Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > New and alternative a/v containers
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10th November 2015, 17:08   #1481  |  Link
Zenitram
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: France, Paris
Posts: 672
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teebeeke View Post
But does that explain why MI.Get_(StreamKind.Video, 0, "Width") gives me 0 results?

If i use:
MI.Option_("Complete")
To_Display += MI.Inform()

which gives above info, it shows the width, but if i use MI.Get it shows no value.
No, issue is somewhere else, and I can not explain it for the moment (without testing it myself, but I don't have time for the moment).
__________________
Want to know all about your media files? http://mediaarea.net/MediaInfo
Zenitram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2015, 17:11   #1482  |  Link
Kurtnoise
Swallowed in the Sea
 
Kurtnoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Aix-en-Provence, France
Posts: 5,191
I would try :

Code:
Dim temp_FileWidth As String = MI.Get_(StreamKind.Video, 1, "Width/String")
Kurtnoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2015, 17:22   #1483  |  Link
Zenitram
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: France, Paris
Posts: 672
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurtnoise View Post
I would try :

Code:
Dim temp_FileWidth As String = MI.Get_(StreamKind.Video, 1, "Width/String")
0 for the 1st stream. (0-based number).
and that does not change the issue with "Width" .
__________________
Want to know all about your media files? http://mediaarea.net/MediaInfo
Zenitram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2015, 17:37   #1484  |  Link
ndjamena
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 366
Is Width_Original empty?
ndjamena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2015, 06:14   #1485  |  Link
foxyshadis
Angel of Night
 
foxyshadis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Tangled in the silks
Posts: 9,559
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teebeeke View Post
But does that explain why MI.Get_(StreamKind.Video, 0, "Width") gives me 0 results?

If i use:
MI.Option_("Complete")
To_Display += MI.Inform()

which gives above info, it shows the width, but if i use MI.Get it shows no value.
You have Option Explicit Off and On Error Resume Next in your project, don't you? In the default VB project, it's StreamKind.Visual, not StreamKind.Video (perhaps a typo, perhaps intentional); if you change it to StreamKind.Visual -- or change Visual to Video in MediaInfoDLL.vb -- it should just start working. You would have noticed it wasn't just width if you'd looked for any other video properties.

With Option Explicit Off, VB will just ignore any typos you make, which makes IntelliSense much less useful. Use the tools you have!
foxyshadis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2015, 09:29   #1486  |  Link
Teebeeke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 36
Yes, i noticed it too last night when i was looking into mediainfo_dll.vb, and i added video in there myself, but that didnt work. When i tried visual it showed the correct value.

Option Explicit was On btw.
Teebeeke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2015, 09:43   #1487  |  Link
Kurtnoise
Swallowed in the Sea
 
Kurtnoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Aix-en-Provence, France
Posts: 5,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zenitram View Post
0 for the 1st stream. (0-based number).
and that does not change the issue with "Width" .
mmh, yes...I thought it was the ID but it's the Stream identifier actually that should be taken into account.


@Teebeeke : you should put a sample file somewhere just to check out on our side...


@ndjamena : I would suggest to put "*Statistics Tags Verified : Yes/No" into the General Part, not for each streams...it's confusing for me.
Kurtnoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2015, 09:51   #1488  |  Link
Zenitram
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: France, Paris
Posts: 672
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teebeeke View Post
When i tried visual it showed the correct value.
Argh... Very bad thing, there is an incoherency in the API.
I changed "Visual" to "Video"
Fixed, with support of legacy StreamKind.Visual (considered as deprecated).

Something I don't understand is that your code was not detected as buggy (no "StreamKind.Video") when you ran your program (compiler indicates an error on my side).
__________________
Want to know all about your media files? http://mediaarea.net/MediaInfo
Zenitram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2015, 09:56   #1489  |  Link
Zenitram
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: France, Paris
Posts: 672
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurtnoise View Post
@ndjamena : I would suggest to put "*Statistics Tags Verified : Yes/No" into the General Part, not for each streams...it's confusing for me.
the statistics writing app is provided by track, so he needs to test per track and provides this piece of information per track.
__________________
Want to know all about your media files? http://mediaarea.net/MediaInfo
Zenitram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2015, 10:55   #1490  |  Link
foxyshadis
Angel of Night
 
foxyshadis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Tangled in the silks
Posts: 9,559
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zenitram View Post
Argh... Very bad thing, there is an incoherency in the API.
I changed "Visual" to "Video"
Fixed, with support of legacy StreamKind.Visual (considered as deprecated).

Something I don't understand is that your code was not detected as buggy (no "StreamKind.Video") when you ran your program (compiler indicates an error on my side).
Sounds like he added Video without realizing that adding a value instead of replacing an old one won't work. Messing with enums has to be done carefully....
foxyshadis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2015, 11:42   #1491  |  Link
Teebeeke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 36
yes, that was initially my fault. Once i replaced visual with video it worked. I was going to post this morning, but you beat me to it.
Teebeeke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2015, 11:43   #1492  |  Link
ndjamena
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 366
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurtnoise View Post
@ndjamena : I would suggest to put "*Statistics Tags Verified : Yes/No" into the General Part, not for each streams...it's confusing for me.
I'd be quite happy to remove all trace of the tags from sight, but it's not my place to make executive decisions like that.

The purpose of the "*Statistics Tags Verified" field being visible is to allow any unknown tags that have been encountered to be listed and shown and shown to be, in fact, verified.

