Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 AVC / H.264

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 13th December 2008, 20:00   #821  |  Link
Sulik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 216
@moviefan: I don't think ATI's Stream API provides any video-decode-related functionality.
Sulik is offline  
Old 13th December 2008, 20:39   #822  |  Link
CruNcher
Registered User
 
CruNcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,949
i wouldn't say so though if UVD will be accessible we gonna see December 16, but it would be bad in public if it wouldn't as Nvidia provides it for Windows same as for Linux
Though sure Ati could decide only Licensed 3rd Party ISVs but why should they makes no sense except if they cant provide a secure way to the UVD part without interfering with Blu-Ray security
__________________
all my compares are riddles so please try to decipher them yourselves :)

It is about Time

Join the Revolution NOW before it is to Late !

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168004

Last edited by CruNcher; 13th December 2008 at 20:43.
CruNcher is offline  
Old 14th December 2008, 02:39   #823  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by rica View Post
Are you sure? Looks like DTS HD Master Audio to me.
Guest is offline  
Old 14th December 2008, 03:53   #824  |  Link
rica
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
Are you sure? Looks like DTS HD Master Audio to me.
No, i'm not sure.

Looks like MA:

http://bluray.highdefdigest.com/1416/27dresses.html

But eac3to gives this information:

Code:
[C:\>eac3to\eac3to E: 1)
M2TS, 1 video track, 5 audio tracks, 19 subtitle tracks, 1:50:49
1: Chapters, 25 chapters
2: h264/AVC, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
3: DTS Hi-Res, English, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 3018kbps, 48khz
   (core: DTS, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 1509kbps, 48khz)
4: DTS, Italian, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 768kbps, 48khz
5: DTS, Spanish, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 768kbps, 48khz
(Btw PowerDVD gives the same info...)

While it gives this info for Close Encounters BD:

Code:
C:\>eac3to\eac3to E: 1)
M2TS, 1 video track, 2 audio tracks, 20 subtitle tracks, 2:17:13
1: Chapters, 20 chapters
2: h264/AVC, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
3: TrueHD/AC3, English, 5.1 channels, 48khz
   (embedded: AC3, 5.1 channels, 448kbps, 48khz)
4: DTS Master Audio, English, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 48khz
   (core: DTS, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 1509kbps, 48khz)

Last edited by rica; 14th December 2008 at 04:31.
rica is offline  
Old 14th December 2008, 05:12   #825  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
Hmm, strange. Maybe you should ask madshi about it.

Last edited by Guest; 14th December 2008 at 05:14.
Guest is offline  
Old 14th December 2008, 13:59   #826  |  Link
nautilus7
Registered User
 
nautilus7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,517
I really think eac3to gives the correct format. It's very precise.

EDIT: rica, what is this sample (audio.dtshd.m2ts)? Is this a remux? Using tsmuxer perhaps? Maybe that buggy program uses wrong id for the audio track. Send a sample from the original file. If you are willing to help, please send original samples.



(neuron2, the samples i promised will be up soon. Do you want them to have VC-1 video only? You will add these changes to your other apps as well, correct?)

Last edited by nautilus7; 14th December 2008 at 14:31.
nautilus7 is offline  
Old 14th December 2008, 14:51   #827  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by nautilus7 View Post
(neuron2, the samples i promised will be up soon. Do you want them to have VC-1 video only? You will add these changes to your other apps as well, correct?)
I'm working on DGAVCDec(NV) right now, so I prefer AVC at this point. But I'll happily accept samples with VC-1 too. Yes, I will update the other apps next. I was hoping to release something today, so it would be helpful if you could upload your samples ASAP. Thank you.

Last edited by Guest; 14th December 2008 at 14:54.
Guest is offline  
Old 14th December 2008, 15:07   #828  |  Link
rica
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by nautilus7 View Post
I really think eac3to gives the correct format. It's very precise.

EDIT: rica, what is this sample (audio.dtshd.m2ts)? Is this a remux? Using tsmuxer perhaps? Maybe that buggy program uses wrong id for the audio track. Send a sample from the original file. If you are willing to help, please send original samples.
The sample cut by eac3to first, recut/remuxed to m2ts by TSMuxer. But it is not the source of the issue.

