Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 30th April 2010, 05:08   #1  |  Link
asafb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 16
AVISynth / x264 bug

Hello,

I'm trying to encode to Blu-ray using x264/avisynth/qsource:

my avs file:

QTInput("proress1080i.mov")
AssumeFPS("ntsc_video")

When i run this through x264 command line, it reports:

avs [info]: 1920x1080p 1:1 @ 30000/1001 fps (cfr)

the fps part is correct, but the 1920x1080p is NOT --- it is 1920x1080i (interlace) !! not progressive.. the file is a Apple ProRes 422 HQ 1080i file.... why is avisynth reading it wrong?

any parameters to change?

asaf.
asafb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2010, 08:27   #2  |  Link
IanB
Avisynth Developer
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 3,173
VFW does not have any API for passing any progressive/interlaced information through.

It is assumed the author codes their script appropriately and configures the host application to suit.
IanB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2010, 10:07   #3  |  Link
J_Darnley
Registered User
 
J_Darnley's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 959
@asafb
Don't cross post: http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=154295

@IanB
x264 now uses the avisynth C interface
__________________
x264 log explained || x264 deblocking how-to
preset -> tune -> user set options -> fast first pass -> profile -> level
Doom10 - Of course it's better, it's one more.
J_Darnley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2010, 10:21   #4  |  Link
IanB
Avisynth Developer
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 3,173
Quote:
Originally Posted by J_Darnley View Post
@IanB
x264 now uses the avisynth C interface
Yes I know this, and it effects what I said, how?

The VideoInfo structure contains all the properties of a clip and it reflects Avisynth's VFW heritage. The nearest thing to interlaced is the Avisynth private property Field Based, which means the clip contains field separated frames specified by the parity. There is nothing within Avisynth that indicates whether a frame is interlaced or progressive. The script author is supposed to know that and code their script appropriately.
IanB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2010, 20:25   #5  |  Link
J_Darnley
Registered User
 
J_Darnley's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 959
Because I didn't see where vfw comes into it. I assumed that the Avisynth API might store more detailed information that whatever vfw might.
__________________
x264 log explained || x264 deblocking how-to
preset -> tune -> user set options -> fast first pass -> profile -> level
Doom10 - Of course it's better, it's one more.
J_Darnley is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.