Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Announcements and Chat > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10th May 2020, 14:27   #81  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
stax76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: On thin ice
Posts: 6,837
Quote:
If you use LoadLibrary() in a plugin it's considered delay-load. Loading the DLL won't happen until the function in which you attempt to load the external DLL (fftw) is called.
There is some automatic delay load using a linker flag allowing working with lib file? That would be more convenient than working with GetProcAddress if it doesn't have a versioning disadvantage.

Quote:
Security tops your concerns. Just because something is hard is not a reason to throw security out of the window.

If you know where your AviSynth (etc) folder is, which you should, even in portable, then you can just dynamically build pathes, or even use SetDllDirectory (with care, it has its own problems).
But I don't have control of all the tools that read avs and vpy, most support path.

Quote:
then you can just dynamically build pathes
You mean move large exe and dll files around?

Last edited by stax76; 10th May 2020 at 14:29.
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2020, 15:07   #82  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
stax76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: On thin ice
Posts: 6,837
@HolyWu

It's working and didn't require rewriting code, thanks!
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2020, 15:56   #83  |  Link
almosely
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by HolyWu View Post
I built from git commit 3a103f4, commited on 2020/4/15. I enabled SSE2, AVX, AVX2, and AVX512.
Thanks! :-)
almosely is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2020, 18:39   #84  |  Link
Groucho2004
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 5,034
Quote:
If you use LoadLibrary() in a plugin it's considered delay-load. Loading the DLL won't happen until the function in which you attempt to load the external DLL (fftw) is called.
Quote:
Originally Posted by stax76 View Post
There is some automatic delay load using a linker flag allowing working with lib file? That would be more convenient than working with GetProcAddress if it doesn't have a versioning disadvantage.
I actually got it backwards. Delay-load is using the MS linker flag /delayload which means that you don't have to use LoadLibrary and GetProcAddress.
I have however never seen this used in any plugin that uses the FFTW DLL, they all use LoadLibrary and GetProcAddress.
__________________
Groucho's Avisynth Stuff
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2020, 23:07   #85  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,249
Delay loading is a feature of the Microsoft compiler/linker.

It will generate a "stub" function for each imported function, which – when it is called for the first time – loads the required DLL (if not loaded yet) and then resolves the actual address of the function. If anything goes wrong (e.g. the required DLL can not be loaded, or required entry point is missing), then the "stub" code will throw a structured exception – which may be caught and handled by the application code, e.g to implement optional dependencies.

Note that, under the hood, the "stub" code generated by delay loading still uses the standard LoadLibrary() and GetProcAddress() functions. The "advantage" of delay loading is that you don't have to write the DLL loading code manually.

But: You have to keep in mind that delay loading does not "magically" resolve the path to the DLL for you! It simply will invoke LoadLibrary() with the basename of the required DLL, so that the Standard Search Order for Desktop Applications applies. Consequently, if the DLL does not happen to be located in one of the directories that Windows searches by default, then delay-loading the DLL is going to fail! Consequently, even when delay loading is used, it often still is necessary to explicitly pre-load the DLL, by manually invoking LoadLibrary() with the absolute path to the DLL – before any function from that DLL is invoked for the first time. Or by setting up the DLL search path via the SetDllDirectory() function.
__________________
Go to https://standforukraine.com/ to find legitimate Ukrainian Charities 🇺🇦✊

Last edited by LoRd_MuldeR; 11th May 2020 at 21:52.
LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2020, 01:21   #86  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
stax76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: On thin ice
Posts: 6,837
Thanks for the explanation.
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2020, 07:14   #87  |  Link
almosely
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 91
I made some new benchmarks.



- edit -

Hm, I thought I had written everything important in my previous bench-post.

I am using an Intel Core i7-3770 and Windows 10 Pro (x64) up-to-date.

Script

DGSource("test.dgi", crop_l=0, crop_r=0, crop_t=0, crop_b=0, deinterlace=0, use_top_field=true, use_pf=true)

Trim(0, 1000)

RequestLinear(rlim=100, clim=100)

neo_fft3d(sigma=1.0, beta=1.0, bw=32, bh=32, sharpen=0.040, scutoff=0.01, y=3, u=2, v=2, bt=5)

# FFT3DFilter(sigma=1.0, beta=1.0, bw=32, bh=32, sharpen=0.040, scutoff=0.01, plane=0, bt=5)

Prefetch(2) # 3, 4 and without prefetch

return last

Clip

1280 x 720 - 29.97 fps - Tennis-Training at Roland Garros



Programs and plug-ins in use (x64)