Here is a direct cut from the original by clip.exe (27_cut.m2ts):
http://www.mediafire.com/?sharekey=6...5f4ee94eb39148

I'm uploading a direct cut by eac3to into the same folder as well. (27_cut.dtshd raw audio)

Edit: Uploaded...

Last edited by rica; 14th December 2008 at 17:36.
rica is offline  
Old 14th December 2008, 15:37   #829  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
Hmm, strange. Maybe you should ask madshi about it.
I've found that some streams do not strictly follow the specs. E.g. sometimes there's an E-AC3 track with a stream_type for AC3 or vice versa. The same might be true with DTS-HD High Resolution vs. DTS-HD Master Audio.

eac3to only does rough stream_type checks. E.g. all AC3 and E-AC3 stream_type streams are running through the same general parser which supports both AC3 and E-AC3. And all DTS related stream_type streams are running through one and the same DTS parser which supports all types of DTS streams. The exact stream parameters are then determined by parsing the audio bitstream. This way eac3to cannot be confused by incorrect stream_type values.
madshi is offline  
Old 14th December 2008, 15:43   #830  |  Link
nautilus7
Registered User
 
nautilus7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
I'm working on DGAVCDec(NV) right now, so I prefer AVC at this point. But I'll happily accept samples with VC-1 too. Yes, I will update the other apps next. I was hoping to release something today, so it would be helpful if you could upload your samples ASAP. Thank you.
I mixed the threads that's why i mentioned vc-1. I meant h.264.

Anyway, give me 1 hour (top) because i have to change hdds to find the proper samples.
nautilus7 is offline  
Old 14th December 2008, 16:39   #831  |  Link
nautilus7
Registered User
 
nautilus7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,517
National Treasure 2 sample

track list
Code:
1: h264/AVC, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
2: h264/AVC, 480p24 /1.001 (20:11)
3: TrueHD/AC3, 5.1 channels, 48khz
   (embedded: AC3, 5.1 channels, 640kbps, 48khz)
4: AC3 Surround, 2.0 channels, 192kbps, 48khz
5: AC3, 5.1 channels, 640kbps, 48khz
6: AC3, 5.1 channels, 640kbps, 48khz
7: AC3, 5.1 channels, 640kbps, 48khz
8: AC3, 5.1 channels, 640kbps, 48khz
9: AC3 Surround, 2.0 channels, 192kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
10: DTS Express, 2.0 channels, 24 bits, 192kbps, 48khz
Jumper sample

track list
Code:
1: h264/AVC, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
2: h264/AVC, 480p24 /1.001 (20:11)
3: DTS Master Audio, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 48khz
   (core: DTS, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 1509kbps, 48khz)
4: DTS, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 768kbps, 48khz
5: DTS, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 768kbps, 48khz
6: AC3, 5.1 channels, 448kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
7: AC3, 5.1 channels, 448kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
8: AC3, 5.1 channels, 448kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
9: AC3, 2.0 channels, 224kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
10: DTS Express, 2.0 channels, 16 bits, 192kbps, 48khz
Transformers sample

track list
Code:
1: h264/AVC, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
2: h264/AVC, 480p24 /1.001 (20:11)
3: TrueHD/AC3, 5.1 channels, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
   (embedded: AC3, 5.1 channels, 640kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB)
4: AC3, 5.1 channels, 640kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
5: AC3, 5.1 channels, 640kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
6: AC3, 5.1 channels, 640kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
7: AC3, 5.1 channels, 640kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
8: AC3 Surround, 2.0 channels, 192kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB
9: E-AC3, 2.0 channels, 192kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB

Last edited by nautilus7; 14th December 2008 at 17:02.
nautilus7 is offline  
Old 14th December 2008, 17:06   #832  |  Link
rica
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,021
nautilus7,

DTS-HD HR is still missing since we are not sure yet whether my cut is HR or MA.

Edit: Ok, i've found one. Gonna upload soon.

