Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 2nd October 2015, 05:52   #1  |  Link
Batman007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 44
How to use ffdcaenc?

Hello,

I wanna ask how to use ffdcaenc to encode DTS-HD MA audio to DTS (755Kbps)?
Please tell me commands to do it

Thank you.
Batman007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2015, 07:16   #2  |  Link
Sparktank
47.952fps@71.928Hz
 
Sparktank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 940
I think it works best if you convert to W64 then WAV with FFMPEG.
ffdcaenc doesn't like WAV files from eac3to:

Code:
eac3to input.dts intermediate.w64
Code:
ffmpeg intermediate.w64 -acodec pcm_s24le proper-lavf.wav
Code:
ffdcaenc proper-lavf.wav -o final.dts -b 754.5 -l

That's how I have to do it before it can work for DVD(-9) convesions.
Using just eac3to will create broken WAVs that ffdcaenc won't complete.

With FFMPEG including dcadec in all recent builds, maybe it should work out the same if you leave out eac3to and start with ffmpeg directly.
Code:
ffmpeg input.dts -acodec pcm_s24le proper-lavf.wav
Unless there is seamless braching, then let eac3to work that. Not sure how ffmpeg likes branching.
__________________
Win10 (x64) build 19041
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 3GB (GP106) 3071MB/GDDR5 | (r435_95-4)
NTSC | DVD: R1 | BD: A
AMD Ryzen 5 2600 @3.4GHz (6c/12th, I'm on AVX2 now!)
Sparktank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2015, 09:41   #3  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,890
I'm using ffdcaenc from http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...50#post1688150 (windows users) and work without problems with:

eac3to input.dts stdout.wav -down6 -dcadec | ffdcaenc -i - -o output.dts -l -b 754.5

-down6 necesary for DTS-MA 7.1. Ignored for other sources.
-dcadec recommended. Now only is the default for DTS-MA 7.1

@Sparktank
What is your problem with "ffdcaenc doesn't like WAV files from eac3to"?
ffmpeg output the same format with -acodec pcm_s24le than eac3to, a wav 24 bit with WAVE_FORMAT_EXTENSIBLE header.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2015, 09:58   #4  |  Link
Sparktank
47.952fps@71.928Hz
 
Sparktank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 940
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
@Sparktank
What is your problem with "ffdcaenc doesn't like WAV files from eac3to"?
ffmpeg output the same format with -acodec pcm_s24le than eac3to, a wav 24 bit with WAVE_FORMAT_EXTENSIBLE header.
I'll do another test.
I can't remember exactly, but I remember having to do longer footwork to get it to work for me.

Version I used was same as Mulder provided in linked post.

I think in rare cases, for longer movies, it provided >4GB WAV which didn't work correctly for me.

I'll try replicate scenario.
__________________
Win10 (x64) build 19041
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 3GB (GP106) 3071MB/GDDR5 | (r435_95-4)
NTSC | DVD: R1 | BD: A
AMD Ryzen 5 2600 @3.4GHz (6c/12th, I'm on AVX2 now!)
Sparktank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2015, 10:13   #5  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparktank View Post
I think in rare cases, for longer movies, it provided >4GB WAV which didn't work correctly for me.
The ffdcaenc parameter:

-l Ignore input length, can be useful when reading from stdin

must solve the problem with wav >4GB.

BTW using ffmpeg you have the same problem until ffdcaenc don't support w64 input.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2015, 16:44   #6  |  Link
Batman007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparktank View Post
I think it works best if you convert to W64 then WAV with FFMPEG.
ffdcaenc doesn't like WAV files from eac3to:

Code:
eac3to input.dts intermediate.w64
Code:
ffmpeg intermediate.w64 -acodec pcm_s24le proper-lavf.wav
Code:
ffdcaenc proper-lavf.wav -o final.dts -b 754.5 -l

That's how I have to do it before it can work for DVD(-9) convesions.
Using just eac3to will create broken WAVs that ffdcaenc won't complete.

