbin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,060
Define higher bitrates.

I'm encoding at around 300-500Kbps for anime. 1000Kbps for movies.

Should I reencode all my movies and anime for the I4x4 improvement? I have lots of time. Does I4x4 provide a noticeable improvement with low bitrates like what I'm using?

EDIT: You know what, I'm gonna reencode all my videos again since I have nothing better to do with my computer (except for F@H). I didn't buy a quad core for nothing. I'm gonna turn off turbo do everything right this time.

Last edited by Chengbin; 26th January 2009 at 00:50.
Chengbin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2009, 00:51   #12  |  Link
Dark Shikari
x264 developer
 
Dark Shikari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8,667
i4x4 provides an enormous benefit... I can't imagine why anyone would turn it off...
Dark Shikari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2009, 00:56   #13  |  Link
Esurnir
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chengbin View Post
Define higher bitrates.

I'm encoding at around 300-500Kbps for anime. 1000Kbps for movies.

Should I reencode all my movies and anime for the I4x4 improvement? I have lots of time. Does I4x4 provide a noticeable improvement with low bitrates like what I'm using?

EDIT: You know what, I'm gonna reencode all my videos again since I have nothing better to do with my computer (except for F@H). I didn't buy a quad core for nothing. I'm gonna turn off turbo do everything right this time.
If you don't really want a set size, maybe you should encode your files using CRF. (also called constant quality).

You use one pass, you don't know what's the resulting file size but you know the quality.

Personaly I never had anyone make me any remark (more like "wow blu-ray are indeed high quality") from a crf 20 encode.

P.S. Keep the vbv settings since you encode for a device.
Esurnir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2009, 01:01   #14  |  Link
Chengbin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,060
I'm using 2 pass because I want to hit a specific size. I have too many videos and too little space on my Archos 5 250GB.
Chengbin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2009, 01:02   #15  |  Link
Chengbin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,060
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark Shikari View Post
i4x4 provides an enormous benefit... I can't imagine why anyone would turn it off...
No wonder you were "scared"
Chengbin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2009, 22:03   #16  |  Link
Chengbin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,060
Turning turbo off doesn't seem to make encoding slower???
Chengbin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2009, 22:10   #17  |  Link
Esurnir
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chengbin View Post
Turning turbo off doesn't seem to make encoding slower???
Turbo really depends on the gui, in megui turbo means that the first pass will use the settings of the second pass. for other software your mileage will vary.
Esurnir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2009, 22:16   #18  |  Link
Chengbin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,060
Quote:
Originally Posted by Esurnir View Post
Turbo really depends on the gui, in megui turbo means that the first pass will use the settings of the second pass. for other software your mileage will vary.
I'm using AutoMKV.
Chengbin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2009, 01:47   #19  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
Quote:
Originally Posted by Esurnir View Post
Turbo really depends on the gui, in megui turbo means that the first pass will use the settings of the second pass. for other software your mileage will vary.
nope... turbo in megui lowers the settings of the first pass to a level they will speed up the encoding but wont hit the quality in a noticeable way.
Sharktooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2009, 01:54   #20  |  Link
Esurnir
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharktooth View Post
nope... turbo in megui lowers the settings of the first pass to a level they will speed up the encoding but wont hit the quality in a noticeable way.
Sorry for the screwup. It is indeed the opposite of what I said.
Esurnir is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.