Last Edit: Here it is:

Hitman:

http://www.mediafire.com/?sharekey=6...aa14c0f07f9723

Code:
1: h264/AVC, 1080p24 /1.001 (16:9)
2: DTS, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 768kbps, 48khz, -769ms
3: DTS Hi-Res, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 3018kbps, 48khz   (core: DTS, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 1509kbps, 48khz), -1003ms
4: DTS, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 768kbps, 48khz, -769ms
5: DTS, 5.1 channels, 24 bits, 768kbps, 48khz, -769ms
6: AC3, 5.1 channels, 448kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB, -865ms
7: AC3, 5.1 channels, 448kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB, -865ms
8: AC3 Surround, 2.0 channels, 224kbps, 48khz, dialnorm: -27dB, -545ms
9: Subtitle (PGS)

Last edited by rica; 14th December 2008 at 18:09.
rica is offline  
Old 14th December 2008, 23:08   #833  |  Link
rica
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,021
I checked again; latest versions of both TMT and PDVD give the same info: (TMT 2.1.6.126, PDVD 8.0.2217a.00)
27 is DTS-HD HR; eac3to/madshi is right.

Last edited by rica; 15th December 2008 at 00:01.
rica is offline  
Old 16th December 2008, 15:28   #834  |  Link
moviefan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 438
A general question: I've experimented with encoding speeds and wonder, if it makes a huge difference when the GPU decodes the video stream. I created a blank clip with AviSynth at 1920x1080 and encoded that with x264. I got something around 15 fps or so, which should be close to a GPU decoding (in terms of CPU usage when decoding because there are no details - completely black picture), right? So am I right saying if the CPU isn't REALLY fast, x264 is the bottleneck anyway and decoding only a couple of frames per second isn't too much of an effort for a C2D CPU. So since x264 cannot encode so fast due to the CPU, it only requires some few frames per second which takes only little CPU usage (for the decoding). The impact of a GPU decoded video stream increases, when the CPU is able to encode at let's say real time or something like that, when this amount of frame decoding would take a lot CPU usage. Is this theory correct?

Last edited by moviefan; 16th December 2008 at 15:30.
moviefan is offline  
Old 16th December 2008, 15:43   #835  |  Link
Comatose
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 639
The idea is that x264 will use 100% of your CPU. A decoder can eat some of the available CPU, and even if it's very little (because of the general slowness), some of us do veeeeeeeeery long encodes so even 1% CPU has a big impact in the long run.
Comatose is offline  
Old 16th December 2008, 15:49   #836  |  Link
rack04
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,538
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
On some machines there may be a small performance improvement, but the main purpose of using CUDA is to get correct decoding for the streams that are not handled by libavcodec, and to access some of the post-processing capabilities of CUDA. Also, to add support for VC-1 in the future.
This may be appropriate here.
rack04 is offline  
Old 25th December 2008, 12:42   #837  |  Link
Renzz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 55
Had my first ever crash of CUVID server while trying to encode. Windows Event log shows:

Faulting application CUVIDServer.exe, version 0.0.0.0, time stamp 0x49328ce7, faulting module nvcuvid.dll, version 0.0.0.0, time stamp 0x4937286b, exception code 0xc0000005, fault offset 0x00039399, process id 0x1624, application start time 0x01c9667ee9e9ae00.

On examination of the source TS, there is a broadcast glitch at the point that I get the crash. DGAVCIndex doesn't complain and creates the DGA file ok - it's just the Server that doesn't like it.

I've cut the relevant portion out here (60MB):

http://www.mediafire.com/?sharekey=0...db6fb9a8902bda

The glitch is about 75% of the way through.

Should the code handle glitches like this, or is a crash likely if you have glitches in the original stream?

Thanks, and Happy Christmas!
Renzz is offline  
Old 25th December 2008, 12:47   #838  |  Link
chr2000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 11
a question, why set Disable Display, the CPU ulity is about 10% in my computer, which is compared with 40% CPU ulity when Enable Display.
why I/O will consum so much cpu resource? isn't the display card push the YUV file to monitor directly?
if the process of coverting yuv to RGB consumed much cpu resource? then is there any display card support YUV input directly?
chr2000 is offline  
Old 2nd January 2009, 19:31   #839  |  Link
ultratoto14
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 112
Hi neuron2, I recorded a stream from DVB-T in france.
Frame Size 1440x1080
SAR 4:3
Display Size 1920x1080

When i load the dga via DGAVCDecodeNV the resulting frame is 1440x1080. Is it the normal behavior ?
Happy new year.
ultratoto14 is offline  
Old 2nd January 2009, 20:22   #840  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
Yes. You need to resize anamorphic video in your Avisynth script.
Guest is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.