Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > High Efficiency Video Coding (HEVC)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 22nd January 2024, 11:10   #101  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,771
Well, why not try cropping and see what happens. Your player will definitely add them back during playback and you'll save a few bits too.
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2024, 11:30   #102  |  Link
brad86
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boulder View Post
Well, why not try cropping and see what happens. Your player will definitely add them back during playback and you'll save a few bits too.
Same result. It blurs near the top edge.
brad86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2024, 12:37   #103  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,771
Hmm.. some things to test would be changing CTU to 32 (or 16 just for debugging) and cropping the border so that the actual active image area would not share a CTU with the border.

Also make sure that it's not a decoder related thing, because we've seen something similar at the bottom of the frame with Amlogic chips when the vertical resolution is not mod-8.
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2024, 13:16   #104  |  Link
brad86
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 48
Sadly, no go with the CTU change. It changes the position of the blur somewhat, but it's still visible and not decreased.

Removing the boarders is something I will always avoid. Not everything plays nicely when you do this. My 2023 Sony TV has very good scaling, but it has to be fed normal resolutions, or it will not scale, and instead defaulting to a simple bilinear method. I want to keep a native 4K resolution.

Last edited by brad86; 22nd January 2024 at 13:28. Reason: kjuhiuhiu
brad86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2024, 13:33   #105  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,771
Quote:
Originally Posted by brad86 View Post
Removing the boarders is something I will always avoid. Not everything plays nicely when you do this. My 2023 Sony TV has very good scaling, but it has to be fed normal resolutions, or it will not scale, and instead defaulting to a simple bilinear method. I want to keep a native 4K resolution.
That is quite odd behaviour, I have a 2019 Sony (XF9005) and I've not noticed any difference between feeding a 1920x800 or 1920x1080 source to the TV from the media player.

Is there some discussion regarding this somewhere?
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2024, 13:45   #106  |  Link
brad86
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boulder View Post
That is quite odd behaviour, I have a 2019 Sony (XF9005) and I've not noticed any difference between feeding a 1920x800 or 1920x1080 source to the TV from the media player.

Is there some discussion regarding this somewhere?
Not that I am aware of. I enabled developer option within the android settings and have a resource overlay. MPV would be an easier way to see everything.

I have just switched to Slower preset whilst keeping the parameters I already had for Slow preset. It has absolutely helped removed most of the blocking I was seeing at the edge.

Encoding time has now skyrocketed, as expected. Would love to know which setting within Slower is helping solve it, so I can just use that along with the Slow preset.
brad86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2024, 13:56   #107  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,771
Quote:
Originally Posted by brad86 View Post
Not that I am aware of. I enabled developer option within the android settings and have a resource overlay. MPV would be an easier way to see everything.

I have just switched to Slower preset whilst keeping the parameters I already had for Slow preset. It has absolutely helped removed most of the blocking I was seeing at the edge.

Encoding time has now skyrocketed, as expected. Would love to know which setting within Slower is helping solve it, so I can just use that along with the Slow preset.
My guess is that it's --amp. I almost proposed checking if it's enabled in the encode, but figured that Slow would probably have both --rect and --amp. So that one allows to split the CTU into asymmetric parts which most likely helps there.
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2024, 15:12   #108  |  Link
brad86
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boulder View Post
My guess is that it's --amp. I almost proposed checking if it's enabled in the encode, but figured that Slow would probably have both --rect and --amp. So that one allows to split the CTU into asymmetric parts which most likely helps there.
Unless I am adding the parameter incorrectly. :amp does not seem to be the fix. Another setting within Slower that is fixing it.

selective-sao=2:no-strong-intra-smoothing:rskip=2:rskip-edge-threshold=3:aq-mode=3:aq-strength=1.3:deblock=-3:-3:amp
brad86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2024, 16:02   #109  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,771
You can see and compare the presets here: https://x265.readthedocs.io/en/master/presets.html.
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2024, 17:39   #110  |  Link
brad86
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boulder View Post
You can see and compare the presets here: https://x265.readthedocs.io/en/master/presets.html.
That should be very helpful. Thanks
brad86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2024, 22:10   #111  |  Link
benwaggoner
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 4,829
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boulder View Post
That is quite odd behaviour, I have a 2019 Sony (XF9005) and I've not noticed any difference between feeding a 1920x800 or 1920x1080 source to the TV from the media player.