With FFMPEG including dcadec in all recent builds, maybe it should work out the same if you leave out eac3to and start with ffmpeg directly.
Code:
ffmpeg input.dts -acodec pcm_s24le proper-lavf.wav
Unless there is seamless braching, then let eac3to work that. Not sure how ffmpeg likes branching.
What ffmpeg too use??
I see no .exe file in the folder
I've downloaded it from official website
Batman007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2015, 17:52   #7  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,565
Download "Static" builds here, ffmpeg.exe will be in the "bin" folder after extraction.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2015, 21:08   #8  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life's clearer in 4K UHD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 12,219
Quote:
Originally Posted by Batman007 View Post
Hello,

I wanna ask how to use ffdcaenc to encode DTS-HD MA audio to DTS (755Kbps)?
Please tell me commands to do it

Thank you.
The dts 'core' should be within the main stream. Have you tried de-muxing the core to see what its bitrate is?


Cheers
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2015, 22:07   #9  |  Link
filler56789
SuperVirus
 
filler56789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Antarctic Japan
Posts: 1,351
Quote:
Originally Posted by Batman007 View Post
(755Kbps)
Assuming the source is 7.1 or 5.1,
and unless you have little storage space OR intend to do some DVD-video authoring,
I see no good reason for choosing that bitrate...
Depending on the source (and on your ears as well, of course),
any value between 960kbps and 1344kbps should be more adequate than 754.5kbps, for 48kHz-sampled material.
filler56789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2015, 18:28   #10  |  Link
Batman007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 44
I used following command:

Quote:
ffmpeg-20151002-git-14f6c43-win64-static\bin\ffmpeg.exe C:\Users\abc\intermediate.w64 -acodec pcm_s24le proper-lavf.wav
and its giving me error:


Last edited by Batman007; 3rd October 2015 at 18:31.
Batman007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2015, 15:11   #11  |  Link
Sparktank
47.952fps@71.928Hz
 
Sparktank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 940
Hm.

There was so many builds available in the ffdcaenc thread, but the one I'm using now:
" ffdcaenc-213_GCC_20140801 "

And it accepts >4GB WAV from eac3to.
No need to use FFMPEG to re-create WAV file.

I'm not sure what version it used to be, but somewhere, >4GB WAV wouldn't work at all so I had to resort to W64 first and then create a WAV file with FFMPEG that was >4GB.

Options like -l didn't matter at the then time.
Not sure what the situation was then, but now it's fixed.
FFMPEG not needed. (W64 to WAV)

Code:
eac3to v3.29
command line: eac3to  "ManofSteel.flac" ManofSteel.wav -down6
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
FLAC, 7.1 channels, 2:23:04, 24 bits, 4689kbps, 48kHz
Decoding FLAC...
Mixing surround channels...
Writing WAV...
Creating file "ManofSteel.wav"...
The original audio track has a constant bit depth of 24 bits.
The processed audio track has a constant bit depth of 24 bits.
Caution: The WAV file is bigger than 4GB.  <WARNING>
Some WAV readers might not be able to handle this file correctly.  <WARNING>
eac3to processing took 5 minutes, 16 seconds.
Done.
then...

Code:
C:\Apps\Audio\ffdcaenc_213\ffdcaenc.exe -i ManofSteel.wav -o ManofSteel[754].dts -b 754.5 -l
Even MediaInfo reads the >4GB WAV as proper runtime: 2:23:04
__________________
Win10 (x64) build 19041
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 3GB (GP106) 3071MB/GDDR5 | (r435_95-4)
NTSC | DVD: R1 | BD: A
AMD Ryzen 5 2600 @3.4GHz (6c/12th, I'm on AVX2 now!)
Sparktank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th October 2015, 05:25   #12  |  Link
Batman007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparktank View Post
Hm.