- AviSynth+ 3.5.1
- Simple x264/x265 Launcher 2.96.1198
- x264 core:160 r3000 33f9e14 (provided by Simple Launcher)
- AVSMeter 2.9.9.1
- DGDecNV 2052
- TIVTC 1.0.14 (for RequestLinear)
- neo_FFT3D r7
- FFT3DFilter 2.6

Simple Launcher (x264) parameter

"...\Simple x264 Launcher\toolset\x64\x264_x64.exe" --output-depth 8 --crf 18.0 --preset medium --tune film --trellis 2 --direct auto --me umh --partitions all --vbv-maxrate 24000 --vbv-bufsize 30000 --b-adapt 2 --bframes 5 --merange 24 --ref 5 --keyint 300 --subme 10 --aq-mode 1 --sar 1:1 --rc-lookahead 40 --output "...\test.mkv" --frames 1001 --demuxer y4m --stdin y4m -

Last edited by almosely; 12th May 2020 at 22:02.
almosely is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2020, 10:06   #88  |  Link
ChaosKing
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,795
@almosely Can you add the cpu model + x264 parameter to your list?
__________________
AVSRepoGUI // VSRepoGUI - Package Manager for AviSynth // VapourSynth
VapourSynth Portable FATPACK || VapourSynth Database
ChaosKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2020, 15:01   #89  |  Link
almosely
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 91
@ ChaosKing

Done
almosely is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2020, 06:37   #90  |  Link
foxyshadis
Angel of Night
 
foxyshadis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Tangled in the silks
Posts: 9,559
Quote:
Originally Posted by Groucho2004 View Post
I actually got it backwards. Delay-load is using the MS linker flag /delayload which means that you don't have to use LoadLibrary and GetProcAddress.
I have however never seen this used in any plugin that uses the FFTW DLL, they all use LoadLibrary and GetProcAddress.
Only a minor mistake in terminology; dynamic and delay loading aren't far apart anyway. Delay-loading just translates static-loading in the build into dynamic-loading in the executable. I'm sure pretty much anyone understands your meaning, since true delay isn't often used.
foxyshadis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2021, 23:49   #91  |  Link
kedautinh12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 2,160
Any update for 3.3.9??
kedautinh12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2021, 22:58   #92  |  Link
kedautinh12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 2,160
I seen new ver 3.3.10
https://github.com/FFTW/fftw3/blob/master/NEWS
kedautinh12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2021, 00:32   #93  |  Link
GMJCZP
Registered User
 
GMJCZP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: I have a statue in Hakodate, Japan
Posts: 752
I don't know what version this will be but it seems to work fine, it is 32 bit:

Here

64 bit:

Here
__________________
By law and justice!

GMJCZP's Arsenal
GMJCZP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th July 2021, 04:58   #94  |  Link
kedautinh12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 2,160
this commit 1 year ago, i think it's old ver
kedautinh12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2021, 23:48   #95  |  Link
kedautinh12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 2,160
3.3.10 x64 ver
https://anaconda.org/conda-forge/fft...10_101.tar.bz2
kedautinh12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2021, 02:09   #96  |  Link
TDS
Formally known as .......
 
TDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Down Under.
Posts: 1,051
Quote:
Originally Posted by kedautinh12 View Post
Excuse my noobyness, but is this the same as "libfftw3f-3.dll"
__________________
Long term RipBot264 user.

RipBot264 modded builds..
*new* x264 & x265 addon packs..
TDS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2021, 03:42   #97  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 10,980
Quote:
same as "libfftw3f-3.dll"
Yes, same file, alternate name [some plugins require one or other name, some plugins can use either name].
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2021, 03:53   #98  |  Link
GMJCZP
Registered User
 
GMJCZP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: I have a statue in Hakodate, Japan
Posts: 752
Quote:
Originally Posted by kedautinh12 View Post
Won't there be a 32-bit version?
__________________
By law and justice!

GMJCZP's Arsenal
GMJCZP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2021, 21:19   #99  |  Link
GMJCZP
Registered User
 
GMJCZP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: I have a statue in Hakodate, Japan
Posts: 752
Quote:
Originally Posted by GMJCZP View Post
Won't there be a 32-bit version?
Please, does anyone know if there is a 32-bit version of this latest version of FFTW?
__________________
By law and justice!

GMJCZP's Arsenal
GMJCZP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2021, 01:29   #100  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 10,980
+1 on what GMJZP said, I will not use unless both available [downloaded and deleted x64 only].
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fftw, fftw3.dll

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.