Is there some discussion regarding this somewhere?
Yeah, also works fine for me on my 2017 and 2023 Sony TVs.

Making sure the Sample Aspect Ratio is set correctly (probably 1:1 in your case) possibly can help.
__________________
Ben Waggoner
Principal Video Specialist, Amazon Prime Video

My Compression Book
benwaggoner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2024, 23:55   #112  |  Link
brad86
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 48
Happy days. Changing rd=4 to rd=6 has fixed it.

Although, encoding time has doubled. It is what it is, though.

Last edited by brad86; 23rd January 2024 at 09:32. Reason: effdfd
brad86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2024, 23:12   #113  |  Link
benwaggoner
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 4,829
Quote:
Originally Posted by brad86 View Post
Happy days. Changing rd=4 to rd=6 has fixed it.

Although, encoding time has doubled. It is what it is, though.
Huh! I wouldn't have guessed that would be the magic knob.

Anyone have any theories as to why?
__________________
Ben Waggoner
Principal Video Specialist, Amazon Prime Video

My Compression Book
benwaggoner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2024, 12:46   #114  |  Link
brad86
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 48
I can't figure why the higher RD level fixed the issue. Maybe some other parameters were not active unless RD was above 4 ?

I currently have it on 5, but it does add 2-3 hours to any encode. Finding the specific setting would be good, so I can get back that lower encoding time.

I went through all the preset parameters table, and still couldn't find what does it.
brad86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2024, 14:40   #115  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,771
Quote:
Originally Posted by brad86 View Post
I can't figure why the higher RD level fixed the issue. Maybe some other parameters were not active unless RD was above 4 ?

I currently have it on 5, but it does add 2-3 hours to any encode. Finding the specific setting would be good, so I can get back that lower encoding time.

I went through all the preset parameters table, and still couldn't find what does it.
A higher value just adds more decision-making which naturally means slower encodes. By the way, 5 and 6 are the same.
I don't know if it also affects the decisions made by psychovisual settings (psy-rd, psy-rdoq), but at least it doesn't enable any other settings that you can do manually using parameters.
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2024, 00:03   #116  |  Link
benwaggoner
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 4,829
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boulder View Post
A higher value just adds more decision-making which naturally means slower encodes. By the way, 5 and 6 are the same.
I don't know if it also affects the decisions made by psychovisual settings (psy-rd, psy-rdoq), but at least it doesn't enable any other settings that you can do manually using parameters.
--rd 6 can change psychovisual aspect for sure. I've seen a number of grainy UHD HDR sources where --rd 4 looked better than --rd 6.

I remember having a good theory about why that was, but I don't remember the theory .
__________________
Ben Waggoner
Principal Video Specialist, Amazon Prime Video

My Compression Book
benwaggoner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2024, 10:20   #117  |  Link
brad86
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 48
It's a weird one. From the encodes I have been doing, it appears that 1080p videos are perfectly fine with rd 4, but if I do anything 4K with the exact same settings used for 1080, I need to increase rd to 5 or I start to get strange artefacts, and not always what was in my initial post. They seem to vary. A common one is small seems/lines, or the odd block which looks like if compression were to miss a few pixels. This is the case with SDR video, or when passing through HDR data for the encode.
brad86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2024, 20:17   #118  |  Link
benwaggoner
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 4,829
Quote:
Originally Posted by brad86 View Post
It's a weird one. From the encodes I have been doing, it appears that 1080p videos are perfectly fine with rd 4, but if I do anything 4K with the exact same settings used for 1080, I need to increase rd to 5 or I start to get strange artefacts, and not always what was in my initial post. They seem to vary. A common one is small seems/lines, or the odd block which looks like if compression were to miss a few pixels. This is the case with SDR video, or when passing through HDR data for the encode.
Yeah, without much grain rd 6 is better, with a lot of grain rd 4 is better. It's possible a lot of other parameter tuning could make rd 6 more viable with grain, but I've not found a magic formula yet.
__________________
Ben Waggoner
Principal Video Specialist, Amazon Prime Video

My Compression Book
benwaggoner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.