Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > New and alternative a/v containers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 23rd November 2012, 15:49   #13041  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 10,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by egur View Post
Here's a problematic menu:
http://www.mediafire.com/?5ww02wdqf3c2u2q
Seems to work OK with libavcodec but with QuickSync there are issue, the correct menu image is not always displayed.
Should be fixed.
Technically it was a QSDecoder issue. What happens is that i give it a frame with a specific timestamp, and when i get the frame back, it has a timestamp of 0, which confused my timestamp logic and caused it to drop the frame, but its now handled.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2012, 16:24   #13042  |  Link
romulous
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 179
Hi nev,

LAV v0.53.2, madVR v0.85.1 as the renderer, and Zoom Player as the player (all on Win7 64bit). The following clip will not play when LAV Video is set to DXVA2 Native:
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/105555957/JustCause2-H264.mkv (26.4MB)

Zoom just shows a black screen. If I change to DXVA2 Copy-Back, it plays - but avcodec is shown in LAV, indicating DXVA is not actually in use. Same with CUVID (NVIDIA GTX-460) - clip plays, but LAV shows avcodec in use. Just using the LAV installation defaults, except for changing the hardware acceleration type obviously (I normally use CUVID, but was just testing DXVA2 Native support in the new madVR release when I found the clip wouldn't play).
romulous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2012, 16:31   #13043  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 10,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by romulous View Post
LAV v0.53.2, madVR v0.85.1 as the renderer, and Zoom Player as the player (all on Win7 64bit). The following clip will not play when LAV Video is set to DXVA2 Native:
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/105555957/JustCause2-H264.mkv (26.4MB)

Zoom just shows a black screen. If I change to DXVA2 Copy-Back, it plays - but avcodec is shown in LAV, indicating DXVA is not actually in use. Same with CUVID (NVIDIA GTX-460) - clip plays, but LAV shows avcodec in use. Just using the LAV installation defaults, except for changing the hardware acceleration type obviously (I normally use CUVID, but was just testing DXVA2 Native support in the new madVR release when I found the clip wouldn't play).
Works just fine for me, in DXVA2 Native/CB or CUVID.
I only tested in MPC-HC, so it may as well be a ZP issue (unlikely, but anything is possible), but i do not have ZP installed right now.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2012, 17:17   #13044  |  Link
6233638
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,019
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
Works just fine for me, in DXVA2 Native/CB or CUVID.
I only tested in MPC-HC, so it may as well be a ZP issue (unlikely, but anything is possible), but i do not have ZP installed right now.
The clip isn't working for me in MPC-HC either. If I use DXVA2 Native, I get a black screen and can't play the video. (stays stopped)

With CUVID or DXVA2 copy-back, it uses avcodec to decode.

This is using LAVFilters-0.53.2-9-g1ea7611
6233638 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2012, 17:49   #13045  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 10,361
Dunno what to tell you, but its just fine.

__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2012, 18:03   #13046  |  Link
wanezhiling
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,184
Works fine here too.
wanezhiling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2012, 18:17   #13047  |  Link
6233638
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,019
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
Dunno what to tell you, but its just fine.

http://images.gammatester.com/pics/3...bdb16bcc89.png
Weird, is that with Nvidia?

Not that most of these should make a difference, I've tried changing MPC-HC builds, going back to the release version of LAV 0.53.2, disabling LAV Splitter (source) using EVR instead of madVR, and changing to directsound output instead of ReClock.
The only other thing I can think to change other than that would be the video driver, which I would prefer not to do, as that has a habit of clearing my custom profiles for games.

Always switches to avcodec with CUVID or DXVA2 copy-back, and refuses to play with DXVA2 native.
6233638 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2012, 18:20   #13048  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 10,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6233638 View Post
Weird, is that with Nvidia?
Yes, a GTX 680 on 310.33
I also tried on my Intel HD 3000, and it also worked fine in DXVA2.

Its 1920x1200, maybe they blocked that in the driver for some reason, and only allow 1920x1080?
I guess i can install the 310.61 driver featured in your signature for testing, i dont have profiles to lose on this machine.

Might as well be a Win8 thing, i'm still on 7.

Edit:
Still works with 310.61.

You can try turning off the "High Quality Processing" checkbox for CUVID, that will then access the hardware more directly without any DXVA/Windows influence, maybe it helps.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders

Last edited by nevcairiel; 23rd November 2012 at 18:29.
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2012, 18:28   #13049  |  Link
clsid
*****
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,664
I get a black screen as well.
Win7 with 306.97 driver.
__________________
MPC-HC 2.3.0
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2012, 18:31   #13050  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 10,361
Might also be a Hardware thing. Did 1920x1200 ever work? Do other 1920x1200 clips work? I have a VP5 kepler card, which is even 4K capable, so it might be that. Maybe i simply need to reduce the limit from 1920x1200 to 1920x1080 (or finally implement proper probing for DXVA2-N)
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2012, 18:37   #13051  |  Link
clsid
*****
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,664
Turning off HQ processing does not make a difference.