There was so many builds available in the ffdcaenc thread, but the one I'm using now:
" ffdcaenc-213_GCC_20140801 "

And it accepts >4GB WAV from eac3to.
No need to use FFMPEG to re-create WAV file.

I'm not sure what version it used to be, but somewhere, >4GB WAV wouldn't work at all so I had to resort to W64 first and then create a WAV file with FFMPEG that was >4GB.

Options like -l didn't matter at the then time.
Not sure what the situation was then, but now it's fixed.
FFMPEG not needed. (W64 to WAV)

Code:
eac3to v3.29
command line: eac3to  "ManofSteel.flac" ManofSteel.wav -down6
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
FLAC, 7.1 channels, 2:23:04, 24 bits, 4689kbps, 48kHz
Decoding FLAC...
Mixing surround channels...
Writing WAV...
Creating file "ManofSteel.wav"...
The original audio track has a constant bit depth of 24 bits.
The processed audio track has a constant bit depth of 24 bits.
Caution: The WAV file is bigger than 4GB.  <WARNING>
Some WAV readers might not be able to handle this file correctly.  <WARNING>
eac3to processing took 5 minutes, 16 seconds.
Done.
then...

Code:
C:\Apps\Audio\ffdcaenc_213\ffdcaenc.exe -i ManofSteel.wav -o ManofSteel[754].dts -b 754.5 -l
Even MediaInfo reads the >4GB WAV as proper runtime: 2:23:04
Can you please give me link to download ffdcaenc?
I can't find proper one....
Batman007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th October 2015, 05:47   #13  |  Link
Sparktank
47.952fps@71.928Hz
 
Sparktank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 940
Quote:
Originally Posted by Batman007 View Post
Can you please give me link to download ffdcaenc?
I can't find proper one....
The one tebasuna51 linked to works.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
I'm using ffdcaenc from http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...50#post1688150 (windows users) and work without problems with:

eac3to input.dts stdout.wav -down6 -dcadec | ffdcaenc -i - -o output.dts -l -b 754.5

-down6 necesary for DTS-MA 7.1. Ignored for other sources.
-dcadec recommended. Now only is the default for DTS-MA 7.1

@Sparktank
What is your problem with "ffdcaenc doesn't like WAV files from eac3to"?
ffmpeg output the same format with -acodec pcm_s24le than eac3to, a wav 24 bit with WAVE_FORMAT_EXTENSIBLE header.
__________________
Win10 (x64) build 19041
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 3GB (GP106) 3071MB/GDDR5 | (r435_95-4)
NTSC | DVD: R1 | BD: A
AMD Ryzen 5 2600 @3.4GHz (6c/12th, I'm on AVX2 now!)
Sparktank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2017, 01:46   #14  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,129
I was doing a DTS encoding test with filler56789's version, since the "official" version crashes under XP-SP3. I set the bitrate to 1536 (5.1). When I tried to play it with VLC, over the SP/PDIF optical cable, the amp did not see it as DTS. After a few minutes that amp finally displayed DTS, but there was still silence.

I put the file in my NAS and played it over the HDMI connection and all was fine.

Any ideas as to what could be wrong?

Even if I figure out what is wrong, I'll probably stick with AC3-5.1, as DTS5.1 is about 3x the size of AC3-5.1.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2017, 11:34   #15  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,890
Any bitrate for dts are legal, but to use spdif or for build DVD/BD is recommended only 2 bitrates (like is show in help files).

With ffdcaenc:

To obtain a standard DTS 1536 (Transmission bitrate) you must use a real bitrate of 1509.75
To obtain a standard DTS 768 (Transmission bitrate) you must use a real bitrate of 754.5
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2017, 21:17   #16  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,129
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Any bitrate for dts are legal, but to use spdif or for build DVD/BD is recommended only 2 bitrates (like is show in help files).
I totally misunderstood that. I thought it was only for DVD and I wasn't doing DVD.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.