It's preliminary, apparently Jerome doesn't like the idea of adding asterisks to the beginnings of unknown statistics tags to identify them.

I've left everything on the table, things need to be worked out from here.

(Did you download my dll or did yo compile your own?)
ndjamena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2015, 11:47   #1493  |  Link
Zenitram
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: France, Paris
Posts: 672
Quote:
Originally Posted by ndjamena View Post
I'd be quite happy to remove all trace of the tags from sight, but it's not my place to make executive decisions like that.
I updated code with info visible only if there is a difference between muxer app name/date and stats app name/date because it is a source of problem as ndjamena pointed out.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ndjamena View Post
The purpose of the "*Statistics Tags Verified" field being visible is to allow any unknown tags that have been encountered to be listed and shown and shown to be, in fact, verified.
The current policy in MediaInfo is to extract data wherever it comes from, without showing the source. In the future I could add information about the source but this is a long term feature and it will not be visible by default.

I modified the patch accordigly.
__________________
Want to know all about your media files? http://mediaarea.net/MediaInfo
Zenitram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2015, 21:18   #1494  |  Link
73ChargerFan
Registered User
 
73ChargerFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 523
I'm glad to see MediaInfo will recognize HDCD; now I can script a test for it and mark such albums in my collection. Thanks.

73ChargerFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2016, 13:48   #1495  |  Link
salam2009
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 60
Hey guys,
Is it possible to open MediaInfo of any file using a keyboard shortcut instead of going through its context menu ??
Thanks for any tip!
Cheers,
Salaam
salam2009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2016, 15:19   #1496  |  Link
nekrovski
Registered User
 
nekrovski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by salam2009 View Post
Hey guys,
Is it possible to open MediaInfo of any file using a keyboard shortcut instead of going through its context menu ??
Yes.
Just press Shift + F10 + M + Enter
nekrovski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2016, 03:58   #1497  |  Link
salam2009
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrovski View Post
Yes.
Just press Shift + F10 + M + Enter
lol, the mouse would be much easier than that
I meant something like opening the properties by Alt+Enter, if it has its own.
Anyway, thanks for stopping by!
salam2009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2016, 00:05   #1498  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,248
Hi Zenitram,

I'm trying to build v0.7.82 from the "AllInclusive" source package, but I noticed that the solutions (VS2013 and VS2015) contain a missing project called "zlibstat"

There is only the project "zlib" included, but it is missing from the solution. Furthermore, "zlib" only has a project file for VS2013, not for VS2015.
__________________
Go to https://standforukraine.com/ to find legitimate Ukrainian Charities 🇺🇦✊

Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 28th January 2016 at 00:16.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2016, 07:43   #1499  |  Link
Zenitram
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: France, Paris
Posts: 672
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
I'm trying to build v0.7.82 from the "AllInclusive" source package, but I noticed that the solutions (VS2013 and VS2015) contain a missing project called "zlibstat"

There is only the project "zlib" included, but it is missing from the solution. Furthermore, "zlib" only has a project file for VS2013, not for VS2015.
Argh, the script uses an old version of zlib package.
I'll update it soon.
New zlib package with VS2015 project (in /contrib/vstudio/vc14) is at https://github.com/MediaArea/zlib
New "All Inclusive" Git repo is at https://github.com/MediaArea/MediaInfo-AllInOne
__________________
Want to know all about your media files? http://mediaarea.net/MediaInfo
Zenitram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2016, 21:25   #1500  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,248
Thanks, I have now cloned the "All Inclusive" Git repo. VS2013 solution now contains "zlibstat" project, but VS2012 still contains the missing "zlib". VS2015 solution doesn't seem to exist in Git at all.

However I now stumbled upon a new strange issue, with the "ZenLib" project:

If I change any properties of the "ZenLib" project, then those changes do not apply to the .cpp files contained in the "ZenLib" project! For example, if I change "Enable Enhanced Instruction Set" from "Streaming SIMD Extension" to "No Enhanced Instructions" in the project properties, then the "Enable Enhanced Instruction Set" for the individual .cpp files still remains at "Streaming SIMD Extension". Very dangerous, because that is easy to miss! The strange thing is, that the "Enable Enhanced Instruction Set" property for the .cpp files are not showing in bold, so Visual Studio seems to believe it is inheriting these settings from the project properties. But it is very wrong! How is that even possible? Any clue what's up?

There appears to be no such problem with the "MediaInfoCLI" and "MeidaInfoLib" projects, as far as I can tell. But I'll have to do some more checks...

_________________

Side note: The pre-processor definitions for MediaInfoLib's "Release/Win32" and "Release/x64" configurations differ as follows, is that intentional?

Code:
Win32: WIN32;NDEBUG;MEDIAINFO_DVDIF_ANALYZE_NO;MEDIAINFO_MPEGTS_DUPLICATE_NO;MEDIAINFO_TRACE_NOx;MEDIAINFO_LIBMMS_NO;MEDIAINFO_LIBCURL_DLL_RUNTIME;%(PreprocessorDefinitions)
x64:   WIN32;NDEBUG;MEDIAINFO_ADVANCED2;%(PreprocessorDefinitions)
__________________
Go to https://standforukraine.com/ to find legitimate Ukrainian Charities 🇺🇦✊

Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 28th January 2016 at 21:42.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.