I have a VP4 card. DXVA checker shows this:
ModeH264_VLD_NoFGT: DXVA2, 720x480 / 1280x720 / 1920x1080

Edit:
And for deinterlacing (NV12) it shows:
DXVA1/2, 720x480 / 1280x720 / 1920x1080 / 3840x2160
__________________
MPC-HC 2.3.0

Last edited by clsid; 23rd November 2012 at 18:40.
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2012, 18:41   #13052  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 10,361
DXVA Checker only tests common resolutions, like the ones you listed there, it doesn't test for 1920x1200, or any other in-between steps.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2012, 18:50   #13053  |  Link
6233638
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,019
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
You can try turning off the "High Quality Processing" checkbox for CUVID, that will then access the hardware more directly without any DXVA/Windows influence, maybe it helps.
Still using avcodec when I do that.
6233638 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2012, 19:30   #13054  |  Link
wanezhiling
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,184
My vp5 card gt520 works fine, I will test my vp4 card gts450 tomorrow.
wanezhiling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2012, 20:27   #13055  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 10,361
http://files.1f0.de/lavf/LAVFilters-...7-g8bf80c7.zip

Please try this version. It should hopefully be smart enough to figure out if the movies resolution is supported by your GPU, and thus avoid black-screen situations in native DXVA2.
This means, there is no hardcoded limit anymore for the DXVA2-Native resolution, assuming it doesn't break in some ugly way for someone.

If you can, please test running videos in various resolutions with this build, including 4K content. If your GPU is not capable, it should fallback to software properly, and if is capable, it should use DXVA2 Native.
Its important to test if this fallback works on all major GPUs. I tested on my Intel HD3000, and it properly falls back to Software, and on my NVIDIA GTX 680, it goes ahead and uses DXVA2. I'm specifically interested if this auto-detection works properly on AMD (and possibly also if AMD finally bothered to fix 4K decoding or if it still results in a half green frame )

So, run videos in supported resolutions, and ensure it uses DXVA, and try videos in unsupported resolutions (if any, 4K for most older GPUs), and see if it properly falls back to software!

PS:
I tested DXVA2-Native with 4K content and madVR, and the performance was just terrible. DXVA2 CB on the same file was like 20x faster. I've already asked madshi about performance issues with native DXVA, we'll see what happens.

PPS:
You can get 4K/2160p samples from here:
http://xhmikosr.1f0.de/samples/2160p/

Note that these samples are also high-framerate (50p usually), which is actually too much for NVIDIAs decoder (not sure about AMD) - but it can still show you if it works at all, even if it doesn't play fluidly.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders

Last edited by nevcairiel; 23rd November 2012 at 20:31.
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2012, 21:00   #13056  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,812
Cool, thanks nev.
4k files play with DXVA2n without any dropped frames for me in madVR, VPU is used and thus CPU usage very low.
Great.

Having a GTX 670.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2012, 21:12   #13057  |  Link
VipZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: London
Posts: 378
DXVA2n detection working fine for me. No 4K here sadly, instead of AMD trying to fix they simply disabled completely
__________________
Windows 11 Pro, CPU: Ryzen 9 5900X, GPU: GeForce RTX 3090 /w 512.95, Audio: HDMI to Yamaha RX-A3060 (5.1)
VipZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2012, 21:21   #13058  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 10,361
As long as 4k is properly falling back to software, thats at least something.

Otherwise, sounds just like AMD.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2012, 21:32   #13059  |  Link
VipZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: London
Posts: 378
Yep 4K is falling back correctly for me, AMD can still even crash with just NV12 output on some 4K files at present for me.
__________________
Windows 11 Pro, CPU: Ryzen 9 5900X, GPU: GeForce RTX 3090 /w 512.95, Audio: HDMI to Yamaha RX-A3060 (5.1)
VipZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2012, 21:34   #13060  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,812
Quote:
Originally Posted by VipZ View Post
AMD can still even crash with just NV12 output on some 4K files at present for me.
I remember blue screens some years ago with a 5870 at 4k files.
Ridiculous that it's still not fixed (or does it crash in some other way instead now? ).

Last edited by aufkrawall; 24th November 2012 at 00:57.
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
decoders, directshow, filters, splitter

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.